Customer Reviews for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum

Features: Hygienic Cleaning: Patented s-bag traps the dust for easy disposal. HEPA filtration traps dust and allergens. The Oxygen combines the superior filtration of a HEPA filter with the innovative, self-closing design of an Electrolux s-bag to capture 99.97% of airborne dust and allergens and to prevent dust from escaping back into your home when you change the bag. Superior Versatility: Uninterrupted above-floor cleaning is simple with tools stored in the handle and a telescopic wand. Height adjustment, variable speed controls on the handle and well-crafted tools make cleaning between your carpet and hard floor surfaces easy. Convenient Controls: Carpet and bare floor controls are at your fingertips, and the automatic cord rewind means no bending to wrap and untangle cords. You can quickly switch between carpets and hard floors by controlling the brushroll with controls at your fingertips. Quiet Operations: Using "V" belt technology, the Deep Clean powerhead delivers deep cleaning without the noise. Multi-surface powerhead and height adjustment are also on this vacuum for easy cleaning of bare floors and carpets.    Specifications: Color: Yellow and white   Tools on board: crevice, dusting brush, upholstery tool, barefloor brush   Cord length: 21' with automatic rewind   Hose: telescopic, integrated wand system with LED headlight   Filtration: HEPA H12   Container: Bagged   Dust Capacity: 2 Dry Quarts   Power: 12 amp motor   Canister Dimensions: 12" W x 9.5" D x 18" H   Canister Weight: 13 lbs.   Total parts weight: 22.6 lbs.   UL Listed   2-year limited warranty   Made in Hungary Added value:    5 canister bags- model S-Bag Classic, EL201 For further product related questions please call Electrolux at 1-800-896-9756. Model: EL6988EZX
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
5
27 of 37(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Review 1 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 4, 2010

Some quality issues.

Pros: quiet, long cord, plenty of suction
Cons: poor construction quality, poor powerhead design
Model Number: Electrolux Oxygen
"This is a nice looking and quiet vacuum cleaner. It is not very heavy and has plenty of suction. I like the attachment storage that is built into the hose handle. I also like the design of the bags; when you pull it out of the vacuum, it actually closes the opening of the bag so the dirt and dust doesn’t spill back in to the room.
Now to things that I didn’t like: It has some quality issues; the telescopic wand actually broke before I even got a chance to use the vacuum. It appears that the seal came out of its place and jammed. A quick call to Electolux (they actually attached a label with their phone number right on the vacuum) and they sent me a replacement wand without any problems. The new one is ok for now. I also have concerns with the door that covers the bags. There is no positive lock and all there is just a plastic lip that holds the door close. I don’t know how long it will last. Lastly, the height adjustment on the power head is accomplished by extending 2 small wheels located on the bottom of the power head. These wheels, in my opinion, are placed too close to the middle of the power head, so when you vacuuming thin rug, it actually gets sucked in and gets stock to the power head.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:northern California
Date:August 9, 2011

satisfied customer

Pros: excellent suction, great maneuverability of powerhead and floor brush, quiet, 2 tools store in wand handle, telescopic wand, wide floor brush
Cons: power head seems a little heavy, wimpy hose - will it split at some point??, off button on handle would have been nice, attachments bump out of wand handle easily
Model Number: Electrolux Oxygen canister vacuum
"Very good suction - I think that is why it takes effort to push and pull the power head on a carpet unless it's set to the highest level. Quiet - even my husband remarked on it. The maneuverability of both the power head and the floor brush is excellent, and the wand does lay flat to get underneath chairs etc, despite what another reviewer said. The telescopic wand is handy, and I do like the crevice and brush tool stored in the wand handle although I do tend to knock them out periodically. The wand will stand up on its own when on the power head. Negatives - the hose is very wimpy and can get kinked. You have to be aware of that as you vacuum. The small brush is small compared to the classic round horsehair brush. I miss that design as I think it got into corners better, but it probably has to be this shape to store in the wand handle, which is a plus. My other choice was a Panasonic canister, but this one has good suction and I think is overall a good quality machine. I bought at Costco so I could return it if I was disappointed, but decided this is a keeper. I also just bought the Ergorapido ultra for quick cleanups and I'm very happy with this combination of cleaning tools."
Review 3 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:April 19, 2011

Canister or upright?

