Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™

Full HD 1080p Built-in WiFi 802.11n 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
(out of 60 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
17
42 of 60(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Review 1 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2011

Hmmmm!

Pros: picture is great even on hd with regular coax, ethernet
Model Number: XVT553SV
"Already own 2 other Vizio TVs - another 55" and a 37". Had high hopes for this but the few negative reviews here got me thinking against it. Well, I hesitated but decided to get it anyways. Setup was a easy enough. Appz a bit limited but to be expected with a new product. All I wanted was a nice LED LCD. TV video went out within 30 minutes after setting up. All I was able to do was connect the coax cable, search for the basic channels. Connected the ethernet cable from my home network and connected to Facebook and Pandora to test appz. TV still in the cardboard box bottom as I was hesitating to hang it on the wall mount which is ready for it. I shifted it a bit to sit on the couch and check more options when it just flickered and died. Reset power per manual - nothing. Too late for tech support on Saturday. Will try tech support this week but likely to be return to the store. I will try another of the same as I do believe in the brand."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Andover, MN
Date:November 3, 2010

Fantastic TV at a fantastic price

Pros: picture quality, price, sound, remote control
Model Number: XVT553SV
"I had a 61” JVC ILP (like DLP) 1080p projection TV which I had for four years and loved. The only two problems with this TV was the brightness was not enough to overcome the brightness in the room where the TV was located, and I had to take off the front of the unit in order to clean off mirrors and inside of the screen when little dust blotches would appear. I needed to upgrade.
I walked into Costco one day and saw this TV and immediately knew I had to have it. The picture was absolutely phenomenal and the price was amazing when comparing the features to the features in more expensive TVs. Someone was looking down upon me because less than a week later I ran into some unexpected money and I immediately went and bought my new toy.
Set up is easy. The remote control is fantastic in that it is like a slide out phone and it has a full QWERTY keyboard on it. This helped immensely with the set up since you to have to type in passwords and such during set up. I did not hook a computer up directly to the TV, but I did hook up to the internet wirelessly to my home network. The set up was intuitive and fast and I was watching the TV in under 10 minutes.
The picture is stunning. The blacks are deep black and the colors are dynamic and rich. The contrast ratio provides a bright and crisp picture that is not dimmed by the bright room that the TV sits in. I even liked the sound from the speakers on the set; they sound pretty darn nice for TV speakers. When we first started watching our favorite shows the picture looks so crisp and perfect that the TV shows we watched looked like they were not real. Even shows that are filmed on location look unreal. Hawaii 5-0 is a travel brochure. The scenes all look brilliant and the scenery pops out at you.
I have not fiddled with the picture controls much because I liked the picture that came out of the box. I did try some of the widgets and they were fun to play with, although I do not see me sitting in front of the TV to access Facebook. I did sign up for Netflix and I have to say that streaming movies from the internet is painless and easy and I am happy that I will not be paying extra money on my bill for movie channels.
The picture was so stunning I had to go buy a blue ray DVD player. I ended up buying the top-of-the-line Samsung and have been happy with it. My family and I watched a few Blue Ray DVD’s and the sound and picture are absolutely stunning. Both my digital receiver and my blue ray player are hooked up using HDMI cables, and this makes the picture look fantastic.
I would not hesitate to buy this TV. I read up on Vizio TV’s and they were always mentioned for their outdated designs and a picture that was not quite up to snuff. Well they did good here. For about $500 cheaper than competing models you can get a 240 hz 1080p full-array LED LCD TV. The picture is beyond compare and I am sure it is because of the local dimming of the full array LED lighting. I would buy this TV again in a heartbeat. I love Costco!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:December 29, 2010

Best TV I've owned

Pros: amazing picture and sound
Cons: non yet
Model Number: XVT553SV
"This is my first review ever. After researching tv's and reading so many reviews, I felt compelled to write about this tv.
I think this is an excellent tv for the money. I got it for $1500 on sale and have had no issues with picture or sound.
It is by far very comparable to other brands like Sony and Samsung. I own a Samsung and now have 2 Vizios ... and love them both.
After shopping around for a certain Sony LED tv to replace a high quality DLP, I ran across this one and it had the same specs, but the Vizio was a larger screen. I have not regretted this purchase one bit. Movies are great. Sound is amazing and gaming is crystal clear. The remote integrates with our Direct TV box and has a full keyboard, something I didn't realize until I purchased it.
Internet Apps are fun, although I haven't gone thru all of them in detail.
Nothing in the "cons" that come to mind with this TV.
Get this tv over other brands that are priced higher with same specs."
Review 4 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2010
Pros: easy web access, easy to set up, size, remote with keyboard
"This is everything I hoped for. Picture is first rate. BluRay looks awesome. My Matrix DVD looks quite good (with Panasonic BluRay player). Wii with 480p cables looks better than on old crt TV.
Huge TV with lots of great web features and generally easy to use.
I did have some difficulty hooking this up to my home theater and blu-ray. More the fault of my receiver, but had to run optical from TV to receiver to use the home theater speakers.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 13, 2010

