Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver

Premium Edition with Advanced Hidden Numeric LED Display & Chrome Frame
Average Customer Rating:
4.146 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
33 of 41(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 19, 2010

This is the best razor money can buy!

Pros: can use the razor wet or dry, extremely close shave, removes those hard to get hairs on your neck
Cons: i wish i could have had this razor 15 years ago
Model Number: Philips Senso Touch 3D Shaver
"This is a terrific razor! I was a bit skeptical on how much improvement Norelco could make on their razors, but I have to say I am pleasantly surprised by the improvements in the new SensoTouch3D. The razor is amazingly efficient giving me a very close shave in very short order. The package touts wet or dry use, so I tried both and I have to say the razor works great either way. Whether I use it with shaving gel in the in the shower or a quick clean up on the weekend this razor delivers the quickest, closest shave that I have ever had from an electric razor. I highly recommend this razor."
50 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:April 11, 2011

Finally a good electric

Pros: great close shaves, no nicks or cuts, very long battery life, travels well, easily to clean - rinse in running water
Model Number: Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
"After trying and giving up on Eltron and going back to blades, and then many years later trying Panasonic and giving up again, I was enticed to give their 30 day try out a go. I was previously using Gillette Fusion power and got an excellent close shave, with an occasional nick or cut. I love that you can use the Norelco for a quick dry shave or an extremely smooth wet shave. It seems to shave more uniformly than a blade, and never a nick when you are rushing. The battery lasts 60 minutes - with a numeric display of time remaining. I haven't really timed it, but at about 3 minutes per shave, I've gone ~3 weeks without charging before it is down to 10 minutes or so and I have recharged it. After 6 months the blades are still like new. With my old Panasonic I would be longing for my yearly blade replacement after only 3 months. Highly recommend this an excellent shaver after many years of disappointment with other brands of electric"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:November 27, 2010

Best Norelco I've used.. Especially on my neck!

Pros: quiet, remaining minutes display, use wet or dry, great job on my neck, sleek design
Cons: replacement heads are pricey
Model Number: SensoTouch 3D 1280
"I've been loyally using Norelco shavers for years and while I've always been more than satisfied with their shaves I had previously never found one that did a "perfect" job on my neck. Until now!
The redesigned heads seem to have done the trick. After a shave, my neck feels totally smooth. There's no trace of any remaining stubble. While similar to the previous "arcitec" design, this newer model is sleeker and quieter and does a remarkably close shave. The 3D heads are slightly better able to follow the curves of your face but more importantly, you can now disassemble them to brush or rinse them.
(Note that if you previously used the Norelco cleaner on your Arcitec, it won't work with this new model. The power contacts don't line up. If you really like the arcitec'scleaner, you'll need to replace it.)
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern New York
Date:February 1, 2011

AT LONG LAST AS CLOSE AS A RAZOR

Pros: the heads are designed to cut and collect hair, easy to clean, cuts close every time, less expensive than razors, excellent fit in the hand
Model Number: 1280x
"THE NEW Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver IS FANTASTIC.
I have owned almost every type of electric product only to have to return to the good old standby my Gillette.
six months ago I purchased a good norelco that never once gave a good shave.
Finally when Norelco introduced this new product I read the reviews to find the old shaver I had problems with was universal and that this new shaver was living up to the expectation of the customer.
So with the great exchange policy of Costco I took the old one back and purchased the new one. With rebates it actually cost a bit less than the old model.
The Senso Touch 3D worked out of the box. There were more cut whiskers in the head the first time I used it than the old one cut in all six months.
I started using this with shaving gel and it was teriffic. They recommend shaving cream.
My beard is very heavy requiring up to two shaves a day with the Gillette.
Now the chore of shaving is simple and the new Norelco is my best product of 2010.
Wet or dry this is a great shaver."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2010

