Customer Reviews for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0

6-Cell Battery 8x Super Multi DVD±RW Drive Bluetooth HDMI
Average Customer Rating:
3.174 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
3
12 of 23(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Review 1 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:January 18, 2011

Good Value

Pros: first class components, dedicated graphics card, memory expansion capability
Cons: weight
Model Number: ASUS 53JQ
"Lots of features like dedicated 1g graphics card, separate number pad, LED display, additional SODIMM slots. USB 3.0 port, and fast processor to run resource intensive software. Overall, I was impressed with the quality components and construction throughout. It is solidly built, large, and NOT lightweight. I'm glad I didn't select the N73 since this model is big enough. It boots quickly once you remove the weird startup software it ships with."
Review 2 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas NV
Date:January 17, 2011

Close but So Far.......

Pros: looks, performance, 3.0 usb, speakers
Cons: terrible tech support, runs hot, bloatware, battery life
Model Number: N53JQ
"I really wanted to like this computer, the specs look great on paper and for the price it all looked great.
However the amount of Bloatware this unit has is really bad, so much stuff my desktop was full of icons. I am not familiar with Asus so I kind of took a chance, I had one problem where the computer would freeze up while watching videos I mean it would not even Ctrl/Alt/Delete I had to force close the unit and power down. I called Asus support and basically they said "Oh we are sorry, we can't help you, maybe it's your router" Like my 1GB "N" router would be slow........Thank God for Costco's 90 day return policy...
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011

Good components, bad computer.

"Pros: Fantastic components: CPU, USB 3, 1 GB video card etc...
Awesome speakers (in comparison to my older thinkpad laptop, most likely better than macs)
Cons: Many... see below.
1. To start off lightly, a 15.6" laptop should not have a numpad, and if it does should be much better designed (sony is trying, but still its not the best). I am used to the thinkpad keyboard which I find the best. Unfortunately most laptops are going this direction.
2. Heat: yes it has an i7 cpu, yes it has 1 Gb of video card but only one fan on the left side. So after a while you can start to cook an omelette.
3. Touchpad: the two finger actions don't respond so you are better off turning them off. Sometime jumpy.
4. Camera: remember back in the day when they first came out with a camera that you could attach to your desktop with a wire... this is the same thing ( I am not a mac fan but I have to give it to them, the response time of their camera is close to a mirror!)
5. Size, the laptop has an inch wasted on each side of the diagonal dimension of the screen, so essentially if the screen was edge to edge this would have been a 17 inch.
6. Although the composition of the body is from light material but due to its large size its a heavy laptop. almost 7 lbs.
7. WORST of ALL, and the thing that is going to make me return this to COSTCO is the battery life. It will take 2 hours to charge, and 1 hour to be fully gone. And for those of you who think I am playing a game on a full resolution, no I am not, if you are working on your word document and browsing online while listening to some music in background, you will deplete the battery in 1 hour.
So in conclusion, I would stay away from this computer. Though the speaker and the components are nice the computer as a whole needs alot of work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:January 7, 2011

Awesome and Frustrating

Pros: runs cool
Cons: touch pad while typing is a problem, brother printer drivers don't work
Model Number: ASUS N53JQ
"Nice Technology.
Keyboard Flexes.
Touchpad hyper sensitive while typing. Any drop thumb will land you somewhere else on the page.
Brother printer drivers don't work.
Resolution on screen better than old computer, but smaller to the point I have to wear glasses to read the print."
Review 5 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Carmel, CA
Date:January 7, 2011

had to take it back!

Pros: great design, good sound for a laptop, impressive specs
Cons: poor battery life, flimsy feeling keyboard, started to lock up
Model Number: Asus N53
"Initially loved the computer. Great sound, very sleek looking, great specs. Deleted a lot of the bloatware and really got it humming. After about a month, it began to lock up regularly and would not connect to my wireless network. Very frustrating to say the least. I had my IT guy look at it and his recommendation was to start over. Looking at the Envy 14 or XPS 15."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 4, 2011

