Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Due to the perishable nature of this item, this product will only ship Monday & Tuesday for Thursday & Friday delivery. Big Easy Foods has jazzed up the flavor! Famous for their Louisiana Cuisine, Big Easy Foods 15 lb TurDucHens are “Big on Flavor and Easy to Prepare”. Each of our TurDucHens are stuffed with mouthwatering dressings designed to compliment this trifecta of delicious birds. All of our TurDucHens are seasoned to perfection with Big Easy Foods Louisiana Seasoning, the latest addition to Big Easy's line of authentic Louisiana products. Features: Partially-boneless turkey, stuffed with duck, chicken, cornbread  & rice dressing Turduchens are vacuum sealed in individual pouch to lock in freshness Seasoned to perfection Ships uncooked and frozen Inspected for wholesomeness by U.S. Department of Agriculture
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
(out of 126 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
27
76 of 126(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Review 1 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clovis Ca
Date:January 2, 2014

Odd

Pros: packaging very good
Cons: everything
"I was so hopeful knowing Costco standards that this would be a fun and tasty purchase. I was wrong. It was the oddest lump of fowl I have ever eaten. The stuffing was salty and seemed to be stuck in and around random pieces of mystery meats...there seemed to be no rhyme or reason to how it was put together. The turkey meat by itself was good and juicy, but the other meats were not recognizable. The stuffing was odd and awful. It did roast and was done in the recommended cooking time though. I was glad that I had bought it just to try after seeing them made on TV and that our family Christmas meal was not centered around this oddity."
Review 2 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013

A solid Turducken

"I cook one of these every year. This is the first from Costco. We had 12 adults to dinner. When you cook this, I advise you get some turkey lacers and close up any open areas especially around the neck or it will open up and fall apart. This is the same with any turducken I have had. Second, oil the rack or pan you put it in or it will stick. Third, buy a decent thermometer that you can leave in. Defrost it for a couple days and try to get it soft. It took exactly 3 1/2 hours to cook at 400F in a convection oven. Everyone thought it was great. These are easy to cook, impressive to look at, and taste pretty good. You just need to be prepared to cook it."
Review 3 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:December 26, 2013

didn't realize this was Scotish Haggis

Pros: on time nicely packaged
Cons: more like haggis than a stuffed turkey
"The bird? arrived on time and was neatly packaged in both dry & regular ice packs. There was no enclosed instructions except small font vague general printed label. After taking over an hour longer than the directions said to get up to temperature, this Frankenbird totally fell apart in the pan and had to be scooped out. No way could it be sliced in a unified way and was embarrassing to serve. Just a dark gray mess of bad flavored Haggis flanked by two dried out turkey breasts book-ends. The dressings were mushy globs with an overly salty unexplainable bitterness. Different dark meats (dark grizzly chicken scraps mixed with a few pieces of tough duck fat) were stuffed in between two separate lumps of soggy stuffing (one side cornmeal and other rice) with little or no seasoning. The three types of meat (dark meat turkey, dark meat chicken, duck?) were indistinguishable from one another once served. Every guest stuck eating just the plain white turkey breast. Normally, left-overs get attacked & fully consumed by our teenagers by the very next day. This mixed up bird was dumped unceremoniously into the trash after sitting untouched three days later. Pretty bad when a 17 year old boy looks past four quart sized containers of turkey dinner left-overs and claims there is nothing edible in the fridge. Worst turkey? dinner my family has ever had."
Review 4 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:December 25, 2013

Good meal

Pros: good flavor
Cons: none
"Cooked in 3 hours just like instructed to do and flavor was good with the different kinds of meat. A good change from the normal Christmas meal."
Review 5 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:December 8, 2013

What a let down!

Pros: easy to cook/bake, great costco shipping
Cons: too much stuffing, very little to almost no duck
"I ordered this, as I had ALWAYS wanted to cook and serve a turducken...what an absolute disappointment! More stuffing than meat, and almost zero duck. Thank goodness I ordered and cooked a porchetta as back up. The only reason I did not rate this 1-star is because it was easy to cook."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2013

a Thanksgiving grand slam!

Pros: delicious, easy to cook
"Absolutely delicious! This was a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner with 13 people; in the end, we had more than enough leftovers for people to take home but not too much. I cooked it for about 4 hours at 350F and the turkey came out excellent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:November 29, 2013

Start of a new tradition

Pros: great flavor moist and wonderful dressing.
Cons: none
"Cooked the tru-duc-hen on a pellet fired grill with excellent results. Nothing but compliments during the Thanksgiving meal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 28, 2013

waste of money and time

Pros: none
Cons: bad instuctions.
"after 6 hours at 400, still not even close to 165 degrees.
Since this was our first tur-duc-hen, we followed the instructions, they were way off. everyone sitting around waiting an extra 3 hours. At this point it could be the greatest tasting thing on earth, but it totally killed our thanksgiving plans by taking over 6 hours to cook. I even bought a new meat thermometer, and tested the oven heat to make sure it was correctly calibrated.
The leg's and breast have been at 165 for 3 hours, but the center is still 130. So now we will have over cooked outside and under cooked inside.
Do NOT follow the freezer to oven directions."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Date:November 19, 2013

NEW FAMILY TRADITION

Pros: delicious
Cons: none
"WE ORDERED OUR FIRST ONE 2012 AND IT WAS A HIT FOR OUR FAMILY. THIS YEAR WE ORDERED 2 SO CAN ENJOY MORE. JUST TRY IT . MAKE SURE ITS THAWED OUT, AND DONT OVER COOK. EVEN THE DRESSING WAS DELISH."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kennesaw, GA
Date:December 1, 2012

Best TurDucHen

"Best ever had, including some really past good ones.."
Review 11 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2012

Don't waste your money!

