Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™

Full HD 1080p Built-in WiFi 802.11n 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
(out of 60 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
17
42 of 60(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Review 1 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2011

Bad Customer Service - Costco, PLEASE HELP!

Pros: good price
Cons: bad support
Model Number: E550VL
"I purchased a 55inch Vizio back in December of last year. The TV turns off or reboots itself for no apparent reason. Up to June of this year I have been working with their customer service department trying to help them debug the TV. Each time I called, they would give me something new to try and I would do it and then call them back to share with them the results (it didn’t work). During a couple of these calls, the person said they didn’t know what else could be done if “this did not work”. However, when I would call back, the next person had more things to try. I have gotten to the point where I feel like a guinea pig in an experiment.
The last straw:
In June, Vizio told me that the next time the TV reboots itself, I needed to look behind the TV to see if the back light was still on. I told the person that I didn’t think I could get to the TV in time because it is mounted on the wall above the fireplace about 15 feet from where we sit. They asked me to try anyways, so I did. Considering the fact that it reboots in a matter of 3 to 5 seconds, I just could not get there in time. I got frustrated with them and didn’t call them back until today (September 29th). However, because “I waited so long to call them back”, they insisted that I have to go through the trouble shooting routine again. Specifically, they are insisting that they cannot help me (including replacing the TV) until I can get to the back of my TV in time to tell them what is going on with the back light. I am so very frustrated and hope Costco monitors these reviews.
"
Review 2 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:September 15, 2011

Great picture but am on 3rd TV to be returned

Pros: great picture, good sound, easy to setup
Cons: firmware issue keeps turning set on and off, causes set to constantly 'blink', known issue should have been fixed by now, had 3 sets all the same problem
Model Number: VISIO XVT553SV]
"I spent several weeks researching TV's and decided on this one even though I saw that there was an issue that was mentioned on Amazon and Costco. Like others, I thought this couldn't happen to me but it did. After I got it set up the first time the TV had pixel problems on the top that eventually burned off after 2 days. The TV kept 'blinking' during programs. It felt like you were 'blinking' your eyes all of the time. It also shut itself off and turned it self back on. I returned the TV after about 1 1/2 wks. The next TV had the same problem, I contacted Costco tech support and they connected me to VISIO. A VISIO tech replaced all of the 'guts' in the TV. Unfortunately we are still having the same problem and I will be returning this one too after I figure out what we want to replace it with. Both Costco and VISIO tech support were excellent but with the known firmware issue there should have been a fix for this by now."
Review 3 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2011

Returned after 89 days

Pros: great picture blue tooth
Cons: firmware problems that never get resolved
"Had to return to Costco before 90 days were up. TV kept power cycling 1st month then stopped and then kept turning on 10 secs after turning off. The internet has several references to this problem with comments like Vizio knows about it and waiting for a firmware upgrade. Did not wait past the 90 days. Got a 60" Sharp with same specs and $350 in my pocket and the picture looks the same. It is interesting that this model has disappeared from all the stores."
Review 4 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:September 1, 2011

Outstanding picture

Pros: image, contrast, ease of set up and adjustment, price
Cons: average sound
Model Number: Vizio XVT553SV
"Have enjoyed our Vizio XVT553SV for 7 months. The picture quality is as good as I have seen and the contrast rivals plasma sets. Matte screen was major factor in purchase and it does not disappoint. Very viewable even in direct sunlight or brightly lit room. Worthwhile to take the time to make custom picture settings. I use it with Directv and DVD - no off-air signal available. The sound with built in speakers is only average but I use it with external 5.1 surround sound speakers. The wireless connection to streamed movies works well. Have previously used Sony 32" and 40" sets. The Vizio has far superior picture. Cannot see how you could go wrong buying this set at Costco given the price, return policy, and extended warranty."
Review 5 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 6, 2011

Nice TV if you like SLOW and a blank screen

Pros: picture, features, price
Cons: all functions are slow, vizio customer support is slower then the tv
Model Number: XVT553SV
"There's lots of features and the picture quality is impressive all for a great price, which is what lured me into purchasing a Vizio TV. My mistake was not returning the Vizio before the Costco 90-day return policy expired. I sadly discovered that Vizio TV's perform everything SLOWLY. It takes no less then 3 and up to 10 seconds to switch from one channel to the next channel, and every other function is just as slow. I bought a Samsung TV for another room and it works great on the same system as the VERY SLOW Vizio."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:August 1, 2011

Great vibrant color, bright whites, good sound.

