Customer Reviews for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner

2.4" Color LCD Converts to 7.3MP Images Displays Images to TV
Average Customer Rating:
3.848 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 145
(out of 145 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
19
109 of 145(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Review 61 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon
Date:March 18, 2011

Great unit

Pros: plastic slide tray has magnetic latch.
Cons: no cord included for connection to tv.
Model Number: F2D300
"The unit is easy to use with simple, easy to understand instructions written only in English.
It has nice features including picture intensity adjustment and can be used by itself with no connection to a computer. The picture quality is great. The unit is much better than I had anticipated.
"
Review 62 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Melbourne, FL
Date:March 29, 2011

Cheaper Than Commercial Processing

Pros: price
Cons: need better control over selections
Model Number: F2D
"Neighbor told me about having slides put on computer, but after checking around the average price was about 30 cents per slide. Glad I found this at Costco. Does slides and negatives either to a sd card or computer thru USB. Would have rated it 5 stars except for the confusing icons and sometimes unnecessary extra button clicks to copy a slide."
Review 63 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:January 4, 2012

Good buy for money

"Does what I purchased it to do. With a ton of slides and 4 at a time it takes awhile but digitized picture quality is pretty good . The control buttons are not intuitive but most folks will use photo editiing software for most of the functions the scanner does."
Review 64 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2011

slow, but ok for small lots

Pros: decent photos
Cons: slow process
"We have thousands of slides, and wanted to get them digitized. This machine worked OK, but was very slow in the total process; placing 4 slides at a time in the plastic holder, viewing each one, pressing to copy and then to save and then the next slide."
Review 65 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:June 29, 2011

Works fine for slides

Model Number: Wolverine F2D
"35mm negatives are not as clear as I expected, but the slides were fine. Can do a lot of slides while watching TV since it is a stand alone product."
Review 66 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2011

Worked as advertised

"Very Satisfied with scanner. Able to scan 2000 plus slides in 2 days. Very happy with results"
Review 67 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:July 6, 2011

35 mm Film Enlargement

Pros: good large size
Cons: loss of focus sharpness and color clarity
Model Number: Wolverine F2D 300
"Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner is not worth the price charged. The size of the picture enlargement is a very good size. However, durning the enlargement, there is a loss of focus, sharpness and color clarity. The three star rating I gave may be slightly over rated."
Review 68 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Date:July 15, 2011

Very Good Tool

"I boiught this to convert 35MM Slides to digital format. It has worked well. I have done at least 300 slides. With little editing on my computer, I have great pictures from the time when our kids were growing up and slides were the medium of choice. I have tried a few 35mm negatives and it looks like they will be fine also."
Review 69 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashua, NH
Date:July 15, 2011

Great Slide Conversion Tool

Pros: automatic brightness level adjustment, fast processing, no need to be connected to pc, has its own display, no need to fuss over image before saving
Cons: user interface was a bit clugy.
Model Number: F2D300
"This device got the job done about as quickly as any device possibly could. I liked the way that it automatically set the brightness level for each slide. The only time you need to connect with your PC is when you want to transfer your pictures to the computer. Otherwise, it stores the pics on your SD card. I was able to convert roughly 100 slides per hour."
Review 70 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Date:July 15, 2011

Yes, with reservations

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: too complicated and much too little memory
"I'm not sure that I'm qualified to review this product as I never got to use it. I opened the package and when I read this instructions, I came to the conclusion that it was too complicated for me. In addition, it required an external memory card.....the internal memory is good for only 25 or so slides and I had about 4,000 to deal with."
Review 71 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pensacola FL
Date:August 24, 2011

Disappointing

Model Number: F2D 300
"Blue tint to digitized slides.
Obtained upgraded software from Wolverine but the colors are sitll not ture to the colors in the slides.
Only one slide tray comes with the scanner."
Review 72 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massanutten, Virginia
Date:August 28, 2011

Worthwhile purchase

Model Number: F2D 300
"I have over 3000 slides that were in need of transferring to my Mac. The Wolverine performed exactly as it was supposed to. It would have cost me 24-35 cents for each slide if I had it done elsewhere. Doing it yourself is the only way to go. This is money well spent!!"
Review 73 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:December 27, 2010

Somewhat Disappointing Results

Pros: cheap and fast
Cons: poor picture quality and clumsy interface
Model Number: F2D300
"While the unit is fast and --- once one is used to the interface — convenient (though you will need to use an SD card, since the internal memory is quite small) the results were rather disappointing. Color rendering was poor, resolution was only fair, and it was difficult to determine how to set the light properly for individual pictures. I'd hoped that iPhoto could improve the quality of the resulting scans, but the color balance and exposure proved to be beyond repair.
So, this is going back to Costco and my negatives are going to a professional service."
Review 74 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 25, 2011

Keep Expectations Low

Model Number: F2D-300
"Convenience is the benefit to this product. The scan quality is mediocre at best. Even a 4x6 print from either a 35mm slide or a negative is minimally acceptable. The details are smeared, and the resolution is jaggy.
These are good for reference only, so it you are wondering what strips of negative look like, then this product will tell you fast. I've used it to identify slides and negatives that I'll scan later with my dedicated film scanner for quality printed output.
The "7.3MP" sizing is deceptive. My scans were only 1.8MP.
The build quality is cheesy; the product is overpriced (even on sale) by 25%. The button/screen interface manages to be clumsy.
Still, the Wolverine is quick and useful in a limited context."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2011

Poorly made

"I don't know how well this scanner will scan slides because I didn't get that far. There are two little doors (or "flaps") on either side where the slide tray goes in and comes out. One door had come off. I didn't attempt to put it back on myself because the pins holding it in place were very thin plastic, and would surely have broken. I'm disappointed that I couldn't even test how well it worked. I returned it. Still looking for a good slide to digital scanner."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greenville SC
Date:December 18, 2010

Very Poor Color Rendition

Pros: none
Cons: terrible results
"I am a serious photographer and adeot with Photoshop Elemenets. There was nothing that I could do to address the terrible and variable color shift. Additionally, the blacks were not true black but rather speckled dark greya nd black. I returned it. I would try Costco's slide transfer to CD or someone elses slide digitizing before using this roduct."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:November 17, 2010

Not recommended ever...

"I used this to convert some negatives from a SLR camera (old school). The outcome was blurry pictures, over exposed as well.
I compared the image I get from this to the actual print from the same negative. There was a huge difference.
I have returned this product as it is not worth it."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wyoming, MI
Date:December 14, 2010

DOA out of the box

Pros: low-cost, quick delivery from costco
Cons: doa won't even power-on!
Model Number: F2D-300
"Well, after reading the reviews here I decided to buy one of these and give it a try. So far I'm not impressed. I got out my slides and plugged the USB cable into the wall adapter and the scanner. Pushed the power on button. And nothing happened! After trying it directly into the USB port of my Mac, I got the same results. I called the Wolverine support phone and after I performed the same actions for the support person, she said she would issue an RMA # so I could send the unit back to the manufacturer for a replacement unit. She said she would be sending me a return UPS label and I should send the unit back after I receive the label and that they would send me a new unit after they receive my defective unit.
So the saga begins, we'll see how long it is before I get a unit that works at all.
"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2010

Film to digital image converter

Pros: average worker
Cons: needs lot of improvement
"Quality of pic is okay and it does it all quite quick. But if you want a perfectionist, this is not the best choice."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Livonia, MI
Date:May 17, 2011

Digital Transfers

"As promised, the Wolverine unit was simple and easy-to-use. Cranked through some 170 negatives in about three hours using the Microsoft software on my PC. Next test: 17 carosels of slides."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>