Pros: quiet, light, bags
Cons: cord length
Model Number: Oxygen
"I have never written a product review but felt compelled after using this vacuum. I was raised on a canister but have used an upright for the last 20 years. I find a canister much more versatile than the upright. I have vacuumed furniture, lampshades, the piano with the soft brush attachment that stows just under the handle on the wand. Stairs (carpeted) are much easier. The handle attached to the pole shortens nicely when doing the stairs and the canister is weighted well so it sits on the stairs without bouncing/tumbling down when vacuuming. The vacuum comes with a smooth floor attachment but they did not show a picture of the attachment. My upright was bag less and I like the bags in this model. They provided over 10 bags with the purchase and they included a form in the box of where to purchase more at very reasonable prices (online too). Storing a canister vacuum is harder than an upright, but mine sits on its end in the corner of the closet with the hose and floor attachment connected, I leave the carpet head sitting in a different closet close to the carpeted area of the house. In the end, vacuuming is still a chore, but I enjoy better with this vacuum."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:April 7, 2011

better than average, but some isseus

Pros: size, easy to maneuver
Cons: awkward, bag size
"After a lot of research i settled on this Electrolux Oxygen model. Overall I am quite happy with it. There are a lot of nice user friendly features like the swivel brush and compact size. It is VERY easy to maneuver and easily goes under beds and chairs, which is a huge plus for me. I have found the suction is good although it is not good if you ever try to use the carpet (beater bar attachment) on a solid floor. I have mostly hard wood flooring with wool rugs over them so if you try to quickly go over the wood without changing the attachment to the floor attachment, well, don't expect much. With that said, the floor attachment is great, very wide (quite a few inches wider than my last vac) which is nice. One other possible negative is that the bags are VERY small. luckily they give you a lot so I won't have to purchase them for a while (I hope). One last thing i am not crazy about, but not a deal breaker, is that when you have it all put together, it goes not stand up. the weight of the handles and attachments makes the whole thing tip over. You pretty much have to lean it on the floor or against a wall to avoid it tipping over and hitting something."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:August 21, 2011

Great on carpets! Super attahcments!

Pros: the best on carpets, wonderful attachments, great suction
Cons: average on hardwood and tile, the hose should be better quality
Model Number: Oxygen
"This is my second Electrolux. I purchased my first one used and then had it another 10 years. I love the brand! I was afraid that a newer model at an affordable price might not live up to the Electrolux name. I am happy to say it does! This is a great little vacuum. It is the absolute best on carpets. I prefer the canister/bagged style with Hepa filters. Love all the attachements (except the flooring one) I love the dusting attachment and the telescoping handle. The upholstery attachment works great. I did a test with a paper clip. The flooring attachment and the carpet head couldn't pick it up on hardwood. The hardwood/tile attachment has less suction. The other attachments snapped it right up. It also got sucked up on the carpet no problem with the carpet head turned on. The hose is a negative. It is an inferior quality to my old model and can kink if you aren't careful. It also weighs a bit which might be a concern for an older adult. All in all I am delighted with the product. Gotta go....... vacuum!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Redding Ca
Date:September 5, 2012

Too Many Design Flaws

Pros: works great on pet hair, switch to turn the powerhead on/off is on the wand, retractable cord, goes completely flat to get under a bed
Cons: the hose kinks at the base, the attachments clipped to the wand fall off, plastic tab locking head to wand breaks, bags are small need to replace often
Model Number: EL6988EZX
"I really liked this vacuum for the first 9 months I used it. It did a great job on pet hair and was flat enough to get under the bed and couch. Unfortunately it had several design flaws that ultimately forced me to return it to for a refund.
Some of the flaws were; the attachments kept falling off the wand, forcing me to store them in the closet and get them every time I needed them. The hose would kink at the base of the vacuum when turning corners, blocking the suction. The bag was too tiny and requires replacement frequently. The final straw was when the tiny plastic tab that locked the head to the wand broke. The head would no longer lock on to the wand. I actually had to duct tape the head to the wand to continue using the vacuum. I finally returned the vacuum to Costco. Thank you Costco for allow me to return it after 9 months
Bottom Line: For the price of this vacuum, the design flaws are far worse than the pros."
Review 7 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:August 20, 2012

Disappointed

Pros: quiet
Cons: heavy, tiny bag, takes a lot of effort to use, bulky design
Model Number: Oxygen DeepClean EL6988EZ
"Thought this would feel much lighter than our Kenmore Progressive, but it's not. It feels like it weighs about the same -- it's deceptively compact making it appear lighter. The trade off for the compact size is the tiny bag. Our Kenmore actually takes up a smaller footprint because of how the power head hangs instead of laying flat on the floor for storage.
This Oxygen model takes a lot of effort to use. The power head doesn't move easily and the canister base is hard to move even when empty. For a canister vac, it feels unwieldy and bulky, despite the smaller canister base. It seems to vacuum okay on carpet for a bagged HEPA vacuum, but otherwise it was very disappointing.
I purchased this based on the recommendation of how light Oxygens are supposed to be, so it was returned.
It comes with two "high performance" s-bags made of filter fabric (one in the vac) and five classic s-bags made of paper."
Review 8 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lincoln, ca
Date:March 14, 2012

Very Nice Vacuum!

