Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Unlike other humidifiers that grow slimy mold and mildew, the pureguardianTM 144-Hour Ultrasonic Humidifier uses Silver CleanTM technology to fight the growth of mold and mildew on the surface of the water tank. Thanks to ultrasonic technology it is ultra-quiet when it runs making it ideal to have on while you sleep. The humidifier is equipped with the option for warm or cool mist and a low water indicator light lets you know when it’s time to refill the water tank. Also features a soft glow night light that turns on and off. Mold and Mildew Resistant Tank Silver CleanTM Technology: The water tank has been treated with a fungistatic agent to protect it from fungal and mold growth   Tank capacity: 2.4 gallons   Warm or Cool Humidification   Emits both warm and cool mist   No Added Costs   No evaporating pads, filters or wicks to clean or replace   Large Capacity Water Tank   Up to 144-hour run time on one tank fill*   High-Output Nozzle   Broadens mist in 2 directions throughout the room   Additional Features   Ultrasonic technology makes humidifier ultra-quiet when running   Low water indicator illuminates when it’s time to refill the tank   Soft blue night light with on/off switch   Dimensions:15" L x 10" W x 12" H   Weight: 7.4 lbs.   UL Listed   3-year limited warranty   Made in Korea   *Run time depends on atmospheric conditions. **Warm mist may not feel warm to the touch. The mist is so fine that it is quickly cooled by the air in your home. You will know warm mist is properly being created by touching the base of the humidifier. When producing warm mist the base will be warm to the touch. For product related questions please contact Germ Guardian 1-866-603-5900. Model: H4500
Average Customer Rating:
3.255 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
(out of 102 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
26
60 of 102(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Review 1 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San jose,CA
Date:June 23, 2011

Great item

"I have used this item about two or 3 weeks . No problem at all. Very quiet and easy to fill the tank, full tank can use at least 3,4,or 5 nights. Don't need to clean up a lot like the other model."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:McLean, VA
Date:December 30, 2010

Poorly designed humidifier

Pros: no filter required.
Cons: warm mist does not function well., hard to refill water tank.
"Very disappointed with this unit so I returned to Costco in less than a week. First, the warm mist control does not produce warm mist. Second, water tank is extremely difficult to refill due to its capacity and handle position."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston< MA
Date:December 23, 2010

Poor quality

"First one did not even turn on. Returned and tried another unit - this one did turn on but was missing the cleaning brush, the Nightlight did not work. Returned this one as well as it made a very loud noise continuously."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:December 29, 2012

Very Good Unit After 2 Years of Use-Know the Facts

Pros: large tank-lasts a long time, quiet
Cons: ultrasonic discs are main failure mode
Model Number: H4500
"This unit is wonderful and we have 2 of them. Suggest carefully reviewing the features and operation of a device like this before purchasing.
-Tank: Yes, filling the tank is tricky; Hint: it's a 2.4 gallon tank and water is heavy. We fill in bathtub. If you don't want to lift 2.4 gallons of water (approx. 20 pounds) to refill or are unable to lift such weight, buy a smaller unit and refill more often...
-The blue LED light is a bonus for our family but if you don't like a soft blue LED night light, turn the night light off and turn the unit around. The blue LED night light is a great safety feature if you can tolerate soft light in BR.
-Mold: Yes, the lower unit will grow mold, while the tank will not. Hint: clean the lower unit once in a while. I use Clorox Anywhere spray-being careful to avoid the ultrasonic disc
-Leaking: Never had a problem with either unit dripping or leaking during operation. Hint: an electrical device with 2.4 gallons of water on top of the electrical components needs to be on a level surface...
This is the best humidifier design I have seen so far and it has worked great for our family for 2 years. Just review the operation and potential pitfalls so you don't buy a unit that may not fit you or your needs."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 16, 2012

Not recommended

Pros: good water tank capacity, relatively quiet
Cons: no humidistat, grows mold, lighting too bright, difficult to clean tiny spaces
"I have this humidifier and cannot recommend it. The lights are way too bright for bedroom use, even when you turn off the "night light" the other light is very bright.
The lights failed on our unit after a few weeks of use. We actually are happy that they failed since we felt they were too bright, but this is something to consider.
Strength and mist output nob is not good.
Our biggest issue with this unit, however, is that it easily grows mold and it is VERY difficult to clean. Mold grows in the little tiny crevices that are almost impossible to reach, even with the little brush that is included."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Altos, CA
Date:March 30, 2011