Portable Desktop Alternative

Pros: 4 sodimm slots, 1 year accidental damage warranty, usb 3.0
Cons: lots of bloatware, no pcmia slot, monitor resolution is not hd, slow hard drive, weird memory/hard drive access
Model Number: N53JQ
"I purchased this computer as a desktop alternative for portable video editing. Two features caught my attention. USB 3.0 and the 4 SoDimm Ram slots. This laptop has the capability of handling up to 16gb of ram (4x4gb). Because of the USB 3.0 I connect a portable 1.5TB Seagate GoFlex. Video editing requires a lot of hard drive space and the more memory the better. It runs like a champ.
Access to the memory and hard drive is difficult to figure out. There are no screws to unlatch the bottom covers.
The biggest problem with this lap top is the massive amount of Bloat Ware added from ASUS. It's worthless so I immediately started to uninstall. I would prefer a clean install but like most laptops these days it doesn't come with a Windows disk. You have to burn your own backup right after the set up but that has the bloatware too. I am upset it doesn't have a PCMIA card slot to upgrade to add Firewire when the new version comes out. I wish it came with a 7200rpm hard drive but that can be changed out. The 5400 is probably the weakest link when it comes to speed.
After everything I am happy with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:new Jersey
Date:January 4, 2011

Terrible Tech Support

Model Number: ASUS N53JQ i-7 740 QM
"II was so excited to get this new laptop. It looks sharp and the processing speed was much faster than my old laptop. However, after countless hours working with Asus support, I was unable to resolve the mystery network issue. So I had to return this laptop.
Issues I had:
1. after activating the Trend Micro internet security software, as suggested by Asus, I was unable to un-install it so I can install Norton. The only way is to run "recovery" to reset the laptop back to factory state. It took me days to resolve this issue.
2. The network connection was constantly being dropped. Asus Support can't help me resolving this issue and I wasted some many hours trying the un-necessary things. I ended up have to "recovery" my laptop again. Asus support advised me that the network card may be bad and I need to send the laptop to them to trouble shoot.
Overall, Asus support is not worthy to deal with. They are not trained to help customer resolving any issues on Asus products."
Review 8 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Harrisonburg, VA
Date:December 29, 2010

Mixed feelings

Model Number: ASUS N53JQ-XC1
"Very happy with the speed and performance. A couple of things i dont like...The keypad is bowed upward in the center of of the keyboard. When I put a straight edge on the keyboard you can see 1/8" of daylight between the center and the outer edges.
Also, all of the USB ports are on the front sides of the laptop. When you have a mouse or other USB device connected the wires are directly in the way of working space. In my opinion they should be on the rear (at least one). Sound is good but not what i expected. Video is great.
I am going to keep it as it is a great improvement over my Gateway and i have already gone through all of the trouble of setting it up. I bought online and wasnt able to physically look at this laptop before I bought it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:December 28, 2010

Looks Good, Works Bad, Support Ugly

Pros: very nice construction, good performance when it works, runs cool for a i7
Cons: can't interface with usb printers, really bad asua service support!, touchy mouse pad
Model Number: ASUS N53JQ
"The ASUS N53JQ looks great and is built solid, but when I tried to install 2 HP prints & a Brother labeler the problems started. All 3 are Windows 7 compatible, but only one HP would install correctly (it used the DOT4 port). The other two installed OK, but give me a print-error very time a tried to use them (they used the Virtual USB port). If I closed the print spooler and restarted it the prints would come out. Reinstalled drivers, implemented all service suggestions, searched the web for help with no success. Spoke to the service support four times. They said they would research the problem and e-mail me with there finding (2 times), but no response!! They also stated that they never herd of this problem before, which I find hard to believe when I am the FORTH person on the Costco review to encounter the some malfunction. After being directed to reinstall the system Recovery disks (twice). The second time the computer would not work at all!
Thanks to Costco for there easy helpful return policy!"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:December 25, 2010

Great value, high performance laptop

Pros: great value, very fast, asus accidental damage warranty
Cons: big and heavy, tempermental mouse pad
Model Number: N53JQ
"Great performance for the money. I did not have any of the printer problems that others mentioned. It's a bit big and heavy for a 15" laptop, but other than that, I'm very happy with it."
Review 11 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bloomfield Hills, MI
Date:December 22, 2010

Had to return it

Pros: appears to be well built, nice speakers, nice display
Cons: could not get a printer to print, terrible asus customer service, don't like keyboard, clucky mouse keys
Model Number: ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
"I have already posted a review, since costco does not allow to edit reviews, I have to post another one.
I could not install a printer that I have had for the last 2 years - which was windows 7 compatible, and works on my other windows 7 laptop. I installed correct drivers, called Asus tech support - which tried to tell me I should called a printer manufacturer, call printer manufacturer (Samsung) - nothing could fix my problems with printing - that seemed to be somehow Asus related (not the printer). One Asus representative told me that it is ok that it does not print things other than from the internet, because since its windows 7 it would print only from microsoft office applications. They did not seem to be interested/competent to diagnose and fix the problem. So several phone calls to customer service and having tried every solution from the web that would fix one thing - but break something else - and now completely unable to print - this computer is going back to Costco. Too bad - I was really excited about it. Now have to go back to figuring out which to buy...
By the way, it really did not seem to be too fast for a 6 GB. It would take a long time some times to load Devices and Printers - which had almost nothing in them.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:December 18, 2010

