Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Unlike other humidifiers that grow slimy mold and mildew, the pureguardianTM 144-Hour Ultrasonic Humidifier uses Silver CleanTM technology to fight the growth of mold and mildew on the surface of the water tank. Thanks to ultrasonic technology it is ultra-quiet when it runs making it ideal to have on while you sleep. The humidifier is equipped with the option for warm or cool mist and a low water indicator light lets you know when it’s time to refill the water tank. Also features a soft glow night light that turns on and off. Mold and Mildew Resistant Tank Silver CleanTM Technology: The water tank has been treated with a fungistatic agent to protect it from fungal and mold growth   Tank capacity: 2.4 gallons   Warm or Cool Humidification   Emits both warm and cool mist   No Added Costs   No evaporating pads, filters or wicks to clean or replace   Large Capacity Water Tank   Up to 144-hour run time on one tank fill*   High-Output Nozzle   Broadens mist in 2 directions throughout the room   Additional Features   Ultrasonic technology makes humidifier ultra-quiet when running   Low water indicator illuminates when it’s time to refill the tank   Soft blue night light with on/off switch   Dimensions:15" L x 10" W x 12" H   Weight: 7.4 lbs.   UL Listed   3-year limited warranty   Made in Korea   *Run time depends on atmospheric conditions. **Warm mist may not feel warm to the touch. The mist is so fine that it is quickly cooled by the air in your home. You will know warm mist is properly being created by touching the base of the humidifier. When producing warm mist the base will be warm to the touch. For product related questions please contact Germ Guardian 1-866-603-5900. Model: H4500
Average Customer Rating:
3.255 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
(out of 102 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
26
60 of 102(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Review 1 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:March 21, 2013

Good Product

"I now have two of these. When I first purchased it, it made a noise and I almost took it back. But a couple of days later, the noise was gone. They are in my bedrooms and I love them both. I use the cool mist. The tank is big enough that I'm not constantly refilling it. No filters. Good product"
Review 2 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 21, 2013

Good for a humidifier

Pros: holds lots of water adjustable dual temp
Cons: leaks
"First of all I have to say we have tried a ton of humidifiers and they all pretty much stink! This is the best humidifier we have had so far. It is leaking now but we will return it and get another one like it. again this product is not perfect but if you have been shopping for humidifiers you will see that not one gets great reviews, so far it has been easy to clean, holds a ton of water, like the light and the controls."
Review 3 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia PA
Date:March 12, 2013

Lasted less than 2 seasons

Pros: when it worked it was great
Cons: leaked after less than 2 seasons used, difficult to refill
"I'm so disappointed because I really liked this humidifier. I only used it for 1.5 seasons (only used in the winter time) and it started leaking from the base this winter. It was quiet, the light would shut off and it held a lot of water. I DON'T like that you have remove the entire tank to refill. I have to hold it under a faucet that is awkward to reach and 2 gallons gets very heavy. A top-fill would have been easier to use."
Review 4 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:March 6, 2013

The best humidifier I've owned

Pros: easy to use, easy to clean, works
Cons: so far none
Model Number: H4500
"I bought this humidifier a few winters ago because the more expensive Sharper Image one was the worse thing in the world. I thought "let's try Silver Clean technology!" I am SO GLAD I DID! No more white dust. It sits on my kitchen counter and works great. I only use the cool mist setting. This unit is easy to use, easy to clean and easy to fill. I started using distilled water in it mostly (2 gallons fills it up) and regular tap water when I run out. The biggest thing in all humidifiers is to check for pink mold (well it's pink here). When I take off the water chamber, I use the little included brush about every two weeks to remove any pink stuff. Remember to do the same to bottom of the water chamber. I am getting ready to buy a second one for in the back of the house. Honestly, buy this. I was buying a different model almost every year because of either they didn't work or they produced so much white dust (the Sharper Image one) that I found white dust two rooms over! Yuck! We were breathing that in!"
Review 5 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 26, 2013