Best TV I have owned....period.

Pros: crystal clear picture, great price
Cons: none
"Great TV, crystal clear picture, easy to set up, easy to use. Even makes standard def channels look amazing. I looked at and researched a number of TV's in the 55" size range, and from what I saw, this was the best for me before I actually bought it and brought it home. I cannot imagine a more expensive brand being that much better than this TV. If you are in the market for this type of TV, but this one, you will not be disappointed. This is the first time I have ever written a review for something I have purchased, but felt the need based on how great this TV is."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuqueruque, NM
Date:November 26, 2010

Best TV $ can buy (without the 3d gimmicks)

Pros: sharp picture, 5x hdmi, local dimming (backlit led), costco return policy/extended warranty
Cons: no 3d but that could be a good thing
Model Number: XVT553SV
"This set is absolutely amazing. An actual backlit LED display with local dimming means blacker blacks and an otherwise gorgeous display. If you have the $, this TV is well worth the price difference over the cheaper 55" models."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rocky Hill, CT
Date:May 4, 2011

Excellent when working

Model Number: XVT553SV
"I bought this TV on 2/18/11 after reading several reviews and I must say I that was pleasantly surprised at the ease of setup right out of the box. The picture quality was excellent and I loved the yahoo, cnbc, and netflix widgets (although it needed to download an update immediately), but not too painful. On May 4th 2011, the TV stopped working. The TV is on, but no picture, the background is lit, but no picture. Change channels and no picture. All I have to say is that I remember some people complaining about this issue, but thought it could never happen to me. Well, it did, however, I'm lucky enough that it happened within my 90 day warranty, so back to costco it goes. I still love the store and I'm hard pressed to find a comparable warranty that is NOT an additional cost."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2011

Good Value + Minimal Reflections

Pros: matte finish, picture quality (with hdmi cable)
Cons: maybe sound...fine for me
Model Number: XVT553SV
"before reviewing... a couple of notes
1) Use HDMI cable for sound and picture.
If not I have a shiny tube tv you might be interested in :). Serious...if you have to think more than 3 times about this statement, get a friend that is into this stuff to help.
2) buy a UPS...It will protect your electronics, so your tv is less likely to fizzle out...and you blame manufacturer.
(plus you can keep your dvr going during brown outs).
3) buy a good mount. One that swivels and extends. I bought the omnimount from costco item 328664 ($129). If these directions (similar to most mounts) make you a crier of how hard it is...get a friend to help...its ok, that's why there are different professions in the world...for example i outsource my Accounting :). As far as mounts go this one isn't too hard to put up. This one can move tv left and right at its flatest (4.5"from wall), if you didn't mount the wall part perfectly in center. Put the wall part up first (do not put directly in center of where you want it...slightly off center because only has one arm). attach the other part that connects to the tv with the stand still attached. extend arm and have friend help lift and hook on wall. Remove stand after mounted.
***Good picture...Not as thin as Edge-lit...but that's because it has local dimming. Which means you get blacker blacks and better picture.(at least right now in time)
The reflection is high priority for me because i don't have a blackout room which a plasma would dominate in. This has a matte finish which makes my fan light that would be top center (and bug the cr*p out of me), barely (if at all) noticeable.
It was between this one and a 60" Sony that Costco was selling, but i decided on this one after going into the store (horrible environment, except to see how reflective a tv is) 4 times...and the review on Cnet. Definitely check out the review on cnet.
Wireless Connection was easy, but I only use for Pandora right now. Checked out a couple other things and seems fine without thorough use.
Side note...almost bough ipod touch to stream pandora on, for wife. This tv has profiles, so i setup my pandora (internet radio) account, then switch profile (on tv) and my wife can play without putting in any info.
Not sure if this is a good place to end, but i am tired of writing."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:November 10, 2010

