Customer Reviews for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner

2.4" Color LCD Converts to 7.3MP Images Displays Images to TV
Average Customer Rating:
3.848 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 145
(out of 145 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
19
109 of 145(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Review 41 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hershey, PA
Date:December 20, 2010

Wolverine 35mm Digital Image Scanner F2D300

Model Number: F2D300
"A friend of mine has an earlier version of the Wolverines (F2D200) and I was impressed by the quality of the digitized photos. Once I saw the newer F2D300, I thought the higher dpi would make it a better quality scanner. Wrong. The actual resolution of F2D300 is actually a lot worse than F2D200, although it does make larger jpeg files (1.7Mb vs. 1.4Mb). I am returning it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Grass Valley, CA
Date:December 21, 2010

"Almost" Good for the Price

Pros: price for quality it gives compared to others
Cons: price is also somewhat of a con, menu system could be better
Model Number: F 2D 300
"Have been using primarily for importing negatives into iPhoto. The resolution and quality is pretty good. Probably would be best if they would up it to 10MP and then will be a real competitor to the expensive transfer scanners, etc.
The menu system is simple, though a bit cumbersome in having to shuffle through each one; and, they are weird symbols for each item.
The negative holder is based on a strip of 6 negs. Most of mine are 4 image negs, so can only do 4 at a time and can't really let a neg "hang" over to try and do 2 strips at a time. Would be better if it were 8 images long since i've always had my negs be 4 images and rarely 6 images long. Perhaps a bit picky, but you hand feed these and the more images you can get in the holder, the better.
Sometimes the preview of the image did not show up for several minutes. Not sure what the problem is.
Overall, a good product, and a good alternative to expensive ones, as well as taking them to a place to have them scan them (that cost will quickly pay for this machine if you have very many at all).
It ought to be more around $50-$60 for what it does; and, the all plastic, simple design.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:December 24, 2010

Dead Out of the Box

Model Number: F2D
"Power light came on, but the screen doesn't light. It's going back, and I'm not sure I want to take a chance with another one."
Review 44 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:December 24, 2010

Very Useful Slide Scanner

Pros: fast simple compact, worth the price
Cons: viewer culd be larger, image quality ok but not great
Model Number: F2D
"I have over 4000 slides accumulated in the years before digital cameras. Scanned in a 140 slide carousel in a little over an hour using the Wolverine. Most of the time is in transfering and loading slides. The scanning and saving functions only take seconds. Used an SD card to capture images. Didn't try to improve image on F2D. Used my desktop PC software to edit. Image quality is good but not outstanding."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:December 25, 2010

Simple! Fast!

Pros: fun and fast! preview pane! sd card saving!, portable! portable! portable!
"Stand alone! Love it! Very portable. Took it to my Mom's house and went through some old photos...
This thing does what it says it does! It is very cool! just plop in your negatives and go for it! I am VERY surprised how fast it is! Fun AND fast. The preview pane is INDESPENSIBLE!!! What a pain it would be without it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:December 27, 2010

Somewhat Disappointing Results

Pros: cheap and fast
Cons: poor picture quality and clumsy interface
Model Number: F2D300
"While the unit is fast and --- once one is used to the interface — convenient (though you will need to use an SD card, since the internal memory is quite small) the results were rather disappointing. Color rendering was poor, resolution was only fair, and it was difficult to determine how to set the light properly for individual pictures. I'd hoped that iPhoto could improve the quality of the resulting scans, but the color balance and exposure proved to be beyond repair.
So, this is going back to Costco and my negatives are going to a professional service."
Review 47 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Shelby Twp., Michigan
Date:December 27, 2010

Performance Exceeds Price!

Pros: good results with old slides
Model Number: Wolverine Slide/Film Scanner F2D300
"Very good scan results & easy to use device. Works fast. If you have photoshop program, don't waste time making multiple scans (lighter/darker)... you can do it faster & more accurately on the PC."
Review 48 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:December 27, 2010

Good deal

Pros: simple to use
Cons: limited options
Model Number: F2D 300
"Very simple to operate. I connected it to my computer and started scanning my 20-30 years old negatives in less than three minutes.
scanning quality is good considering the age and quality of pictures . Once in a digital form everything can be fixed by software. great value for the price much easier than scanning actual photos
i would have liked to be able to go back to scanning after moving the pictures to another drive. One has to turn the unit off and on in order to do that.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2010

Neat little device!