Better than most

Pros: pretty quiet, large capacity, warm or cool mist, easy to clean
Cons: not totally silent, takes quite a bit of space, must be elevated
Model Number: H4500
"I am buying a second one for our room. We have had one in our son's room for 2 years without any problems. He likes the the blue nightlight. We will use it without the light.
It has been more durable and far less trouble than our very expensive Air-o-Swiss. I will not buy the evaporative type anymore since my son and I got a respiratory fungal infection from one.
It really is a shame that no one seems to make a truly durable humidifier. I can only imagine how much landfill is taken up by disposable humidifiers!
"
Review 6 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eastside Seattle area
Date:January 21, 2013

Does not significantly increase humidity

Pros: large tank, easy to clean, relatively quiet
Cons: does not significantly increase humidity, bright light cannot be turned off
"Initially the unit looks promising - it does output a lot of vapor/fog.
However, the output consists of small droplets of water, most of which eventually will settle on the ground. After a night of use at medium power setting, the carpet around the unit will be wet, together with any furniture that is closer than 2 feet.
I tested (several times) the humidity in a room where the unit has been working the whole night, and compared it with the humidity in the rest of the house.
The increase in humidity was marginal from 3%-10% (e.g. from 30% to 33%, or 40%). My dry nose in the morning also tells me this device does not do its job.
I will return my two units, probably will get the type that boils the water - had a couple before, were hard to clean, needed filters replacement weekly, but they did work...."
Review 7 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:January 19, 2013

Junk

Pros: none
Cons: junk trash poor quality
"Junk- Broke after one year just like a cheap 20 dollar model."
Review 8 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thomasville, NC
Date:January 11, 2013

Great Humidifier

Pros: easy to fill nightlight long lasting good mist
Cons: none
Model Number: H4500
"I purchased one of these over a year ago and was really impressed with it. It puts out a good stream of mist and keeps the air moist. I sleep much better with it on at night. I purchased two more this year. A Great product for the price."
Review 9 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:December 29, 2012

Very Good Unit After 2 Years of Use-Know the Facts

Pros: large tank-lasts a long time, quiet
Cons: ultrasonic discs are main failure mode
Model Number: H4500
"This unit is wonderful and we have 2 of them. Suggest carefully reviewing the features and operation of a device like this before purchasing.
-Tank: Yes, filling the tank is tricky; Hint: it's a 2.4 gallon tank and water is heavy. We fill in bathtub. If you don't want to lift 2.4 gallons of water (approx. 20 pounds) to refill or are unable to lift such weight, buy a smaller unit and refill more often...
-The blue LED light is a bonus for our family but if you don't like a soft blue LED night light, turn the night light off and turn the unit around. The blue LED night light is a great safety feature if you can tolerate soft light in BR.
-Mold: Yes, the lower unit will grow mold, while the tank will not. Hint: clean the lower unit once in a while. I use Clorox Anywhere spray-being careful to avoid the ultrasonic disc
-Leaking: Never had a problem with either unit dripping or leaking during operation. Hint: an electrical device with 2.4 gallons of water on top of the electrical components needs to be on a level surface...
This is the best humidifier design I have seen so far and it has worked great for our family for 2 years. Just review the operation and potential pitfalls so you don't buy a unit that may not fit you or your needs."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:November 23, 2012

Wanted to Like It...Ugh

Pros: looks great
Cons: burned my nose.
Model Number: pureguardian humidifier
"sounded good...not so much. it barely got warm. when holding my hand over the "steam" it never even got a moist feeling...and i do prefer to at least feel it.
first time i used it was last night and my nose kept burning, so i stopped it. this morning when blowing my nose, it was bloody...hmmmm.
night light does go off, but there remains a small blue button on...way too bright."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:November 15, 2012

Bought 4 and 3 dead

Pros: very quiet
Cons: dead too quick., first the light is gone then the mist.
"Last year I bought 4 times and 2 of them dead after a few months. The customer support is NULL. You have to leave a message and they will call you...perhaps in a few days! Over the summer, we didn't need it. As winter approached, I took it out and it doesn't work!
I used it with filtered water.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:November 10, 2012

