Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Unlike other humidifiers that grow slimy mold and mildew, the pureguardianTM 144-Hour Ultrasonic Humidifier uses Silver CleanTM technology to fight the growth of mold and mildew on the surface of the water tank. Thanks to ultrasonic technology it is ultra-quiet when it runs making it ideal to have on while you sleep. The humidifier is equipped with the option for warm or cool mist and a low water indicator light lets you know when it’s time to refill the water tank. Also features a soft glow night light that turns on and off. Mold and Mildew Resistant Tank Silver CleanTM Technology: The water tank has been treated with a fungistatic agent to protect it from fungal and mold growth   Tank capacity: 2.4 gallons   Warm or Cool Humidification   Emits both warm and cool mist   No Added Costs   No evaporating pads, filters or wicks to clean or replace   Large Capacity Water Tank   Up to 144-hour run time on one tank fill*   High-Output Nozzle   Broadens mist in 2 directions throughout the room   Additional Features   Ultrasonic technology makes humidifier ultra-quiet when running   Low water indicator illuminates when it’s time to refill the tank   Soft blue night light with on/off switch   Dimensions:15" L x 10" W x 12" H   Weight: 7.4 lbs.   UL Listed   3-year limited warranty   Made in Korea   *Run time depends on atmospheric conditions. **Warm mist may not feel warm to the touch. The mist is so fine that it is quickly cooled by the air in your home. You will know warm mist is properly being created by touching the base of the humidifier. When producing warm mist the base will be warm to the touch. For product related questions please contact Germ Guardian 1-866-603-5900. Model: H4500
Average Customer Rating:
3.255 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
(out of 102 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
26
60 of 102(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Review 21 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pennsylvania
Date:February 5, 2011

Best Humidifier

"GREAT humidifier - does exactly what it claims. When family & friends saw mine - had to order for them too!"
Review 22 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:February 4, 2011

Excellent Humidifier

Pros: quiet, efficient, easy to operate
Cons: none
Model Number: Germ Guardian 120-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
"The dry heat in my home has caused me a great deal of itching every winter. I purchased the Germ Guardian 120-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier and installed it in my bedroom. My chronic itching has vanished in less than a week. I highly recommend this product to anyone who suffers from dry, itchy skin during the winter. The Germ Guardian humidifier exceeds my expectations."
Review 23 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2011

Best Purchase Ever

"I like that it has no filters to clean. It's small and fits on a desktop. Helps with the dryness that comes with winter. I would recommend it to anyone (in fact I have already)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:January 28, 2011

Just What I Was Looking For

Pros: quiet operation
Cons: none
"Perfect for bedroom. Very quiet. Others I have tried were too loud when operating. Easy to fill and maintain water level."
Review 25 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naugatuck, CT
Date:January 26, 2011

Good buy!

Pros: quiet nice looking
Cons: expensive
Model Number: 120 hour
"I got the humidifier almost 2 weeks ago. It works great. It is placed above a pellet stove and I did not encounter any problems yet. In the first 3 days I turn it at max position and I filled the tank every 24 hours. Then because of other reviews I turn it down to half and it last 72 hours (turn off during the night). I am happy with it. Hopefully it is gonna last long enough to justify the 100$ spent."
Review 26 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, VA
Date:January 25, 2011

Great Humidifier

Pros: quiet, large capacity, variable adjustment
Model Number: H5400
"This ultrasonic humidifier does as good a job as my old noisy filter mist humidifier and you can't even hear it running! Best humidifier I've owned."
Review 27 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:January 16, 2011

Works great!!!

Pros: water lasts a long time&able to direct steam
Cons: no cons for us
"This unit is great, our favorite unit so far. Warm or cold, no problem. Our rooms are cold, so we usually have it on warm. Super easy to clean, basically no maintenance. Very quiet unit. It's nice to be able to direct the steam where you want it to go. In our case its from the edge of a bedroom towards the hallway. Tank is large, so steam will last a long, long time.
Would buy it again.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:December 29, 2010

Great humidifier with some drawbacks

Pros: very quiet, puts out lots of water, nice cool mist
Cons: requires distilled water for our va tap water., at maximum must add 2+ gallons of water daily, water tank can be heavy 2.4 gallons is 20 lbs
Model Number: Germ Guardian H4500
"I have used wick/filter type and steam humidifiers and found this type to work best. It does require attention to detail (gentle care) and some work (cleaning every other week) to keep it working optimally. I use it in our large main room and it uses about 2 gallons of water a day on maximum with heat. In a bedroom at maximum, it would put out too much water. So a lower setting would last much longer between refills. I used tap water for the first few days and noticed a large amount of airborne "white dust". I switched to distilled water (83 cents a gallon at big box store) and then used a ZeroWater pitcher which worked just as well and was less costly (depends on how much the ZeroWater filters cost, 8 pack is the least expensive). I am very careful when removing/replacing tank as it can be a bit heavy and lower it very slowly on the unit. I had only one occasion of the unit leaking when the top rotatable exit spout wasn't fully seated."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 27, 2010

Not bad

Pros: large tank
"It's quiet and it adds water to the air. It seems like it will be easy to clean and it holds a lot of water. One bad design flaw is that the top seems unsuitable as a bottom for when you turn it upside down, set it in the bottom of the sink or tub, and run water into it. The chrome colored plastic pieces on top will likely be bruised up after a few fillings. I'll use a wash cloth or something I guess, but really, how hard would is it to make an easy to fill container?"
Review 30 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Date:November 24, 2010

