Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Unlike other humidifiers that grow slimy mold and mildew, the pureguardianTM 144-Hour Ultrasonic Humidifier uses Silver CleanTM technology to fight the growth of mold and mildew on the surface of the water tank. Thanks to ultrasonic technology it is ultra-quiet when it runs making it ideal to have on while you sleep. The humidifier is equipped with the option for warm or cool mist and a low water indicator light lets you know when it’s time to refill the water tank. Also features a soft glow night light that turns on and off. Mold and Mildew Resistant Tank Silver CleanTM Technology: The water tank has been treated with a fungistatic agent to protect it from fungal and mold growth   Tank capacity: 2.4 gallons   Warm or Cool Humidification   Emits both warm and cool mist   No Added Costs   No evaporating pads, filters or wicks to clean or replace   Large Capacity Water Tank   Up to 144-hour run time on one tank fill*   High-Output Nozzle   Broadens mist in 2 directions throughout the room   Additional Features   Ultrasonic technology makes humidifier ultra-quiet when running   Low water indicator illuminates when it’s time to refill the tank   Soft blue night light with on/off switch   Dimensions:15" L x 10" W x 12" H   Weight: 7.4 lbs.   UL Listed   3-year limited warranty   Made in Korea   *Run time depends on atmospheric conditions. **Warm mist may not feel warm to the touch. The mist is so fine that it is quickly cooled by the air in your home. You will know warm mist is properly being created by touching the base of the humidifier. When producing warm mist the base will be warm to the touch. For product related questions please contact Germ Guardian 1-866-603-5900. Model: H4500
Average Customer Rating:
3.255 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
(out of 102 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
26
60 of 102(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Review 21 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Date:November 24, 2010

Best humidifier

Pros: really puts out the steam!
Cons: keep unit off floor
"I have purchased many "cheap" humidifiers over the last couple of years from nameless stores and this one is definitely a keeper! It is very quiet compared to every one I have owned in past. You can really see all the moisture it puts out. I don't really care about having a digital display, one less thing to break. The warm mist does work, it takes a little time to start working but is not hot. One word of caution, do place humidifier up high instead of floor, otherwise the floor will get wet in front of humidifier, now I place it on a chair and is fine."
Review 22 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 24, 2012

Great humidifier!

"I bought this as our winters are very cold and the heat causes the air to be very dry. I don't use the blue nightlight because it is quite bright and only use the cool mist setting. I run it for 8-12 hours at a time, and I have not had any leaking or sputtering of mist. It truly puts out a very fine mist. I also like that you don't have to refill the unit for days when running it on a low humidity level. It is extremely quiet. My son borrowed it when their son had a stuffy cold and likes it so well that I'll have to buy another one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 26, 2013

Better than most

Pros: pretty quiet, large capacity, warm or cool mist, easy to clean
Cons: not totally silent, takes quite a bit of space, must be elevated
Model Number: H4500
"I am buying a second one for our room. We have had one in our son's room for 2 years without any problems. He likes the the blue nightlight. We will use it without the light.
It has been more durable and far less trouble than our very expensive Air-o-Swiss. I will not buy the evaporative type anymore since my son and I got a respiratory fungal infection from one.
It really is a shame that no one seems to make a truly durable humidifier. I can only imagine how much landfill is taken up by disposable humidifiers!
"
Review 24 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:March 22, 2012

IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THE DIFFERENCE ON MY SKIN

"I like this ultrasonic humidifier for the volume mist control, how very, very quiet it is, long lasting on one tank fill-up, no filter replacement, night light on/off button, and I definitely see a difference in how my skin feels and looks, and facial creams are much more easily absorbed. I have not experienced any of the negative comments I have read on other reviews, and it is only slightly awkward to carry when filled to capacity. Even so I feel it is worth five stars based on how my skin feels and looks."
Review 25 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2010

moisture remains close to the unit

"I loved the filter and noise free operation, large tank, automatic cutoff when water runs out, ability to change direction of the vapor, cool night light etc., but the vapors stay close to the unit and wet my carpet/hardwood floors. The reading on the humidity meter just a few feet away on the wall has not changed after two days of continuous operation. Also, warm setting doesn't function. Sadly, its gotta go back :(
I think I need something that has a blower built in to effective circulate the humid air."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Danville, CA
Date:December 28, 2011

One of the best purchase

Pros: durable, long running time between refills, very quiet, large capacity
Model Number: H4500
"I was skeptical reading some negative reviews, but wanted to try anyway. The positive reviews easily outweighed the negative ones -- and I had great experience with the product and it worked as advertised. out of the box. It is very simple to use. The night blue light is bright, but, it can be easily turned off. The second light is worked as a good night lamp -- and the unit can be turned in a different direction if it bothers people. The empty water indicator tank lighted when the water is empty."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manitou Springs, CO
Date:June 8, 2011

works for me

"We have used the unit in the baby's room over the past 6 months and it has quietly maintained nice humidity. We also use it in a large family room sometimes during the day with excellent results. Ours, at least, is quiet but not silent. Actually I logged on to this site to buy another 1 or 2. One review wrote that the top mister only shoots out in opposite directions but, on our unit at least, the 2 disks turn independently making it possible to aim all of the mist in the same direction."
Review 28 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:February 1, 2011

Great when they work

Pros: long run time, quiet
Cons: poor quality control
"I have one of these I bought at a warehouse a year ago. I love how long the tank lasts (about 3-4 days on medium). The warm mist thing is a non-issue since even if it starts warm, it cools in the room within seconds.
The bad side is the QC at hte company is bad. I've tried twice to order a second one. First had a water tank that wasn't glued together correctly and leaked. The second had a bad blower se no mist would leave the chamber. I have an order in for a 3'rd try."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 27, 2010