Not for travel

"I bought this shaver to replace my current Norelco shaver which after 10 years is wearing down. I travel quite a bit and a rechargeable shaver that is light, has a travel case and will charge internationally are requirements. This shaver seems to fit that need. Unfortunately, the shaver is poorly designed for travel. The only way to charge it is to use the included plastic charging stand. The shaver's power adapter will not plug directly into the shaver. The plastic stand is larger than I would want to travel with and it does not fit into the included travel case. Norelco must expect users to charge the shaver prior to departure and hope that a mid-trip recharge is not needed. Your only option is to take the stand with you. I think this is a significant design flaw and I will be returning the shaver...I'm disappointed. I called Norelco and they confirmed that none of their 3D shavers may be charged without the stand or cleaning station on some models. Norelco's older models in the 6,7,8, and 9000 series all allow you to plug the adapter directly into the shaver.
Don't buy this shaver if you travel much or prepare to pack the stand."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Springfield, MA
Date:November 11, 2010

MADE WELL

Cons: price
Model Number: 3D Shaver
"My husband finally decided to purchase an electric shaver and happened to come across this one. After some research we decided to go ahead and buy this model. Very happy customers. It definitely past the test, very nice results and no complaints. Highly recommend this product."
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Farmingdale, New York
Date:December 17, 2010

Model Number: SensoTouch 3D 1280X

Pros: smooth shave-ease of use-easy to clean
Cons: wish battery would take more than 60 minute charge
Model Number: Model Number: SensoTouch 3D 1280
"WOW. What a razor. I've used Norelco razors for years but this one is the best by far. The closeness of the shave is far superior to any other Norelco before it. It's the most quiet Norelco razor I have used and the ease of use is superb. It glides accross your face with ease and the sideburn trimmer actually works.It's easy to clean and you don't really have to clean the razor after each shave as they suggest you do. I find that you don't really have to clean the blades until five or six shaves. You might be albe to go seven days before cleaning depending on your beard. What a shaver. I would highly recommend this shaver."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:December 19, 2010

Best Electric Shaver Ever

Pros: close as a blade, easy to clean
Model Number: Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
"I have a very thick beard and have never been happy with any electric I have ever tried. I am happy to say this is a wonderful product. It shaves as close as a blade and best of all it does so without the irritation. I was very doubtful at first but am sold. It shaves as close as a blade, even on the neck! I would say it is worth twice the price. I will never go back to blades again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:December 10, 2010

Closer than ever

Pros: quiet, long batter life, close results
Model Number: Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
"I had given up on electrics until my wife bought me this one. Shaves great, each head flips up individually for easy cleaning, great ergonomic design fits well in hand, long lasting battery and quiet. I use it dry 90% of time but works great with shaving gel as well. This thing shaves evenly and smoothly and works better than most hand razors."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Date:February 10, 2011

Good for an electric shaver

Pros: close shave around curves, little irritation, easy to clean
Cons: weak trimmer
Model Number: Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
"The Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver is very good for an electric shaver, but like all electrics, just doesn't provide the same closeness as a blade. Razor is quiet, excellent battery life, easy to clean by rinsing in water. Very little irritation. Shaves around curves, both convex and concave very well. Need to brush/pull skin tight against beard growth to get close shave. Doesn't seem to be much different between dry and wet shaving. Wet shaving might reduce irritation for some. The trimmer is not very strong and sounds like it struggles to cut hair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:July 26, 2011

Not utopia, yet

"I have used safety razors (Gillette mostly) and gave up when the latest iteration reached $5/ea.
The trimmer was quite good.
The razor charged quickly. It shaved well dry and wet on the cheeks. It had its problems with shaving under the lips, the chin, and of course the neck area.
Philips says on the cover that one should give 45 days to the razor to adapt, and I did that, finally I gave up when I kept getting razor bumps on my chin and neck."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bergen County, NJ
Date:December 20, 2010

Awesome shave

Pros: quality of shave, style and ease of use
Cons: charging method
Model Number: 1280X GyroFlex 3D
"Best shaver yet. I have also been a Norelco fan for years. I have a tough beard and sensitive skin. This razor takes care of both.
I don't care for the charging method Norelco has been using lately. The stand is bulky and takes up too much space, especially when traveling. The razor holds 60 minutes of charge, which for me is good for about 2-1/2 weeks of shaving, so leave the charger home if you can.
I still had to rate this product 5 stars.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springville, CA
Date:February 11, 2011