Good humidifier

Pros: runs well
Cons: difficult to refill the tank
Model Number: H4500
"The unit performed well except when time to refill the tank. It is not easy to refill."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:November 15, 2012

Bought 4 and 3 dead

Pros: very quiet
Cons: dead too quick., first the light is gone then the mist.
"Last year I bought 4 times and 2 of them dead after a few months. The customer support is NULL. You have to leave a message and they will call you...perhaps in a few days! Over the summer, we didn't need it. As winter approached, I took it out and it doesn't work!
I used it with filtered water.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nashville,Tennessee
Date:March 18, 2012

Works good ..BUT

Pros: great mist, lage capacity
Cons: lasted 1 year
"Purchased a unit last year. Worked wounderful. The xtra lg capacity means less fills. Emitted a great mist...THEN the ultrasonic disc flaked the metal off and it wouldn't mist after 1 year. But alas...3 yr warranty and no hassle return thru Costco. Just ordered another one. If it wasn't for Costco i would have been out of luck im sure but since the purchase is thru Costco not a second thought about buying another one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:October 29, 2011

Don't waste your money on this product

Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
"I bought this humidifier at Costco last week. First night it was working fine, I had it on medium warm steam. The second night I turned it on again, this time I set it up to high thinking I will use it for 5-10 minutes and then turn it off. After 2 minutes I heard a crack noise, the steam stopped and a burning smell filled the room. That was the end of it. It didn't work at all after that. I returned it to Costco the very next day."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2011

Failed after 8 months

Pros: adjustable vapor amount
Cons: mold still grows
Model Number: pureguardian™ 120-Hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
"I used in my dormitory room so the room is not that big. The max height of the mist this device can blow is about twice the height of its own body. If vapor output is set to Max, the whole tank can last about 24 hours.
I don't know how it prevent the growth of mold but I can find mold growing along the vapor path and in the reservoir or maybe the water in Atlanta is just too "complicated". But use purified water if possible.
The vapor is generated from a heated copper filament so if the reservoir is not cleaned, mold can get on top of the filament, heated and basically deposited forever. It will degrade the performance and flow of the vapor.
mine broke due to some burnt electronics element (resistors?) I suspect the water level sensor failed to detect the water was gone and didn't shut the heating filament off.
Some reviews say the heated vapor function doesn't work. but actually it may be because the room is too cold so by the time the vapor got into the air, it's soon cooled.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:National Capital Region
Date:March 6, 2011

Cleaning procedure not validated

"2nd time purchase of this unit - first time the ultrasonic disk stopped working because of scale buildup. Returned to warehouse, bought 2nd unit as when it works, it works very well.
Used store bought distilled water in tank, cleaned disk every time I refilled the tank according to procedure included with unit. Scale still built up and disk stopped vaporizing effervescently. Will be returning unit and trying something else next season.
Not a recommended purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:February 24, 2011

Good, but not quite what it claims.

"This is a good humidifier, but it DOES NOT give off warm mist. Like other reviews, I have to concur. It ONLY does COOL mist. Also, the low light stays on and cannot be turned completely off, a problem at night."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:February 9, 2011

Love Hate Relationship

"When this humidifier works, it is great, but when it is noisy, it is horrible! So when I first got humidifier, it was great. No noise and did a great job humidifying the bedroom. A couple of things that bother me though is that it builds up a film of that pinkish red mildew in the reservoir and also on the removable tank on the outside. I was cleaning it every 3 days. I finally decided to empty the tank and drain any water in the base unit reservoir everyday and let it air dry in the daytime. It seems that I can go at least a week or 2 this way which also means that having such a large capacity tank doesn't matter if you empty it daily. I have found this type of build up in any humidifier though so it is really annoying but expected.
After the first 2 weeks, my humidifier started to get noisy on occasion when I turned it on for the evening. Sometimes it would quiet down to the normal level and sometimes it would start this pulsing noise just like a sewing machine as someone else had described. You might think that you can sleep with this noise but NO WAY. When the humidifier starts to do this, I try turning the machine off and on several times to see if I can get rid of it. I don't know what makes it do it in the first place. Once I was able to get it to stop, but on the nights when it acts up and is noisy, I just leave it off and deal with the dry air for the night. I had lost sleep over it in the past but trying to sleep with the loud noise but it isn't worth it. I am still not sure if I will keep this. I have been ready to pack it and return to Costco 2 times in the 2 months that I have owned this. I am not sure getting a different one will be any better. I may try exchanging it once if I am driven to that point.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 29, 2011

Stopped working after a few months

"This worked very well for a few months. Silent and no need to clean too often. But after around 6 months it stopped generating the steam strong enough to come out of the nozzles. It was staying within the humidifier."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:January 4, 2011

It works!

