Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Due to the perishable nature of this item, this product will only ship Monday & Tuesday for Thursday & Friday delivery. Big Easy Foods has jazzed up the flavor! Famous for their Louisiana Cuisine, Big Easy Foods 15 lb TurDucHens are “Big on Flavor and Easy to Prepare”. Each of our TurDucHens are stuffed with mouthwatering dressings designed to compliment this trifecta of delicious birds. All of our TurDucHens are seasoned to perfection with Big Easy Foods Louisiana Seasoning, the latest addition to Big Easy's line of authentic Louisiana products. Features: Partially-boneless turkey, stuffed with duck, chicken, cornbread  & rice dressing Turduchens are vacuum sealed in individual pouch to lock in freshness Seasoned to perfection Ships uncooked and frozen Inspected for wholesomeness by U.S. Department of Agriculture
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
(out of 126 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
27
76 of 126(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Review 1 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:December 14, 2010

Best thanksgiving dish ever

Pros: easy to prepare, tasty, shipped fast, tender and moist
"I was a little nervious ordering a main dish, especially the Turkey, for Thanksgiving online, but the TurDucken arrived faster than expected, frozen solid and in it's own cooler. I was already impressed. It is a pretty simple process to prepare, and remember, no bones.
A couple of days before Thanksgiving, or when you are going to serve it, take it out of the freezer and let it "thaw" in the refrigerator for two to three days. Once thawed, we took the plastic off, threw the bird in a roasting pan, covered, and cooked it at 325 for 4 to 5 hours. Temp at the end of 5 hours was well above 165 throughout the bird(s). Let cool a little bit, and then served.
It was our first Thanksgiving as a family, so I had never carved a turkey before, it was always my dad, so I gave it a shot this time, VERY easy to carve. Taste was excellent. Meat was tender and moist, probabliy one of the best turkeys I have had, including a deep fried turkey. We will reorder again for next year. Even at 80 dollars, it was well worth it! The Family were all impressed!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 25, 2011

Tur-Duc-Hen 1-2-3

Pros: serving 20 is no problem!
Model Number: Item # 543301
"1. It arrived via 2nd Day Air - straight to our freezer. This is our third Tur-Duc-Hen in seven years and the first from Costco.com. Simple straight ordering.
2. We did let the Tur-Duc-Hen thaw for three days versus two. I believe it gave us better results. Oven set for 400 degrees but after putting it in the oven, back it to 350 and cooked for an extra hour for a total of four hours. Internal Temp. was 155 degrees and it was cooked thoroughly. Starting it out at 400 gave it a good golden crisp finish.
3. To the table for the truth. Everything serparated well and did not mixed together. We had the platter with the Turkey, Duck, and the Chicken, which were all moist. The cornbread dressing could have had a bit more spices. The rice and pork was good and not as spicy as some of the reviews I had read on this page previously had mentioned.
When cooked correctly, Tur-Duc-Hen will please just about everyone. Don't be afraid to tweak the directions and remember that not all ovens are the same. Yes, I'll buy another."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 28, 2013

waste of money and time

Pros: none
Cons: bad instuctions.
"after 6 hours at 400, still not even close to 165 degrees.
Since this was our first tur-duc-hen, we followed the instructions, they were way off. everyone sitting around waiting an extra 3 hours. At this point it could be the greatest tasting thing on earth, but it totally killed our thanksgiving plans by taking over 6 hours to cook. I even bought a new meat thermometer, and tested the oven heat to make sure it was correctly calibrated.
The leg's and breast have been at 165 for 3 hours, but the center is still 130. So now we will have over cooked outside and under cooked inside.
Do NOT follow the freezer to oven directions."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:December 8, 2013

What a let down!

Pros: easy to cook/bake, great costco shipping
Cons: too much stuffing, very little to almost no duck
"I ordered this, as I had ALWAYS wanted to cook and serve a turducken...what an absolute disappointment! More stuffing than meat, and almost zero duck. Thank goodness I ordered and cooked a porchetta as back up. The only reason I did not rate this 1-star is because it was easy to cook."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2013

a Thanksgiving grand slam!

