Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Due to the perishable nature of this item, this product will only ship Monday & Tuesday for Thursday & Friday delivery. Big Easy Foods has jazzed up the flavor! Famous for their Louisiana Cuisine, Big Easy Foods 15 lb TurDucHens are “Big on Flavor and Easy to Prepare”. Each of our TurDucHens are stuffed with mouthwatering dressings designed to compliment this trifecta of delicious birds. All of our TurDucHens are seasoned to perfection with Big Easy Foods Louisiana Seasoning, the latest addition to Big Easy's line of authentic Louisiana products. Features: Partially-boneless turkey, stuffed with duck, chicken, cornbread  & rice dressing Turduchens are vacuum sealed in individual pouch to lock in freshness Seasoned to perfection Ships uncooked and frozen Inspected for wholesomeness by U.S. Department of Agriculture
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
(out of 126 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
27
76 of 126(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Review 61 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:November 25, 2011

Delicious and Easy

"We really enjoyed this product. I followed the directions, accept I uncovered and cooked it for an extra hour until the internal temp read 180 degrees. It turned out to be golden brown and tasted very well. Everyone liked the stuffing. The turkey and chicken had a really good creole flavor. The duck was a sweet liver flavor but I enjoyed it. The kids really thought it was something special and it was so easy I might cook one again next year."
Review 62 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:nj
Date:November 24, 2011

Disappointing Thanksgiving Dinner.

Pros: arrived on time
Cons: disaster
"Arrived on time.
Defrosted 2 days.
Cooking: cooking temp varied a lot throughout the bird.
Taste: Duck: Small amount and tasted like liver. Chicken: tiny portion and tasted like duck. Turkey:dry. Stuffing: corn bread:lumps, rice:nice. Was mixed poorly.
Cooked exactly to instructions.
Very disappointing"
Review 63 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Az.
Date:November 24, 2011

alittle disappointed

Model Number: Tur-Duc-Hen
"We were expecting a turkey, with a duck, with a chicken and were all very excited to see and taste a slice of the meat with all three meats. What we got was a roast turkey stuffed with rice and cornbread stuffing with chicken and duck meat in the stuffing. Since we bought this for something really different for our family for thanksgiving it was very disappointing.
To be fair the flavor was very good but we spent way to much for turkey and dressing.
"
Review 64 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 24, 2011

It was okay.

"This was my first experience with a Tur-Duc-Hen. My husband had tried one before, not from Costco, and really enjoyed it. He said this one was not as good.
There was an excess amount of stuffing inside the bird(s). I feel like I paid all that money for rice stuffing. The turkey part was alright, and cooked well. The duck still had the skin on, which made for a longer cook time than the directions stated. There was very little duck meat, and very little chicken meat.
Overall, I would not purchase this item again. I would consider a tur-duc-hen from another company or brand name, but was not impressed with this brand name through Costco."
Review 65 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tempe, AZ
Date:November 24, 2011

Whoa, did not expect that!

Pros: fast shipping, well packed
Cons: too many to list
"I just finished throwing out half of the Turduchen after cooking it for dinner today. I love salt, but I cannot believe that everything was so salty that I couldn't eat. The cornbread was mush and had the liver taste. Threw out the rice stuffing also due to salt and liver taste. The duck still had the skin on it and I couldn't pull it off. All we could eat were the legs and breast of the turkey and that was too salty. I read the other reviews and was prepared for an new taste but the new taste was not acceptable. Very disappointed, didn't think it would be that bad."
Review 66 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southeastern VA
Date:November 24, 2011

BEST Thanksgiving EVER!

Pros: easy cooks quickly, unique and delicious., if you like duck you'll love it.
Cons: if you hate duck you won't like it.
"We ordered two of these because we planned on having lots of people over. We cooked one in the oven (325 for 4 hours) and we smoked the other one....it was awesome sauce! I am a little bummed that there won't be more left over. I LOVE duck and this duck was so succulent and amazing. Those who only ate the turkey said that it was moist and delicious. The rice stuffing was to die for and the cornbread stuffing was pretty good, too. Everyone loved it. Shipping was super fast. The packaging (styrofoam box) was a great way to rest the meat after cooking and it retained heat. This will be our new tradition. So while I am only one reviewer...there are 25+ more people here who rate it a 5 Star!"
Review 67 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2011

no instructions

"Product arrived frozen and nicely packaged but didn't come with instructions. Can someone share how long i'm supposed to cook it and at what temperature?"
Review 68 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hesperia, CA
Date:November 21, 2011

Nice change

Pros: novel & delicious
Cons: a little messy to slice and serve.
"For years I've been hearing about Tur-Duc-Hen but had never seen one. When I saw I could get one shipped to me by Costco I decided to take the plunge. I was cooking an early Thanksgiving dinner for 12 and everyone was curious about the main course. It was a big hit with everyone agreeing that it was a nice change of pace from the traditional turkey. It was easy to prepare and after we had eaten our fill, there was very little left over. It did not slice cleanly like a regular bird but that added to the novelty and the fun. All in all a success."
Review 69 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Temecula, CA
Date:November 20, 2011