Pros: vibrant colors and good sound
Cons: wish i could afford the 65"
Model Number: Vizio XVT553SV
"What a great picture. For the price, I couldn't be happier. The internet apps are simple to use, and had the TV set up in 5 minute. Great color. I've not seen anything better. The sound is very good, and I don't think you will need a sound bar. Many sets I have tried were weak on sound level. This one is not. With the extra 2 years of warranty by purchasing at Costco and using my American Express card, I'm delighted. The picture is so good you could purchase the 65" and still have great detail."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:July 22, 2011

Love the matte screen

Pros: picture quality, matte screen
Cons: random reboots
Model Number: XVT553
"Vizio wasn’t really a brand that was on my radar, so I wasn't immediately drawn to the XVT553. The quality of the picture didn't seem as good as others on display at Costco, and I was a bit wary of the mixed revues. However, I found few sets that met my criteria of a full array back lighted TV with a matte screen to minimize glare. I decided to give this one a try knowing that I could return it within 90 days. After four months of use I must say that I am very pleasantly surprised with the picture quality in a "real life" setting. I suspect that the Costco industrial lighting doesn’t provide a fair venue for evaluation. The colors are great and there is very little reflection from the screen, so my fundamental criteria are met. The extra features were not a selling point, but I do find myself playing with the Via apps. I even bought a Vizio modem to take full advantage of the wireless capabilities. I use the set as both a TV and as a computer monitor, and really like the ability to display both simultaneously using PIP. I have it hooked up to my Yamaha receiver and use a Harmony 880 remote, so I have no real opinions on the sound or qwerty remote. The TV will occasionally turn itself off and reboot when it senses a corruption in the signal. It has only happened a few times but it’s a bit of a pain, and I’ve seen some online reports suggesting that some sets frequently reboot (you can search for “random Vizio reboot). The picture quality and matte screen offset this minor inconvenience."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:DC Aera
Date:June 20, 2011
Model Number: VF551XVT
"I bought Vizio 55" in Feb 2010. Just after a little bit more than year, the screen became top half brighter and bottom half darker. And there is darker band on the middle of the top screen. I had a Vizio 26". Its HDMI stoped working after two months of purchase. Luckly I was able to return it back to Costco. I will never buy any Vizio products again."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Saint Louis, MO
Date:June 9, 2011

Great TV

Pros: picture in bright room
Model Number: XVT553SV
"So easy to set up-----even for a senior citizen like me. Believe it or not, this is my first hi-def tv. I have been reading the reviews on this tv and others for almost a year and I finally convinced my partner that we should buy this one. We have only had it for about a week, but I am so impressed with the ease of setup, the beautiful picture in our bright sunny greatroom, and the wireless internet connection. I haven't had enough time yet to explore all of the internet aps, but I am definitely looking forward to doing just that. For the money, I couldn't be happier.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2011

Great choice

"I looked over several options, reviews and web sites. Almost got the samsung 55" but the price on this one seemed like too good to pass up.
TV is really nice, great picture, easy to setup and even easy to setup the remote. Using netflix is a piece of cake, don't even need my apple tv on this one."
Review 11 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:May 21, 2011

Fantastic

"I waited a few months to see how the TV worked before I did this review. Some people said the TV would turn off and the light on the front would flash in the reviews they had written. It did this twice when I first started using it and has never done it since. From what I understand it just had to update and is not a problem with the TV. I have no complaints what so ever. I couldn't ask for better bang for the buck. Read all the specs on the TV's and and understand what they mean. Thanks Costco"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:May 19, 2011