Pros: it it increases the humidity quickly, low noise
Cons: hard to fill., doesn't last 120 hours
"I have used humidifiers with filters, they are a pain to find the filter, can be expensive and they can get pretty gross, also the fan noise is pretty loud and the humidity never got above 39%. This unit puts out, the humidity level has increased to 52% (too much, but at least it can get there!) The water tank is heavy and awkward, a real bad design, but I am willing to live with it. The mist can make the room look a little hazy. The warm works, it's not hot, but it is not cold. I did notice when I have it on warm the humidity increases faster. The unit is quite, you can watch tv without turning it off. The floor can get damp, put it on a towel. I also run a small humidifier with a fan, in-front of it to lift the mist stream. In the past, I have run two humidifiers in the living to keep the humidity up. I have a wood burning stove on one end of the room and a grand piano on the other end so it is very important to keep the humidity around 45%. I also have a Piano Life Saver system on the piano.. I am a bit of a humidity nut!
Buy and if you don't like it return it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2010

moisture remains close to the unit

"I loved the filter and noise free operation, large tank, automatic cutoff when water runs out, ability to change direction of the vapor, cool night light etc., but the vapors stay close to the unit and wet my carpet/hardwood floors. The reading on the humidity meter just a few feet away on the wall has not changed after two days of continuous operation. Also, warm setting doesn't function. Sadly, its gotta go back :(
I think I need something that has a blower built in to effective circulate the humid air."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mid Atlantic States
Date:July 8, 2012

Make sure it's level

Pros: fewer refills needed than smaller models, quiet, low maintenance
Cons: drips water if not level
Model Number: H4500
"I've been using two smaller pureguardian ultrasonic humidifiers for about a year. I'm happy with them, but wanted a larger capacity model, so wouldn't have to fill it as much. I would be happy with something even larger, but given that a gallon of water weighs 8.34 lbs, this tank will weight over 20 lbs when filled. I just ordered my second 120-hour unit. So far they're the best of the different brands I tried over the years. I had a problem with water pooling which I found out was from the humidifier being on a surface that wasn't level resulting in water collecting between the tank and the main unit then dripping out. I would consider that a design flaw. That was solved by making sure the surface was level."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2012

Poor Quality

Cons: poor quality, bad knob design, expensive
"This is my second PureGuardian humidifier and my experience has been bad with this brand.
My first purifier lasted one and a half winters before breaking down. Unfortunately, I bought the newer model (this one) for my second bedroom before the first one broke down.
Now the second one is showing similar symptoms where it seems to be running constantly, but does not produce enough mist even on the highest setting.
The knob to turn on the humidifier is poorly designed (smooth and slippery). For a "premium" humidifer, it does not have settings to control the humiditiy level in terms of percentage or auto-shutoff when it hits a certain humidity level. It just keeps running throughout the night at a constant level.
Definitely not worth the price. I am not going to buy another PureGuardian product again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 24, 2012

Great humidifier!

"I bought this as our winters are very cold and the heat causes the air to be very dry. I don't use the blue nightlight because it is quite bright and only use the cool mist setting. I run it for 8-12 hours at a time, and I have not had any leaking or sputtering of mist. It truly puts out a very fine mist. I also like that you don't have to refill the unit for days when running it on a low humidity level. It is extremely quiet. My son borrowed it when their son had a stuffy cold and likes it so well that I'll have to buy another one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boulder, CO
Date:January 13, 2012

Runs non-stop

Pros: - reliable, visible mist, quite
Cons: effectiveness in dry climate
"has been running non-stop ( with refill breaks ) for 2 years in Colorado..it is still producing mist like it did on the first day. I don't see anything wrong with it like the other reviewers. I am not quite sure about the effectiveness of this type of mist producing appliance in a dry climate - but that goes beyond this review."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>