Customer Reviews for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant

Resistant up to 1700°F
Average Customer Rating:
2.517 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
14
11 of 29(38%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Review 1 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:August 22, 2011

Works Great, But Caution..

Pros: very spacious inside, solid construction, fairly heavy, easy buttons and lock
Cons: digital code required to open, key alone cannot open, moisture build up, strong smell when first opened
"So I have had this safe for about 8 months now. Overall, I am pretty happy with it.
I did see hints of what looked like mold starting to form after a couple months of being closed, couldn't quite tell what it was but it wiped off easy with disinfectant wipes. When I first got it, I noticed that an envelope I had inside got really damp.
My theory on the mold/moisture issue is that the compound they use to make the inside of the safe doesn't fully air out when leaving the factory. They probably just box them up and ship them out. As a result, that moisture builds up as it separates from the cement wall filling and seeps into the safe space. I recommend leaving this safe open for a good 2 days after purchase to let it really air out. I also recommend putting in a moisture collecting container for a couple months.
I would buy another if needed, but I would take the recommended steps above."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:US
Date:April 23, 2011

MOLD and CHEAP CONSTRUCTION.

Pros: you can get it at costco
Cons: everything else.
"Briefly, it requires new batteries every 3 months to open, or about every 4 openings, I guess. The handle won't turn to open, even when the password shows the thing unlocked... very flimsy. And now, after opening it 3 months since the last time I used it, cash, paperwork, bullion bags are covered with mold! Don't think I read any warning in the instructions. Maybe that's inevitable, as some suggest, with fireproof safes, but it seems like it should be mentioned somewhere in the instructions.... maybe it was, will have to re-read, but I'm sure glad I didn't put anything important (passports, contracts, deeds, etc) in there, or they would be ruined. Guess I will use "seal-a-meal" bags for everything and figure out another way to protect paperwork. I can't recommend this product to anyone. I may be expecting too much for the price, I don't know."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burke, Virginia
Date:October 18, 2010

Excellent Safe

Pros: sentry safe
"For the money and for a peace of mind this safe is an excellent step up from smaller models as your family and security storage needs grow. The manufacturer's instructions are clear and after the initial setup it is easy to customize the interior storage file rack and shelf. It is a well thoughout product and is delivered to your door. However, you will require either two strong persons or a hand truck to move it to your desired location. Remember to leave enough room for the door to swing completely open. It is user friendly and quite secure."
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 12, 2011

Do Not Buy after a few years it won't open

"After a couple of years you will not be able to open this safe. Sentry support tells you to hit the door with a rubber mallet! This works a few times then you are forever locked out. Do a google search before you buy and you won't waste your money"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Crown Point, IN
Date:January 13, 2011

A little disappointed

Pros: roomy
Cons: opening is not smooth
"Once I finally received it, it was fairly easy to setup. The handle operation is not smooth at all. You have to jerk the handle down to open the door. I'm a little concerned with my wife being able to open it without problems."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:March 22, 2011

Reliability issue

Pros: solid built like a tank
Cons: electronic key system unreliable
"The first one I bought didn't last for more than two years. Electronic lock doesn't open and had to drill to open the safe. Sentry tech support couldn't help it open even with master code. Had to spend $200 for professional locksmith to drill it out.
Safe is made with solid construction. But electronics are totally unlreliable."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Centra Florida
Date:September 24, 2011

NO MOLD-Batteries lasting over 6 mo so far

Pros: keypad and lock works every time, battery life
Cons: bolt down or it can be carried off
"Wow, read reviews with negative remarks about mold and batteries needing to be replaced after opening 4 times! I've opened mine about 200 times over the last 6 months, never have replaced batteries! No mold or any other problem. Only questionable thing is that someone can carry it out, but I bolted it down from the inside of the safe. How secure for break-ins? Dont know, have not tried it and ruined the safe. Trusting them on that one"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PALM SPRINGS
Date:June 25, 2011

NO PROBLEMS

Pros: reliable, easy to use and set up
"I.VE USED THIS SAFE IN MY BUSINESS FOR TWO YEARS WITH NO PROBLEMS. I CHANGED THE STOCK BATTERIES WHEN IT WAS NEW AND HAV NOT HAD TO CHANGE THEM SINCE. NO MOLD OR MILDEW PROBLEMS. THE SAFE DOES NOT COME WITH MILDEW BUILT IN SO THE ONLY WAY FOR IT TO GET IN IS IF YOU PUT SOMETHING IN THERE THAT HAS MILDEW OR MOLD ALREADY ON IT. THEN IT WILL GROW BECAUSE OF THE CLOSED, AIR TIGHT ENVIRONMENT. DON'T BLAME THAT ON THE SAFE."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:April 2, 2012

Caution : Difficult to open

"Model Number: Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe
I bought this safe an year ago from Costco and I'm using/opening this safe at least once a month and earlier I noticed some moisture and mold. After putting the moisture absorbent packs I had no problem with the moisture. Last couple of months the safe door couldn't open easily and I had to punch in the code at least 5 to 10 times to open the door. Starting last week the door doesn't open at all even with rubber mallet use as some recommended. Sentry support couldn't provide much help to open the door. I'm sure it will cost me $$$ to have a locksmith to open the door but I'll try couple more days before I decide to tear it down.
Costco should discontinue this unreliable product"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:January 8, 2012

