Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Due to the perishable nature of this item, this product will only ship Monday & Tuesday for Thursday & Friday delivery. Big Easy Foods has jazzed up the flavor! Famous for their Louisiana Cuisine, Big Easy Foods 15 lb TurDucHens are “Big on Flavor and Easy to Prepare”. Each of our TurDucHens are stuffed with mouthwatering dressings designed to compliment this trifecta of delicious birds. All of our TurDucHens are seasoned to perfection with Big Easy Foods Louisiana Seasoning, the latest addition to Big Easy's line of authentic Louisiana products. Features: Partially-boneless turkey, stuffed with duck, chicken, cornbread  & rice dressing Turduchens are vacuum sealed in individual pouch to lock in freshness Seasoned to perfection Ships uncooked and frozen Inspected for wholesomeness by U.S. Department of Agriculture
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
(out of 126 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
27
76 of 126(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Review 61 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 28, 2011

Glad I tried it.

Pros: glad i tried it
Cons: not worth the money
"Certainly did not carve like the picture - but maybe it needed more time to sit. The turkey part was moist and tasty - excellent. People at my table liked the duck. Hen? hard to tell where it was. We found the stuffing awful - had the cornbread only - not done, mushy, and tasted like raw corn meal (bird cooked to 161) - tried to reheat it the next day and it still went into the garbage. 11 people and plenty of leftovers."
Review 62 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:lutz florida
Date:November 28, 2011

THANKSGIVING GUEST OF HONOR

Pros: very tasty
Cons: not enough duc-chicken
"Overall the birds were great. The Duck-Chicken components were "stingy". Someone should improve on this part."
Review 63 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Great Purchase

"Smoked this turducken and came out great. Super moist and full of flavor was the center piece of my holiday party that everybody loved!"
Review 64 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:S.F. Bay Area, CA
Date:November 28, 2011

first time

"Pro: none
Con: Did not enjoy anything. Especially the stuffing. I had to go to Big Easy Foods for cooking instructions. None came in the package. Don't buy this.
"
Review 65 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 28, 2011

Worst Meal Ever

"the directions are on the little label, it took longer to cook than stated making everyone wait an extra 1 1/2 hours, had to reheat everything else, the turkey was fin, the duck was just chucks mixed with the watery rice, no chicken inside at all, only 2 tablespoons of dressing. When I carved it, it fell apart with rice and duck spilling out luckly it was on a large cutting board. I did arrive froozen but the dry ice was gone when I opened the insulated container and it started to warm up, if it was delivered mid day or earlier it would have defrosted. Poor over I rated this one star because there was no lower score. I have requested a refund due it not being as advertised, COSTCO has had high standards for products, but they missed the mark one, don't waste your time or money."
Review 66 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonds, WA
Date:November 28, 2011

Easy Holiday Meal

"The Tur-Duc-Hen arruved frozen packed in dry ice and I put it in the freezer. Allow at least 48 hours to defrost in the fridge. There didn't seem to be many instructions but as it turned out I didn't need them.
After defrosting the bird I just put the whole thing in the oven...it was so nice to have everything done and I didn"t have to stuff it or anything!
The meat was moist and the flavor was good, I would do it again!"
Review 67 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:November 28, 2011

Worst Product Ever from Costco

Cons: bad flavor, fell apart in pan, 15 pounder won't feed as many as claimed, price way too high, extremely disappointing
"I had Tur-Duc-Hen in Houston about 10 years ago and this was nothing like that. The stuffing fell out of the bottom when I removed it from the pan and the rest of the bird did not present anything like the photo shows. The cornbread stuffing was bland and the rice stuffing had some weird spice flavor. I'm glad I had done my usual turkey and dressing for our family and friends. They all gave the Tur-Duc-Hen two thumbs down. Oh well. At least none of us will make that mistake again."
Review 68 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redmond, WA
Date:November 28, 2011

delicious change

Pros: moist and yummy
"The whole family enjoyed this change. We always have cornbread dressing and the sausage stuffing was good, but the meat - all 3- was moist and delicious. We will do this again!"
Review 69 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 28, 2011

A Tur-Duc-Hen Thanksgiving

Pros: incredibly easy to do, the taste has a bit of cajun to it but is very lig, in carving the bird has a tendency to fall apart, well packaged and the delivery was excellent, will do this again
Cons: i would have liked more of a duck, the chicken was invisible., dressing was to much rice and not enough cornbread
"It was one of those items that people reacted to on our Thanksgiving table. The product came right on time and while the instructions are kinda of sparse they do cover all you need to know about this dish. The Turkey was perfectly done and is the base of the dish. The dressing is heavy in rice and lite in the cornbread. Overall a winner and we will do it again."
Review 70 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Great Gift!

