Customer Reviews for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant

Resistant up to 1700°F
Average Customer Rating:
2.517 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
14
11 of 29(38%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Review 1 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2012

Mold is BAD

"Agree with other reviewers-- this is terrible for mold. I put a bunch of silica packs in there and still have mold and curling / damp on all my titles, passport, etc.
I'd think twice about this, unless you live in the desert!"
Review 2 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 2, 2012

Door handle broke

"Had this for about two years after purchasing from Costco.
Sturdy and heavy with lots of interior space.
However, the door handle is very sticky and now spins around in a 360 degree instead of
just 90 degrees and the door bolts won't open.
After wriggling the handle for 30 minutes we managed to get the door open.
Needless to say we are returning this thing right away.
"
Review 3 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:April 2, 2012

Caution : Difficult to open

"Model Number: Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe
I bought this safe an year ago from Costco and I'm using/opening this safe at least once a month and earlier I noticed some moisture and mold. After putting the moisture absorbent packs I had no problem with the moisture. Last couple of months the safe door couldn't open easily and I had to punch in the code at least 5 to 10 times to open the door. Starting last week the door doesn't open at all even with rubber mallet use as some recommended. Sentry support couldn't provide much help to open the door. I'm sure it will cost me $$$ to have a locksmith to open the door but I'll try couple more days before I decide to tear it down.
Costco should discontinue this unreliable product"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 14, 2012

Protection

"Delivered timely as expected. Safe easily bolted to the floor in the office environment to protect our computer and A/V equipment. 2.0 Cubic feet easily accompdates Mac laptops, cameras, portable hard drives and a shelf for hanging file folders for document safe keeping."
Review 5 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego CA
Date:March 4, 2012

How could Costco sell this horrible product

"I bought a smaller size of this safe. From the 1st time, it took several tries to open the door. After about several months when I finally wanted to use the safe for the 1st time. It quitted open completely. I could not believe how terrible this product is. Should have read reviews before took all the trouble moving this junk to my 2nd floor apt, what a waste!"
Review 6 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Davie, FL
Date:March 1, 2012

HORRIBLE... I SHOULD HAVE LISTENED!

Pros: heavy for thieves
Cons: and heavy to carry back and forth to the store, contents get damp, unlocking issues, handle cheap
Model Number: Costco Item #439681
"In light of the bad reviews about moisture and unlocking issues with these safes, I bought a similar model from my local Costco store, in the 1.6 CU FT version. How bad could it be? I was immediately suspicious about the moisture issues when the manual that was inside the safe was damp and held together with rusted staples. That being the case, I left the safe door opened for one week in my A/C house and then closed for two weeks with new, dry blank paper placed inside. At the end of the two weeks, had trouble opening the safe's electronic keypad. When I finally got it opened, the paper I left inside was damp and had an odor. My plan was to store important papers and external USB drives in this safe. Needless to say, I've returned the safe back to the store for a refund and I'm back to square one! I only gave this one star because you can't rate a product with 0 stars."
Review 7 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Woodinville, WA
Date:February 16, 2012

Door won't open

Cons: activator stops working, door won't open
Model Number: CSW4747
"My Sentry safe became difficult to open, and then I could not open it at all. I called the vendor and after replacing the battery, I was told to use a rubber mallet because my problem is an activator that was not working. I hit the top center of the door a couple times and retried the combination. Then it worked. A Google search showed this to be a common problem. I will be replacing this safe soon."
Review 8 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012

Horrible Safe!!

"Every time we TRY to open the safe we have to call customer service. We first stored our passports in there, only to find them molded and ruined a few weeks later. All paperwork gets quickly damaged. The hidges on the door inside also broke and we were advised to use a hammer to fix them. Is this really how a safe is supposed to work??? It's a waste of my time and my money. Never buy a Sentry Safe!!!! And good luck getting them on the phone. Often circuits are busy and there is a huge wait time!!!"
Review 9 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:January 19, 2012

Caution: Safe will not open over time

Model Number: Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe
"We also had the moisture issue. This did not concern us so much as after having the product for two years, it would no longer open with the correct passcode and handle pressure.
While attempting to open, the handle stripped, and we learned the metal handle is connected internally to plastic so stripping the handle is easy to do.
Sentry support told me to call a locksmith.
$500 to have a locksmith drill open
"
Review 10 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:January 8, 2012

Caution: Moisture Damage/Difficult to Open

Pros: none whatsoever
Cons: moisture damage, difficult to open
Model Number: CSW4747
"Big caution about this product-- we purchased the safe a few months ago and noticed that the door handle was difficult to open but thought that with repeated use it would get easier-- it hasn't and has actually gotten worse! We were worried that we wouldn't be able to retrieve any of our valuables locked inside. Finally, we were able to open today and were shocked to find that all our passports, official docs and other valuables were moist, warped and covered with an orange fungus. The area where we had the safe was completely dry-- other complaints about this safe indicate that buyers have found water or moisture inside their safes, too. We're returning to Costco today-- but are wondering what to do with the damaged valuables. While we've been longtime Costco members and appreciate Costco's quality and value, this is the first time we've had such a bad outcome with a purchase."
Review 11 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:December 22, 2011

Solid Safe..no mold or battery issues here.

