Customer Reviews for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System

Includes BodyMedia Armband, Activity Manager 12-month Subscription & Extra Armband Strap
Average Customer Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
(out of 81 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
11
67 of 81(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Review 1 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stanford ct
Date:October 26, 2011

Great product

Pros: easy to use
Cons: not for swimming
"This is a superb device. It tracks all my physical activity so I know whether i have burned enough calories to loose weight. Customer service is excellent. Extremely helpful andeasy website. These people are verygood. I really got a lot of help just tracking my sleep. Really worth every penny and is a great gift for someone trying to loose wight or justget in shape"
Review 2 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:October 17, 2011

Amazing

Pros: costco has the best deal, tracks lying and sleeping calories burned, log from computer or phone (free app needed), 12mo. membership incl only through costco.com, battery life is great 24hrs+
Cons: does not sink via bluetooth, new link armband is coming soon with wireless sync
"I compared to bodybug, dotfit, and one more but I can't recall the name.
The bodymedia is by far the best out there.
I've used it for 12 days I lost 3lbs and a whole dress size.
The weight is coming off slowly because I'm working out with a trainer and building muscle. But I'm 31 and gave birth to my third baby 3mos ago and have struggle to get back in shape.
I've struggle with my weight my whole life. I'm looking to loose a total of 70lbs or 5 dress sizes. I'm sure the bodymedia will help me achieve this goal.
I'll keep you posted :)
"
Review 3 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Date:September 22, 2011

Very helpful so far

Pros: gives detailed feedback on diet and exercise, very detailed reports
Cons: have to wear armband all day, its a chore to enter your food
"I need to loose some weight. I have tried various food and exercise logging approaches in the past, but none have worked for me. I saw the BodyBug on the Biggest Looser and thought I would give it a try. It is a little arm band you wear all day and plug into your computer to upload your activity and calorie burn to the Internet. You have to manually add what you eat, meal by meal, item by item. Using this data, the website computes your calorie deficit each day. It also measures lots of other details like how many hours you slept and the intensity of your activities. I like feedback, so all this data has helped me to stay focused on my activities and what I eat. I try to hit a target deficit each day, so I check in the mid afternoon to see where I am. This helps me stay active in the evening and eat less. Measuring what you eat with a scale and measuring spoons and cups also is a real eye opener. Who knew that a bowl of chips is actually about 5 servings and over 500 calories. No wonder there are so many overweight people. Its still early for me - only using this two weeks - but so far, I have lost several pounds and I feel good about it. I have only had one little glitch so far with the website, but the company responded quickly to my service requests (online) and resolved the problem quickly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:East Aurora, NY
Date:September 9, 2011

Great product but...

Model Number: 545062
"Great product, great concept BUT was very disappointed in the food tracking portion of the program. The available foods seemed to only be from national brands vs. basic clean foods such as 6 oz of broiled salmon or roasted vegetables. Do not have the time to look foods up on another site and add them to Body Fit site. Sending back..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2011

Fabulous!

Pros: easy to use and very motivating!
"I have one for myself and bought this for my sister!! It has made keeping track of my caloric balance so much easier."
Review 6 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Claremont, CA
Date:July 20, 2011

Raises the Awareness Factor!

Pros: easy to wear, syncs efficiently, holds battery charge well
"My partner joined Jenny Craig and was using one of these through her program so I observed her for a couple of weeks and decided it would be a good tool to help me stay on track. It's been just that! I have a realistic view of my activity and I think that just the awareness of the band makes me think twice about eating something that I shouldn't be eating. This was a great purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Citrus Heights CA
Date:June 25, 2011

BodyMedia Fit

Pros: very good item, easy to use, customer service is fast and easy via email, great life style change, kept my friend off insulin
"this is a GREAT tool to get healthy. I was selling myself short on my step counting with a regular pedometer that I had to set my step length on. This takes out the guesswork. The food tracking part is great too. I can use thier food list, find my food nutrition info on the web and enter it and it creats my own personal list I can also create my own recipies for exact calroic and nutritional information. It is interesting also to see my sleep patterns.
If you are honest with your entries each day it is quite an eye opener."
Review 8 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san diego
Date:June 25, 2011

Kicks Butt

Pros: accurate
Cons: can't use it in water
"Been wearing it for 6 months I love it. It is accurate for all activities.I do elliptical, kickboxing, running and weight training and I can tell which activity burns more by the minute! I love the fact it breaks down my nutritional information and records my sleep efficiency. I care about performance being an athlete and cutting bodyfat and this allows that"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:June 17, 2011

Awesome Purchase!

Pros: great feedback/comfortable/can set reminder beeps
Cons: none!
"Buy this gadget - it's great!! It allows me to visually see when I exercise and at what intensity to motivate me to do even more. Great motivational tool! Also, can track my meals in one place which helps keep me on track. The sleep sensor is awesome because I didn't know how poorly I slept and wondered why I was constantly tired during the day. So now I can look into this. Also, it's totally comfortable for me. I wear mine on forearm instead of triceps when I'm wearing "work clothes" and it seems to work fine. Probably better to wear up higher but mine still provides greet feedback."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, OR
Date:June 16, 2011

Fabulous health management tool!!!

