Customer Reviews for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System

Includes BodyMedia Armband, Activity Manager 12-month Subscription & Extra Armband Strap
Average Customer Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
(out of 81 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
11
67 of 81(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Review 1 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Manassas, VA
Date:March 9, 2011

Great incentive to lose weight

Pros: biofeedback is incentive to lose weight
Cons: battery won't fully charge
Model Number: Armband
"Works great and purchasing from Costco.com was a real savings. Not only was it $50 cheaper than in the Costco store it was at least $50 cheaper than other stores and even BodyMedia's web site. It also included extras the others charge separately for such as a second armband, a year's membership to BodyMedia's website, and three free skins of my choosing.
The only issue I've had is the battery won't fully charge. Their tech support said this is due to a software bug on their end where they prematurely indicate full charge. A fix is forthcoming they said.
I nice feature, although I'm not sure how relavent it is, is that it tracks the amount of time you are sleeping and can differentiate between sleeping and simply lying down. No idea how it does that but it is very accurate.
When I ordered, was told it would ship in 7-10 business days but I received it in two.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas TX
Date:January 30, 2011

doesnt work with Blackberry

Pros: not to expensive
Cons: does not work w/ blackberry
"purchased this and have had it one week and this is too much work. I have a blackberry so I can not add my calories consumed through my phone as it does not interface with Blackberry only iphone. I have to sign on to the computer and do it. If we eat out many of the restaurants are in the pop up and you can select the foods to get the calorie info but it is way to much work to try to figure out how many calories are in each meal I prepare and I have to data enter it. I fell like Im setting up new food daily and it not worth all this work. I cook a lot so there is no easy way for me to figure out how many calories are in what I'm preparing. And the sodium, carb etc. Its a computer so if you don't put good info in you are not going to get accurate info out. I just don't want to work this hard. Also, It's winter and it under my shirts so no one sees it. I can not imagine wearing this in the summer where everyone sees it on my arm. Bottom line - it looked fun and cool to have this new toy but it's too much work for not enough benefit."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise ID
Date:December 26, 2010

This is a Fabulous Fit!

Pros: accurate, comfortable, quick & easy, fun
Model Number: BodyMedia FIT
"I am exceedingly happy with this product. It keeps me accountable. It takes only minutes a day to enter my food intake, and has great time-saving features like being able to instantly copy meals from another day if you ate the same thing or close to the same thing. I kept testing it to make sure it got my exercise minutes and my sleep times correct, and that its calculations were correct as to when I had a deficit of 3500 calories so I should lose a pound. Lo and behold I stepped on the digital scale and it was down a pound! That really impressed me. No more guesswork. I just enter my info, exercise daily, eat right, and it makes this whole thing a no-brainer! Because I enter my food daily and it automatically logs my exercise, I find myself doing more, doing better. For me the feedback reinforces positive behavior. The medium-size arm band fit me just fine even though I am a plus sized woman and it is extremely comfortable. I forget its on! It was a breeze to set up online and daily syncing only takes seconds out of my busy day. I love this thing. No disappointments here!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2011

Gives me the incentive I need

Pros: gives detailed information about calorie burn., logging food is easy and very helpful.
Cons: customer service is not good they need to step up
"This product is amazing, and I love it. It has help me lose 30 lbs. so far, I've had it for 4 months. I love that I can see how many calories I'm really burning in a day, broken down to the hours and minutes, giving me a true calorie burn on a treadmill, elliptical, or whatever exercise program I'm doing. I love that I can plug in any recipe and it will break it down for me and save it in my food list, also that it counts my steps and monitors how well I'm sleeping at night. It has helped me realize how many calories I should eat in comparison to how many I burn during the day. It makes me accountable and I love it! The customer service is a downside, as some have mentioned. They do not answer their phone, and it takes a few days to receive an email response to answer questions or fix problems. My armband was not syncing properly and it took 4 days before the issue was corrected. I was frustrated, but it's working fine now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 14, 2010

Red Flag! Not accurate. Not waterproof.

