Customer Reviews for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner

2.4" Color LCD Converts to 7.3MP Images Displays Images to TV
Average Customer Rating:
3.848 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 145
(out of 145 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
19
109 of 145(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Review 1 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:December 17, 2010

You get what you pay for...

Pros: easy return to costco makes buying safe.
Cons: not even hobby level performance.
Model Number: F2D300
"After reading the reviews, we decided to try this unit. We can ignore the fractured english in the user manual, but we can't ignore the poor performance.
We compared the printed picures from the scanned negatives to the original pictures (developed by Costco in 2003) and newly scanned pictures from the original positives.
All pictures were printed on our Canon MX860 printer which prints excellent photos.
Yikes! The pictures printed from the negatives were either washed out or displayed a brownish sepia like tone.
The scanned pictures printed perfectly, and they matched the original pictures developed from the negatives.
During our research we did find other more expensive 35mm scanners, but we don't need to spend several hundred dollars for this activity.
This is going back to Costco.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2011

Bummed

"I was able to get through about 150 slides one day. So, the next day I was motivated to finish the next 100 slides... Nope. The blue power light came on, the start up screen popped up, but now the screen is dark and blank. It won't turn off unless it's unplugged. So, back to Costco it goes."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southwest Florida
Date:June 24, 2011

Be careful when it looks too good to be true

Pros: very easy to use!, hand held makes it real convenient to use
Cons: 80% of the digital images were poor, image viewer too small
Model Number: Wolverine 35mm to digital
"Overall quality of the jpg image was unacceptable. At times the digital image was perfect but 80% were no good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wyoming, MI
Date:December 14, 2010

DOA out of the box

Pros: low-cost, quick delivery from costco
Cons: doa won't even power-on!
Model Number: F2D-300
"Well, after reading the reviews here I decided to buy one of these and give it a try. So far I'm not impressed. I got out my slides and plugged the USB cable into the wall adapter and the scanner. Pushed the power on button. And nothing happened! After trying it directly into the USB port of my Mac, I got the same results. I called the Wolverine support phone and after I performed the same actions for the support person, she said she would issue an RMA # so I could send the unit back to the manufacturer for a replacement unit. She said she would be sending me a return UPS label and I should send the unit back after I receive the label and that they would send me a new unit after they receive my defective unit.
So the saga begins, we'll see how long it is before I get a unit that works at all.
"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:November 17, 2010

Not recommended ever...

"I used this to convert some negatives from a SLR camera (old school). The outcome was blurry pictures, over exposed as well.
I compared the image I get from this to the actual print from the same negative. There was a huge difference.
I have returned this product as it is not worth it."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010

lousy

Pros: fast
Cons: subpar quality scan and get dusty very quickly
Model Number: Wolverine f2d-3300
"the only pro is quick scan, but quality is not good, picture came out looking old. and a lot of artifacts because the scan area picks up a lot of dust and fur and is very hard to clean you can only use air canister to blow them out cannot get in to wipe the glass/ poor design, returned it"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greenville SC
Date:December 18, 2010

Very Poor Color Rendition

Pros: none
Cons: terrible results
"I am a serious photographer and adeot with Photoshop Elemenets. There was nothing that I could do to address the terrible and variable color shift. Additionally, the blacks were not true black but rather speckled dark greya nd black. I returned it. I would try Costco's slide transfer to CD or someone elses slide digitizing before using this roduct."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hershey, PA
Date:December 20, 2010

Wolverine 35mm Digital Image Scanner F2D300

Model Number: F2D300
"A friend of mine has an earlier version of the Wolverines (F2D200) and I was impressed by the quality of the digitized photos. Once I saw the newer F2D300, I thought the higher dpi would make it a better quality scanner. Wrong. The actual resolution of F2D300 is actually a lot worse than F2D200, although it does make larger jpeg files (1.7Mb vs. 1.4Mb). I am returning it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2011

Poorly made

"I don't know how well this scanner will scan slides because I didn't get that far. There are two little doors (or "flaps") on either side where the slide tray goes in and comes out. One door had come off. I didn't attempt to put it back on myself because the pins holding it in place were very thin plastic, and would surely have broken. I'm disappointed that I couldn't even test how well it worked. I returned it. Still looking for a good slide to digital scanner."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:February 22, 2011

