Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Due to the perishable nature of this item, this product will only ship Monday & Tuesday for Thursday & Friday delivery. Big Easy Foods has jazzed up the flavor! Famous for their Louisiana Cuisine, Big Easy Foods 15 lb TurDucHens are “Big on Flavor and Easy to Prepare”. Each of our TurDucHens are stuffed with mouthwatering dressings designed to compliment this trifecta of delicious birds. All of our TurDucHens are seasoned to perfection with Big Easy Foods Louisiana Seasoning, the latest addition to Big Easy's line of authentic Louisiana products. Features: Partially-boneless turkey, stuffed with duck, chicken, cornbread  & rice dressing Turduchens are vacuum sealed in individual pouch to lock in freshness Seasoned to perfection Ships uncooked and frozen Inspected for wholesomeness by U.S. Department of Agriculture
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
(out of 126 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
27
76 of 126(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Review 41 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redmond, WA
Date:November 28, 2011

delicious change

Pros: moist and yummy
"The whole family enjoyed this change. We always have cornbread dressing and the sausage stuffing was good, but the meat - all 3- was moist and delicious. We will do this again!"
Review 42 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:November 28, 2011

More than I had hoped for

Pros: very flavorful, definitely will buy again
Model Number: Unknown (15 lb. Tur-Duc-Hen)
"This product was excellent! I had heard a lot of good things about it and finally got to try it. It was very moist and tasty. The different meats made for a very flavorful gravy. It was extremely east to prepare (much easier than preparing a regular turkey). My entire family loved this and I think we may have started a family tradition for next Thanksgiving."
Review 43 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:November 28, 2011

Great turkey!

"Turkey arrived fully frozen, took about 3-4 days to fully defrost. The instructions say it is done in about 4 hours, but I would say its more like 6 if you are basting often. Its not multiple layers of meat inside, rather chiekn and turkey and chopped up duck in a rice stuffing. Add your own marinade and butter under the skin for an amazing moist turkey. Be sure to use a thermometer to keep track of temperature, the nature of the turkey is dense so cooking at a proper time requires careful attention."
Review 44 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, California
Date:November 28, 2011

Just so-so

Pros: stuffing
Cons: poor cooking instructions
"I followed the very vague directions to cook this (covered, 400 degrees, 3 hours). It seemed too hot, but that is all the label said. Well, the turkey and duck were both very dried out.
I believe that if some additional cooking tips could be included, this would have been great.
By the way, the stuffing was the best part - excellent."
Review 45 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:November 28, 2011

Worst Product Ever from Costco

Cons: bad flavor, fell apart in pan, 15 pounder won't feed as many as claimed, price way too high, extremely disappointing
"I had Tur-Duc-Hen in Houston about 10 years ago and this was nothing like that. The stuffing fell out of the bottom when I removed it from the pan and the rest of the bird did not present anything like the photo shows. The cornbread stuffing was bland and the rice stuffing had some weird spice flavor. I'm glad I had done my usual turkey and dressing for our family and friends. They all gave the Tur-Duc-Hen two thumbs down. Oh well. At least none of us will make that mistake again."
Review 46 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonds, WA
Date:November 28, 2011

Easy Holiday Meal

"The Tur-Duc-Hen arruved frozen packed in dry ice and I put it in the freezer. Allow at least 48 hours to defrost in the fridge. There didn't seem to be many instructions but as it turned out I didn't need them.
After defrosting the bird I just put the whole thing in the oven...it was so nice to have everything done and I didn"t have to stuff it or anything!
The meat was moist and the flavor was good, I would do it again!"
Review 47 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 28, 2011

Worst Meal Ever

"the directions are on the little label, it took longer to cook than stated making everyone wait an extra 1 1/2 hours, had to reheat everything else, the turkey was fin, the duck was just chucks mixed with the watery rice, no chicken inside at all, only 2 tablespoons of dressing. When I carved it, it fell apart with rice and duck spilling out luckly it was on a large cutting board. I did arrive froozen but the dry ice was gone when I opened the insulated container and it started to warm up, if it was delivered mid day or earlier it would have defrosted. Poor over I rated this one star because there was no lower score. I have requested a refund due it not being as advertised, COSTCO has had high standards for products, but they missed the mark one, don't waste your time or money."
Review 48 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:S.F. Bay Area, CA
Date:November 28, 2011

first time

"Pro: none
Con: Did not enjoy anything. Especially the stuffing. I had to go to Big Easy Foods for cooking instructions. None came in the package. Don't buy this.
"
Review 49 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Great Purchase