OUTSTANDING in ALL RESPECTS

Pros: great value. better than much more expensive sets., very simple to operate and navigate.
Cons: none
Model Number: Vizio Model XVT553SV
"I looked at Samsung, Sony, LG, Panasonic and Vizio. Also researched reviews extensively. This TV is awesome. Crisp picture with no blur on sports action. Amazingly rich colors. Best of all, a truly plug and play set. Hooked up to my house WiFi smoothly and was able to watch Netflicks right away. On screen menu is clear and easy to use. No learning curve. Has a neat QWERTY slide out on the remote. I haven't needed to look at the manual yet. Unbelievable deal on a high quality set. This is a winner."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:September 15, 2011

Great picture but am on 3rd TV to be returned

Pros: great picture, good sound, easy to setup
Cons: firmware issue keeps turning set on and off, causes set to constantly 'blink', known issue should have been fixed by now, had 3 sets all the same problem
Model Number: VISIO XVT553SV]
"I spent several weeks researching TV's and decided on this one even though I saw that there was an issue that was mentioned on Amazon and Costco. Like others, I thought this couldn't happen to me but it did. After I got it set up the first time the TV had pixel problems on the top that eventually burned off after 2 days. The TV kept 'blinking' during programs. It felt like you were 'blinking' your eyes all of the time. It also shut itself off and turned it self back on. I returned the TV after about 1 1/2 wks. The next TV had the same problem, I contacted Costco tech support and they connected me to VISIO. A VISIO tech replaced all of the 'guts' in the TV. Unfortunately we are still having the same problem and I will be returning this one too after I figure out what we want to replace it with. Both Costco and VISIO tech support were excellent but with the known firmware issue there should have been a fix for this by now."
Review 11 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Memphis TN
Date:March 9, 2011

Terrible Customer Service!

Model Number: XVT553SV
"Bought this in Dec 2010, it turns on and off by itself, Vizio says it's supposed to, that it's rebooting like a computer! I think not, they said there is a known firmwware problem but could not tell me when a fix would be available! Thank goodness for Costco 90 day return policy, we'll be returning the Vizio to them and getting another brand of TV!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:columbus, oh
Date:November 12, 2010

Great tv

Pros: great remote wifi works well incredible picture
Cons: no swivel stand tv itself looks a little dated
Model Number: xvt553sv
"After multiple hours online and in stores reviewing tvs, I chose this one because of the great reviews. I love the remote and the built in wifi. The app widgets are easy to use and navigating around the settings is easy. I've never owned a Vizio and only hope that it remains reliable."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:May 19, 2011

Great

"I read the reviews before I bought the TV. Some good, some horrible. Bought mine 2 months ago. GREAT picture. Very good sound. Easy to set up. I have had NO problems with the TV. I would buy another one in a heart beat. Maybe I got a great one or maybe some people are never happy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, Ma
Date:February 7, 2011

Best Bang for the Buck!!!

Pros: amazing picture, easy setup, cost
Cons: remote is not backlit
Model Number: XVT553SV
"This TV has delivererd everything it has promised! I spent a good amount of time researching other models and this one offered the most for less by far. Althoug Vizio had some growing pains in the past they have really stepped it up and now beat out the most expensive brands."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:irvine, ca
Date:October 28, 2010

excellent picture

Pros: great dynamic range, excellent blacks
Cons: slow tuner for hd channels
Model Number: VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV
"I am using this TV off the cable and off a Home Theater PC.
Off the TV, it catches channels quite well and the picture for HDTV and DTV is very good. The only thing is that the tuner is a bit slow, about two seconds between channels. Non HD channels come out quite good too with little distortion. I set it up with noise filtering at medium and in cinema mode. i also dialed the white level back a notch and enabled dynamic back lighting. WOW.
Off the PC... this set is OUTSTANDING. I use my HTPC as DVD player and media streamer. I set it up with a DVI to HDMI cable. The blacks on this set are really, REALLY good. Watching dark movies is a great experience. The dynamic back lighting truly show off in movies with dark scenes.
I had considered the Sony with back LED lighting but the price difference makes the Sony a financial disaster.
I plan to buy the smaller set (47") for my bedroom soon.
Oh, I hooked it up to my home's GigE LAN and the set works fine. This set uses a 100 baseT connection which is slow for this day and age. The Vizio Apps are superfluous to us since we have a full fledged PC hooked to it. If you don't have a PC hooked up to it you might be happy, but you will really miss the beauty of a pixel by pixel accurate 55" display.
My wife was mad at me for buying it... then she stayed up until 3:30AM watching it. She was no longer mad at me the next day. ;-)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:July 22, 2011

