Customer Reviews for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology

Adjustable Intensity Ramp™, Solid Steel Construction, 18 Preset Workout Programs
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
28 of 38(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Review 1 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:November 28, 2011

very good deal

Pros: spacesaver feature, built in fan, incline, bottle holder, pre-installed programs, mp3 music player compatible, manufacturer's warranty
Cons: wear and tear?
Model Number: RBEL76010.1
"Okay, so I bought this machine back in April 2011. Four people in my family use it and my dad who uses it the most, is on it everyday for about 45 minutes (he has lost more that 35 pounds since then). There were so many parts and instructions but assembly was rather easy. I was able to put it all together by myself in about 2 and half hours with a little help from my sister, we are 21 and 16 year old females, respectively. So assembly is not that hard at all.
As for the machine itself, I think it is a great product. There were days when I really hated it. The flywheel kept making a clicking sound sometimes but I later realized it was the cover for the flywheel and all I had to do was lightly press the cover and done, no more sound. Someone in a previous review said that the machine was spewing ash from the back, well that happened to my machine too except that it wasn't ash. It was powdered plastic. After 6 months of wear and tear, the axle cover that holds the pedals by the flywheel was being cut through by the screws. So we stopped using the machine, I called ICON fitness and told them what part I needed and it arrived in the mail 5 days later. I could've ordered it in seconds from the website too but I wanted to do it through the customer service rep the first time. I replaced it and ordered an extra one since the other one is also showing signs of NORMAL wear and tear.
I clean the machine once a week to get all the sweat and dust off and it looks just like new. I just noticed this weekend while cleaning that the base is showing signs of rusting in about a 15cm area. But I figure it is the sweat that dripped there that is eating through the steel. So I used a sand paper, sanded it and this weekend I will be getting some rustoleum spray paint or something similar to cover that spot up.
The spacesaver feature is amazing, the built in fan, bottle holder, the pre-installed programs and the incline feature are all worth every penny paid for this machine.
If it is an equipment that is regularly used then there will be wear and tear and you have to do maintenance on it like anything else. For the price I paid, I am most definitely pleased with this machine and I recommend it to anyone who wants a good workout, lose weight and is willing to take care of the machine.
"
Review 2 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:columbia md
Date:November 14, 2011

got three good workouts and then....

Model Number: 548733
"I was so resistant to buying this, so many working parts, the diagram that came with the machine is crazy complicated, many many parts!! so much that can go wrong so I paid for delivery/install just in case. it is really nice, there was some concern that the height in a 7 1/2 foot ceiling would be a problem but its ok as I'm six feet tall, anyone taller would have trouble. the folks that delivered told me they usually deliver appliances, does this mean they don't usually put together equipment? It was fabulous, quiet, smooth and terrific for four half hour sessions, then there was a clicking, finally one side a loud squeaking noise and I sense metal rubbing on metal, not good.
Now I've been on hold waiting to talk to ICON for over half an hour...all reviews tell me they are notoriously terrible for making you wait and then saying "fix it yourself, we'll send you some part". Hey wait, I paid for install, shouldn't the thing work longer than a week? I will add to this review when they finally answer the phone. Stay tuned.....
"
Review 3 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hanford, California
Date:November 12, 2011

Falling Parts

Pros: provides great workout., good price
Cons: falling apart after 5 months of use., started emanating squeaky noises
"I bought this elliptical machine on May, 2011 to include the assembly for $799. I thought it was a great price for the machine. There are three members of my family that use the machine at least 5 times a week for an average of 15 uses per week. It was great the first 4 months and then in October, 2011 the machine started making noises when we use it. Then some parts of the machine started breaking up and the back part where the motor is located, started spewing some ash type product. We stopped using the machine and returned it to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
Date:October 3, 2011

Lasted 6 months

"I had last years model.
Pros:
It was pretty smooth and the motion was good. The programs that it came with were great starting out but a little too easy after a couple months of use. The power adjusting incline was very nice.
Cons:
After a few weeks it sounded like a rusty gate. I re-greased all the joints but it continued to creak with each step. That was ok, the motion was still good and I enjoyed the workouts. And then, a couple weeks ago the control head conked out. Without it the thing is a very heavy paperweight. Costco's guarantee saved me a lot of money on this purchase. For now I am back to my treadmill. I am deciding between buying one of the higher-end home machines, or waiting for Costco to get another elliptical back in at our local store (They don't shop heavy objects to Alaska).
"
Review 5 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:September 29, 2011