Pros: what they use on biggest loser.
Cons: accuracy was spotty very frustating., requires a monthly payment., not waterproof., costco version doesn't come with wristband.
"First of all, the system requires a subscription to the online service, which is included in the Costco package. But in a very, very web 1.0 way, it's all through their website. And, no mobile app.
Also, don't get it wet.
The diet plan is simple common sense calorie deficit dieting that's not unlike ∑eight ∑atchers or a million others.
Also, there were lots of times when I worked out tons and the calories burned didn't register. Frustrating to say the least.
Also, Costco version doesn't come with the wristband (the watch that gives you real-time readout).
That's just one to many "also's" for me.
I wouldn't blame Costco though. And the concept is good. But I had lots of problems.
Spend your money on a good heart rate monitor and your own personal Jillian.
IMHO, this is just another device that preys on desperation with the promise of technology."
11 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2010

Excellent Product!!! Extremely Helpful!!!

Pros: great savings on an amazing product
Cons: not bluetooth capable (much more expensive)
Model Number: 100624/545062
"I've been fascinated with the information this item is able to track!!! It has taught me so much about the foods I eat as well as the quality of my activity. It's personalized to the information you input on day one and from that helps you track how effectively, or not, you are doing in reaching those goals. Also, in each of the 5 categories, it's possible to click on an arrow to see an itemized breakdown of that categories activity throughout the day. It's so comfortable to wear that I forget it's on. I'm a light sleeper but, on the back of my arm, it's no problem!! The monthly subscription, (after the complimentary one runs out), is less than 2 drinks at your favorite coffee shop!! I love how it learns what I eat! Entering foods is really simple!! I can't imagine a person actually using this and not appreciating the fantastic information is gives and what a big help it is to seeing where a shortfall is that can be fixed. It has helped me on the road to better health and fitness from day one! Thank you Costco!!!"
Review 7 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:June 9, 2011

It gives you the power!

Pros: motivation!, takes the focus off the scale, loads of data, all you will ever need
Cons: can't add comments
Model Number: BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
"How many times have you heard "knowledge is power"? This system gives you so much information it will amaze you! It also activates the competitive nature that resides in all of us. I can compete against my own personal bests (the BodyMedia system keeps track). There is such satisfaction in winning! And strangely enough, the focus becomes everything BUT weight-loss. I now focus on how much can I lower my sodium intake, oh no, too much fat today, did I really sleep well or toss and turn (it knows), how many calories per minute did I burn while jogging (I'll beat that next time), and on and on...... I feel good about me with this system, instead of only having the numbers on the scale as motivation - one bad number and I gave up. Now I know exactly why the scale moves up and most importantly NOW I KNOW HOW TO FIX IT!!!!!!
In the past, I berated myself every time I ate the wrong things and felt so stupid when I stepped on the scale the next morning. I'm NOT stupid - why can't I lose weight??? This system is the answer - I just need the right information and it all becomes easy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2010

exactly as expected

Pros: package is an excellent offer, performs exactly as advertised
Cons: armbands are small
"if you do the research, you will be quite pleased with this product and the package Costco offers. I do agree that the entry of food info could be more user friendly, but once you enter your fav foods (or if you repeat foods often) that solves a lot of boring entry issues! the fact that this system measures sleep is an asset over competitive brands. As is so often the case, the Costco offer is an excellent, and is better than what can be found on the manufacturer's website! (2 free skins, 2 armbands, 1 year subscription ='s major savings) It arrived quickly and all codes were included. As I like to be updated throughout the day, I did purchase the (optional) display unit - which unfortunately Costco does not sell. the only reason I am giving it 4 stars is that the (shipped) armbands are a Medium, and are rather small."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2010

Sold, arrived, and works exactly as advertised.