Love the matte screen

Pros: picture quality, matte screen
Cons: random reboots
Model Number: XVT553
"Vizio wasn’t really a brand that was on my radar, so I wasn't immediately drawn to the XVT553. The quality of the picture didn't seem as good as others on display at Costco, and I was a bit wary of the mixed revues. However, I found few sets that met my criteria of a full array back lighted TV with a matte screen to minimize glare. I decided to give this one a try knowing that I could return it within 90 days. After four months of use I must say that I am very pleasantly surprised with the picture quality in a "real life" setting. I suspect that the Costco industrial lighting doesn’t provide a fair venue for evaluation. The colors are great and there is very little reflection from the screen, so my fundamental criteria are met. The extra features were not a selling point, but I do find myself playing with the Via apps. I even bought a Vizio modem to take full advantage of the wireless capabilities. I use the set as both a TV and as a computer monitor, and really like the ability to display both simultaneously using PIP. I have it hooked up to my Yamaha receiver and use a Harmony 880 remote, so I have no real opinions on the sound or qwerty remote. The TV will occasionally turn itself off and reboot when it senses a corruption in the signal. It has only happened a few times but it’s a bit of a pain, and I’ve seen some online reports suggesting that some sets frequently reboot (you can search for “random Vizio reboot). The picture quality and matte screen offset this minor inconvenience."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Date:December 22, 2010

No RGB Input to PIP/POP in Sub Window

Model Number: XVT553SV
"My main purpose to purchase this unit was to watching TV on main and surfing on Web in PIP/POP window. But there is no input menu selection from RGB (VGA) into PIP/POP window. The user manual ERRONEOUSLY indicates that there is the function to do it. I miss my old 42" VIZIO TV for PIP and Swap. Once the unit is wired/ wireless to internet the cool Apps allow user instant access to webs with limited contents. There is room for improvement. (VIZIO case#1357173)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach, FL.
Date:February 1, 2011

Best of All

Pros: best value for the features out there hands down
Cons: internet apps are very limited right now
"I researched all the 55" LED/LCD TV's out there and this Vizio was by far the best value. I read alot of negative reviews but alot more positive ones. I figured there are always some duds out there when you sell thousands of these so I decided it was worth the risk. I can always return it. All I can say is that it worked as advertised right out of the box. I have three other HDTV's and this picture blows them away. I watched the pro bowl and the 240HZ eliminated any blur during the action. I can't wait to watch the Super Bowl. I'm an electronics nut and can set these things up blindfolded but the set up app that's built into the system when you first turn the unit on can walk any housewife thru the process without a problem. I hooked up my Panasonic Blue Ray DVD player and the movies look awesome. The bluetooth remote with the slide out QWERTY keypad is very cool. The factory presets are more than adequate even if you're not satisfied leaving it alone like me. There are alot of options for tweeking the picture, maybe too much. The built in speakers are very good but I hooked it up to my surround sound system and it's like you're in a theatre. The only problem I thought I had was that the picture appeared too big for the screen. It was cutting off the tops of the heads on the screen. It took me a while to figure out that the remote for my cable box had the zoom feature on. As soon as I turned it off it was fine. Connecting to the internet is easy with the built in wireless modem. All you do is enter your security code and you're in. The number of sites are very limited right now but hopefully they will add more in the future. Overall I'm very satisfied and highly recommend this TV."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2011

Vizio has come a long way

Pros: full led 240 hz
Cons: not sexy
"Make sure you have an HDMI cable. Without HDMI cable picture is just so so. Once you hook up the HDMI you will be completely satisfied. Great picture, great color, front speaker sound much better than the competition. For the price you can't beat it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 55" Back Lit LED LCD HDTV w/ VIZIO Internet Apps™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Downey , CA
Date:January 21, 2011

DOA - out of the Box

Cons: poor quality product right out of the box!
"very simple review - poor quality product - TV would lock durning set-up process and shut off - It is apparent there is no quality control at VIZIO or their suppliers - had to return item - would recommend buying different brand -"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>