Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Due to the perishable nature of this item, this product will only ship Monday & Tuesday for Thursday & Friday delivery. Big Easy Foods has jazzed up the flavor! Famous for their Louisiana Cuisine, Big Easy Foods 15 lb TurDucHens are “Big on Flavor and Easy to Prepare”. Each of our TurDucHens are stuffed with mouthwatering dressings designed to compliment this trifecta of delicious birds. All of our TurDucHens are seasoned to perfection with Big Easy Foods Louisiana Seasoning, the latest addition to Big Easy's line of authentic Louisiana products. Features: Partially-boneless turkey, stuffed with duck, chicken, cornbread  & rice dressing Turduchens are vacuum sealed in individual pouch to lock in freshness Seasoned to perfection Ships uncooked and frozen Inspected for wholesomeness by U.S. Department of Agriculture
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
(out of 126 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
27
76 of 126(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Review 41 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:November 28, 2011

Great turkey!

"Turkey arrived fully frozen, took about 3-4 days to fully defrost. The instructions say it is done in about 4 hours, but I would say its more like 6 if you are basting often. Its not multiple layers of meat inside, rather chiekn and turkey and chopped up duck in a rice stuffing. Add your own marinade and butter under the skin for an amazing moist turkey. Be sure to use a thermometer to keep track of temperature, the nature of the turkey is dense so cooking at a proper time requires careful attention."
Review 42 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:November 28, 2011

More than I had hoped for

Pros: very flavorful, definitely will buy again
Model Number: Unknown (15 lb. Tur-Duc-Hen)
"This product was excellent! I had heard a lot of good things about it and finally got to try it. It was very moist and tasty. The different meats made for a very flavorful gravy. It was extremely east to prepare (much easier than preparing a regular turkey). My entire family loved this and I think we may have started a family tradition for next Thanksgiving."
Review 43 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011
"Since we never had Tur-Duc-Hen we were uncertain as to what to expect. It arrived in perfect condition and the entire family loved it. There were no leftovers. Definitely order it again and plan to try their wild caught shrimp too."
Review 44 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

not recommend

"The tur-duc-hen was very dried after we cooked. We cooked our turkey as well, so it was not the way of cooking The stuffing was vinegary and not very moist. We hardly tasted any flavor, We had been purchasing Tur-Duc_hen from the other place on the web and wanted to try COSTCO's. But we should not . It's not worth it."
Review 45 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alhambra, CA
Date:November 29, 2011

misleading cooking instruction

"Evrybody were excited to try this Tur-Duc-Hen, but at the end nobody want it.
I've tried to follow the instruction:
1. Thawed in the fridge for 2 days which i did for 3 days
2. if it's completely thawed cooked for 3 hours and I didi it for 4 hours
and the result: it was totaly rare inside.
i ended up cut it into pieces and cooked it again for an hour in the middle of the party.
we cannot tell if there was a duck or hen inside.
Overall the taste is so-so, the Turkey is kind of dry but the stuffing inside taste pretty good.
"
Review 46 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2011

Very tasty

"Easy to order and arrived quickly. Forgot to defrost before Thanksgiving but cooked it frozen that morning (found instructions on web) and it was WONDERFUL. Especially liked the dressing with a little zing in it. Brought back fond memories of New Orleans. Will buy again next year if offered."
Review 47 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 1, 2011

Delicious Food

Pros: very easy to prepare
Cons: none
"Simply delicious!
After reading 2 negative reviews, I hoped I hadn't made a mistake by ordering a tur-duc-hen for my family's Thanksgiving celebration. I am so glad I didn't cancel my order. Everyone enjoyed this delicious treat. It was the big hit at the table.
It was very easy to prepare, let it thaw and it is ready for the oven. Cooking time was about 4.5 hours. Instructions are included.
I will definitely purchase again for myself and others!
"
Review 48 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:November 7, 2012

Just ok

Pros: quick shipping easy to order
Cons: did not meet expectations
"Although i am a big Costco fan and find most products sold to be of superior quality, this product In my opinion was just ok at $64.00 i expected more than just ok, the cooking instructions said to thaw and cook for 3 hours, i cooked it for 4 and it was still not cooked in the center. The taste was ok, i would not purchase this again at the price, would not reccomend it to a freind."
Review 49 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:November 17, 2010

Love Tony Chachere's

Pros: arrived frozen in 80' heat!
"I can hardly wait to cook and enjoy this, it arrived today in 80' heat, perfectly frozen with the ice packs in tack, thank god! I have been a big fan of Tony Chachere's for years, so I really am looking forward to this Thanksgiving bird! I have loved their spices and cookbooks for years! I was surprised to see this on the Costco site for much less than a similar product at my local butcher, and I believe this will be much better as well! Can't wait!"
Review 50 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silverdale, WA
Date:November 27, 2010

Who Dat Gonna Eat Dat Tur-Duc-Hen

Pros: fabulous and tasty!!!
Model Number: Tony Chachere's Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
"Fabulous and tasty. It was a big hit with the entire family. The whole trifecta of birds were moist and delicious. Worth every penny."
Review 51 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:December 3, 2010

Big Hit!

