Customer Reviews for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System

Added Value: 3 Clean & Renew® Refills
Average Customer Rating:
3.733 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 of 15(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Review 1 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Towson, MD
Date:January 17, 2011

Excellent Razor

Pros: clean close shave.
Cons: price
"The refill system is a bit of a sham as it's not difficult to clean yourself, though nice I guess. The razor itself gives a nice clean shave. A little on the expensive side, but I don't buy electric razor's very often so I wanted to invest in a quality one, which this Braun delivers. I highly recommend it."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salem ,Or
Date:May 15, 2012

What happened to Braun

Cons: bad shaver, waste of money
Model Number: series 5-565cc
"I purchased this shaver to replace my series 8000 Braun.In hopes that costco would come through with a quality product.The shave was not close,almost a 5 o'clock shadow..I used my ten year old series 8000 to complete my shave.The quality of this product is very low. I will be returning it."
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:May 19, 2011

Better than expected

Pros: very close shave, virtually no missed hairs
Cons: cleaning cartridges not environment friendly, not ideal for infrequent use
Model Number: Series 5-565cc
"My very first shaver was a Braun, some 20+ years ago, but since then I've been using Philips rotary shavers. My last one was an Arcitec, which I also bought from Costco. After getting a new shaving head for that, I didn't quite get the same results as with the original head, so I decided to give Braun another try.
Even though the manual says it may take a few weeks to get used to a new shaving system, I got good results after the second or third use already. The result is very close to using a razor, without all the hassle. Unlike the rotary heads, which work much better on a 2 day beard, I can use this shaver again before a late afternoon meeting. It doesn't do well with longer hair though, at least not with hair that's as coarse as mine.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Camp Pendleton, CA
Date:January 16, 2011

Braun Series 5-565cc

Pros: the battery will last for a long time.
Cons: i still don't get a close shave.
"I got this shaver to replace my broken one. It's been over a month and I'm still not satisfied with this shaver due to not getting a close shave at all."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Great razor

Pros: close shave, comfortable, clean & renew system
Cons: have to be careful about spilling cleaner
"I have been a fan of Braun shavers for years. When my old "Synchro" died I started looking at the newer models (unfortunately temporarily using an old Norelco rotary.) I was pretty sold on the Series 5 (only missing the "drying" feature for the cleaning cycle) and I have not been disappointed.
Very close shave like my old one and I like the new form factor. My old Braun was more of a bar shape while the new ones are obviously tapered with a smaller head/foil but now the entire head swivels. So far I am really liking the cleaning system, which my old one did not have, it does an excellent job of getting every little bit of whiskers out. It's also very handy to just "holster" the shaver in the base. The only con for the cleaner/base is you have to be careful not to bump it around or you will spill the liquid (not a sealed system.)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:May 29, 2011

This is The Worst Shaver on The Market

Model Number: Braun Series 5-565cc
"I tired everything possible to get a good and clean shave out of this device with no success. The shaving is inconsistent around the face, and the blades are very rough. It hurts when done shaving. I had Panasonic before, and I loved it. I can't wait for Costco to get the Panasonic shaver posted for sale again."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:June 26, 2012

Great razor, way better than rotary razors

Pros: smooth and very close shave
Cons: clean & renew doesn't quite clean
Model Number: Series 5-565cc
"I got this razor for father's day, the first foil razor I own. So far it is a great razor, really close and smooth shave, even on those hard to shave spots. I have only used rotary norelco razors because of the ability to use on wet skin, that's why I was a little reluctant to use this razor, but I must say that I am impressed with how smooth it leaves my skin, I now shave every day with no skin irritation whatsoever.
The only issue I have found so far is that the clean & renew system is not as good as I expected. I've never had a razor with a cleaning system so I don't know if my expectations were too high. I can see that after a clean cycle I still have to clean it with a brush to remove all the little hair particles left over, so what I do now is I use the clean & renew every other day, and every other day I clean it under running hot water, and so far so good!"
Review 8 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cashmere, WA
Date:January 31, 2012

Much Better Than Norelco!

Pros: closeness, trimmer, cleaning system
Cons: a little spendy but cheaper than other stores
Model Number: Series 5-565cc
"I purchased the Norelco SensoTouch 2D and was very disappointed in the closeness of the shave. Not to mention having to take off the head everytime I wanted to use the trimmer (it is a separate attachment). Took back the Norelco. Bought this Braun and am very happy with its performance. The trimmer also works quite well. I've never had a shaver with the cleaning system, and I have to say I would recommend it. Every other shave I clean it and it comes out looking new."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:June 5, 2012

Great Shave

Pros: smooth close shave, convienient
Model Number: Braun Series 5-565cc
"I find that this razor gives me the best shave ever from an electric shaver. I have used several, and finally found one that meets all y needs. The tilt head makes it easy to get to the curved areas of my face and on the tough spots around my neck. The result is smooth, and in a short amount of time. The cleaning system is very effective, and easy to change."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:May 31, 2011

New Shaver

Pros: smaller size
Cons: less power
Model Number: Braun 565
"This is a much better shaver than the rotary models. The only issue is they reduced the battery size and weight of the unit to make it smaller. I prefer the older less-expensive unit with larger battery and more power."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:suburban Philadelphia
Date:March 28, 2012

Poor performance

Pros: discounted price
Cons: lousy shave
"I purchased this product when it first came on the the market a couple of years ago. It was not nearly as good as the older Braun being replaced, but I kept using it for a few of months due to my brand loyalty.
I ended up purchasing the seven series product and found it to be a far superior (but of course more expensive) shave. So, unless you are on a real tight budget, and if you want a very good Braun razor, don't buy this, spend some more money and upgrade to the seven series."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 6, 2012

One of the best Braun shavers

Pros: value (price/performance), sharp trimmer, full battery good for 4 shaves, size & light weight
Cons: the screen quality is in question
Model Number: Braun 5-565cc
"First, some comments - A shaver can't please everyone! The satisfactory results depend on the user's hair thickness, fullness, types (straight, curly), skin type & tenderness, prior shaving experiences, owner's size of hands (tight or loose grip), and several other factors.
I have used Braun since I was 27 years old. I am 73 now. I am very pleased with the 5-565cc performance. However, the screen of my first purchase 3 months ago, gave up on me when its tiny holes broke and started biting the skin. Costco's return policy was a good assurance to exchange it with a new one.
My satisfaction is very personal and may or may not please anyone else based on the factors I mentioned here.
So, buy it, use it and judge for yourself.
"
Review 13 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 12, 2012

Another Excellent Braun to Collection

Pros: smaller and lighter
Cons: somewhat noisier
Model Number: Series 5
"I purchased this model as an addition to the larger Series 5 that I also purchased from Costco. It weighs less, yet still cuts with the same precision as the larger, more expensive model. I will be using this for my traveling razor. I highly recommend this model and the Braun series 5."
Review 14 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:bigfork ,mt
Date:April 17, 2012

Nice close shave

Model Number: 5-565cc
"This was purchased to replace an aging Norelco shaver . So far, no complaints. The cleaning system is a new feature that we have not had before. Hopefully obtaining replacement cartridges will not be a problem."
Review 15 for Braun Series 5-565cc Men's Shaving System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Goodyear, AZ
Date:February 12, 2012

Excellent close shave

Model Number: 5-556cc
"Comfortable,close shave in two minutes. The 5 series is well designed and has a quality feel in use."