Giving some sound in the from while pedaling

Model Number: Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical
"While workout its giving Tik Tik sound in the front and i double checked all the screws are tight. Contacting Customer Care and the phone always says heave call volume. Left my phone number and waiting them ti call back and will see what happens.. Worst case i will return this giant monster to Costco.."
Review 6 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2011

Anything but solid Steel Construction

"I have had this machine for about six month s. There is flimsy plastic washer at the end f side bars which broke . and the entire machine is useless"
Review 7 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:September 13, 2011

Wrong Drive Belt Installed

Pros: delivery time, space saving design, sturdy
Cons: wrong drive belt
"I ordered this elliptical online and was pleasantly suprised by the deliver time (1 week). However, when we got the elliptical all put together, which took 3 hours, the belt was slipping, making it unusable. We tried to tighten the belt like the manual said, but were unable to make it tight enough to run smoothly.
We called reebok and they are shipping us a new belt free of charge, but it has been almost a week and the belt hasn't arrived. It has been really anticlimactic for me as I was really excited to use it and get in a regular exercise routine. Now I have had this machine sitting in my house for a week without being able to use it.
Otherwise, the machine is exactly what i was looking for. I really like the space saving design and it seems to be well made and sturdy."
Review 8 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern CALIFORNIA
Date:September 7, 2011

loving my elliptical

Pros: in my home and ready to go
Cons: speakers are not as good as my earphones, slight knock that is annoying sometimes
"Delivered within one week, wow! Not to hard to put together. Directions are very straight forward. This elliptical, for the price is wonderful. Lots of options for a different workout. Nice fan, and set up for ifit if you need a stronger workout. Overall I am very happy with this purchase."
Review 9 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Grapevine, TX
Date:August 22, 2011

No Customer Service from Reebok

Model Number: RL 6.0
"After spending 2 hours to assemble I find the machine is misaligned causing the pedal rail to fall off every 20 steps or so. I've been trying to contact Reebok but they are only open during business hours and every time I connect the recording states "heavy call volume" and disconnects me. Now I have to figure out how to get this heavy, oversized equipment back to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:August 18, 2011

Quality Product

Pros: quiet, fan, speakers, workout selections
Cons: cannot display calorie and time at same time, handles too long for my wife
Model Number: Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver®
"Arrived in good condition, driver was friendly and helped get it down our long windy driveway and to our lower level door. Set up took 2+ hours. It is very stable, quiet and everything works."
Review 11 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2011

Good machine

Pros: quiet, easy assembly, fast shipping, price
Cons: display, default programs
"Overall a great elliptical. It is super quiet. With two people took a little over an hour to assemble. Shipped very fast, a lot quicker than the 2 to 3 weeks. The only thing I don't like is the display. I don't think you can find a better elliptical for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carolinas
Date:August 13, 2011

Great Purchase

Pros: mp3, heart monitor, fan, space saver, programmed work outs, price, quiet
Cons: misaligned tracks when folding up
"After 3 years of saying I wanted an elliptical machine in my home, I finally bought this one. It arrived earlier than expected, took under 2 hours to assemble with 2 people. This machine has pretty much everything anyone needs. It's very easy to use, my 7 year old can fold it up after "exercising/playing" on it. Everyone who has used it is impressed. Very happy, highly recommended."
Review 13 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:August 7, 2011

I like it.