Pros: easy to bolt down reliable keypad, roomy great value
Cons: battery replacement takes a few minutes and some c
Model Number: Sentry Safe
"Really a good safe, in my garage over a year and no mold issues at all, bolted down into concrete with provided anchors easily. Still on battery number one even though the garage is quite cold at times. I agree with other comments regarding battery replacement; while not difficult it is kind of odd to remove the keypad to do it.
I would buy this safe again.
"
Review 12 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 12, 2011

Do Not Buy after a few years it won't open

"After a couple of years you will not be able to open this safe. Sentry support tells you to hit the door with a rubber mallet! This works a few times then you are forever locked out. Do a google search before you buy and you won't waste your money"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Centra Florida
Date:September 24, 2011

NO MOLD-Batteries lasting over 6 mo so far

Pros: keypad and lock works every time, battery life
Cons: bolt down or it can be carried off
"Wow, read reviews with negative remarks about mold and batteries needing to be replaced after opening 4 times! I've opened mine about 200 times over the last 6 months, never have replaced batteries! No mold or any other problem. Only questionable thing is that someone can carry it out, but I bolted it down from the inside of the safe. How secure for break-ins? Dont know, have not tried it and ruined the safe. Trusting them on that one"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:August 22, 2011

Works Great, But Caution..

Pros: very spacious inside, solid construction, fairly heavy, easy buttons and lock
Cons: digital code required to open, key alone cannot open, moisture build up, strong smell when first opened
"So I have had this safe for about 8 months now. Overall, I am pretty happy with it.
I did see hints of what looked like mold starting to form after a couple months of being closed, couldn't quite tell what it was but it wiped off easy with disinfectant wipes. When I first got it, I noticed that an envelope I had inside got really damp.
My theory on the mold/moisture issue is that the compound they use to make the inside of the safe doesn't fully air out when leaving the factory. They probably just box them up and ship them out. As a result, that moisture builds up as it separates from the cement wall filling and seeps into the safe space. I recommend leaving this safe open for a good 2 days after purchase to let it really air out. I also recommend putting in a moisture collecting container for a couple months.
I would buy another if needed, but I would take the recommended steps above."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:July 21, 2011

This is not a good safe

Pros: sold construction
Cons: not mold / moisture resistant, bad bad bad electronic keybad, had to take it out to change the battery
"Mold.. flimsy handle.. very hard to open with electronic lock needs to change battery so often after entering the code display shows as it is unlocked but the safe handle wouldnt open I will not recommend this to anyone"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PALM SPRINGS
Date:June 25, 2011

NO PROBLEMS

Pros: reliable, easy to use and set up
"I.VE USED THIS SAFE IN MY BUSINESS FOR TWO YEARS WITH NO PROBLEMS. I CHANGED THE STOCK BATTERIES WHEN IT WAS NEW AND HAV NOT HAD TO CHANGE THEM SINCE. NO MOLD OR MILDEW PROBLEMS. THE SAFE DOES NOT COME WITH MILDEW BUILT IN SO THE ONLY WAY FOR IT TO GET IN IS IF YOU PUT SOMETHING IN THERE THAT HAS MILDEW OR MOLD ALREADY ON IT. THEN IT WILL GROW BECAUSE OF THE CLOSED, AIR TIGHT ENVIRONMENT. DON'T BLAME THAT ON THE SAFE."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:US
Date:April 23, 2011

MOLD and CHEAP CONSTRUCTION.

Pros: you can get it at costco
Cons: everything else.
"Briefly, it requires new batteries every 3 months to open, or about every 4 openings, I guess. The handle won't turn to open, even when the password shows the thing unlocked... very flimsy. And now, after opening it 3 months since the last time I used it, cash, paperwork, bullion bags are covered with mold! Don't think I read any warning in the instructions. Maybe that's inevitable, as some suggest, with fireproof safes, but it seems like it should be mentioned somewhere in the instructions.... maybe it was, will have to re-read, but I'm sure glad I didn't put anything important (passports, contracts, deeds, etc) in there, or they would be ruined. Guess I will use "seal-a-meal" bags for everything and figure out another way to protect paperwork. I can't recommend this product to anyone. I may be expecting too much for the price, I don't know."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF
Date:April 15, 2011

MOLD

Pros: size
Cons: holds moisture
"Within one month of having safe, mold started growing on all documents. I liked the size but the handle was not easy to operate.Returned it."
Review 19 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaumont, CA
Date:April 6, 2011

Overall satisfied!

"We purchased this safe mainly for fire protection. Glad I read other reviews and knew batteries were not included. After installing the batteries it was not that hard to learn how to open/close the safe."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:March 22, 2011

Reliability issue

Pros: solid built like a tank
Cons: electronic key system unreliable
"The first one I bought didn't last for more than two years. Electronic lock doesn't open and had to drill to open the safe. Sentry tech support couldn't help it open even with master code. Had to spend $200 for professional locksmith to drill it out.
Safe is made with solid construction. But electronics are totally unlreliable."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>