"Smoked this turducken and came out great. Super moist and full of flavor was the center piece of my holiday party that everybody loved!"
Review 50 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:lutz florida
Date:November 28, 2011

THANKSGIVING GUEST OF HONOR

Pros: very tasty
Cons: not enough duc-chicken
"Overall the birds were great. The Duck-Chicken components were "stingy". Someone should improve on this part."
Review 51 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 28, 2011

Glad I tried it.

Pros: glad i tried it
Cons: not worth the money
"Certainly did not carve like the picture - but maybe it needed more time to sit. The turkey part was moist and tasty - excellent. People at my table liked the duck. Hen? hard to tell where it was. We found the stuffing awful - had the cornbread only - not done, mushy, and tasted like raw corn meal (bird cooked to 161) - tried to reheat it the next day and it still went into the garbage. 11 people and plenty of leftovers."
Review 52 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Camp Springs, MD
Date:November 28, 2011

Where's the meat????

Cons: false advertisement
"I just got this TURKEY and was very dissappointed. Plenty of Turkey but hardly any Duck and Chicken. Too much watered down rice and not so much stuffing. The duck breast and chicken breast was stuffed in with the rice. Wasn't what I expected."
Review 53 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:November 27, 2011

Not Bad!

Pros: easily prepared
"Thawed out for three days, baked for three hours & uncovered for another 30 minutes at 400 degrees.
Would buy again.
"
Review 54 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011

Super Moist But Where's the Chicken?

Pros: moist and delicious
Cons: very little duck or chicken
"After reading all the reviews I was concerned as Thanksgiving Day approached. I didn't want to serve liver flavored turkey to my family and friends. But, It was actually quite good. Super moist stuffing and white meat. Very delicious. There were just three small problems. There was very little duck and it did have a distinct taste of liver. I'm not sure there was any chicken in there. If there was, it was indistinguishable from the turkey. The last problem was cooking time. The instructions say 3 hours but I cooked it for about 4 1/2 hours. although it came out perfectly."
Review 55 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011

Juiciest Bird Ever

"First time - juiciest "bird" ever !! The whole family enjoyed it. No need to baste with butter - creates its own broth and then some. Negative - TOO much stuffing - made it a real mess to carve."
Review 56 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:November 27, 2011

Three birds in a hand are... great!

"I've heard about Tur-Duc-Hen for years, but this was my first tasting. WOW! Incredible taste, moist, easy to cook; what could be better? Great value, and great food, to share with great friends and family. Give it a try, and I know you'll be shouting: Laissez les Bon Temps Roulez (Let the Good Times Roll)."
Review 57 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:November 26, 2011

Tasty and moist

Pros: tasty moist
Cons: corn bread stuffing not fluffy
"After reading the mixed reviews, I became concerned that this turduchen would turn out badly but it didn't. It was excellent. Very tasty turkey meat, duck did not taste like liver at all like some reviewers encountered. The chicken part sort of got mixed around w/ the rest of the bird so not really sure where it was.
The only slight negative is that the corn bread stuffing was pretty solid. I guess after jamming it into the cavity, it got very compressed.
The two different stuffings were a nice touch.
Overall, we were very satisfied w/ this one."
Review 58 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 25, 2011

so-so

"This was the first time I tried one of these and it didn't live up to it's billing. It was OK but didn't turn out juicy like a regular turkey."
Review 59 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011

stuffing

Cons: bad stuffing
"the bird itself wasn't to bad but the stuffing was bad and cooking time is wrong when cooking in baking bag cook an hour less, the corn bread stuffing was like cement and couldn't really tell if there was duck in it at all, if we get another one maybe we will re stuff it with good stuffing and look for the duck in it"
Review 60 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011

Easy and good...would do again

"...We were nervous to see the drop in ratings between last holiday season and the present. We'd bought two of these and had about 20 people coming for Thanksgiving. Cooked one in the oven and one in a smoker--both were done in about 4.5 hours@325 degrees. Both were great with few left-overs at the end of the day."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>