"Product sold and delivered exactly as advertised, with the 1 year subscription and extra strap included, and without the seperate monitor. I don't understand the complaints in the previous reviews, as there were no surprises when the product arrived. Plus, it came with two free "skins" to apply to the device. Just look for the slips of paper with the promotion codes in the box. I recommend everyone research the product and the various models/options on the manufacturer's website (bodymedia.com) before making a purchase decision here. In doing so you'll see the value of the package offered at costco.com. Used for only two days thus farm and it works exactly as expected. No surprises or disappointments yet. One good surprise: Costco passed back to me a $20 credit after the product price went down after I purchased it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:February 14, 2011

I wished i had it years ago

Cons: i found the directions were confusing at first.
Model Number: Bodymedia Fit
"I'm now 65 years old, and used to work out a lot. I then hurt my knee and quit everything. I was on the upward swing to gaining weight and in the last seven years, gained 20 lbs. I just figured it was menopause and thought i would never be thin again.
This little gadget on my arm has been the best thing to happen to me. It not only tells me where i stand during the day of how many calories I've burned, but also lets you know how many more calories you can eat.
I have now lost 8 pounds in one month.
I've reduced my portions and was told by a friend don't eat anything white. (Sugar,Starch, Salt). I also watch my food combining. Don't eat carbs with oil.. I eat fruit an hour before or later.
It has been easy and even fun with the Bodymedia.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:February 7, 2011

Best Weight Loss Tool for Results

Pros: information is accurate for your metabolism, easy to use, encourages activity all day
Cons: not waterproof
Model Number: 100624 / 545068
"As a petite woman who has yo-yo dieted with the same 15-25 pound weight loss for 30 years, I have had a lot of experience with tools that promise to help you lose weight. Until I purchased the BodyMedia Fit armband, nothing had given me the "missing link" - the information I needed to actually succeed with whatever method I choose to lose weight: more activity, less food or any combination in between. I now can see how much deficit I have in my calories each day, and the weight loss has been spot-on and consistent for the past five weeks. Maintaining an average of 500 calorie per day deficit I have lost 1 pound per week. On the graphs on the BodyMedia website, I see how extraordinarily effective the little bits of activity are as they add up: walking across a parking lot or taking steps. I can also see in my graphs and charts how little I move in my desk job. I burn the same calories per hour sitting at my desk as I do sleeping! That was a true eye opener! When I log every bit of food I eat, by the end of the day, if I don't see the 500 calorie deficit I know I need to take a walk or exercise a little more - no more guess work! This product is easy to set up, easy to wear, easy to use and it WORKS by giving you all the information you need to lose weight. I highly recommend it, espeially from Costco because of the longer subscription length included with your purchase vs. buying from anywhere else. All in all, I had to really stretch my mind to come up with the single "con" listed in my review. Other than that, it's worth it's weight in gold."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Stanwood, WA
Date:December 8, 2010

Good motivation tool

Pros: excellent motivation tool to become more active, clear data on chart is easy to read
Cons: armband does not stick well with velcro
Model Number: 100624
"I received this monitor two days ago. After a few unsuccessful tries of trying to upload the software to my computer, I was able to. I had to go in and disable Java & download newest version. I am not computer savvy, but there was good support online on bodymedia website. I like wearing the armband. However, the 2nd day the armband would not stick with the velcro. I called customer service this morning, and Dave said he would send me out another armband. I understand that this is a problem, and Dave told me they are working on an improved armband. I was impressed with his support. You can buy a digital attachment that you clip on, but at $100, I did not feel it was necessary. I just snap the device off the armband, plug it into my computer, and it uploads my progress, such as steps taken, actually sleep (this is so cool, and I saw it as being highly accurate). I hope they will come out with an improved armband soon."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

Horrible support

"A great idea that falls short due to poor customer service and an overburdened system.
Plus: Love the band. I love being able to see how well or poorly I slept, what my nutritional goals are, being able to see if I need to slip in another workout. Great details in the nutritional section and sleep.
Cons:
Can't wear it in the water.
After a couple of days it digs into my skin and leaves me sore and itchy.
Horrible customer service.
Flaky interface for sync. Will work fine then for no apparent reason stop working. I was advised to uninstall, reininstall, then install on another computer and try it again, then upload my data to Bodymedia.
SUPER!!!
Can't get a display because the company can't keep up with demand.
The system is overloaded and slow because the company can't support all the new users.
Huge let down.
I am returning the two I bought to Costco."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:January 25, 2011

