Customer Reviews for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum

Features: Hygienic Cleaning: Patented s-bag traps the dust for easy disposal. HEPA filtration traps dust and allergens. The Oxygen combines the superior filtration of a HEPA filter with the innovative, self-closing design of an Electrolux s-bag to capture 99.97% of airborne dust and allergens and to prevent dust from escaping back into your home when you change the bag. Superior Versatility: Uninterrupted above-floor cleaning is simple with tools stored in the handle and a telescopic wand. Height adjustment, variable speed controls on the handle and well-crafted tools make cleaning between your carpet and hard floor surfaces easy. Convenient Controls: Carpet and bare floor controls are at your fingertips, and the automatic cord rewind means no bending to wrap and untangle cords. You can quickly switch between carpets and hard floors by controlling the brushroll with controls at your fingertips. Quiet Operations: Using "V" belt technology, the Deep Clean powerhead delivers deep cleaning without the noise. Multi-surface powerhead and height adjustment are also on this vacuum for easy cleaning of bare floors and carpets.    Specifications: Color: Yellow and white   Tools on board: crevice, dusting brush, upholstery tool, barefloor brush   Cord length: 21' with automatic rewind   Hose: telescopic, integrated wand system with LED headlight   Filtration: HEPA H12   Container: Bagged   Dust Capacity: 2 Dry Quarts   Power: 12 amp motor   Canister Dimensions: 12" W x 9.5" D x 18" H   Canister Weight: 13 lbs.   Total parts weight: 22.6 lbs.   UL Listed   2-year limited warranty   Made in Hungary Added value:    5 canister bags- model S-Bag Classic, EL201 For further product related questions please call Electrolux at 1-800-896-9756. Model: EL6988EZX
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
5
27 of 37(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Review 1 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:September 14, 2012

Liked it so much, I got a second one!

Pros: excellent cleaning capabilities, easy to maneuver, extra bags, can't praise it enough!
"This canister vacuum is soooo good! It is easy to use, cleans super good and it doesn't hurt my back as upright vacuums do! I don't know why some people didn't like it, but it does everything I want it to do. (Perhaps reading instructions may help people get the best use of it)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:March 29, 2012

Excellent product

"Gave this vacuum as a gift to newleweds. They love it because it is very efficient, easy to clean, and extremely portable. It's a breeze carrying it up and down 3 floors in a townhouse. I highly recommend this product. I also highly recommend Costco online shopping. They make everything so much easier - and are a trustworthy source of high quality products."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lincoln, ca
Date:March 14, 2012

Very Nice Vacuum!

Pros: weight, suction, low noise, lghts on motorized brush head
Cons: cumbersome brush head
Model Number: EL6988EZX
"I've used this vacuum twice since we received delivery a couple weeks ago. So far, I'm impressed! The Electrolux Oxygen is quiet and vacuums well. The canister also isn't too heavy to move around. The motorized brush head however is heavy and sort of tall - such that it barely vacuums under cabinets.
There are additional costs, however, to using a bagged vacuum like this. There are two filters which will require replacing in the future. 1) motor filter Cost is about $13 or less, and 2) hepa filter h12 which costs $15 or less. These filter replacements are in addition to buying disposable bags. (there are differents types of bags offered too, from paper to anti allergy). I think if I use the anti-allergy bags, I shouldn't need to replace the filters as often.
All in all, I'd say this is a very nice vacuum cleaner that seems well made and ready for years of use."
Review 4 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Mateo, California
Date:March 2, 2012

Great Little Vacuum cleaner

Pros: lightweight mobile quiet cleans once over
Model Number: EL6988
"Have been using it for over a month. No problems. Good suction power equivalent to a medium Shop Vac. Lightweight enough to carry around. The two attachments are priceless cleaning the walls, windows, drapes, shades, etc. Its been a great little cannister vacuum cleaner with a quiet motor. No complaints. It was a gift to my wife."
Review 5 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Date:February 17, 2012

Quality in the Name

Pros: quality construction
Cons: hose a little bulky
Model Number: Electrolux Oxygen Cannister #EL6988
"Electrolux is Excellent! What more can you say.. Extreemly well designed. However, somewhat bigger or more bulky than others.
Great suction power and features both in carpet and hardfloor applications. We have over 50% hardwood floors in our home and dog that sheds during 6 months of year. This unit does the job! And it's much quieter than others we searched.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:January 22, 2012

Impressed!!!!