Pros: the packaging is very good.
Cons: wasted money
"All of the meat tastes the same, only the texture differs. Bag of beans & sausage was the best tasting thing in the package! Mushy, gritty, sweet, cornbread stuffing, & the rice stuffing exploded out of the side of the turkey breaking off the lower leg portion of the bird making it impossible to remove from the pan in one piece for the traditional platter presentation. Always wanted to try the celebrated turducken. Got over that with a less than stellar experience. Never again....Save your money!"
Review 12 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:November 13, 2012

Better than I thought possible

Pros: a side dish of red beans is included
Cons: none
"I ordered this last year for Christmas and it was fantastic. Very easy to prepare and simple to serve. I have ordered another one to serve on Christmas again this year"
Review 13 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Grandville Mi
Date:November 12, 2012

thawed turdecken

"I usually find costco products to be excellent, so I was especially disappointed to find my turducken and red beans and rice completely thawed and the packaging dripping wet. I can only assume it was ill packaged and or mistreated during shipping. I am thankful I had enough time to order another--from a different provider!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:November 7, 2012

Just ok

Pros: quick shipping easy to order
Cons: did not meet expectations
"Although i am a big Costco fan and find most products sold to be of superior quality, this product In my opinion was just ok at $64.00 i expected more than just ok, the cooking instructions said to thaw and cook for 3 hours, i cooked it for 4 and it was still not cooked in the center. The taste was ok, i would not purchase this again at the price, would not reccomend it to a freind."
Review 15 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:We live in WA state and have for a number of years
Date:November 7, 2012

No need to go back home for great Tur- Duc- Hen

Pros: delivery of our tur- duc- hen was hard frozen when
Cons: do not think there was one
Model Number: N/O
"Thank you for one of the best meals we have had in years.We are from LA"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:November 3, 2012

Best Turkey ever

Pros: easy instruction and tastful stuffing.
Cons: it's over 35 servings but only enough to serve 8., need more stuffing on the sides.
"My family and I don't like Turkey, but this bird, or should I say birds, is actually amazing. Last year we over cooked it by 45 minutes, so the turkey was actually a little dry. However, the duck and hen meat was very juicy still. I am definitely not a good cook and don't even know how to stuff a turkey, so this is the best choice, especially when serving my in-laws... they were impressed and I just made my life easier by following the instruction that come with it. Thanks, Costco!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Louisiana
Date:October 28, 2012

Have eaten many of these.

Pros: tasty
Cons: hard to find
"I am located near the Big Easy Tur-Duc-Hen "factory" and have eaten many of these Tur-Duc-Hens over the years. I have enjoyed every one. I have found them to be tasty and succulent. I would recommend the "Pork Rice" dressing as it is traditional in South Louisiana. I don't know about the cornbread version. Make sure that your Tur-Duc-Hen is well hydrated during cooking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Port Deposit, MD
Date:October 16, 2012

Tur-Duc-Hen 2011

Pros: the idea was intriguing
Cons: turky old and dry flavor bland much mushy dressi
Model Number: Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen 2011
"What a disappointment! Dry meats, half of it was mushy, tasteless dressing. I could tell before I cooked it that it was an old, frozen roast. I fallowed instructions to a tee… Unfortunately we had guests and were red faced over such a poor feast. I will never trust a tur-duc-hen again. I ordered it because people raved over it the year before (2010), 4 and 5 stars. This one (2011) did not even rate a 1 star. Perhaps some people liked this Jerky-Turkey. We like ours juicy and succulent. Even the flavoring was bland. Oh well, live and learn. Sorry Costco, beware of your brands."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wyoming, MI
Date:December 5, 2011

Tur-Duc-Heaven!

Pros: easy to cook!
"We've always wanted to try a Tur-Duc-Hen, and with such a great offer from Costco, we did! Great deal, shipped quick, and easy to make! All three birds were moist and delicious! Stuffing wasn't real flavorful, but I had traditional stuffing made also, incase our guests didn't like the stuffing that came with the bird. Overall though, I would definitely order again! You can't go wrong, when it's all FOWL!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2011

big easy brand turduchen

"I was disappointed with this brand of turduchen. Last year we loved the Tony Chaucer Brand of turduchen. Too much stuffing and we did not like the consistency and taste of the stuffing. The meat was okay. I will not buy Big Easy Brand turduchen again. Probably go back to brining my own turkey. Might try the Tony Chaucer Brand again."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>