Model Number: F2D300
"I've used several large scanners with slide adapters and always found them slow and cumbersome in capturing slide images. This one is very fast and does a good job capturing the images."
Review 50 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2011

Great For Negatives

"Purchased this strictly for negatives and it does the job perfectly. Very easy to setup and use. Digital images are sharp and clear. This is a great way to get those old photos into a digital format for safekeeping, reproductions, and photoshop touch-ups."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

Works as Advertised

Pros: easy menu options
Cons: shows the years of wear done to the negatives
Model Number: F2D300
"Very simple to operate. Instructions were easy to follow and got started scanning and saving to computer in a few minutes.Should be all I need to convert my inventory of old negatives and slides to computer files."
Review 52 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Entiat Washington
Date:January 8, 2011

Worth its weight in gold!

"I bought this for my husband for Christmas to convert 40+ year old slides from his Viet Nam service. It worked perfectly. We have also been converting 30 year old photo negatives. It does the job beautifully & lets us reduce two large boxes of photos & slides down to one San Disc. Definately worth its weight in gold."
Review 53 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:January 12, 2011

I could not be better for me

"This is the first time I bother to comment on any product I have. It works amazingly well with my collection of old 35mm film, and any where I like with the electrical outlet, including Starbucks. The picture output is nice enough to view, or use "auto correction" available in many software to make it look better)
Thank you my wife for giving me this little scanner past Christmas.
"
Review 54 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:January 12, 2011

Great Little Gadget

Pros: it's small and easy to store
Cons: it has a small memory
Model Number: F2D300
"Very easy to use. I had it set up in just a few minutes and scanned a whole tray of 80 slides in a very short time. The process is a lot faster if you have an SD card."
Review 55 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SouthEast
Date:January 13, 2011

Still Looking for a solution...

Pros: ease of use, ability to return to the local store
Cons: too narrow depth of field
Model Number: 7.3MP Model
"I expected great things since I have over 22,000 slides dating back to the late 50's. Unit was easy to use but the results were less than acceptable.
Many of my slides have warped over the years and the depth of field on this unit is obviously limited. On the "flatter" slides the images produced were reasonable but on most, some part of the slide was out of focus and even processing with professional level PhotoShop could not bring the results up to an acceptable level.
I consider a superb depth of field to be a minimum for these units. After all - if my slide or neg is crystal sharp and projects to 6' x 7' (yes feet) I would expect the copy to be the same.
Color balance I can correct...
Took the unit back to the store and still searching..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:January 26, 2011

Works great with slides

Pros: great way to save your old slides & negatives.
Cons: would like to see more internal memory
Model Number: F2D 300
"The first one I brought would not even turn on but I returned it and a second one was shipped to me. It works great. I have hundreds of slides that I wanted to put on my computer and make prints if desired. Does an excellent job. I would recommend an SD card to keep from having to make so man trips to the computer to download the pictures."
Review 57 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:January 27, 2011

Outstanding Product

Pros: easy to use, good product at 7.3 mp quality, simple negative holders worked well
Cons: had to replace first one
Model Number: F2D300
"Found this 35mm converter amazingly easy to use and have been able to scan 200+ negatives in strips of 2 to 4 each hour. Result is excellent as long as you make sure the scanning surface is cleaned regularly and one makes sure the negatives or slides do not have an dust particles on them."
Review 58 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2011

Great product, Great Customer Service!

"The scanner works great and I am converting all my Dad's 50-60 year old slides to digital images. It is easy to use and does a great job - as long as you dust the slides and scanner now and then as recommended.
Best of all is Wolverine's customer service and response to problems.
I recommend both this product and this company."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach CA
Date:February 16, 2011

Fast & easy

"With this scanner I was able to scan 500 slides to SD Card in about four hours. It was easy! The SD card played on my 47 in TV as well as the slides did on screen in the old days.
My wife is happy that the shelf for the slides is now available."
Review 60 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2011

Has Met & exceeded my expectations

Pros: speed ease of use quality of output
Cons: none
"Faced with a large project of converting family slides (approx 20,000) and after looking at many reviews... I decided to give this modestly price solution a try. I am now about 15,000 slides into the project aqnd am very pleased with both the products utility and quality of output After 14,000 slides I did have to exchange the unit because of feed problem... but this is acceptable performance for the price."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>