The honeymoon is over

Pros: easy to use, motivating
Cons: defective armband, customer service overwheled
"I received my Bodymedia Fit on Dec 18th and initially I loved it. It was very easy to set up, and comfortable to wear . Monitoring the footsteps I take and my physical activity has been very motivating, I've lost 8 lbs so far. As another reviewer stated, it is not that accurate caclulating calories burned while cycling or using an elliptical/arc trainer if you wear it on your arm. I switched to wearing it on my left calf for those activities and now it's accurate. But 2 days ago the velcro tab came off my armband-same thing happened to another reviewer- fortunately Costco gives you a spare so I can still use the Bodymedia Fit. I contacted customer service and this is what's posted on their website:
"Due to the popularity of the BodyMedia FIT system, we are currently experiencing an elevated level of support requests. This has caused a delay beyond our normal response time of one business day. We appreciate your patience." I have yet to receive a response. NOW for the past two evenings I have not been able to log my food on their website because their site is too busy! I They got me hooked now BodyMedia is letting me down. I know they just signed a deal with Jenny Craig and the package they are selling @ Costco is the best price around so it's been selling out but I'm concerned that they are in over their heads
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010

Amazing Deal!! Excellent Product!! Really Helpfu

Pros: great product!! great price!!
Cons: not the bluetooth model
Model Number: 100624/545062
"This is a great product!! Costco negotiated a fantastic deal for its members!! I love the web based tracking of food intake, activity, and sleep! It's really helpful to see how simple everyday choices effect my health.
It took some trial and error to figure out the web tools. There is a customer service number and face book page for questions and support. I hear, via the reviews I've read that they're very pleasant and helpful. However, I found the device and its web features user friendly enough to figure out independly.
The device is comfortable to wear. I forget it's on even while sleeping. Initially, I put it on the outside of my arm and rolled over on it while falling asleep which didn't work. Simply sliding to the back of my arm totally fixed that issue.
This Costco offer includes a 12 month subscription while most other offers only offer 3 to 6 months. That's a fantastic benefit!! Thank you Costco!!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2011

Handy weightloss tool

Pros: helps with motivation, tracks calories out sleep resting activity
Cons: mac set up was hard, i feel kinda dorky wearing it in public
"The concept is basic, in that you need to burn more calories than you take in. This band has helped me stay on track for longer than a day. I get annoyed if I don't see progress right away, which is why it's hard for me to stick with commercial diet programs that use points or other methods of tracking.
Even if the scale is the same, I can see that I met or surpassed my walking/activity/calorie goals, and if I keep it up, I'll stay on the trend of losing weight. I've already lost almost 3.5lbs since I got it, which is better than I had done with the program who has a singer for an endorser.
Also, I can eat bread with the BodyMedia plan. In the previously mentioned plan, 2 slices of bread was 1/9 of my day's allotment of points. Just watching calories, 2 slices of bread is 1/15 of my daily calories. And it's good bread; not some uber-fiber, sprouted grain, dense-brick bread.
The parts I dislike about the band:
I still can't get it to sync on my mac. I'm not a mac person, so maybe it's me, but I've gone through the steps several times, and it's still not working. The PC install was easy though. I just followed the directions from the box and was ready to go pretty quickly.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 7, 2011

Really Helpful

Pros: i get to view my results for insant gradification, reminds me to try my best to eat well and exercize, very comfortable
Cons: cant wear it swimming or in shower
Model Number: body media
"So I saw this in our Costco and wanted to give it a try, I Just had a Baby and I am excited to loose weight. I also talked my aunt into getting one because it was just so cool. I am Nursing and this Puppy gets all my Info Spot on. It is so fun to see my results. I have lost 9 pounds in one month. I am encouraged and I love the band. It reminds me to try my hardest at all times. I feel naked with out it on. I love that it tracks my sleep and with a New Born at home that is very important. I think this is an amazing product. I friended them on Face Book The comunity is great to. TRY IT !!! Its great
I agree about the Customer service being Overwhelmed. They are a busy company but they try and are very very nice. The MOD in Face book is there to help and so are thousands of happy customers.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Cities
Date:April 20, 2011