Ultrasonic Disc does not last but 5 year warranty

Pros: no running costs with filters etc., quiet, great warranty
Cons: ultrasonic disc delaminates over time
Model Number: H4500
"Hi
I have went through four humidifiers in 2 years. The unit works great but the ultrasonic disc does not last. The disc has a metal coating that over time delaminates. This causes the unit to stop generating mist over time. The manufacturer so far allows you to return the unit (free shipping) and replaces the unit within 2 weeks. We live in Arizona (low humidity) and run the humidifier for about 8 hours daily during the night. I use water from my reverse osmosis and clean the machine weekly. I am not sure why this is happening and also did not receive any other advice from the manufacturer.
We have had a Ultrasonic Humidifier for kids in the kids room (its green and looks like a frog) for about 3 to 4 months that works based on the same principle. No degradation of mist generation or delamination of the ultrasonic disc observed so far. The disc seems to have a ceramic coating rather then a metallic coating.
Hope this helps."
Review 13 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:November 6, 2012

Very good, quiet and worth money

Pros: design, easy setup, a lot of mist
Cons: if u filled up full tank it might be too heavy.
Model Number: H4500
"Easy setup
worth money
produce a lot of mist
run 24 hours on maximum mist
run 120 hours on minimum mist
"
Review 14 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Slc
Date:October 10, 2012

Broke, again!

Cons: breaks a lot.
"This is the 4th one we have gone through. This time it lasted 3 months before the steam stopped working. Every time it's been a different issue. The power light went out on the last one within 2 weeks, and the light kept going on and off on the one before that. I can't even remember the problem with the one before that one. I have kept giving this product chance after chance due to the fact that when it does work, which isn't for long, it works well. puts out good steam, and I like the night light feature. The tank is very heavy and akward to fill and replace. I don't know how I've received 4 lemons in a row!! I have $35 humidifiers in my kids' rooms that have lasted much much longer.
I am done with this product. Moving on to another. Thank god for Costco's return policy.
"
Review 15 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:August 9, 2012

Best Humidifier Ever

Model Number: H4500
"Easy to use without having to buy expensive filters all the time. Warm or Cold humidification"
Review 16 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mid Atlantic States
Date:July 8, 2012

Make sure it's level

Pros: fewer refills needed than smaller models, quiet, low maintenance
Cons: drips water if not level
Model Number: H4500
"I've been using two smaller pureguardian ultrasonic humidifiers for about a year. I'm happy with them, but wanted a larger capacity model, so wouldn't have to fill it as much. I would be happy with something even larger, but given that a gallon of water weighs 8.34 lbs, this tank will weight over 20 lbs when filled. I just ordered my second 120-hour unit. So far they're the best of the different brands I tried over the years. I had a problem with water pooling which I found out was from the humidifier being on a surface that wasn't level resulting in water collecting between the tank and the main unit then dripping out. I would consider that a design flaw. That was solved by making sure the surface was level."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:June 29, 2012

Okay product, some flaws

Pros: no filter required, relatively quiet
Cons: inconvenient to fill, drips and leaves a water trail, floor near humidifier gets cold and damp
"Filling it's tank is cumbersome as it is wobbly and doesn't rest well on a flat surface.
Also, the tank drips and leaves a water trail when you take it to the sink for refill.
"
Review 18 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Living in LaLa land
Date:May 26, 2012

Make wife happy

Pros: big tank
Cons: tank can be heavy
"First one broke after 2 months, returned and re ordered. Working fine now."
Review 19 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 16, 2012

Not recommended

Pros: good water tank capacity, relatively quiet
Cons: no humidistat, grows mold, lighting too bright, difficult to clean tiny spaces
"I have this humidifier and cannot recommend it. The lights are way too bright for bedroom use, even when you turn off the "night light" the other light is very bright.
The lights failed on our unit after a few weeks of use. We actually are happy that they failed since we felt they were too bright, but this is something to consider.
Strength and mist output nob is not good.
Our biggest issue with this unit, however, is that it easily grows mold and it is VERY difficult to clean. Mold grows in the little tiny crevices that are almost impossible to reach, even with the little brush that is included."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:March 22, 2012

IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THE DIFFERENCE ON MY SKIN

"I like this ultrasonic humidifier for the volume mist control, how very, very quiet it is, long lasting on one tank fill-up, no filter replacement, night light on/off button, and I definitely see a difference in how my skin feels and looks, and facial creams are much more easily absorbed. I have not experienced any of the negative comments I have read on other reviews, and it is only slightly awkward to carry when filled to capacity. Even so I feel it is worth five stars based on how my skin feels and looks."
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>