Wolverine is a pussycat

"Right out of the box, it did not work. Took it back to Costco, they were great with the return. That is why I shop at Costco. Got a 2nd Wolverine, no good. Done with Wolverine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palos Verdes, CA
Date:March 3, 2011

Severe color imbalance

Model Number: F2D300
"Two months ago I bought the F2D200 scanner (the red one) for my slides. Out of the box it had a decidedly bluish cast on all scanned images. The factory linked me to a firmware download to enable color balancing, which I installed, but it was not able to eliminate the overall blue tint., So I returned the whole thing to Costco. Seeing the newer F2D300 (the blue one) on sale with an advertised 7.3 mp resolution I gave it another try and recently ordered one. The accompaning specs show it as an 1800 dpi scanner just like the red one and trying it out i found that the overall blue cast was identical to the F2D200 model, perhaps worse, showing a distinct lack of detail and lots of color blooming from white objects in front of dark backgounds. So back to Costco this one goes and I will not buy another Wolverine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2010
"I liked the ease of use, however I found slide scanning poor, even with the ability to darken somewhat the results of the scans were overexposed, a very poor job on greens, landscapes with rocks etc very washed out. I went back and checked the slides with a projector to see if they had faded with age, they had not. If they could correct these problems I would like the machine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2011

wolverine scanner

Model Number: wolverine 35mm slide scanner
"this couldent be much slower,i've got over 2000 slides to scan"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:June 22, 2011

Don't bother

"Ibought this to look at my slides and negatives. I could hardly tell who was in the picture and the background was very bright. It washed out the picture. I ended up borrowing someone's slide projector to see who was in the picture/where it was taken. Very slow process as well. Wish I could get my money back, but it has been a year since I purchased it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Coast
Date:July 14, 2011

An item with poor design and construction.

Cons: unit seems flimsy.
Model Number: 543693
"The design and construction of the doors(flaps) covering the opening for inserting the slide tray is very poor. These doors are very flimsy. The unit I received had a broken door when it was received. I could not test it to see how well it worked. I will probably reorder a replacement unit after I return this broken unit for a refund. After testing the replacement, I will write a review covering the operation."
Review 16 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Manassas, VA
Date:August 3, 2011

PRODUCT NOT GOOD

Pros: color
Cons: freezes up, does not work, substandard product
Model Number: F2D300
"I bought this product because I wanted to convert all my 35mm films to digital formats. However, the product did not live up to its par. For example, it did not save the pictures, after a couple of tries, to the SD card although the screen shows they were saved. I have to turn the machine on and off because every time I turn it on, the screen just freezes up and the icons are not showing up anymore. After a couple tries rebooting the machine, I just gave up. I returned the product at the nearest Costco Warehouse for a full refund. Bottom line is the product did not work to its intended purpose. Now, I have to shop around for one hoping to find a product that can deliver."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:December 24, 2010

Dead Out of the Box

Model Number: F2D
"Power light came on, but the screen doesn't light. It's going back, and I'm not sure I want to take a chance with another one."
Review 18 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:July 15, 2011

Great Idea. Poor results

"After reading other reviews both pro and con I decided to take advantage of Costco's great price and ordered the Wolverine. It works easily and in short order I duplicated about a hundred negs. Then I played them back on my computer screen. Every bit of dust on light panel showed up as a black spot. I retried the job making sure to clean the light panel and the negs every few scans but it was very difficult to keep the dust away. Scan quality was just fair. OK for printing a 4x6 or 3x5 but not good enough to blow up on a 17+ inch screen. So I guess it's back to my oh-so-slow flat bed scanner and back to Costco for my Wolverine. Too bad."
Review 19 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles Coiunty
Date:April 2, 2011

Out of box, did not work.

Pros: supposedly fast (5 sec)
Cons: does not work
Model Number: F2D-300
"On Power, shows blue Wolverine screen for 5 seconds. Screen returns to blank. None of the buttons responds, except Power, if pressed for, at least, 10 seconds: blue Wolverine screen returns and unit powers off.
Was delivered on April 1st.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wolverine 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:December 10, 2010

Not all that I had hoped

Pros: fast, simple
Cons: quality
"My goal was to scan about 500 old 35MM slides. The unit was easy to set up. It was fast. It was simple. But the quality is not what I had hoped for. I made sure I had the settings right. I tried again and again with different adjustments. But the sky was not blue and the grass was not green and the detail was missing. I'm going to return the unit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>