Great

"I read the reviews before I bought the TV. Some good, some horrible. Bought mine 2 months ago. GREAT picture. Very good sound. Easy to set up. I have had NO problems with the TV. I would buy another one in a heart beat. Maybe I got a great one or maybe some people are never happy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rocky Hill, CT
Date:May 4, 2011

Excellent when working

Model Number: XVT553SV
"I bought this TV on 2/18/11 after reading several reviews and I must say I that was pleasantly surprised at the ease of setup right out of the box. The picture quality was excellent and I loved the yahoo, cnbc, and netflix widgets (although it needed to download an update immediately), but not too painful. On May 4th 2011, the TV stopped working. The TV is on, but no picture, the background is lit, but no picture. Change channels and no picture. All I have to say is that I remember some people complaining about this issue, but thought it could never happen to me. Well, it did, however, I'm lucky enough that it happened within my 90 day warranty, so back to costco it goes. I still love the store and I'm hard pressed to find a comparable warranty that is NOT an additional cost."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Paramount, CA
Date:April 20, 2011

Vizio LED

Pros: great picture quality
Model Number: Model XVT553SV
"This is my second Vizio television, I stepped up from a 42" inch to this 55" inch & the picture quality is even better since this is a full 1080P and my 42" inch is only a 720p. This was a great addition to my home theater which is powered by a 1500 watt THX sound system. If any one is looking to buy a good TV for not too much money I recommend this TV 100%."
Review 15 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Manhattan Beach Calif
Date:April 20, 2011

LEMON-DO NOT BUY

Cons: most cutomers have returned their tv's.
"We have had 4 of these VIZIO tv's. Vizio has brought us new ones. They turn off when changing channels, cannot controll sound, Also just stops working. Now it's too late to return it to COSTCO so they say. I will continue this after our conversation with VIZIO customer service for the fourth time."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:April 17, 2011

Sweet Television!

Pros: excellent picture quality, supports wireless n connection, wall-mounting was simple and straight forward
"This is the first large-screen television (over 35 inches) that I have owned, and I have to say I am impressed! My father owns a Sony 55" and he paid twice what I paid, and the picture looks a bit better on my Vizio. High definition channels look crystal clear.
The only "bad" thing that I have experienced is a lag when I am streaming Netflix instant to the television, but I believe that to be a problem outside of the flat-screen itself (still troubleshooting at the time of this review)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Temecula, CA
Date:April 7, 2011

Awesome TV

Pros: great picture, minimal glare
Cons: the sliding keyboard on the remote feels cheap
Model Number: XVT553SV
"After reading some of the other reviews, i figured I had a 50-50 shot of getting an awesome TV that works out of the box and continues to work. Well, i've had mine for 2 weeks now and it works flawlessly. The color is great, the blacks are black and there is no perceptible pixilation with fast action movements across the screen. Couldn't be happier with the purchase."
Review 18 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:April 3, 2011

Everything Great .. Good Value

Model Number: VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps
"I have owned this model for two months now. Picture is fantastic, setup was easy, internet widgets work great.
This was my second Vizio. I have owned another Vizio 42 inch LCD for 1.5 years with absolutely no problems. I was so impressed with the 55 inch, I bought the corresponding 47 inch LED yesterday.
All in all, this Vizio product has an excellent picture and high number of features not available on other TV's, or you would end up paying extra for them. e.g. this set has wireless internet access which you would have to pay extra for a dongle on other sets.
I used to be brand loyal toward Sony, but now that I own three Vizio sets, I will never be going back."
Review 19 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston,TX
Date:March 28, 2011

Bad buy!

"I bought this tv and after 2 months it just turns off on its own. I returned it and bought the 3D model and now that TV's volume changes on its own. Very frustrated consumer!!!!"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 27, 2011

So far so good...

Pros: great picture, easy set up, price can't be beat
Cons: remote a little flimsy but workable
Model Number: Vizio XVT553SV
"We finally bought the Vizio, hooked it up, and it's great...so far. I admit I was a little hesitant after reading the reviews. People LOVED it or HATED it. I was leaning toward the Samsung or Sony, but the CNet reviews and the value/features swayed me. I suppose time will tell."
1 2 3 next>>