Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Unlike other humidifiers that grow slimy mold and mildew, the pureguardianTM 144-Hour Ultrasonic Humidifier uses Silver CleanTM technology to fight the growth of mold and mildew on the surface of the water tank. Thanks to ultrasonic technology it is ultra-quiet when it runs making it ideal to have on while you sleep. The humidifier is equipped with the option for warm or cool mist and a low water indicator light lets you know when it’s time to refill the water tank. Also features a soft glow night light that turns on and off. Mold and Mildew Resistant Tank Silver CleanTM Technology: The water tank has been treated with a fungistatic agent to protect it from fungal and mold growth   Tank capacity: 2.4 gallons   Warm or Cool Humidification   Emits both warm and cool mist   No Added Costs   No evaporating pads, filters or wicks to clean or replace   Large Capacity Water Tank   Up to 144-hour run time on one tank fill*   High-Output Nozzle   Broadens mist in 2 directions throughout the room   Additional Features   Ultrasonic technology makes humidifier ultra-quiet when running   Low water indicator illuminates when it’s time to refill the tank   Soft blue night light with on/off switch   Dimensions:15" L x 10" W x 12" H   Weight: 7.4 lbs.   UL Listed   3-year limited warranty   Made in Korea   *Run time depends on atmospheric conditions. **Warm mist may not feel warm to the touch. The mist is so fine that it is quickly cooled by the air in your home. You will know warm mist is properly being created by touching the base of the humidifier. When producing warm mist the base will be warm to the touch. For product related questions please contact Germ Guardian 1-866-603-5900. Model: H4500
Average Customer Rating:
3.255 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
(out of 102 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
26
60 of 102(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Review 21 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2011

Good to Excellant

Pros: no filter
Cons: needs refill often when turned on full
"We've own for a few week and find eveything we expect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste Marie, MI
Date:January 8, 2012

Good little machine

"Very quiet.
Produces nice amount of steam
The blue light is pretty bright, so if you don't want a bright light shining at night, TURN IT OFF, it's an option.
Overall, I like this unit very much, but I think the space I'm trying to add moisture to is about 1500 sq ft and this unit is waaaaaaay too small for that.
"
Review 23 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 24, 2012

Great humidifier!

"I bought this as our winters are very cold and the heat causes the air to be very dry. I don't use the blue nightlight because it is quite bright and only use the cool mist setting. I run it for 8-12 hours at a time, and I have not had any leaking or sputtering of mist. It truly puts out a very fine mist. I also like that you don't have to refill the unit for days when running it on a low humidity level. It is extremely quiet. My son borrowed it when their son had a stuffy cold and likes it so well that I'll have to buy another one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, CA
Date:March 5, 2012
Pros: easy to use.
Cons: heavy to lift after filling.
"Excellent Purchase.
Worked right out of the box. So easy, no buttons to program or clocks to set. Just fill it, plug it in and turn it on. Makes a big difference in our bedroom with the warm humidity, easier to breathe and keeps the air warmer.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:March 22, 2012

IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THE DIFFERENCE ON MY SKIN

"I like this ultrasonic humidifier for the volume mist control, how very, very quiet it is, long lasting on one tank fill-up, no filter replacement, night light on/off button, and I definitely see a difference in how my skin feels and looks, and facial creams are much more easily absorbed. I have not experienced any of the negative comments I have read on other reviews, and it is only slightly awkward to carry when filled to capacity. Even so I feel it is worth five stars based on how my skin feels and looks."
Review 26 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:November 4, 2010

air quality!!

Pros: light weight & attractive
"moving from a base board heating home to a forced air we noticed how dry the home was so we purchased this humidifier and boy can we tell a difference!! We like it and the 120 hr fill tank depending on the setting you use. The illuminating blue night is nice at night for some brightness. May pick up another one for my parents for a gift when they get back in stock. Apparently they are a hot item at our store in ALASKA."
Review 27 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta Georgia
Date:November 21, 2010

Very good product

"I got three of this beautiful humidifier for our three bedrooms from our local costco ware house, so far no regret, works great expecially for my kids allergy. I am loving it!!!!"
Review 28 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naugatuck, CT
Date:January 26, 2011

Good buy!

Pros: quiet nice looking
Cons: expensive
Model Number: 120 hour
"I got the humidifier almost 2 weeks ago. It works great. It is placed above a pellet stove and I did not encounter any problems yet. In the first 3 days I turn it at max position and I filled the tank every 24 hours. Then because of other reviews I turn it down to half and it last 72 hours (turn off during the night). I am happy with it. Hopefully it is gonna last long enough to justify the 100$ spent."
Review 29 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:January 28, 2011

Just What I Was Looking For

Pros: quiet operation
Cons: none
"Perfect for bedroom. Very quiet. Others I have tried were too loud when operating. Easy to fill and maintain water level."
Review 30 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:February 4, 2011

Excellent Humidifier

Pros: quiet, efficient, easy to operate
Cons: none
Model Number: Germ Guardian 120-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
"The dry heat in my home has caused me a great deal of itching every winter. I purchased the Germ Guardian 120-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier and installed it in my bedroom. My chronic itching has vanished in less than a week. I highly recommend this product to anyone who suffers from dry, itchy skin during the winter. The Germ Guardian humidifier exceeds my expectations."
Review 31 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alpharetta GA
Date:March 30, 2011

