Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen

Due to the perishable nature of this item, this product will only ship Monday & Tuesday for Thursday & Friday delivery. Big Easy Foods has jazzed up the flavor! Famous for their Louisiana Cuisine, Big Easy Foods 15 lb TurDucHens are “Big on Flavor and Easy to Prepare”. Each of our TurDucHens are stuffed with mouthwatering dressings designed to compliment this trifecta of delicious birds. All of our TurDucHens are seasoned to perfection with Big Easy Foods Louisiana Seasoning, the latest addition to Big Easy's line of authentic Louisiana products. Features: Partially-boneless turkey, stuffed with duck, chicken, cornbread  & rice dressing Turduchens are vacuum sealed in individual pouch to lock in freshness Seasoned to perfection Ships uncooked and frozen Inspected for wholesomeness by U.S. Department of Agriculture
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
(out of 126 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
27
76 of 126(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Review 1 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:December 26, 2013

didn't realize this was Scotish Haggis

Pros: on time nicely packaged
Cons: more like haggis than a stuffed turkey
"The bird? arrived on time and was neatly packaged in both dry & regular ice packs. There was no enclosed instructions except small font vague general printed label. After taking over an hour longer than the directions said to get up to temperature, this Frankenbird totally fell apart in the pan and had to be scooped out. No way could it be sliced in a unified way and was embarrassing to serve. Just a dark gray mess of bad flavored Haggis flanked by two dried out turkey breasts book-ends. The dressings were mushy globs with an overly salty unexplainable bitterness. Different dark meats (dark grizzly chicken scraps mixed with a few pieces of tough duck fat) were stuffed in between two separate lumps of soggy stuffing (one side cornmeal and other rice) with little or no seasoning. The three types of meat (dark meat turkey, dark meat chicken, duck?) were indistinguishable from one another once served. Every guest stuck eating just the plain white turkey breast. Normally, left-overs get attacked & fully consumed by our teenagers by the very next day. This mixed up bird was dumped unceremoniously into the trash after sitting untouched three days later. Pretty bad when a 17 year old boy looks past four quart sized containers of turkey dinner left-overs and claims there is nothing edible in the fridge. Worst turkey? dinner my family has ever had."
Review 2 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:December 3, 2010

Big Hit!

Pros: easy preparation, moist and delicious, the rice/sausage stuffing was very good
Cons: the cornbread stuffing is rather sweet.
Model Number: 543301
"Ordered this for Thanksgiving. It was a huge hit. Will definitely order again. It was very moist - probably helped by putting it on a rack, and then pouring a cup of water in the pan (the water is mentioned in the directions). I think it's also important to cover it tightly as the directions state. The directions call for basting. I didn't do any and it came out fine. I made my own cornbread stuffing, which was good because it was preferred to that which came in the turduchen. The only issue I had was that it had not really thawed at the end of 48 hours in the refrigerator. Fortunately I had allowed extra time and removed it from the refrigerator for a while in order to speed up the thawing process. I also increased the oven temperature near the end of the cooking time in order to get the turduchen to 165 degrees. One other change I made was to run a little butter over the bird for the last hour to help with browning. It does fall apart when cut. There is nothing that holds the various meats/fillings together in neat slices. That didn't bother anyone at my table."
Review 3 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:December 14, 2010

Best thanksgiving dish ever

Pros: easy to prepare, tasty, shipped fast, tender and moist
"I was a little nervious ordering a main dish, especially the Turkey, for Thanksgiving online, but the TurDucken arrived faster than expected, frozen solid and in it's own cooler. I was already impressed. It is a pretty simple process to prepare, and remember, no bones.
A couple of days before Thanksgiving, or when you are going to serve it, take it out of the freezer and let it "thaw" in the refrigerator for two to three days. Once thawed, we took the plastic off, threw the bird in a roasting pan, covered, and cooked it at 325 for 4 to 5 hours. Temp at the end of 5 hours was well above 165 throughout the bird(s). Let cool a little bit, and then served.
It was our first Thanksgiving as a family, so I had never carved a turkey before, it was always my dad, so I gave it a shot this time, VERY easy to carve. Taste was excellent. Meat was tender and moist, probabliy one of the best turkeys I have had, including a deep fried turkey. We will reorder again for next year. Even at 80 dollars, it was well worth it! The Family were all impressed!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 25, 2011