Pros: delicious, easy to cook
"Absolutely delicious! This was a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner with 13 people; in the end, we had more than enough leftovers for people to take home but not too much. I cooked it for about 4 hours at 350F and the turkey came out excellent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:November 2, 2011

Fun meal for all

Pros: very tasy high quality not much fat yet not dry
"This was a little pricey and although the package said it contained 44 servings, I would say that, if you are feeding adults, there are about 20 servings. It arrived fully frozen. It takes at least 3 days in the fridge to defrost but it can be cooked frozen. It took about 30 minutes longer than the instructions. It was tasty, high quality and enjoyed by all (ages 9 -90). Easy to cook and a simple way to feed a large group."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clovis Ca
Date:January 2, 2014

Odd

Pros: packaging very good
Cons: everything
"I was so hopeful knowing Costco standards that this would be a fun and tasty purchase. I was wrong. It was the oddest lump of fowl I have ever eaten. The stuffing was salty and seemed to be stuck in and around random pieces of mystery meats...there seemed to be no rhyme or reason to how it was put together. The turkey meat by itself was good and juicy, but the other meats were not recognizable. The stuffing was odd and awful. It did roast and was done in the recommended cooking time though. I was glad that I had bought it just to try after seeing them made on TV and that our family Christmas meal was not centered around this oddity."
Review 8 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013

A solid Turducken

"I cook one of these every year. This is the first from Costco. We had 12 adults to dinner. When you cook this, I advise you get some turkey lacers and close up any open areas especially around the neck or it will open up and fall apart. This is the same with any turducken I have had. Second, oil the rack or pan you put it in or it will stick. Third, buy a decent thermometer that you can leave in. Defrost it for a couple days and try to get it soft. It took exactly 3 1/2 hours to cook at 400F in a convection oven. Everyone thought it was great. These are easy to cook, impressive to look at, and taste pretty good. You just need to be prepared to cook it."
Review 9 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:November 29, 2013

Start of a new tradition

Pros: great flavor moist and wonderful dressing.
Cons: none
"Cooked the tru-duc-hen on a pellet fired grill with excellent results. Nothing but compliments during the Thanksgiving meal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Port Deposit, MD
Date:October 16, 2012

Tur-Duc-Hen 2011

Pros: the idea was intriguing
Cons: turky old and dry flavor bland much mushy dressi
Model Number: Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen 2011
"What a disappointment! Dry meats, half of it was mushy, tasteless dressing. I could tell before I cooked it that it was an old, frozen roast. I fallowed instructions to a tee… Unfortunately we had guests and were red faced over such a poor feast. I will never trust a tur-duc-hen again. I ordered it because people raved over it the year before (2010), 4 and 5 stars. This one (2011) did not even rate a 1 star. Perhaps some people liked this Jerky-Turkey. We like ours juicy and succulent. Even the flavoring was bland. Oh well, live and learn. Sorry Costco, beware of your brands."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:December 26, 2013

didn't realize this was Scotish Haggis

Pros: on time nicely packaged
Cons: more like haggis than a stuffed turkey
"The bird? arrived on time and was neatly packaged in both dry & regular ice packs. There was no enclosed instructions except small font vague general printed label. After taking over an hour longer than the directions said to get up to temperature, this Frankenbird totally fell apart in the pan and had to be scooped out. No way could it be sliced in a unified way and was embarrassing to serve. Just a dark gray mess of bad flavored Haggis flanked by two dried out turkey breasts book-ends. The dressings were mushy globs with an overly salty unexplainable bitterness. Different dark meats (dark grizzly chicken scraps mixed with a few pieces of tough duck fat) were stuffed in between two separate lumps of soggy stuffing (one side cornmeal and other rice) with little or no seasoning. The three types of meat (dark meat turkey, dark meat chicken, duck?) were indistinguishable from one another once served. Every guest stuck eating just the plain white turkey breast. Normally, left-overs get attacked & fully consumed by our teenagers by the very next day. This mixed up bird was dumped unceremoniously into the trash after sitting untouched three days later. Pretty bad when a 17 year old boy looks past four quart sized containers of turkey dinner left-overs and claims there is nothing edible in the fridge. Worst turkey? dinner my family has ever had."
Review 12 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Date:November 19, 2013

NEW FAMILY TRADITION

Pros: delicious
Cons: none
"WE ORDERED OUR FIRST ONE 2012 AND IT WAS A HIT FOR OUR FAMILY. THIS YEAR WE ORDERED 2 SO CAN ENJOY MORE. JUST TRY IT . MAKE SURE ITS THAWED OUT, AND DONT OVER COOK. EVEN THE DRESSING WAS DELISH."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilroy, CA
Date:January 31, 2011

Heaven on a Plate

Pros: 4.5 hours (thawed) from oven to table!
Cons: no cons! try it you'll like it!!
"This Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen is also known as Cornbread & Pork-Rice Dressing Tur-Duck-Hen. First they partially debone the turkey, leaving the legs and wings, then they stuff it with boneless chicken thigh meat, duck breast meat, and moist cajun cornbread pork-rice dressing. So succulent, so good!
It arrived super fast, just 2 business days after ordering it!!"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago IL
Date:October 28, 2010

Turkey

"Loved it made it for Canadian Thanksgiving and what a hit it was. It arrived quicker than expected and what hit it was and will be ordering another one for American Thanksgiving. So easy to cook and wow so moist and tender. The stuffing was a nice touch with rice in it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:December 3, 2010

Big Hit!