A new view on weight loss

Pros: easy to use, great detail to the information, a new way to look at your health, it works!!!
Cons: it doesn't work very well when riding a bike
Model Number: Body Media Fit, item 545068
"I purchased the body media about 5 weeks ago and it has been great. I have been stuck in my weight loss. The Body Media system has given me a new view on what I am doing, eating and sleeping. One of the eye opening things was finding out how little sleep I was actually getting and realizing how little activity I was getting at work. I now know where I need to focus and it is working. I have lost 6 lbs since I started using the arm band. I did find that it doesn't do as well of a job when riding a bike. I have done some very aggressive bike rides but it really did not pick up my real activity level. I e-mailed customer support and the got right back to me with a few tips, but they also said it has been optimized for walking and running, not bike riding. All of that being said I would let you take mine away. I am getting results and I know a lot more about my eating, sleeping and activity habits."
Review 19 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbus, OH
Date:November 14, 2010

great concept, better design for strap

Pros: great concept
Cons: redesign the arm strap
"I bought this for my husband last year. He loves it and uses daily. He said he missed it when he is not wearing it. Great product. Only thing I would coution is the arm strap part that came loose and I could not glue the snap back on. So I need to get him a new strap. It could be designed better and last longer."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 24, 2011

Buy this product without hesitation

Pros: the best weight loss coach i know of for the price
Cons: irritates my skin somewhat
"After 5 months of daily use, I can say that this product WORKS. No, it doesn't address every little element of weight loss, but it is perfect for me. It is simple to use, it is very accurate, it makes me accountable, and it is like having a coach with me 24/7. And despite what you might read elsewhere, I can say that after 5 months of viewing my sleeping patterns on here, it DOES know when you are sleeping vs. just laying down.
I was convinced that weight loss after 35 just doesn't happen. Despite running 15 to 20 miles a week, including 10 half marathons per year, I stayed at 235 to 240. This is 50 to 60 lbs. higher than I should be. Turns out there are 2 elements to weight loss (3 if you include the sleep part)...exercising and eating less. This product forces you to think about everything you eat, because you have to manually log it. Not a huge problem, but a bit of a nuisance. So sometimes it's just easier to not eat something bad for you because you know you'll have to log it. And since you are thinking about everything you eat, you can pre-plan your order before you go to a restaurant by looking at their nutrition menu, and you can set mini-goals for yourself, such as being at 1000 calories by the time you leave work for the day so that you can eat a comfortable dinner and still be at your goal of 2500 for the day. One example of a small change that can save hundreds of calories is to have the restaurant wrap your hamburger in lettuce instead of a bun and leave off the mayo and instead of an 800 calorie burger you have a 400 calorie burger that is just as delicious. And you become very conscious of how many steps you take in a day and how you might increase that (take the stairs, get off the bus one stop early, take more breaks during the day, etc.) That 400 calories I saved on my burger works out to 25 minutes on the treadmill. What would you rather do...slightly change your order to make it healthier, or go on the treadmill another 25 minutes? My goal is to eat 2500 calories per day and burn 4000 per day. And what are the results for me? I started at 241 lbs. on January 12, was at 227 onJanuary 31, 223 on February 28, 216 on March 31, and 209 on April 30. Yes, it came off fast early and I am plateauing a bit now, but this is after 30 lbs. or 13% of my bodyweight, and I know what I need to do to resume the weight loss and hit my goal...exercise more and/or eat less. It's what they teach us our whole lives about staying healthy and fit, and now I have a coach I am accountable to every day, and actually enjoy setting goals and the challenge of making them. If I have that occasional day where I eat too many calories because of a party or what have you, I have to face it the next morning when I sync this unit and inevitably I adjust my eating and/or exercise the next couple of days to get back on track. My wife was sly...she saw this in Costco one day and said we should get it just to track how many hours of sleep we get, then we could always return it if it wasn't providing value to us. She knows I have a hard time taking her advice, so she found a way to make it seem like it was my idea to try the weight loss benefits of it.
Buy it and use it and make your life better and longer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>