Tur-Duc-Hen 1-2-3

Pros: serving 20 is no problem!
Model Number: Item # 543301
"1. It arrived via 2nd Day Air - straight to our freezer. This is our third Tur-Duc-Hen in seven years and the first from Costco.com. Simple straight ordering.
2. We did let the Tur-Duc-Hen thaw for three days versus two. I believe it gave us better results. Oven set for 400 degrees but after putting it in the oven, back it to 350 and cooked for an extra hour for a total of four hours. Internal Temp. was 155 degrees and it was cooked thoroughly. Starting it out at 400 gave it a good golden crisp finish.
3. To the table for the truth. Everything serparated well and did not mixed together. We had the platter with the Turkey, Duck, and the Chicken, which were all moist. The cornbread dressing could have had a bit more spices. The rice and pork was good and not as spicy as some of the reviews I had read on this page previously had mentioned.
When cooked correctly, Tur-Duc-Hen will please just about everyone. Don't be afraid to tweak the directions and remember that not all ovens are the same. Yes, I'll buy another."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Temecula, CA
Date:November 20, 2011

It is ok to try once

"Prepared this on 11/19/2011 after reading all of these reviews and many google searches. 72 hours was not enough to thaw it completely, maybe another 8 hours. I thought 400 degrees was too high to cook it per the instructions, so I tried 325 based on another reviewer, after 5 hours internal temp varied between 135 and 150. For the 6th hour, I uncovered it and raised the oven temp to 350, then 375, then 400. 6 hours after starting it was browned perfectly, was moist and actually looked very good. Made a basic pan gravy, which was good also. There were 6 people, and we ate half of the tur-duc-hen not including the wing and drumstick, and we are not talking about football player type eaters, just 3 average couples. Got some expected comments, where is the duck, and when they found it, it tasted like liver. Did I like it, yes, would I do it again, no."
Review 6 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 2, 2011

the concept is good, execution is poor

Pros: tastes good, instructions were clear and accurate
Cons: too much stuffing, fell apart, meat layers not as advertised in photo
"the picture shows distinct layers of turkey, duck, and chicken and stuffing. definitely not the case, there were pieces of duck breast stuffed in random places and chicken as well, definitely was not uniform. it was hard to say what you were eating. also the rice stuffing was a little too much and so heavy that it really overwhelmed the bird and made it weak and fell apart while cooking and during transfer to platter. it was fairly unappetizing to see and kind of ruined the experience. i am disappointed with the turducken experience and will never have it again. on the positive side, it did taste good and cooked well when instructions were followed. we covered it with bacon to make it not dry out. the meat was moist and not dried out, but the wings and legs were overcooked. probably should have covered them in foil"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:RENO, NV
Date:November 8, 2011

Just "ok" tasting

Pros: turkey tasted good, cooked quickly when thawed
Cons: duck tasted terrible, fell apart, very little chicken found
"The packaging was great- Turduchen was still frozen when I received it and as instructed, I let it thaw for a full 48 to 72 hours before cooking it. The cooking time was alot less than what most suggested on the internet so use a cooking thermometer that you can leave in the bird while it cooks. It smelled heavenly and browned nicely. Like others, I had the same issues when cutting it. The stuffing fell out and slices fell apart into pieces. The duck tasted exactly like liver and I could not find the chicken however the turkey flavor was wonderful. The two stuffings left something to be desired though. Too much money for just liking the taste of the turkey. I recommend this item to someone who has never tried it before and is curious AND doesn't mind the price. But I won't order it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 28, 2011