"This product is a wonderful tool for managing health issues as well as weight management. I have cholesterol/heart issues and it helps me keep my saturated fats below 7% of my daily caloric intake and my cholesterol intake below 200 per day. People need to market this as a health tool as well as weight management!!!!"
Review 11 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:June 9, 2011

It gives you the power!

Pros: motivation!, takes the focus off the scale, loads of data, all you will ever need
Cons: can't add comments
Model Number: BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
"How many times have you heard "knowledge is power"? This system gives you so much information it will amaze you! It also activates the competitive nature that resides in all of us. I can compete against my own personal bests (the BodyMedia system keeps track). There is such satisfaction in winning! And strangely enough, the focus becomes everything BUT weight-loss. I now focus on how much can I lower my sodium intake, oh no, too much fat today, did I really sleep well or toss and turn (it knows), how many calories per minute did I burn while jogging (I'll beat that next time), and on and on...... I feel good about me with this system, instead of only having the numbers on the scale as motivation - one bad number and I gave up. Now I know exactly why the scale moves up and most importantly NOW I KNOW HOW TO FIX IT!!!!!!
In the past, I berated myself every time I ate the wrong things and felt so stupid when I stepped on the scale the next morning. I'm NOT stupid - why can't I lose weight??? This system is the answer - I just need the right information and it all becomes easy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 24, 2011

Buy this product without hesitation

Pros: the best weight loss coach i know of for the price
Cons: irritates my skin somewhat
"After 5 months of daily use, I can say that this product WORKS. No, it doesn't address every little element of weight loss, but it is perfect for me. It is simple to use, it is very accurate, it makes me accountable, and it is like having a coach with me 24/7. And despite what you might read elsewhere, I can say that after 5 months of viewing my sleeping patterns on here, it DOES know when you are sleeping vs. just laying down.
I was convinced that weight loss after 35 just doesn't happen. Despite running 15 to 20 miles a week, including 10 half marathons per year, I stayed at 235 to 240. This is 50 to 60 lbs. higher than I should be. Turns out there are 2 elements to weight loss (3 if you include the sleep part)...exercising and eating less. This product forces you to think about everything you eat, because you have to manually log it. Not a huge problem, but a bit of a nuisance. So sometimes it's just easier to not eat something bad for you because you know you'll have to log it. And since you are thinking about everything you eat, you can pre-plan your order before you go to a restaurant by looking at their nutrition menu, and you can set mini-goals for yourself, such as being at 1000 calories by the time you leave work for the day so that you can eat a comfortable dinner and still be at your goal of 2500 for the day. One example of a small change that can save hundreds of calories is to have the restaurant wrap your hamburger in lettuce instead of a bun and leave off the mayo and instead of an 800 calorie burger you have a 400 calorie burger that is just as delicious. And you become very conscious of how many steps you take in a day and how you might increase that (take the stairs, get off the bus one stop early, take more breaks during the day, etc.) That 400 calories I saved on my burger works out to 25 minutes on the treadmill. What would you rather do...slightly change your order to make it healthier, or go on the treadmill another 25 minutes? My goal is to eat 2500 calories per day and burn 4000 per day. And what are the results for me? I started at 241 lbs. on January 12, was at 227 onJanuary 31, 223 on February 28, 216 on March 31, and 209 on April 30. Yes, it came off fast early and I am plateauing a bit now, but this is after 30 lbs. or 13% of my bodyweight, and I know what I need to do to resume the weight loss and hit my goal...exercise more and/or eat less. It's what they teach us our whole lives about staying healthy and fit, and now I have a coach I am accountable to every day, and actually enjoy setting goals and the challenge of making them. If I have that occasional day where I eat too many calories because of a party or what have you, I have to face it the next morning when I sync this unit and inevitably I adjust my eating and/or exercise the next couple of days to get back on track. My wife was sly...she saw this in Costco one day and said we should get it just to track how many hours of sleep we get, then we could always return it if it wasn't providing value to us. She knows I have a hard time taking her advice, so she found a way to make it seem like it was my idea to try the weight loss benefits of it.
Buy it and use it and make your life better and longer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Castro Valley, CA
Date:May 20, 2011

Brest Personal Purchase ever

"I have used many brands of pedometers and calorie trackers, but this is the best. It incorporates all the information you need to monitor your calories in, calories out, steps taken, plus it monitors your sleep patterns. I had no idea I was only averaging 4 hours per night. Costco also includes 1 year worth of access to the BodyMedia website. Other vendors charge much more. This is what every person that is serious about weight and exercise monitoring needs. Thank you BodyMedia and Costco."
Review 14 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lafayette, CO
Date:May 16, 2011

It's Working for Me

Pros: following your activity and caloric intake works.
"My friend and brother raved about this product, and since I need to lose weight, I thought I would try it. It was easy to get started, and I'm 3.5 pounds lighter after less than two weeks. The most difficult part is getting used to entering your food intake, but the program remembers your previous entries and has a database with lots of name-brand foods so it goes fast. It records your sleep, too, and the time you spend lying on the couch! The unit doesn't do it all for you, it just makes it much easier to keep on track. I was disappointed to see my 'exercise' wasn't as effective as I thought, so I had to increase my activity. But I was very pleased to enter a new lower weight measurement this morning."
Review 15 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:May 14, 2011