Pros: easy preparation, moist and delicious, the rice/sausage stuffing was very good
Cons: the cornbread stuffing is rather sweet.
Model Number: 543301
"Ordered this for Thanksgiving. It was a huge hit. Will definitely order again. It was very moist - probably helped by putting it on a rack, and then pouring a cup of water in the pan (the water is mentioned in the directions). I think it's also important to cover it tightly as the directions state. The directions call for basting. I didn't do any and it came out fine. I made my own cornbread stuffing, which was good because it was preferred to that which came in the turduchen. The only issue I had was that it had not really thawed at the end of 48 hours in the refrigerator. Fortunately I had allowed extra time and removed it from the refrigerator for a while in order to speed up the thawing process. I also increased the oven temperature near the end of the cooking time in order to get the turduchen to 165 degrees. One other change I made was to run a little butter over the bird for the last hour to help with browning. It does fall apart when cut. There is nothing that holds the various meats/fillings together in neat slices. That didn't bother anyone at my table."
Review 16 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:RENO, NV
Date:November 8, 2011

Just "ok" tasting

Pros: turkey tasted good, cooked quickly when thawed
Cons: duck tasted terrible, fell apart, very little chicken found
"The packaging was great- Turduchen was still frozen when I received it and as instructed, I let it thaw for a full 48 to 72 hours before cooking it. The cooking time was alot less than what most suggested on the internet so use a cooking thermometer that you can leave in the bird while it cooks. It smelled heavenly and browned nicely. Like others, I had the same issues when cutting it. The stuffing fell out and slices fell apart into pieces. The duck tasted exactly like liver and I could not find the chicken however the turkey flavor was wonderful. The two stuffings left something to be desired though. Too much money for just liking the taste of the turkey. I recommend this item to someone who has never tried it before and is curious AND doesn't mind the price. But I won't order it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 2, 2010

Only OK

"Shipping: 5* Ordered on Sunday, Arrived Wed, just in time for Thanksgiving.
Cooking instructions: 5* Yes, it took about 5 hours. With constant watching, turned out just right.
Taste: 2-3 stars. The turkey was a good frozen turkey, about 3.5 stars, not as good as Turkeys that were not frozen. Duck tasted like liver. 2 stars. We normally like duck, did not like this duck. Chicken ok, tasted like frozen chicken. Did not like either of the two stuffings.
For future Thanksgivings, We will go back to either regular turkey or roasted chickens."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:December 25, 2013

Good meal

Pros: good flavor
Cons: none
"Cooked in 3 hours just like instructed to do and flavor was good with the different kinds of meat. A good change from the normal Christmas meal."
Review 19 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2011

Not one of Costco's better products, by far

Pros: easy roasting, dogs enjoyed the leftovers
Cons: flavor is bland-to-awful
"Stuffings are awful, both the cornbread (very sweet) and rice (very bland). The pieces of duck and chicken inside the turkey carcass are gamey. (However, if served with fresh-cooked cranberry sauce, they are edible.) Turkey is good on the first day, but leftovers become as gamey-tasting as the rest after that. Like previous reviewers, I have long anticipated trying a turduchen. Never again! Instead, I suggest that you brine and roast your own turkey and duck and serve them separately. And make your own tasty stuffing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 2, 2010

Disappointing

Pros: good turkey meat
Cons: dressing very mushy
Model Number: Tur-Duc-Hen with cornbread and pork rice dressing
"The bird arrived on time and was well wrapped. There was no enclosed instructions except a small general cooking plan printed on the label. Never did find the 'woven threading' that was to be removed after cooking. The dressing was a mushy glob and tasteless, no hint of pork. It was difficult to find the chicken and the duck as it was plastered with the dressing. The duck was gamey and the chicken was thigh meat, I thought it was supposed to be breast. At least the Turkey was good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>