Not bad

Pros: large tank
"It's quiet and it adds water to the air. It seems like it will be easy to clean and it holds a lot of water. One bad design flaw is that the top seems unsuitable as a bottom for when you turn it upside down, set it in the bottom of the sink or tub, and run water into it. The chrome colored plastic pieces on top will likely be bruised up after a few fillings. I'll use a wash cloth or something I guess, but really, how hard would is it to make an easy to fill container?"
Review 30 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:National Capital Region
Date:March 6, 2011

Cleaning procedure not validated

"2nd time purchase of this unit - first time the ultrasonic disk stopped working because of scale buildup. Returned to warehouse, bought 2nd unit as when it works, it works very well.
Used store bought distilled water in tank, cleaned disk every time I refilled the tank according to procedure included with unit. Scale still built up and disk stopped vaporizing effervescently. Will be returning unit and trying something else next season.
Not a recommended purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Staunton, VA
Date:January 27, 2011

May or May Not Work

Pros: none at this time.
Cons: noisy!, "warm" mist is barely lukewarm
Model Number: H4500
"These seem to be hit or miss.
You either get one that works, or you don't.
We, unfortunately, got one that did not work well.
It was VERY NOISY; and because some reviewers said their unit was "quiet," we figured ours was broken. Ours sounded like a broken sewing machine.
We are returning it and giving up on this particular model.
For those of you who have a working unit, however, I would highly recommend using DISTILLED water to prevent sediment issues.
"
Review 32 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:October 29, 2011

Don't waste your money on this product

Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
"I bought this humidifier at Costco last week. First night it was working fine, I had it on medium warm steam. The second night I turned it on again, this time I set it up to high thinking I will use it for 5-10 minutes and then turn it off. After 2 minutes I heard a crack noise, the steam stopped and a burning smell filled the room. That was the end of it. It didn't work at all after that. I returned it to Costco the very next day."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia PA
Date:March 12, 2013

Lasted less than 2 seasons

Pros: when it worked it was great
Cons: leaked after less than 2 seasons used, difficult to refill
"I'm so disappointed because I really liked this humidifier. I only used it for 1.5 seasons (only used in the winter time) and it started leaking from the base this winter. It was quiet, the light would shut off and it held a lot of water. I DON'T like that you have remove the entire tank to refill. I have to hold it under a faucet that is awkward to reach and 2 gallons gets very heavy. A top-fill would have been easier to use."
Review 34 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 21, 2013

Good for a humidifier

Pros: holds lots of water adjustable dual temp
Cons: leaks
"First of all I have to say we have tried a ton of humidifiers and they all pretty much stink! This is the best humidifier we have had so far. It is leaking now but we will return it and get another one like it. again this product is not perfect but if you have been shopping for humidifiers you will see that not one gets great reviews, so far it has been easy to clean, holds a ton of water, like the light and the controls."
Review 35 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:November 4, 2010

air quality!!

Pros: light weight & attractive
"moving from a base board heating home to a forced air we noticed how dry the home was so we purchased this humidifier and boy can we tell a difference!! We like it and the 120 hr fill tank depending on the setting you use. The illuminating blue night is nice at night for some brightness. May pick up another one for my parents for a gift when they get back in stock. Apparently they are a hot item at our store in ALASKA."
Review 36 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nashville,Tennessee
Date:March 18, 2012

Works good ..BUT

Pros: great mist, lage capacity
Cons: lasted 1 year
"Purchased a unit last year. Worked wounderful. The xtra lg capacity means less fills. Emitted a great mist...THEN the ultrasonic disc flaked the metal off and it wouldn't mist after 1 year. But alas...3 yr warranty and no hassle return thru Costco. Just ordered another one. If it wasn't for Costco i would have been out of luck im sure but since the purchase is thru Costco not a second thought about buying another one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Rochelle, NY
Date:January 15, 2012

Highly Recommended

Pros: humidity control. filled every 2/3 days.
"I purchased this humidifier to keep my Steinway baby grand piano properly humidified. The piano is kept in a small room that can be closed off. With some fine adjustments, the room is kept between 40 and 45% humidity in a house with alot of wood, hot water heat. It needs to be refilled approximately every 2 to 3 days depending on outside temp (and, of course, the attendant level of heating). Highly recommended."
Review 38 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naugatuck, CT
Date:January 26, 2011

Good buy!

Pros: quiet nice looking
Cons: expensive
Model Number: 120 hour
"I got the humidifier almost 2 weeks ago. It works great. It is placed above a pellet stove and I did not encounter any problems yet. In the first 3 days I turn it at max position and I filled the tank every 24 hours. Then because of other reviews I turn it down to half and it last 72 hours (turn off during the night). I am happy with it. Hopefully it is gonna last long enough to justify the 100$ spent."
Review 39 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2011

Great Product

Pros: no filters to replace.
Cons: none
"I bought this humidifier a year ago. I love it. It puts a lot of moisture in the air. There is a running light, but it hasn't bothered me. The front of the humidifier isn't facing me when I use it. I just turn the vapor my direction. When my baby is sick, I turn the night light option on. At night when I check on him the blue light is bright enough I can see, but not too bright to wake him."
Review 40 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:January 16, 2011

Works great!!!

Pros: water lasts a long time&able to direct steam
Cons: no cons for us
"This unit is great, our favorite unit so far. Warm or cold, no problem. Our rooms are cold, so we usually have it on warm. Super easy to clean, basically no maintenance. Very quiet unit. It's nice to be able to direct the steam where you want it to go. In our case its from the edge of a bedroom towards the hallway. Tank is large, so steam will last a long, long time.
Would buy it again.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>