Customer Reviews for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit

Fast-fit One-pull Adjustable Binding Trekking Poles & Storage Bag Included
Average Customer Rating:
2.769 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
6 of 13(46%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Review 1 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Yellowstone, Mt.
Date:December 30, 2010

snowshoe heaven

"These were great the first time we used them in 2' of snow. Took 15 min to get used to and off we went. Very easy to secure and light as a feather. Poles were adequate and easily adjustable for height."
Review 2 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2011

Daughter won a 5K run in these

"Surprised to read about the frames breaking. I bought my daughter a pair of the 821L's for Christmas. she just ran a 5K snow shoe race in these and they held up great."
Review 3 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, Idaho
Date:January 4, 2011

Durable and easy to use

Pros: easy to put on/take off, poles are adjustable/very handy
Model Number: 825
"Picked these up for my wife and so far she really likes them. The bindings on the men's model appear to be a little beefier than the women's, so went with them in 25". I've used a pair of 930 Yukon Charlies for the past year and know that they are built well and haven't had any issues."
Review 4 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CO
Date:January 14, 2011

Great snow shoes

"This is my first snow shoe purchase. I used them for the first time yesterday. I liked the ease of getting into the bindings and easy off. I liked the fact that poles and the storage bag were included. I think this was a good value."
Review 5 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:December 21, 2010

Outstanding product for the price

Pros: price, quality, poles & bag included
Model Number: 825
"I've shopped and researched snowshoes for some time and used a couple models. My hubby purchased these as a gift and met all the expectations! They don't throw snow, bindings don't slip, pivot on the binders was excellent and the traction from the cramps was good."
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2011

Great Performance thus far

Pros: price - and grip
Cons: made in china
"Light and stay solid on feet even in deep snow. Although one pole bent when I needed support going uphill and in deep snow. The web end of poles came off twice even though it was tightened.
Have not figured out how pole tip caps work"
Review 7 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:FRUITVALE BRITISH COLUMBIA
Date:December 28, 2010

Not great if you plan on doing a lot of snowshoein

Pros: pleasure to use., great looking.
Cons: don't last with repeated use., be prepared to do your own repairs.
Model Number: Model 11596960
"Bought two sets last year and 2 sets this year. I put quite a few miles on the 9x30 set and they are starting to fall apart. The rivets are popping out and the plastc deck has cracked. It isn't too difficult to replace the rivets but I'm at a loss as to how I can repair the plastic deck. I don't think I should have to deal with either of those problems when the snowshoes are less than a year old.
The bindings are still holding up okay.
The snowshoes I just bought have a problem with the strap on the binding which is catching on the plastic deck when you walk. It is already causing the plastic deck to wear and the fabric strap to fray so I assume it will either break the plastic deck or wear through the binding strap before long. These snowshoes have only been used twice.
Last years binding design didn't have a problem with catching on the plastic deck.
Aside from the quality concerns the snowshoes have been a pleasure to use and everybody that we have gone snowshoeing with have been envious of the Yukon Charlie's snowshoes.
To be fair to Yukon Charlie's though, I haven't used any other snowshoe
to the extent that I've used these snowshoes (9x30 Heritage Series) so I can't say that other shoes are designed better or if they would last longer.
It's obvious that the 8x25 Pro-Guide binding is going to be a problem.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:No. Hollywood, Ca.
Date:December 23, 2010

Frame broke on first walk in deep snow

Pros: good boot fasteners
Cons: weak frame easily snaps, poor pole construction
"I ordered the correct size.
I am 160lbs and ordered a size 25.
The frame snapped the first time out.
I just walked a few steps in fresh deep snow and the frame totally broke on one snow shoe.
We have 3 Tubbs snow shoes and all of them have held up great. This one broke on the first few steps. I will be returning this snow shoe when we get back home.
"
Review 9 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Stowe VT
Date:December 29, 2010

Did I have a "lemon" pair?

Pros: price, well designed poles, bag included
Cons: poor quality
"Having wanted to try snowshoeing for years, I was thrilled to receive these as a gift and watched tutorials before heading out the first time. Within 20 minutes one shoe completely fell apart: 2 critical pieces of hardware missing. I was left to hike back carrying everything. I think so highly of Costco and the products it carries that I will try another pair thinking it was a manufacturing defect. But I suggest checking tightness of the hardware before heading out."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:December 31, 2010

Aluminum Frame broke

Model Number: Yukon Charlie's 8x25 for $79.99
"I like the binding and was happy to start my trip. BUT, I have to report that the frame broke during the first day during a slow walk through powder snow. The shoes claim to be good for a person up to 200 lbs. I am 180 lbs. and was walking without backpack.
Not acceptable, therefore, I will return them for a refund.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2011

Not worth it!!

"Bought 2 pairs for my husband and I and after 1 use the crampons were bent. Was very disappointed because we were so looking forward to snowshoeing. Buy a better pair. We have already returned them."
Review 12 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011

Buyer beware!

"The aluminum frame of the right snowshoe broke apart at the joint about 20 mins into our first expedition. The hiker had to take off snowshoes and continue with just boots carrying the broken snowshoes for the next 3 hours. Bummer!! A shoe rated for up to 200 lbs should not have done that with a 155 lbs hiker. Makes you wonder about the quality of the construction."
Review 13 for Yukon Charlie's Pro-Guide Aluminum Snowshoe Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 30, 2011

Broke upon first use

"We bought a set of both womens and mens. The men's broke right in half the first time used. Going to return ASAP."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.