Norelco Senso Touch 3D

Pros: quiet shaves very close.
Cons: trimmer could be better
Model Number: 1280x
"This is the best Norelco shaver I've ever owned. Very close shave! Shavings also collect under the heads which makes it easy to clean - just open up the head and brush them out. Although the pop-up trimmer could be better... it doesn't seem to trim well. Because Costco has such an awesome return policy, I figured might as well try it since most of the reviews were positive."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:December 12, 2010

Great Electric

"I've used Norelco wet/dry razors for ten years or more. A year ago I bought a Panasonic, and it was ok. I recently got this one with a discount and rebate, and now I remember why I'd stuck with Norelco before. This gives an excellent shave in the shower or with a dry face. I'd prefer they leave off the fancy LCD display and reduce the price accordingly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:January 31, 2011

Good job shaving

Pros: smooth shave
Cons: clean often
"Close, non-irritating shave. The travel lock feature is very nice since I've had razors turn on in my luggage and deplete their battery.
My previous Norelco (XL?) accumulated the whiskers between charges (1-2 weeks). This model needs to be cleaned every two to three days (as recommended by Norelco). Just a bit more of a hassle.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Staten Island NY
Date:October 28, 2011

Don't buy

Cons: not worth the money
Model Number: Senso Touch 3D by Nerelco
"Lasted less than a year, only 10 months.. Charging to full power dropped to 60 % capacity by 6th month. Very diffcult to clean shaver heads. Individual shaver heads fell apart while trying to clean caked beard shavings from the heads."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Okanagan Valley, BC, Canada
Date:June 2, 2011

Best Electric on the market

Pros: timed display knowing how much time you have left, comfortable shave
Cons: travel case doesn't hold the charge holder
Model Number: Philips Premium Edition
"I've tried them all, but when it comes to electric, the philips/norelco brands of rotary blades seem to do the best job. No, Remington doesn't shave as close as a blade but this one almost does! I say almost because unless you want a lot of irritation from going over and over, which may provide as close as a blade shave, your skin will not appreciate it. I have also found shaving in the shower, using a shaving lotion definitely helps prevent the rash around the neck. My last electric that I was happy with was the philisave 'cool shave' with the injector of their special skin cream which was nice but does add to the over all cost over all of this unit, especially since your idea of buying an electric rechargeable is to help lower the costs that the blade shaving has.
The side trimmer works great, and as one other reviewer mentioned to the guy that complained about the other blades catching your hair... just pull it off. I am not quite sure why this is not found in any instructions/directions, including the videos on the philips web site, but by pulling the main head off it provides perfect control of the edge trimmer. Cleaning is a breeze, and the very simple to remove blades make it a snap to do while under the shower.
"
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2011

Died after a month

Pros: does a good job shaving
Cons: died after a month
Model Number: 1280X
"After one month of use, it died. I called Philips customer support, they said the battery died because I left it in the charger even after it was fully charged. The manual says you can leave it in the charger with no problems. I've been waiting for over a month for a replacement, after a month they sent me a new cord. Only after I talked to a supervisor they said they will send a new machine."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 20, 2010

Not for thick and coarse facial hair

Cons: irritation on the neck and arnd it, not effective arnd the jaw line
Model Number: 1280X
"I decided to try this shaver because of the great review that everyone has been writing about it.
It is not good for thick and coarse hair. I had to move the shaver over the tough areas of the face a lot of times.
And do not even ask abt what the shaver did to my neck skin. I have been cut and bruised all over, who said this thing does not give u shave bumps and cuts....
I would not recommend this to guys with hard facial hair
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco Premium Edition SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:March 9, 2011

Good Product

Pros: smooth shave
Cons: too expensive and you can't connect the cord direc, ly to the shaver
"I've been using Norelco products for a long time now,but this Senso Touch 3D is the best ever produced;however I was surprised the other day when I tried to sahve but my Senso could not work.I started using this only 2 months ago,could it be the battery was flawed?With this disaapointment I took it to Costco who issued me a Cash credit since there's none in store.However I went on line and purchased same from Costco .com and awaiting the arrival and hopefully this works out."
1 2 3 next>>