Customer Reviews for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner

2.4" Color LCD Converts to 7.3MP Images Displays Images to TV
Average Customer Rating:
3.848 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 145
(out of 145 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
19
109 of 145(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Review 61 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SEQUIM, WA
Date:December 18, 2010

DOES THE JOB

Cons: manual is not well written
"THE UNIT DOES THE JOB IT SAYS IT CAN DO. QUALITY OF OLD SLIDES AND NEGS IS JUST FINE. PRETTY FAST ALSO. UNLESS I MISSED SOMETHING IN THE POORLY WORDED MANUAL, YOU HAVE TO TURN THE UNIT OFF IN ORDER TO GET OUT OF THE COPY MODE."
Review 62 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, Ca
Date:December 18, 2010

Wolverine 35mm Great Product

Pros: fast and easy to use
Cons: none
Model Number: Wolverine FD2 300
"After buying this item I was hoping it would do a good job on scanning. I was not dissapointed. It is small and compact, much better than a flatbed scanner. After initial startup the unit is fast and very easy to use. The first thing everyone should do before they scan a slide is either use a very soft brush or a can of air spray to clean the slides off. The unit is priced for the budget minded person."
Review 63 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LOSANGELES
Date:December 17, 2010

BEST ITEM EVER PURCHASE

Model Number: WOLVERINE F2D300
"I LOVE IT AND MY GROWEN UP CHELDERN ARE HAPPY TO SEE THEIR PICTURE WHICH I MADE FROM 35 MM FILM WITH WOLVERINE SCANNER"
Review 64 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas NV
Date:December 17, 2010

Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner

Pros: excellent scans. good resolution. easy operation.
Cons: light weight. i wonder about durability.
Model Number: F2D-300
"This is an exxcellent film scanner -- particularly for the price. I have scanned about 200 images since I received my new scanner last week. The image quality is much better than I expected from a low cost unit. The assembly and operation is very easy. The unit is also ergonomically comfortable."
Review 65 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bremerton, WA
Date:December 17, 2010

Excellent product

Pros: very simple to operate
Cons: none
Model Number: F2D300
"It allowed me to transfer 35MM slides to my computer and make a CD. Now I can share the slides with the family that otherwise would have continued to collect dust on them."
Review 66 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:December 17, 2010

Fast and sharp

Pros: fast, easy
Cons: no color correction
"Takes only a few seconds a slide, and comes out better than commercial.
Get a slide cleaning kit, and take the time to clean slides before using, as the dust and dirt hurt the results."
Review 67 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mpls, MN
Date:December 17, 2010

for the cost - excellent product

Model Number: Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
"Have tried several "low end" 35 mm slide scanners, and this is the best so far. Takes a little getting used to, but does a decent job. For the cost - excellent product."
Review 68 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Buena Park, CA
Date:December 17, 2010

Good value for the money

"I have had the unit for a couple of weeks. It is very simple to use for both slides and negatives. It is much faster than my previous unit. You can scan 4 slides in just a couple of minutes. For digital storage of images it's adequate. It does not give professional quality images. If you want that you must pay a lot more money."
Review 69 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Augustine, FL
Date:December 17, 2010

Great gadget

Cons: none that i can think of.
"This gadget worked exactly as advertised and was the perfect solution to my 20+ trays of ancient 35mm slides. Amazingly good resolution and very fast scanning."
Review 70 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 17, 2010

Awesome Gadget

"This was an incredible find... It's exactly what I needed, and just in time for the holidays. I had boxes of slides from various times throughout my life and I the only mechanism I had to share them was an old projector. Once I got this great little gadget, life was good. I now have digital copies of all of these slides. Requests are coming in from friends and family to bring their slides over and get digital images as well. For this low cost, this product is a really good buy."
Review 71 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2010

Excellent value

"Found this unit to save lots of money - it works excellent right out of the box - it is well worth the money - and it beats paying some one 39 cents a slide only to find the developer reversed the image. Was very impressed with the results after trying 4 other devices and methods."
Review 72 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2010

Exceeded My Expectations/Excellent Purchase

Pros: easy to use, nice and clear pictures
"Perfect for converting my grandpa's old slides. Now I can share them with everyone. Worked as stated. Simple to use and did a pretty good job duplicating the picture. Ordered on Sunday and had the product by Wednesday."
Review 73 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland OR
Date:November 22, 2010

Wolverine 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Pros: simplicity of use
Model Number: F2D300
"I have been using the Wolverine F2D300 version now for several weeks and it is so easy to use. I am using it for both old slides and film from photo's I shot in the late 70's and 80's. This is a great device to bring back old memories of friends and family, and then convert them into digital images for emailing, or for use with digital picture frames."
Review 74 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 25, 2011

Keep Expectations Low

Model Number: F2D-300
"Convenience is the benefit to this product. The scan quality is mediocre at best. Even a 4x6 print from either a 35mm slide or a negative is minimally acceptable. The details are smeared, and the resolution is jaggy.
These are good for reference only, so it you are wondering what strips of negative look like, then this product will tell you fast. I've used it to identify slides and negatives that I'll scan later with my dedicated film scanner for quality printed output.
The "7.3MP" sizing is deceptive. My scans were only 1.8MP.
The build quality is cheesy; the product is overpriced (even on sale) by 25%. The button/screen interface manages to be clumsy.
Still, the Wolverine is quick and useful in a limited context."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2011

Poorly made

"I don't know how well this scanner will scan slides because I didn't get that far. There are two little doors (or "flaps") on either side where the slide tray goes in and comes out. One door had come off. I didn't attempt to put it back on myself because the pins holding it in place were very thin plastic, and would surely have broken. I'm disappointed that I couldn't even test how well it worked. I returned it. Still looking for a good slide to digital scanner."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greenville SC
Date:December 18, 2010

Very Poor Color Rendition

Pros: none
Cons: terrible results
"I am a serious photographer and adeot with Photoshop Elemenets. There was nothing that I could do to address the terrible and variable color shift. Additionally, the blacks were not true black but rather speckled dark greya nd black. I returned it. I would try Costco's slide transfer to CD or someone elses slide digitizing before using this roduct."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:November 17, 2010

Not recommended ever...

"I used this to convert some negatives from a SLR camera (old school). The outcome was blurry pictures, over exposed as well.
I compared the image I get from this to the actual print from the same negative. There was a huge difference.
I have returned this product as it is not worth it."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wyoming, MI
Date:December 14, 2010

DOA out of the box

Pros: low-cost, quick delivery from costco
Cons: doa won't even power-on!
Model Number: F2D-300
"Well, after reading the reviews here I decided to buy one of these and give it a try. So far I'm not impressed. I got out my slides and plugged the USB cable into the wall adapter and the scanner. Pushed the power on button. And nothing happened! After trying it directly into the USB port of my Mac, I got the same results. I called the Wolverine support phone and after I performed the same actions for the support person, she said she would issue an RMA # so I could send the unit back to the manufacturer for a replacement unit. She said she would be sending me a return UPS label and I should send the unit back after I receive the label and that they would send me a new unit after they receive my defective unit.
So the saga begins, we'll see how long it is before I get a unit that works at all.
"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2010

Film to digital image converter

Pros: average worker
Cons: needs lot of improvement
"Quality of pic is okay and it does it all quite quick. But if you want a perfectionist, this is not the best choice."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Livonia, MI
Date:May 17, 2011

Digital Transfers

"As promised, the Wolverine unit was simple and easy-to-use. Cranked through some 170 negatives in about three hours using the Microsoft software on my PC. Next test: 17 carosels of slides."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>