Fine Quality Humidifier

Cons: none
"This is my third Costco humidifier--I returned 2 that were unsatisfactory. Germ Guardian is pretty, quiet, & puts out lots of mist. I can't say anything negative about it. All of these humidifiers are heavy after filling with water. But, this one really keeps my bedroom humidity just where I want it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Rochelle, NY
Date:January 15, 2012

Highly Recommended

Pros: humidity control. filled every 2/3 days.
"I purchased this humidifier to keep my Steinway baby grand piano properly humidified. The piano is kept in a small room that can be closed off. With some fine adjustments, the room is kept between 40 and 45% humidity in a house with alot of wood, hot water heat. It needs to be refilled approximately every 2 to 3 days depending on outside temp (and, of course, the attendant level of heating). Highly recommended."
Review 33 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:August 9, 2012

Best Humidifier Ever

Model Number: H4500
"Easy to use without having to buy expensive filters all the time. Warm or Cold humidification"
Review 34 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:March 6, 2013

The best humidifier I've owned

Pros: easy to use, easy to clean, works
Cons: so far none
Model Number: H4500
"I bought this humidifier a few winters ago because the more expensive Sharper Image one was the worse thing in the world. I thought "let's try Silver Clean technology!" I am SO GLAD I DID! No more white dust. It sits on my kitchen counter and works great. I only use the cool mist setting. This unit is easy to use, easy to clean and easy to fill. I started using distilled water in it mostly (2 gallons fills it up) and regular tap water when I run out. The biggest thing in all humidifiers is to check for pink mold (well it's pink here). When I take off the water chamber, I use the little included brush about every two weeks to remove any pink stuff. Remember to do the same to bottom of the water chamber. I am getting ready to buy a second one for in the back of the house. Honestly, buy this. I was buying a different model almost every year because of either they didn't work or they produced so much white dust (the Sharper Image one) that I found white dust two rooms over! Yuck! We were breathing that in!"
Review 35 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2010

Very quiet humidifier

Model Number: H4500
"This is most quiet humidifier I got, and I had bought many of them. Really does not know what the previous reviewer was talking about.
I like it so far, and the price is reasonable for this class of humidifier. The only negative is the lack of the digital humidstat, which I think is critically important."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:January 4, 2011

It works!

Pros: it it increases the humidity quickly, low noise
Cons: hard to fill., doesn't last 120 hours
"I have used humidifiers with filters, they are a pain to find the filter, can be expensive and they can get pretty gross, also the fan noise is pretty loud and the humidity never got above 39%. This unit puts out, the humidity level has increased to 52% (too much, but at least it can get there!) The water tank is heavy and awkward, a real bad design, but I am willing to live with it. The mist can make the room look a little hazy. The warm works, it's not hot, but it is not cold. I did notice when I have it on warm the humidity increases faster. The unit is quite, you can watch tv without turning it off. The floor can get damp, put it on a towel. I also run a small humidifier with a fan, in-front of it to lift the mist stream. In the past, I have run two humidifiers in the living to keep the humidity up. I have a wood burning stove on one end of the room and a grand piano on the other end so it is very important to keep the humidity around 45%. I also have a Piano Life Saver system on the piano.. I am a bit of a humidity nut!
Buy and if you don't like it return it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 16, 2011

Some drawbacks, but I am satisfied

Pros: quite. no problem in sleeping., works great i don't feel dry in morning., adjustable mist direction., night lamp, one filling lasts for 5 days.
Cons: little difficult to fill and put it back., warm mist doesn't seem to work.
Model Number: 120 Hr Ultrasonic
"In warm mist setting, I don't feel the mist warm at all. It didn't matter to me because I want to use only the cool mist. For some people it might matter.
I don't know if I really need to use distilled water. It is written nowhere in the manual. I am using tap water and my unit is working fine. I don't see any white powder around the unit.
My previous humidifier had a humidistat, but I always had problem with that. Somehow the humidistat would always show that the humidity was high and it wouldn't turn the humidifier on. There was no way to force the humidifier to start. I would feel dry but couldn't do anything
. I think it is always god to have control in your hand. If you really want to watch the humidity, buy a hygrometer separately and install it away from the humidifier.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Blanco, Tx
Date:February 25, 2011

Good product, does as advertised

Model Number: Gem 120 humidifier
"The only reason it doesn't get five stars is that we have only used it for a few days. However those few days earn it five, time will tell if it is that good.
Based on other reviews we use it on medium and that is perfectly fine.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:November 4, 2011

large resevoir--power light too bright

"great product--puts out alof of moisture, large tank runs for about 24 hrs. of use.
But the power light is annoying--bright blue. I turn unit against wall and direct mositure into room.
"
Review 40 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boulder, CO
Date:January 13, 2012

Runs non-stop

Pros: - reliable, visible mist, quite
Cons: effectiveness in dry climate
"has been running non-stop ( with refill breaks ) for 2 years in Colorado..it is still producing mist like it did on the first day. I don't see anything wrong with it like the other reviewers. I am not quite sure about the effectiveness of this type of mist producing appliance in a dry climate - but that goes beyond this review."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>