Worst Meal Ever

"the directions are on the little label, it took longer to cook than stated making everyone wait an extra 1 1/2 hours, had to reheat everything else, the turkey was fin, the duck was just chucks mixed with the watery rice, no chicken inside at all, only 2 tablespoons of dressing. When I carved it, it fell apart with rice and duck spilling out luckly it was on a large cutting board. I did arrive froozen but the dry ice was gone when I opened the insulated container and it started to warm up, if it was delivered mid day or earlier it would have defrosted. Poor over I rated this one star because there was no lower score. I have requested a refund due it not being as advertised, COSTCO has had high standards for products, but they missed the mark one, don't waste your time or money."
Review 9 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 27, 2011

a big disappointment

Pros: turkey not bad
Cons: different meats just mixed in with stuffing, cornmeal stuffing lumpy, rice stuffing watery, the little bit of duckmeat was hiding, in a big wad of fat, the chicken was grizzly and unrecognizable, real expensive for a turkey
Model Number: tur duc hen
"I could reiterate all the negative things that have been said, and add a few more, but why wast my time and yours.
The item had the 3 birds this dish is supposed to have, but the assembly was not traditional.
What a big waste of money. Glad it was served to curious family - who wanted to try turkduchen.
The biggest disappointment is with Costco. They have a reputation for carrying very high quality products. I don't normally buy frozen, pre-sasoned turkeys, or much of anything like this. I relied on Costco's reputation for this unique item.
This buyer should be taken out back on whupped at the Louisiana farm this came from.
Anyone know how to return a already consumed/tossed food item?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southeastern VA
Date:November 24, 2011

BEST Thanksgiving EVER!

Pros: easy cooks quickly, unique and delicious., if you like duck you'll love it.
Cons: if you hate duck you won't like it.
"We ordered two of these because we planned on having lots of people over. We cooked one in the oven (325 for 4 hours) and we smoked the other one....it was awesome sauce! I am a little bummed that there won't be more left over. I LOVE duck and this duck was so succulent and amazing. Those who only ate the turkey said that it was moist and delicious. The rice stuffing was to die for and the cornbread stuffing was pretty good, too. Everyone loved it. Shipping was super fast. The packaging (styrofoam box) was a great way to rest the meat after cooking and it retained heat. This will be our new tradition. So while I am only one reviewer...there are 25+ more people here who rate it a 5 Star!"
Review 11 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Manteca, Ca
Date:November 28, 2011

Good Eats

Pros: one step all inclusive, arrived on time and in good condition, excellent duck flavored stuffing
Cons: no instructions, took longer than we thought to cook
"This was a good decision. The stuffing was delicious, and the bird stayed relatively juicy, which is a feat for most stand alone turkeys. The duck kind of falls into the stuffing, but we found that this made the stuffing better. Even our non stuffing eaters loved it with the duck pieces throughout.
The bird arrived in 48 hours, packaging was very good. VERY FEW INSTRUCTIONS HOWEVER. We had to consult the internet for cooking times and temperatures. Its an all inclusive project however which seemed simple enought. Thawed it took 4 hrs to cook with an extra 30 min at 400 for browning. The best review I can provide is that its ALL GONE, 48 hours after Thanksgiving."
Review 12 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013

A solid Turducken

"I cook one of these every year. This is the first from Costco. We had 12 adults to dinner. When you cook this, I advise you get some turkey lacers and close up any open areas especially around the neck or it will open up and fall apart. This is the same with any turducken I have had. Second, oil the rack or pan you put it in or it will stick. Third, buy a decent thermometer that you can leave in. Defrost it for a couple days and try to get it soft. It took exactly 3 1/2 hours to cook at 400F in a convection oven. Everyone thought it was great. These are easy to cook, impressive to look at, and taste pretty good. You just need to be prepared to cook it."
Review 13 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 24, 2011

It was okay.

"This was my first experience with a Tur-Duc-Hen. My husband had tried one before, not from Costco, and really enjoyed it. He said this one was not as good.
There was an excess amount of stuffing inside the bird(s). I feel like I paid all that money for rice stuffing. The turkey part was alright, and cooked well. The duck still had the skin on, which made for a longer cook time than the directions stated. There was very little duck meat, and very little chicken meat.
Overall, I would not purchase this item again. I would consider a tur-duc-hen from another company or brand name, but was not impressed with this brand name through Costco."
Review 14 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clovis Ca
Date:January 2, 2014