It is ok to try once

"Prepared this on 11/19/2011 after reading all of these reviews and many google searches. 72 hours was not enough to thaw it completely, maybe another 8 hours. I thought 400 degrees was too high to cook it per the instructions, so I tried 325 based on another reviewer, after 5 hours internal temp varied between 135 and 150. For the 6th hour, I uncovered it and raised the oven temp to 350, then 375, then 400. 6 hours after starting it was browned perfectly, was moist and actually looked very good. Made a basic pan gravy, which was good also. There were 6 people, and we ate half of the tur-duc-hen not including the wing and drumstick, and we are not talking about football player type eaters, just 3 average couples. Got some expected comments, where is the duck, and when they found it, it tasted like liver. Did I like it, yes, would I do it again, no."
Review 70 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2011

Turduchen > Tur Don't Hen

Pros: good turkey and hen
Cons: liver taste was strong in the duck and stuffing, expensive
"My wife is a native Louisianian. Even she thought that the taste was "Not Right." The duck had a very strong Liver taste which affected the stuffing. Although some "dirty rice" is made with liver - the liver taste was too much and it spilled over into the hen and the turkey too.
From the reviews posted, I would say that there is a quality control issue.
As a side note: it does take more than 2 days to thaw out in a refrigerator (enclosed instructions said 2 days to thaw out).
"
Review 71 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa
Date:January 6, 2011

Excellent Holiday Meal

"This is the 2nd time I've served Tony Chachere's Tur-Duc-Hen for Christmas Dinner. And the first time I've ordered it on line. Great purchase experience, fast shipping, easy to prepare, and it's a head turner, over the traditional Christmas Turkey. Especially noteworthy is the sausage stuffing, which is to die for."
Review 72 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 27, 2010

Big Hit with the family

Pros: unique
"We ordered on short notice but it came in 2 days. It defrosted and cooked well. Though it needed to be watched as when it was uncovered for that last hour I noticed the legs and wings were burning and so I recovered those parts and continued to bake with the main part of the bird exposed. No one seemed to find any chicken and possibly only duck breast within the turkey so not exactly 3 whole boneless birds in there. Also, the cornbread stuffing was a bit sweet for our tastes but good for others. great for left over sandwiches. overall this was a big hit and good to try at least once."
Review 73 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Centreville, VA
Date:December 25, 2010

Best Christmas Dinner Ever

"We really enjoyed the product. It exceed all our expectations: was easy to prepare, beautiful to serve and delicious to eat.
We will definitely order it again soon!
"
Review 74 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:December 23, 2010

Very Good

Pros: great flavors, great appearance
Cons: slices do not hold their shape well
"The flavors were very good. While not in the true tradition of Chef Paul it is a nice alternative without all the work. Carving was a slight dissapointment as the pieces did not hold their shape well however, the flavor and stuffings offset this slight inconvenience."
Review 75 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:December 3, 2010

Big Hit!

Pros: easy preparation, moist and delicious, the rice/sausage stuffing was very good
Cons: the cornbread stuffing is rather sweet.
Model Number: 543301
"Ordered this for Thanksgiving. It was a huge hit. Will definitely order again. It was very moist - probably helped by putting it on a rack, and then pouring a cup of water in the pan (the water is mentioned in the directions). I think it's also important to cover it tightly as the directions state. The directions call for basting. I didn't do any and it came out fine. I made my own cornbread stuffing, which was good because it was preferred to that which came in the turduchen. The only issue I had was that it had not really thawed at the end of 48 hours in the refrigerator. Fortunately I had allowed extra time and removed it from the refrigerator for a while in order to speed up the thawing process. I also increased the oven temperature near the end of the cooking time in order to get the turduchen to 165 degrees. One other change I made was to run a little butter over the bird for the last hour to help with browning. It does fall apart when cut. There is nothing that holds the various meats/fillings together in neat slices. That didn't bother anyone at my table."
Review 76 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Cal
Date:December 2, 2010

It was a hit!

Cons: too much stuffing
"This is the first year I didn't have left overs at Thanksgiving! The tur-duc-hen was moist and stuffing was tasty, however, it was much smaller than I thought. Although the packaging said it was a 38 serving turkey, a good majority of it was stuffing. Remember to allow plenty of time for defrosting (more than the 2 days on the directions)."
Review 77 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alachua, Florida
Date:December 2, 2010

yummy yummy yummy!

Pros: easy to carve
Model Number: Tur-Duc-Hen
"It was a big hit with the entire family. The seasoning and taste was good. Cooking and carving was a breeze. Basted the skin in butter, a few times and got a nice golden color."
Review 78 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 27, 2010

Don't overcook

Pros: easy
Cons: a little pricey
"Got this for T-Day this year. It was a big hit.. I think we overcooked it just a little so it was a touch dry. The stuffing is very good and it's an easy carve. Duck was a little different.. Alsmost tasted like gizzered, but it was the first time we had duck so that may be just right."
Review 79 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silverdale, WA
Date:November 27, 2010

Who Dat Gonna Eat Dat Tur-Duc-Hen

Pros: fabulous and tasty!!!
Model Number: Tony Chachere's Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
"Fabulous and tasty. It was a big hit with the entire family. The whole trifecta of birds were moist and delicious. Worth every penny."
Review 80 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lago Vista, TX
Date:November 26, 2010

Big hit!

"I had never tried a tur-duc-hen before, but the Tony Chachere brand and Costco reputation led me to order one. It was shipped quickly and arrived solidly frozen. With a big roasting pan, it cooked beautifully and my family (who weren't wild about my experimenting with tradition) loved it. I made extra stuffing, because I wasn't sure how much was inside the birds, but there was plenty of both flavors of stuffing, and they were yummy. I'll buy one again!"
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>