Pros: great gift, turkey, rice stuffing, easy
Cons: corn bread stuffing, couldn't add a gift card with order
"Sent this as a gift to my Mom for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it. Turkey was moist and juicy. Some didn't care for the stronger flavor of the duck but those who liked duck enjoyed it. Chicken gets a bit lost in it all. Two types of stuffing come with it. The rice and sausage stuffing is excellent. The cornbread stuffing is a too dry."
Review 71 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Date:November 28, 2011

Very Good

Pros: moist turkey, many portions (had leftovers for several days)
Cons: very little stuffing/dressing and little flavor
"Ordered the Tur-Duc-Hen for the first time and the entire family enjoyed it. One of juiciest turkeys we have enjoyed. Neither stuffing (cornbread and pork rice) had strong flavor. If your family is big on stuffing you will have to make your own. Read the other reviews to get tips on thawing and cooking. I used those tips instead of the instructions."
Review 72 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tempe, AZ
Date:November 28, 2011

Delicious

"It was very good! A little more difficult to carve than regular Turkey. Stuffing was really tasty."
Review 73 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:boston
Date:November 28, 2011

Worst Order Ever From Costo

Pros: easy t0 dispose
Cons: the foulest food item i have ever served to my fa
"The turdukhen arrived frozen. Defrosted in refridgerator, and cooked according to directions. By the time the stuffing was at 140 degrees, the outside was dark. Turkey meat entirely dry, and to be honest, I could find only a few shreds of duck meat. The stuffing had an iodine -musky flavor to it, and after a bite, we discarded it. The congealed mass was thrown away.
What a horrible experience. Luckily, I prepared a regular turkey that turned out perfectly."
Review 74 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

fun food presentation

Cons: really took a lot longer to cook than stated.
"Was really tasty and a great platter to serve up for family after Thanksgiving was over. The stuffings were delicious, and the birds were nice and spicy."
Review 75 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Garland, TX
Date:November 28, 2011

Delious Thanksgiving Dinner

"All my guesses enjoyed Tur-Duc-Hen. It's tasty, flavorful and delious."
Review 76 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:November 28, 2011

Takes too long to cook

Pros: taste good
Cons: takes too much time to cook
"The triple meats are good, but it takes more than 8 hours to cook."
Review 77 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011
Pros: price
Cons: flavor
"Not near as good as the Tony Chachere's Tur-Duc-Hen we've had before. Sour Creole flavor through out, including the stuffing. I'd pay the extra for the name brand from now on."
Review 78 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Severna Park Md
Date:November 28, 2011

picture better than reality

Pros: promo video is funny
Cons: mess to serve didnt taste good
Model Number: turduchen
"We were very excited about this purchase. When it sold out first time we were upset so when it came back in stock we ordered immediately. Cutting this turduchen was a mess and the taste was fair. We had 23 for dinner no one thought we should order it again. This is the first costco purchase I have not liked."
Review 79 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:November 29, 2011

Ok to do One Time

Pros: conversation item
Cons: not as flavorable as just doing a turkey, hard to carve
Model Number: Tru-Duc-Hen
"It was something different, but would not do it again. Would suggest that they include more instructions, i.e., the best way to carve; would help to know how it is assembled, i.e., where are the 2 different dressings and the best way to remove them to keep them seperate.
We followed the defrosting and cooking directions, but the "birds" were already browned when we removed the lid for the last 30 minutes. After 3 hours, the deep internal temp was only at 160. In the end, the outside of the turkey was over cooked, a little dried out.
"
Review 80 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2011

too much stuffing

Pros: packing and shipping
"packaging and delivery, exceptonal
Ease of cooking....right up there on top.
Carving and eating......not great. The duck and chicken were not layered, as in the photo and while the stuffing was good, there was more of than meat. Very hard to carve and present....the two things I know how do do with ease.
"
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>