Pros: short and folds even shorter, uncomplicated with few bells or whistles, feels sturdy and quiet, takes mp3 player
Cons: no parameters for gender age weight for routines, flywheel cover misaligned, no beginner routine, fixed stride length may not suit everyone.
Model Number: RL 6.0
"THE PURCHASE
My wife and I let our gym membership expire two years ago and we need exercise, but we don't want to waste the extra time it takes to go to the gym. We gave our daughter our treadmill (too hard on my knees and feet--I'd rather walk the neighborhood when it's not too hot). Unfortunately, we had limited space for an Elliptical.
We tried a number of ellipticals, and some felt really clumsy. Most of the less expensive models we tried that did not feel strange were built by Icon. We tried a closeout Healthrider model(by Icon) with a lot of bells and whistles including power adjustments to stride and height. Although it felt quite nice, reviews said one knock on Icon was that their motors tended to fail. Frankly, all I wanted were routines in which I could easily vary the resistance. The Healthrider had a button on the action handle to do this, and despite my reservations we came close to buying the Healthrider model. We tried a few more machines and I decided that simple and easy to use with less things to break would be better. Most of the short machines we tried were flimsy or clumsy instead of smooth. However, the RL 6.0 on Costco's web site met our length requirement and even folded up to save more space. None of our Costcos had one in stock, and I was hesitant to buy the machine without trying it.. The closest I could find in town was a NordicTrack, also by Icon, with a stride adjustment. Slightly longer, but it felt smooth enough. I researched the Reebok and discovered that some places sold it for $1200 plus delivery, but many were in the $700-$800 range. Thus, the Costco model seemed like a good choice, and I knew I could easily return it (providing I could get the 250 lbs+ to the store). So we ordered.
THE DELIVERY
Instead of two to three weeks, the machine arrived in one week in a 16 wheeler, and as promised, the delivery was to the curb. Because the box is not on a palette it was damaged, but the damage didn't appear to go through. I noted that on the form and signed. I used my heavy duty (Costco) dolly to maneuver the box the hundred yards to our house (We live in the hill country). I don't think two people could carry this box very far: no handles to grip and very bulky.
UNPACKING
I took a half hour to unpack the box, sort the parts, and look over the instructions. I'm used to assembling things, but that always goes better if the instructions are reasonable. These were not bad. The last object from the box was the main unit with folded and attached flywheel. Save yourself some trouble. Tilt the unit over now and copy the REAL model number and serial number from the bottom of the base. You will need BOTH these numbers for a smooth registration on the Icon site. As others have noted there appears to be a problem with the assembly of the flywheel cover. I don't know whether that results from shipping or from poor assembly and quality control at the factory. On my unit, the cover was off center. Further examination revealed that the two haves did not mesh properly on the bottom side and the tabs were jammed. I loosened four screws and snapped the panels together properly. I could not adjust the alignment, but since that didn't interfere with the flywheel operation, I decided to ignore it.
ASSEMBLY
Assembly starts with the flywheel folded up. Be sure to tear open the bolts package and locate all Allen wrenches before you start.
I followed the directions and it took me three hours to complete the assembly. Once I was finished, I realized that two guys who had experience assembling a couple of these could easily put it together in an hour. However, I knew I hadn't rushed and so I had confidence that the assembly was solid. I saved $100 which works out to $33/hr with no FICA or with-holding to consider: an effective rate of better than $50/hour.
OPERATION:
I climbed on to get the feel of the stride (I was worried that I might have to return it, if it felt clumsy) and the motion seemed just fine. The machine was exceptionally quiet (unlike the ones at the gym) and had a solid feel. I plugged in the machine and the panel lit. When plugged in, the panel lights automatically if you press a button or if you pedal. The display goes off automatically a few minutes after you stop pedaling.
USAGE:
Here's my exercise background: I'm 68 years old, walk regularly, but haven't been on an elliptical or done weight training in two years. I weigh 220 lbs and am 6' tall. I want the benefits of cardio and I want to lose 30 pounds. (My wife has similar goals but I'm not not about to list any statistics). I tried the level L1 weight loss routine. It's 30 minutes. I broke it into three ten minute segments on the first day. The L1 routine starts at a resistance of 8 and rises to a resistance of 14 with recommended speeds of as much as 65 RPM. I kept the speed at about 40RPM and adjusted the levels manually to keep them at 10. The next day I did the same except in two 15 minute segments. For the last three days I've done the 30 minutes straight through although I've kept the speed in the low 40s and the resistance at 12 or under. My major requirement is to keep my heart rate at about 110 +/- 10, and I adjust my speed and resistance accordingly. I hope that in two weeks or so, I'll be able to do L1 as programmed.
EVALUATION:
So far I am very pleased with my purchase. The unit seems study and the action smooth and quiet. I tried my MP3 player and then I realized it had too many controls, so I hauled out an old, very limited and small MP3 player whose major control is off/on and volume. I clipped it to the machine and attached to provided cable. It sounds good on the speakers built into the elliptical. I like it.
The fan is gimmicky, but it does put out a little breeze and so far is the noisiest part of the machine (fortunately I have a ceiling fan and don't need it). I check my heart rate every 5 or 6 minutes on the stationary bars. The reading is not very accurate (and sometimes is way off), but I've discovered that if you grip firmly and wait for the second reading I get about what I expect based on the way my body feels. Apparently two readings with one gripping is the maximum and you have to release and try again later. There is no plug for an external heart rate monitor. I've had no reason to adjust the stride height, but it is easy to do. So far as I can tell, you cannot adjust the stride length.
If I get five years of good usage from machine that pro-rates to $10/month for the both of us, and that is much cheaper than we paid at the gym where I did a half-hour of elliptical and a half-hour on weights and exercise. It would take 10 years to get the same dollar value out of a $1200 machine.
I don't know what a lifetime frame warranty means, and as best I can tell, manufacturers take a lot of liberties in terms of what a "life" is. But I bought from Costco, so I'm pretty sure that my American Express doubles one year to two, and that's not a bad bet.
At this point, I am very pleased with the machine. What about the 4 star rating. Well, I almost never give a 5 star rating because no device is perfect. If this machine gives good service for 5 years, then I would up the rating into the high 4s.
The Reebok RL6.0 may not be the machine for everyone, but it met my requirements for price, size, and usage. I like it."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 5, 2011

