Customer Reviews for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station

Free Accurate Forecasts
Average Customer Rating:
1.182 out of 5
1.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
9
0 of 11(0%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Review 1 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:March 26, 2011

Does not work reliably. Not worth buying.

Pros: good weather information when it worked.
Cons: not reliable and it locks up quite often.
Model Number: WA30
"I bought the Weather Direct 3 months ago from Costco. Initially it worked fine and it gave me weather information for the current day along with forecasts for the next 3 days. After about a month, the device started to locked-up almost everyday and I had to pull the batteries to reset it. Now after three months, the device does not even update anymore. It's now useless. I'm going to return it. Thanks for Costo's great return policy."
Review 2 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach Florida
Date:January 4, 2011

Terrible Customer Service

Cons: could not get the item registered, terrible customer service
"This item sounded like a neat idea so I purchased one for my husband for Christmas. I tried to set it up for him the day after Christmas with no luck. However, good luck trying to get a hold of customer service. When you pull up the website you can either send an email or call the non toll free number. The website says that emails are answered quicker. I tried calling as well, and it said my hold time to LEAVE A MESSAGE was 20 minutes... not even to get customer service.. but just to leave a message. WHAT?? How many problem calls are they getting that there is a 20 minute hold just to leave a message? When my email was finally answered all it said to do was what was already in the instructions which I already tried... so waiting for the response was a big waist of time. I decided to not waist any more of my time and I returned the item to Costco. Costco always has such a wonderful return policy so I don't mind taking a chance on a product like this as I know I can at least return it!"
Review 3 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MV, WA
Date:January 1, 2011

Don't waste your time

Pros: as usual fast delivery from costco
Model Number: ?
"Would not work, screen will not come on and tech support is non existent."
Review 4 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Rockland County, NY
Date:December 22, 2010

ok at best

Pros: instant non-computer weather
Cons: everything else
Model Number: ?
"I really like the idea of giving someone who is anti technology an easy of getting always updated weather. I hate the way you have log into to your computer every time you want to change a setting.
Also, updating for such a small amount of information, takes way too long.
I also hate the fact that you HAVE TO register something, I paid for it, why do I need to waste more of my time/money.
"
Review 5 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 15, 2010

Web site doesn't know it exists.

Pros: advertising sounded good.
Cons: they don't support their own product., forget about tech support help., no way to register product.
Model Number: WA 30
"Very large size for a weather station. Needs to be set up online and connected to router. Site doesn't support this product. Called and waited too long. Gave up. Tech support won't help without unit no. which they don't have. A catch 22. After reading other revierws I give up."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2010

Absolute Garbage

"I purchased 2 of these. Neither one of them worked. Let me start by saying I own 2 other Weather Direct devices so setting this up is not an issue. Their servers are unresponsive lately and there is no support. Neither device would resister sucessfully. I retruned them both."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Frozen Minnesota
Date:December 9, 2010

Poor Design and Not as advertised

Pros: concept of talking weather station
Cons: speaker quality, responsiveness, scrolling outdoor temp
Model Number: WA-1440U
"The unit is not as responsive when pressed for update. We have wireless N still takes long time to update. "Talking Weather Station" Sounds like speaking in barrel if works. Which half of the time. As well as News and Sport station. You have to pushed button to see outdoor temp ever time. I would return but already trow away packaging box.
First Time Review"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:December 9, 2010

Does not work well

"Hard to set up and only works ok once set up. Plus you have to go to a second screen to get the exact current temp. Also often does not show the future forecasts. I returned it - not a good product."
Review 9 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 8, 2010

server slow and unresponsive

"Every visit to their sight was apologetic for their server problems and transitions. Got it setup once and then it started losing the forecast one day at a time. It's boxed and ready to return. Would I recommend it, no. It's a good idea with poor implementation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:December 7, 2010

Purchase with warning

Model Number: La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
"This appears to be a great product but when I attempted to register it on line it said that I need to subscribe to a 3 year subscription service. I did now want to subscribe to a subscription service in order to make it work so I returned it to Costco for a refund"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for La Crosse Technology Weather Direct® 4 Day Internet-Powered "Talking" Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Detroit MI
Date:December 6, 2010

Pick something else

Cons: terrible sound
"Not very user friendly to set up.
Speakers are so tinny sounding that it is unbearable, if you used it to wake up you would be starting your day off in a bad mood.
Am taking this back to Costco.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.