Good with caveats

Pros: processor speed, usb 3 slot, expandable memory to 16gb, separate video card
Cons: poor battery life, horrible web camera, no blue ray player
Model Number: N53JQ
"This computer is a good value as long as you are near a power source and don’t plan to use the on board web camera.
I do a lot of high definition video editing and have been very pleased with the performance of the computer and its ability to multi-task due to the i7 processor. Unfortunately the downside of this type of performance is that it is power hungry. Expect only about an hour of battery performance in performance mode. Power saving mode only adds about an additional 30 minutes of battery use. I have not been able to track down a higher capacity battery for this model yet.
When working with multi-media projects the screen is clear and the audio is quite good. The separate video makes all of the difference in the world if you are doing any type of HD video editing. The standard 6GB of RAM should provide more than enough memory for most users. I was pleased that this computer has 4 slots for memory and can be expanded up to 16GB (rare for a lap top). 4GB expansion memory modules are relatively inexpensive at about $55. This gives you the ability to cost effectively upgrade your RAM and keep this computer running fast for years to come. While I would have preferred a faster hard drive, the 5400 RPM drive is okay for most applications. The ESATA and USB 3 slots allow for connection to faster external hard drive(s) so the 5400 RPM drive is not as much of an issue.
The only real disappointment is the on board web camera. Even in the best of lighting there is a 3 to 5 second lag time making the camera completely unusable for Skyping. I expected a high performance multi-media machine to have a much better camera. I did call ASUS to see if there was anything I could do to improve the performance but was told by their techs that the poor camera performance was a known problem. I ended up purchasing a HD exterior WEB cam and the processing power of the computer allows for great real time HD video chatting.
Essentially this is a great desk top computer in a lap top case. For the price I would recommend it to anybody that needs a small high performance machine but you will need to stay near a power outlet. The keyboard and mouse is large but will depend upon your personal preferences. I was able to add a blue tooth mouse easily."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:December 16, 2010

A Work In Progress

Pros: solid construction/appearance, excellent ratio of value to price, fast processor (in theory), quiet operation (fan)
Cons: could not use printer, poor tech support, too large and heavy for a 15.6" laptop, very short battery life per charge, sluggish and jumpy cursor movement, slower processing speeds than expected, keyboard could be better designed
Model Number: ASUS N53JQ i-7 740 QM
"My ASUS N53JQ arrived early and in perfect condition--the usual Costco purchasing experience. Unfortunately, the unit failed or faltered at some of its assigned tasks.
After numerous calls to ASUS (one of which resulted in about a 60 minute hold) and assistance from the Costco Concierge, I was still unable to send queued documents to my OfficeJet 7780. I updated all driver software, reloaded the operating system, and followed all recommendations from the troubleshooters I accessed; but nothing worked. A few days later I returned the ASUS to Costco.
Here are some additional--but not necessarily deal-breaking--problems/flaws/inconveniences I noted:
1. Keyboard feel was OK but keys had limited travel and did not fit my fingers well for fast typing. 2. Cursor movement was sluggish and not fluid when using the pad. 3. Display was adequate--especially for the price--but not appreciably better than similar semi-HD displays on other laptops I have owned/used. 4. Laptop felt well-constructed (for a freeway abutment) but was unnecessarily oversized and heavy. Why fit a 15.6" display into a nearly 17.3" chassis? And why enshroud the screen within so wide a mask? In sum: the N53JQ would not fit in the supposedly correctly-sized Targus case I had purchased for it. 5. This laptop was battery hungry--1.5 hours was about the most I could get out of one charge. 6. My unit was flooded with bloatware. And, in my opinion, most of the software I ended up salvaging was not very good. 7. Virus scan times were significantly slower--about 2.5 times slower--than the time it took to scan similar numbers of files/file sizes using an older laptop with a slightly slower i-7, 720 QM chip. 8. Overall, ASUS technicians did not seem to know the product well nor could they adequately address tech-related issues.
The ASUS seemed to offer great value, performance and features; but for me, it missed the mark."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:December 15, 2010

good purchase for value

Pros: enough memory and hdd
Cons: battery life less, no blue ray player
"This is a good Laptop and so far no problem at all. Like to receommend this to the friends"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bloomfield Hills, MI
Date:December 11, 2010