Best humidifier

Pros: really puts out the steam!
Cons: keep unit off floor
"I have purchased many "cheap" humidifiers over the last couple of years from nameless stores and this one is definitely a keeper! It is very quiet compared to every one I have owned in past. You can really see all the moisture it puts out. I don't really care about having a digital display, one less thing to break. The warm mist does work, it takes a little time to start working but is not hot. One word of caution, do place humidifier up high instead of floor, otherwise the floor will get wet in front of humidifier, now I place it on a chair and is fine."
Review 31 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta Georgia
Date:November 21, 2010

Very good product

"I got three of this beautiful humidifier for our three bedrooms from our local costco ware house, so far no regret, works great expecially for my kids allergy. I am loving it!!!!"
Review 32 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:November 5, 2010

Best Humidifier

Pros: safe for kids, effective
Cons: price but it is worth it, it does not really last 120 hours
"You can't go wrong with this humidifier. You can see the actual humidity in the air. Plus, it's safe for the kids. I never liked the cool mist from other humidifiers because I couldn't see a difference. However, my kids both had a horrible cough and this helped right away. You can see the machine working. I don't feel that the machine is noisy. However, we do use a noise maker in the room. The one thing that does not make since to me are the two options that they give you..., warm or cool mist, it never gets warm for us. However, I don't mind it because of the amount of mist that it gives out. (plus, I don't have to worry about the kids getting close to it) At first I didn't want to pay the price, but it has been well worth it. (as long as it last) We've only had it for one month. I can see using this machine for many years to come."
Review 33 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:November 4, 2010

air quality!!

Pros: light weight & attractive
"moving from a base board heating home to a forced air we noticed how dry the home was so we purchased this humidifier and boy can we tell a difference!! We like it and the 120 hr fill tank depending on the setting you use. The illuminating blue night is nice at night for some brightness. May pick up another one for my parents for a gift when they get back in stock. Apparently they are a hot item at our store in ALASKA."
Review 34 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver CO
Date:November 4, 2010

Great price!!

Pros: large tank, quiet, cool and warm mist
Model Number: H4500
"After seeing this in our local Costco, we did some research and found out that not only is it a GREAT price, but many have rated it a top humidifier for a bedroom! (I have seen it for no less than $109 elsewhere and as high as $159!)
Not sure about the one star review someone on here gave it, perhaps he/she have a defective one?
Super quiet, large tank, no cleaning!!
"
Review 35 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:March 21, 2013

Good Product

"I now have two of these. When I first purchased it, it made a noise and I almost took it back. But a couple of days later, the noise was gone. They are in my bedrooms and I love them both. I use the cool mist. The tank is big enough that I'm not constantly refilling it. No filters. Good product"
Review 36 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 21, 2013

Good for a humidifier

Pros: holds lots of water adjustable dual temp
Cons: leaks
"First of all I have to say we have tried a ton of humidifiers and they all pretty much stink! This is the best humidifier we have had so far. It is leaking now but we will return it and get another one like it. again this product is not perfect but if you have been shopping for humidifiers you will see that not one gets great reviews, so far it has been easy to clean, holds a ton of water, like the light and the controls."
Review 37 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 26, 2013

Better than most

Pros: pretty quiet, large capacity, warm or cool mist, easy to clean
Cons: not totally silent, takes quite a bit of space, must be elevated
Model Number: H4500
"I am buying a second one for our room. We have had one in our son's room for 2 years without any problems. He likes the the blue nightlight. We will use it without the light.
It has been more durable and far less trouble than our very expensive Air-o-Swiss. I will not buy the evaporative type anymore since my son and I got a respiratory fungal infection from one.
It really is a shame that no one seems to make a truly durable humidifier. I can only imagine how much landfill is taken up by disposable humidifiers!
"
Review 38 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mid Atlantic States
Date:July 8, 2012

Make sure it's level

Pros: fewer refills needed than smaller models, quiet, low maintenance
Cons: drips water if not level
Model Number: H4500
"I've been using two smaller pureguardian ultrasonic humidifiers for about a year. I'm happy with them, but wanted a larger capacity model, so wouldn't have to fill it as much. I would be happy with something even larger, but given that a gallon of water weighs 8.34 lbs, this tank will weight over 20 lbs when filled. I just ordered my second 120-hour unit. So far they're the best of the different brands I tried over the years. I had a problem with water pooling which I found out was from the humidifier being on a surface that wasn't level resulting in water collecting between the tank and the main unit then dripping out. I would consider that a design flaw. That was solved by making sure the surface was level."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Living in LaLa land
Date:May 26, 2012

Make wife happy

Pros: big tank
Cons: tank can be heavy
"First one broke after 2 months, returned and re ordered. Working fine now."
Review 40 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nashville,Tennessee
Date:March 18, 2012

Works good ..BUT

Pros: great mist, lage capacity
Cons: lasted 1 year
"Purchased a unit last year. Worked wounderful. The xtra lg capacity means less fills. Emitted a great mist...THEN the ultrasonic disc flaked the metal off and it wouldn't mist after 1 year. But alas...3 yr warranty and no hassle return thru Costco. Just ordered another one. If it wasn't for Costco i would have been out of luck im sure but since the purchase is thru Costco not a second thought about buying another one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>