Caution: Moisture Damage/Difficult to Open

Pros: none whatsoever
Cons: moisture damage, difficult to open
Model Number: CSW4747
"Big caution about this product-- we purchased the safe a few months ago and noticed that the door handle was difficult to open but thought that with repeated use it would get easier-- it hasn't and has actually gotten worse! We were worried that we wouldn't be able to retrieve any of our valuables locked inside. Finally, we were able to open today and were shocked to find that all our passports, official docs and other valuables were moist, warped and covered with an orange fungus. The area where we had the safe was completely dry-- other complaints about this safe indicate that buyers have found water or moisture inside their safes, too. We're returning to Costco today-- but are wondering what to do with the damaged valuables. While we've been longtime Costco members and appreciate Costco's quality and value, this is the first time we've had such a bad outcome with a purchase."
Review 11 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Davie, FL
Date:March 1, 2012

HORRIBLE... I SHOULD HAVE LISTENED!

Pros: heavy for thieves
Cons: and heavy to carry back and forth to the store, contents get damp, unlocking issues, handle cheap
Model Number: Costco Item #439681
"In light of the bad reviews about moisture and unlocking issues with these safes, I bought a similar model from my local Costco store, in the 1.6 CU FT version. How bad could it be? I was immediately suspicious about the moisture issues when the manual that was inside the safe was damp and held together with rusted staples. That being the case, I left the safe door opened for one week in my A/C house and then closed for two weeks with new, dry blank paper placed inside. At the end of the two weeks, had trouble opening the safe's electronic keypad. When I finally got it opened, the paper I left inside was damp and had an odor. My plan was to store important papers and external USB drives in this safe. Needless to say, I've returned the safe back to the store for a refund and I'm back to square one! I only gave this one star because you can't rate a product with 0 stars."
Review 12 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:seattle
Date:February 8, 2011

Good safe for the money

Pros: fire rated
Cons: water saftey is compromised if you bolt to floor.
Model Number: sentry 2 cubic foot
"Manageable size, needs 2 people to move. easy to use and set up. Assembled in USA, (a plus for me)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:July 21, 2011

This is not a good safe

Pros: sold construction
Cons: not mold / moisture resistant, bad bad bad electronic keybad, had to take it out to change the battery
"Mold.. flimsy handle.. very hard to open with electronic lock needs to change battery so often after entering the code display shows as it is unlocked but the safe handle wouldnt open I will not recommend this to anyone"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, Or
Date:February 21, 2011

A little disappointing

"The keypad is flimsy and has to be removed to change the battery. I feel this is a weakness as it can be easily damaged by an intruder rendering it impossble to open, presumably without the manufacturer's assistance. The safe is sturdy and looks as if it will protect the contents in a fire. You have to drill a hole(s) to bolt it to the floor. There should be a gasket in the kit to seal around the bolt head otherwise the safe is no longer water resistant."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Whittier, CA.
Date:March 19, 2011

I like it !

Pros: fire/water resistant easy entry easy code setup
Cons: layout kind of blows
Model Number: 545099 - Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft
"I was unsure about purchasing this safe after reading all the problems that others were having. Well I took ta chance and I am happy with my purchase. I have had it now for two months now and I haven't a single problem. Opens up every time, and no moisture problems. I would have gave it 5 stars, but I don't like the inside layout. Also the inside isn't as nice as other safes. But for the price this is an excellent safe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Garden Grove, CA
Date:February 5, 2011

MOLD on EVERYTHING

Cons: mold, lock won't open
"VERY disappointed. EVERYTHING I put into this safe had mold on it. Jewelery case, wallet, paperwork. And now it won't open. I changed the batteries and still won't open. Trying to get a hold someone to help has been impossible. It's sitting in the middle of my living room as a reminder I need to get what's inside out of it and get it returned to the store ASAP."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southbury, CT
Date:March 17, 2011

Good safe for the money

Cons: should come with multiple shelves
Model Number: 545099
"The safe was easy to install and a good value for the money but only comes with one drawer/hanging file which was not something most people will use. I then had to order two additional shelves and a drawer (without the hanging file) from Sentry at a cost of of over $100 to maximize the space in the safe and make it usable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:January 28, 2011

Great Product!

Pros: easy to set up works great - reliable., easy to install and anchor to floor.
Cons: wish it were larger - maybe 3.0 cu ft.
Model Number: 5840
"I am very happy with my Sentry safe. It installed very easily - was easy to set up if you followed the directions, and have NO issues with it. Works great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012

Horrible Safe!!

"Every time we TRY to open the safe we have to call customer service. We first stored our passports in there, only to find them molded and ruined a few weeks later. All paperwork gets quickly damaged. The hidges on the door inside also broke and we were advised to use a hammer to fix them. Is this really how a safe is supposed to work??? It's a waste of my time and my money. Never buy a Sentry Safe!!!! And good luck getting them on the phone. Often circuits are busy and there is a huge wait time!!!"
Review 20 for Sentry® Safe 2.0 cu.ft. Business Safe Fire and Water Resistant
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Stamford, CT
Date:December 20, 2010

Horrible safe

"I am a very mechanically savvy person, but looks as I am too stupid to set up or simply open this safe when it is just arrived. Costco better have somebody to pick up that piece of junk."
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>