Model Number: el6988ezx
"This purchase was a smart move! I was extremely happy with the performance, how quietly it operates, and the durability. I have gone through 2 Dyson uprights and yeah they worked great for the first 6 months and after that they stopped working well. I'm looking for a machine that will last longer than 6 months. I vacuum alot and want a machine that will last a long time and still work great. I also love the fact that I am able to replace the belt and roller brush if necessary, my self, and not have to pay for it to go to a shop. I am thrilled with this vacuum. Definently worth the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 24, 2011

Love it!!

Pros: lightweight, quiet
"Bought this vaccum based on the reviews I read and they were very accurate. It is easy to use, quieter than most vaccums and does a great job picking up cat hair. I'm very happy with it and would recommend it."
Review 8 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:October 10, 2011

Happy with the Oxygen!

Pros: lightweight, quiet, powerful, extra bags
Model Number: EL6988EZ
"I'm pleased with my recent purchase of the Electrolux Oxygen. It's quiet, yet powerful. Setup was a breeze. The bonus S-Bags added to the overall value."
Review 9 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:August 21, 2011

Great on carpets! Super attahcments!

Pros: the best on carpets, wonderful attachments, great suction
Cons: average on hardwood and tile, the hose should be better quality
Model Number: Oxygen
"This is my second Electrolux. I purchased my first one used and then had it another 10 years. I love the brand! I was afraid that a newer model at an affordable price might not live up to the Electrolux name. I am happy to say it does! This is a great little vacuum. It is the absolute best on carpets. I prefer the canister/bagged style with Hepa filters. Love all the attachements (except the flooring one) I love the dusting attachment and the telescoping handle. The upholstery attachment works great. I did a test with a paper clip. The flooring attachment and the carpet head couldn't pick it up on hardwood. The hardwood/tile attachment has less suction. The other attachments snapped it right up. It also got sucked up on the carpet no problem with the carpet head turned on. The hose is a negative. It is an inferior quality to my old model and can kink if you aren't careful. It also weighs a bit which might be a concern for an older adult. All in all I am delighted with the product. Gotta go....... vacuum!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:August 11, 2011

Great vacuum

Pros: small and manageable; great suction
Cons: on/off power switch on handle would be better
Model Number: EL6988
"Bought a month ago. I use this every day to clean my nine month old's play room. My housekeeper cleans the rest of our large house once a week. We both love this machine. It's small and easy to move around. Great suction, unless the bag needs changing, then there's a small drop in suction, but not bad. Bags are small, but a decent size. The power head and floor duster head are slightly larger, which I like. The HEPA filter is so good I can't smell any dust, and my nose is sensitive. Although if the bag is full, I can smell some dust.This replaces a unit I bought several years ago from a major retailer-that machine was never this good anyway."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgetown, TX
Date:July 21, 2011

Great Vacuum!

Pros: great suction, bag fills completely, easy to change attachements
Cons: can be difficult to maneuver on carpet
Model Number: EL6988
"I purchased this vacuum cleaner about 6 months ago. I wanted to wait awhile before submitting a review. It's the second Electrolux we've owned and this vacuum is great too! I do have to set it to it's highest setting in order to vacuum the rugs and carpets - but who cares! It does a far superior job than the Bosc we had (and returned to Costco). It's great on tile - using either attachment - rug with motor turned off - or the one designed for tile and hardwood floors. The carpet cleaner does come off; there's a lever you push down on at the base of the nozzel to release it.Gosh, does this vacuum have suction! Great little vacuum. I'd buy another one when this one poops out - but that won't be for another 15 years - if history repeats itself. Thanks CostCo!"
Review 12 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brookport, Illinois
Date:May 14, 2011

I LOVE THIS VACUUM

Pros: great buy
Cons: wish there was an "off" button on the handle, wish costco sold the bags
Model Number: Electrolux Oxygen
"What a great vacuum cleaner! It's easy to handle and has super suction. We have indoor cats and their hair is always a problem but this vacuum makes it easy to remove on the bare floor, carpet, and furniture. It's a great buy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Metro Philadelphia
Date:April 20, 2011

Another great Costco deal

Cons: only thing i wish is that the handle had an on/off
"Its nice to know that not only are the prices always the best, but the prodcuts sold are at the top of the best in class list. If there was any doubt that are Kenmore needed to be replaced, one pass with this new elctorlux proved the point. What a difference."
Review 14 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:April 19, 2011

Canister or upright?