Odd

Pros: packaging very good
Cons: everything
"I was so hopeful knowing Costco standards that this would be a fun and tasty purchase. I was wrong. It was the oddest lump of fowl I have ever eaten. The stuffing was salty and seemed to be stuck in and around random pieces of mystery meats...there seemed to be no rhyme or reason to how it was put together. The turkey meat by itself was good and juicy, but the other meats were not recognizable. The stuffing was odd and awful. It did roast and was done in the recommended cooking time though. I was glad that I had bought it just to try after seeing them made on TV and that our family Christmas meal was not centered around this oddity."
Review 15 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 28, 2013

waste of money and time

Pros: none
Cons: bad instuctions.
"after 6 hours at 400, still not even close to 165 degrees.
Since this was our first tur-duc-hen, we followed the instructions, they were way off. everyone sitting around waiting an extra 3 hours. At this point it could be the greatest tasting thing on earth, but it totally killed our thanksgiving plans by taking over 6 hours to cook. I even bought a new meat thermometer, and tested the oven heat to make sure it was correctly calibrated.
The leg's and breast have been at 165 for 3 hours, but the center is still 130. So now we will have over cooked outside and under cooked inside.
Do NOT follow the freezer to oven directions."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 27, 2010

Big Hit with the family

Pros: unique
"We ordered on short notice but it came in 2 days. It defrosted and cooked well. Though it needed to be watched as when it was uncovered for that last hour I noticed the legs and wings were burning and so I recovered those parts and continued to bake with the main part of the bird exposed. No one seemed to find any chicken and possibly only duck breast within the turkey so not exactly 3 whole boneless birds in there. Also, the cornbread stuffing was a bit sweet for our tastes but good for others. great for left over sandwiches. overall this was a big hit and good to try at least once."
Review 17 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:November 13, 2010

Full of Flavor, Easy Cooking & The Best Leftovers!

Pros: easy to cook serve carve, flavorful
"I've served Tur-Duc-Hen several times and it's always a hit. Cooking couldn't be easier and carving is a breeze. The gravy made from the drippings is flavorful but what I like best about this product is the leftovers. I make a dish using some of the meat, rice dressing, gravy (round out with a white sauce) and ala dente veggies to create a filling and roll in puff pastry (can be made sized for individual or family). I also make a white bean chili, which freezes nicely. This is one of those products with endless possibilities. Always rave reviews and the leftovers don't last long."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:November 4, 2011

Tur-Duc-Hen

Model Number: Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
"The Tur-Duc-Hen arrived fast. Ordered Tuesday, arrived Friday.
It cooked up well. We used a cooking bag.
The Turkey tasted very good.
The Duck was a dark meat and had a strong Liver taste.
The dog loved it. We didn't like it at all.
The Chicken was fine.
The rice dressing was bland, same with the cornbread dressing.
This coming from Louisiana, I expected much more flavor.
Something that tasted like Zatarain's box mixes would have been agreeable.
The included dressing didn't even come close to Stove Top dressings.
I suggest if you want dressing, make your own, throw these out."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Port Deposit, MD
Date:October 16, 2012

Tur-Duc-Hen 2011

Pros: the idea was intriguing
Cons: turky old and dry flavor bland much mushy dressi
Model Number: Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen 2011
"What a disappointment! Dry meats, half of it was mushy, tasteless dressing. I could tell before I cooked it that it was an old, frozen roast. I fallowed instructions to a tee… Unfortunately we had guests and were red faced over such a poor feast. I will never trust a tur-duc-hen again. I ordered it because people raved over it the year before (2010), 4 and 5 stars. This one (2011) did not even rate a 1 star. Perhaps some people liked this Jerky-Turkey. We like ours juicy and succulent. Even the flavoring was bland. Oh well, live and learn. Sorry Costco, beware of your brands."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Easy Foods Creole Style Tur-Duc-Hen
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011

Super Moist But Where's the Chicken?

Pros: moist and delicious
Cons: very little duck or chicken
"After reading all the reviews I was concerned as Thanksgiving Day approached. I didn't want to serve liver flavored turkey to my family and friends. But, It was actually quite good. Super moist stuffing and white meat. Very delicious. There were just three small problems. There was very little duck and it did have a distinct taste of liver. I'm not sure there was any chicken in there. If there was, it was indistinguishable from the turkey. The last problem was cooking time. The instructions say 3 hours but I cooked it for about 4 1/2 hours. although it came out perfectly."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>