2nd elliptical delivered and 2nd one cracked

"I just had our second elliptical delivered after taking another day off work to wait for the freight company. Opened the bob and began to remove all of the packing and it is cracked in the same location as the first one I had delivered 3 weeks ago.
Both ellipticals were cracked on the plactic housing the wheel. And both times it looked fine until the plactic stretch wrap was removed and the tabs where the two have meet were broken."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:cincinnati, OH
Date:August 2, 2011

awesome deal

"This elliptical machine ranges in price to upwards of $1350 on some websites. It took time to put it together, about 2-3 hours, but it was easy to follow directions. There is a slight wobble, but it is on a mat on carpet. The wobble doesn't affect the performance, but it slightly noticable. It is VERY sturdy, a solid piece of machinery."
Review 16 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton, CA
Date:July 30, 2011

Product Delivery - DOA

Model Number: bok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
"Delivery was quick. When I unpacked the box for installation, I was very disappointed. The packaging was poor. The elliptical had a big crack on both side plastic parts. Very poor quality plastic.
Called up Rebook ( IKON ) for getting the replacement parts. They didnt have them in stock. They were nt able to provide any ETA.
Called Costco and asked them to pick it up for a refund.!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:July 25, 2011

Good bang for your buck! Great elliptical.

Pros: built in heart rate monitor.
Cons: a little big but what exercise equipment isn't!
"I read all the reviews before purchasing the Reebok elliptical. I also checked out a few other places before purchasing this item and found others to be more than $1500 and above. I have nothing bad to say at all the Reebok elip. I find the machine easy to use, the fan is okay and so is the sound from my mp3 player. The heart rate monitor works while I am using the machine (I don't know what the other user was complaining about - maybe he needs to call customer service.) It is fairly quiet and I can watch TV while exercising and don't have to raise the volumn beyond normal. My husband put the machine together and said it didn't take more than 1 1/2 hours. It was a great purchase for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:July 24, 2011

Great machine for price

"Bought this elliptical about a month ago and have been using it on a daily basis. It was very easy to assemble and hasn't skipped a beat!"
Review 19 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Commerce, MI
Date:July 10, 2011

Very Satisfied

Pros: quiet, sturdy, easy to use/adjust, reliable
Model Number: Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
"Have had this elliptical for 6 weeks and both my college age son and I are very happy with the product. Operation is very smooth, we can adjust the pedals to accommodate my 5'5'' frame and my son's 6'1'' frame. My son is working out more at home as opposed to the club because the elliptical is comparable to the one at his gym, sturdy, has extremely smooth pedal action, is easy to adjust and the speakers for his IPOD are pretty decent. The pulse monitor works while pedals are in use (despite previous reviews I read) and the monitor is easy to read and change. We haven't used any of the workout programs yet because we get a great workout by only adjusting the manual intensity. Product came fairly quickly, was carried to a second floor space and set up within 30 minutes. All questions were answered and I was shown how product worked and folded up. I was surprised how quiet the unit was because it's in a space on the 2nd floor above the dining room. The cushioned pedals reduce fatigue/pressure on the soles of the feet and are very large to accommodate my son's size 14 shoe. This product seems pretty reliable after daily use by both of us."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Reebok Stride Select™ RL 6.0 Elliptical with SpaceSaver® Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seal Beach, CA
Date:June 30, 2011

Reebok Elliptical RL 6.0

Model Number: RL 6.0
"Arrived quickly and as expected. Required a fair amount of assembly. My wife and I worked together and it took us about an hour. All the parts were included and it went together fine, the directions were moderately difficult at times.
The unit is great from a space saving standpoint, very small footprint when folded. Also it is much easier to fold up then the reebok treadmill we bought from Costco at Christmas.
It operates smoothly and feels well made when you ride on it.
An added plus, the unit has a built in fan that I don't remember reading about when I purchased it.
Overall very happy with this elliptical and very happy with Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>