not sure i like it

Pros: solid well built, heat comes from the side as opposed to bottom
Cons: cluncky hard mouse, keyboard not comfortable
Model Number: ASUS N53JQ
"I am not technical enough to know how well it it works having such a nice technical profile, but I have used about 6 laptops (for work and home) and this one by far has the most uncomfortable keyboard - I feel like I never had to get used to other keyboards whether it was dell or hp, but this one I keep pressing enter instead of shift... The mouse feels cluncky and I never had a problem with my fingers, but it feels that my thumb is getting sore fast pressing that mouse key to hold. Otherwise feels like a solid well built laptop - screen is not too glossy - very nice. Feels that it won't fall apart. There was no mcafee on my laptop - just the a suggestion to activate something else - but I had a bunch of that kind of stuff removed. Did not have a problem uninstalling anything."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:December 10, 2010

Great Value for the Money

Pros: asus included some great extras for the price.
Cons: ten key "0" should be placed on left not center, key board seems a little soft, ten keys a little on small side.
Model Number: ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics
"After searching for several months, anyone would be hard pressed to find as much laptop under $1,000. You do get your money's worth and value to boot. ASUS is a quality brand that many people have never heard of. Best Buy associates really believe in the product. I would have given it a 5 star but there are two things that bothered me that I noted below. Other than that if you have a chance to purchase don't pass it up."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern CA
Date:December 9, 2010

Just returned it back

Model Number: N53JQ
"I've always known that the Asus product is a very good one. This one was just fine too, except for the printing.
I have a Brother MFC-8860DN, works great with Vista, never had a problem, but when it was installed on the Asus, it did not work. Over an hour with Brother tech support and the same with Asus, still did not work, tried everything possible, but kept getting “error printing”. Brother said it was the USB controller, Asus said it was Brother’s problem.
Decided to go and buy a new Brother MFC-8680DN, since it comes with Windows 7 install DVD. Had the same problem, contacted both Brother & Asus tech support, and got the same answers as before. One of Asus tech support mentioned that this Notebook is not compatible with the Brother printer, better get an HP ????
I packed both Notebook and printer and returned to the Costco near me. "
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:December 9, 2010

Just about speakers and performance

Pros: fast processor, loud speakers
Cons: super heavy, huge laptop for 15 ", worst battery
Model Number: ASUS N53JQ
"This is my 4th laptop this year and I already tried a Dell and a HP. This by far has a great processor speed and the best quality speaker available in the market I would say, very loud ofcourse by B&O.
When I opened the box I felt like they sent me a 17" by mistake but I was wrong they made this laptop super thick, super heavy and a full keyboard for a laptop, wuts the point then! All around the screen is about 1 inch margine so the monitor can be lined with the huge keyboard which non of the function keys on top work by the way. so if portability doesnt matter for you this is a great computer but you also need to have it plugged in since the battery drains in about an hour max. very awful battery. my 3years old laptop battery lsat more!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:December 5, 2010

Really nice laptop at a great price!

Pros: fabuous performance to price ratio
Cons: none so far
Model Number: ASUS N53JQCore i7-740QM
"I have had it for about a week now so I'm still exploring everything it has to offer. So far, I am very pleased with it. Solid, high quality feel with great graphics. The display is very sharp - great for photos. Keyboard feels awesome. Great processing power with i7. Plenty of memory. Quiet! Windows 7 is wonderful too."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ASUS N53JQ Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz Laptop 1GB NVIDIA GT425M Graphics USB 3.0
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:December 5, 2010

Going back

Pros: look, keyboard, screen, maybe other pros but i am no longer interested
Cons: rim around screen too wide, bloatware that cause conflicts, half of the software would not start:, camera latency is loooong (2-3 seconds in skype), wifi adapter very weak
Model Number: N53JQ Core i7-740QM
"By the looks of it and reputation is was a dream machine, but it is going back to Costco. It has so many issues on the software side that I don't feel like troubleshooting it for a week chasing gremlins.
Google Chrome and McAffee installed partially and would not start (would not uninstall either)
DVD player and Windows media player would not start at all. All attempts to play any media (mp3, DVD, etc) result in "Server Error" - so can not attest speaker quality..
Camera latency is atrocious: 2-3 seconds with barely any movement. Any serious movement like standing up result in complete motion blur.
WiFi adapter is dropping connection since my hot spot is quite far, but a 5-year old Sony Vaio has no issues with keeping up.
There was no windows disk with it, so I could not attempt to do a clean OS reinstall.
Finally, although it is a 15.5, it feels like a 17-er, since the rim edges around the screen are very wide."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>