Pros: easy preparation, moist and delicious, the rice/sausage stuffing was very good
Cons: the cornbread stuffing is rather sweet.
Model Number: 543301
"Ordered this for Thanksgiving. It was a huge hit. Will definitely order again. It was very moist - probably helped by putting it on a rack, and then pouring a cup of water in the pan (the water is mentioned in the directions). I think it's also important to cover it tightly as the directions state. The directions call for basting. I didn't do any and it came out fine. I made my own cornbread stuffing, which was good because it was preferred to that which came in the turduchen. The only issue I had was that it had not really thawed at the end of 48 hours in the refrigerator. Fortunately I had allowed extra time and removed it from the refrigerator for a while in order to speed up the thawing process. I also increased the oven temperature near the end of the cooking time in order to get the turduchen to 165 degrees. One other change I made was to run a little butter over the bird for the last hour to help with browning. It does fall apart when cut. There is nothing that holds the various meats/fillings together in neat slices. That didn't bother anyone at my table."
Review 52 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:December 23, 2010

Very Good

Pros: great flavors, great appearance
Cons: slices do not hold their shape well
"The flavors were very good. While not in the true tradition of Chef Paul it is a nice alternative without all the work. Carving was a slight dissapointment as the pieces did not hold their shape well however, the flavor and stuffings offset this slight inconvenience."
Review 53 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 27, 2010

Big Hit with the family

Pros: unique
"We ordered on short notice but it came in 2 days. It defrosted and cooked well. Though it needed to be watched as when it was uncovered for that last hour I noticed the legs and wings were burning and so I recovered those parts and continued to bake with the main part of the bird exposed. No one seemed to find any chicken and possibly only duck breast within the turkey so not exactly 3 whole boneless birds in there. Also, the cornbread stuffing was a bit sweet for our tastes but good for others. great for left over sandwiches. overall this was a big hit and good to try at least once."
Review 54 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa
Date:January 6, 2011

Excellent Holiday Meal

"This is the 2nd time I've served Tony Chachere's Tur-Duc-Hen for Christmas Dinner. And the first time I've ordered it on line. Great purchase experience, fast shipping, easy to prepare, and it's a head turner, over the traditional Christmas Turkey. Especially noteworthy is the sausage stuffing, which is to die for."
Review 55 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2011

Turduchen > Tur Don't Hen

Pros: good turkey and hen
Cons: liver taste was strong in the duck and stuffing, expensive
"My wife is a native Louisianian. Even she thought that the taste was "Not Right." The duck had a very strong Liver taste which affected the stuffing. Although some "dirty rice" is made with liver - the liver taste was too much and it spilled over into the hen and the turkey too.
From the reviews posted, I would say that there is a quality control issue.
As a side note: it does take more than 2 days to thaw out in a refrigerator (enclosed instructions said 2 days to thaw out).
"
Review 56 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tempe, AZ
Date:November 24, 2011

Whoa, did not expect that!

Pros: fast shipping, well packed
Cons: too many to list
"I just finished throwing out half of the Turduchen after cooking it for dinner today. I love salt, but I cannot believe that everything was so salty that I couldn't eat. The cornbread was mush and had the liver taste. Threw out the rice stuffing also due to salt and liver taste. The duck still had the skin on it and I couldn't pull it off. All we could eat were the legs and breast of the turkey and that was too salty. I read the other reviews and was prepared for an new taste but the new taste was not acceptable. Very disappointed, didn't think it would be that bad."
Review 57 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:nj
Date:November 24, 2011

Disappointing Thanksgiving Dinner.

Pros: arrived on time
Cons: disaster
"Arrived on time.
Defrosted 2 days.
Cooking: cooking temp varied a lot throughout the bird.
Taste: Duck: Small amount and tasted like liver. Chicken: tiny portion and tasted like duck. Turkey:dry. Stuffing: corn bread:lumps, rice:nice. Was mixed poorly.
Cooked exactly to instructions.
Very disappointing"
Review 58 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:November 25, 2011

Delicious and Easy

"We really enjoyed this product. I followed the directions, accept I uncovered and cooked it for an extra hour until the internal temp read 180 degrees. It turned out to be golden brown and tasted very well. Everyone liked the stuffing. The turkey and chicken had a really good creole flavor. The duck was a sweet liver flavor but I enjoyed it. The kids really thought it was something special and it was so easy I might cook one again next year."
Review 59 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011

stuffing

Cons: bad stuffing
"the bird itself wasn't to bad but the stuffing was bad and cooking time is wrong when cooking in baking bag cook an hour less, the corn bread stuffing was like cement and couldn't really tell if there was duck in it at all, if we get another one maybe we will re stuff it with good stuffing and look for the duck in it"
Review 60 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:November 26, 2011

Tasty and moist

Pros: tasty moist
Cons: corn bread stuffing not fluffy
"After reading the mixed reviews, I became concerned that this turduchen would turn out badly but it didn't. It was excellent. Very tasty turkey meat, duck did not taste like liver at all like some reviewers encountered. The chicken part sort of got mixed around w/ the rest of the bird so not really sure where it was.
The only slight negative is that the corn bread stuffing was pretty solid. I guess after jamming it into the cavity, it got very compressed.
The two different stuffings were a nice touch.
Overall, we were very satisfied w/ this one."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>