Overpriced pedometer

"Waste of money unless your exercise program only consists of walking and running. Doesn't measure bike riding whether on a gym stationary bike or on the road.(Verified this per BM customer service.) Also, the hype regarding it measuring sleep is bogus. It measures your body in a resting position not actually sleep quality (per response from BM customer service). So, you can be 'resting" on a couch eating chocolate bon bons and it will count it as sleep. Very disappointed in purchase."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Valrico FL
Date:April 27, 2011

GREAT and SIMPLE TO USE

Cons: cannot place comments on your daily dashboard.
"Have lost 23 since 2/1/2011 and it is only the end of April 2011. The best thing is that your own calorie expenditure is available to you. Letting you know where you stand all the time. Calorie counting is easy with a complete data base of raw ingredients and prepared foods, making your own recipes is EASY. Will wear it and use it until it fails and get another.
Only 1 con that I can think of, and that is for placing personal comments on your daily summary of activities."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Cities
Date:April 20, 2011

A new view on weight loss

Pros: easy to use, great detail to the information, a new way to look at your health, it works!!!
Cons: it doesn't work very well when riding a bike
Model Number: Body Media Fit, item 545068
"I purchased the body media about 5 weeks ago and it has been great. I have been stuck in my weight loss. The Body Media system has given me a new view on what I am doing, eating and sleeping. One of the eye opening things was finding out how little sleep I was actually getting and realizing how little activity I was getting at work. I now know where I need to focus and it is working. I have lost 6 lbs since I started using the arm band. I did find that it doesn't do as well of a job when riding a bike. I have done some very aggressive bike rides but it really did not pick up my real activity level. I e-mailed customer support and the got right back to me with a few tips, but they also said it has been optimized for walking and running, not bike riding. All of that being said I would let you take mine away. I am getting results and I know a lot more about my eating, sleeping and activity habits."
Review 18 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2011

Handy weightloss tool

Pros: helps with motivation, tracks calories out sleep resting activity
Cons: mac set up was hard, i feel kinda dorky wearing it in public
"The concept is basic, in that you need to burn more calories than you take in. This band has helped me stay on track for longer than a day. I get annoyed if I don't see progress right away, which is why it's hard for me to stick with commercial diet programs that use points or other methods of tracking.
Even if the scale is the same, I can see that I met or surpassed my walking/activity/calorie goals, and if I keep it up, I'll stay on the trend of losing weight. I've already lost almost 3.5lbs since I got it, which is better than I had done with the program who has a singer for an endorser.
Also, I can eat bread with the BodyMedia plan. In the previously mentioned plan, 2 slices of bread was 1/9 of my day's allotment of points. Just watching calories, 2 slices of bread is 1/15 of my daily calories. And it's good bread; not some uber-fiber, sprouted grain, dense-brick bread.
The parts I dislike about the band:
I still can't get it to sync on my mac. I'm not a mac person, so maybe it's me, but I've gone through the steps several times, and it's still not working. The PC install was easy though. I just followed the directions from the box and was ready to go pretty quickly.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:March 17, 2011

Great Weigh Loss Management Tool!!

Pros: many!!
Cons: quiet monitor alert chime
"I have had my Body Media Fit for 1 week. I have used it as directed and have lost 3 pounds. I am a diabetic and needed to get better control of my blood sugars through diet and excercise. This tool allows me to monitor my calories consumption as well as calories burned. It shows me how much physical activity I have had (or not had) and how much sleep I have gotten which is an important factor affecting my glycemic index. Great little gadget. I have experiencced no problems and have contacted customer support once with a question I had and it was answered timely. I appreciate the benefits this device has provided to me."
Review 20 for BodyMedia FIT™ Weight Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aumsville, OR
Date:March 14, 2011

Love..Love...Love This Weightloss Tool!

Pros: great for weightloss, has everything you need, great motivator, keeps you accountable
Cons: none
Model Number: BodyMedia Fit Armband
"I belong to a website called MyFitnessPal where I record my food diary and exercise, since using their site I had lost 45 pounds since November 2010. I recently recieved my BMF Armband and have found this to be the best motivator ever! It's easy to set up, easy to use and it gives you an abundance of important information! Since using this armband, it has motivated me to push myself even futher with exercise and weightloss. It is extremely helpful and lets you see exactly how many calories you have burned and gives you your calorie deficit to show you what you should expect in your weightloss. You are able to add your own foods into the database with the nutritional information on the package which is nice since it also saves your foods to use for later. I feel that I will now be able to reach my weightloss goal of 155lbs lost easily and effortlessly! This is the best money I have spent on myself to help me towards my goal, it is so worth the time and effort you put into this armband and I strongly believe that it is the best weightloss motivator out there and it has inspired me to keep moving forward! I can't say enough good things about this gadget, it is trully great! I have already lost an easy 7 pounds since using it. If your trying to lose weight this is the tool to buy, you won't be dissappointed!"
1 2 3 4 5 next>>