Pros: quiet, light, bags
Cons: cord length
Model Number: Oxygen
"I have never written a product review but felt compelled after using this vacuum. I was raised on a canister but have used an upright for the last 20 years. I find a canister much more versatile than the upright. I have vacuumed furniture, lampshades, the piano with the soft brush attachment that stows just under the handle on the wand. Stairs (carpeted) are much easier. The handle attached to the pole shortens nicely when doing the stairs and the canister is weighted well so it sits on the stairs without bouncing/tumbling down when vacuuming. The vacuum comes with a smooth floor attachment but they did not show a picture of the attachment. My upright was bag less and I like the bags in this model. They provided over 10 bags with the purchase and they included a form in the box of where to purchase more at very reasonable prices (online too). Storing a canister vacuum is harder than an upright, but mine sits on its end in the corner of the closet with the hose and floor attachment connected, I leave the carpet head sitting in a different closet close to the carpeted area of the house. In the end, vacuuming is still a chore, but I enjoy better with this vacuum."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:April 13, 2011

All It Claims To Be

"I had to read the manual a time or two and now I love how this vacuum works! It's very powerful and works well on carpet and floor."
Review 16 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 17, 2011

Awesome little sucker

Pros: automatic cord wind up, fits under furniture, light, multi tool function
Cons: would llike the hose to be a lil longer
Model Number: EL6988
"just purchased yesterday & of course I HAD to try it last night & again this morning....It has EXCELLENT suction! This is my first canister vaccum so I'm still getting use to that part but I am overall impressed! Worked great on my area rugs & regular carpet...I vaccum everyday & always see dog hairs & missed crumbs but not with the electrolux. I think this was a good purchase & with the Costco gaurantee you can't go wrong! I love Costco!"
Review 17 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago IL
Date:February 19, 2011

Truly Awesome Vacuum Cleaner

Pros: lightweight and very strong
Model Number: el6988ezx
"I don't know if one of the previous reviewers was trying to vacuum wet sand or honey or something, but we found this vacuum cleaner to exceed our expectations in many ways. From the telescoping nozzle, to the extra wide hard floor brush, to the extra-capacity dust bags, and the extra strong suction, vacuuming carpets, floors, and dusting was a snap! Well worth the price. Performs great, don't listen to the naysayers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:November 25, 2010

What a great product

Pros: lightweight and easy to use right out of the box
Cons: none at this time
Model Number: EL6988EZ
"Finally received my Electrolux Oxygen Canister Vacuum yesterday after a 20 day shipment error....sorry Costco, you failed on that one...ANYWAY...the product is MORE than I expected. It far surpasses any upright vacuum that I have used. My last upright vacuum also had 12 amps, but certainly did not have the suction as this one does. My carpet actually has fluff again and I was amazed at how much the other vacuum had missed when I checked the bag after the first vacuuming. I would highly recommend this vacuum to anyone looking for a replacement. It is well worth the money and I would have saved in the long run by not buying the uprights that I have in the past. I have stairs in my house and the Electrolux is very lightweight to carry up as I vacuum. GREAT PRODUCT!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:October 31, 2010

A great, quiet vacuum

Pros: quiet
Cons: not as many attachments as i would like
"I love this vacuum. I replaced a Miele with this after the Miele needed expensive repairs. I had planned on another Miele because it's best feature was how quiet it was. I decided to try the Electrolux at half the price and was amazed at how much better it cleaned than the Miele and was as quiet. Great on carpets and bare floors."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:May 10, 2012

A good purchase

Model Number: EL6988 E
"It is easy to handle, and when your in your mid 80's headed for 90. You don't need some real heavy vacuum unit."
1 2 next>>