Pros: weight, suction, low noise, lghts on motorized brush head
Cons: cumbersome brush head
Model Number: EL6988EZX
"I've used this vacuum twice since we received delivery a couple weeks ago. So far, I'm impressed! The Electrolux Oxygen is quiet and vacuums well. The canister also isn't too heavy to move around. The motorized brush head however is heavy and sort of tall - such that it barely vacuums under cabinets.
There are additional costs, however, to using a bagged vacuum like this. There are two filters which will require replacing in the future. 1) motor filter Cost is about $13 or less, and 2) hepa filter h12 which costs $15 or less. These filter replacements are in addition to buying disposable bags. (there are differents types of bags offered too, from paper to anti allergy). I think if I use the anti-allergy bags, I shouldn't need to replace the filters as often.
All in all, I'd say this is a very nice vacuum cleaner that seems well made and ready for years of use."
Review 9 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:November 25, 2010

What a great product

Pros: lightweight and easy to use right out of the box
Cons: none at this time
Model Number: EL6988EZ
"Finally received my Electrolux Oxygen Canister Vacuum yesterday after a 20 day shipment error....sorry Costco, you failed on that one...ANYWAY...the product is MORE than I expected. It far surpasses any upright vacuum that I have used. My last upright vacuum also had 12 amps, but certainly did not have the suction as this one does. My carpet actually has fluff again and I was amazed at how much the other vacuum had missed when I checked the bag after the first vacuuming. I would highly recommend this vacuum to anyone looking for a replacement. It is well worth the money and I would have saved in the long run by not buying the uprights that I have in the past. I have stairs in my house and the Electrolux is very lightweight to carry up as I vacuum. GREAT PRODUCT!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgetown, TX
Date:July 21, 2011

Great Vacuum!

Pros: great suction, bag fills completely, easy to change attachements
Cons: can be difficult to maneuver on carpet
Model Number: EL6988
"I purchased this vacuum cleaner about 6 months ago. I wanted to wait awhile before submitting a review. It's the second Electrolux we've owned and this vacuum is great too! I do have to set it to it's highest setting in order to vacuum the rugs and carpets - but who cares! It does a far superior job than the Bosc we had (and returned to Costco). It's great on tile - using either attachment - rug with motor turned off - or the one designed for tile and hardwood floors. The carpet cleaner does come off; there's a lever you push down on at the base of the nozzel to release it.Gosh, does this vacuum have suction! Great little vacuum. I'd buy another one when this one poops out - but that won't be for another 15 years - if history repeats itself. Thanks CostCo!"
Review 11 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southeastern PA
Date:April 15, 2012

Will Costco take this one back?

Pros: high suction with new bag (only).
Cons: hose does not swivel - crimps, brush head does not move., does not work well when bag has any dirt in it., cord is a bit short.
"This vacuum cleaner had good reviews on the Costco website, but after using it for a while, I've decided to give up and look for a better one. Unlike my old vacuum cleaner, the hose on this one does not swivel. It just folds and crimps, cutting off the vacuum flow, whenever I turn. The brush head stays in only one position, rendering it useless for much of the dusting that I like to do with the machine (e.g., baseboards, high spots). With a new bag, it really sucks up all the dirt (and smaller carpets), but when the bag starts to fill, the suction is not very good. The cord is relatively short, so I frequently have to unplug and plug it in again. I would not buy this machine again."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:August 11, 2011

Great vacuum

Pros: small and manageable; great suction
Cons: on/off power switch on handle would be better
Model Number: EL6988
"Bought a month ago. I use this every day to clean my nine month old's play room. My housekeeper cleans the rest of our large house once a week. We both love this machine. It's small and easy to move around. Great suction, unless the bag needs changing, then there's a small drop in suction, but not bad. Bags are small, but a decent size. The power head and floor duster head are slightly larger, which I like. The HEPA filter is so good I can't smell any dust, and my nose is sensitive. Although if the bag is full, I can smell some dust.This replaces a unit I bought several years ago from a major retailer-that machine was never this good anyway."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Aurora, Oregon
Date:February 20, 2012

Just doesn't stack up

Pros: good suction
Cons: poor quality hose that kinks, too large of a machine not easy to maneuver
"I have been an owner of the Miele cannister vacuum for the past 10 years and have loved it. I wanted to find another canister vac that was less expensive for use in my cleaning business. I bought the Electrolux and was quite disappointed. The machine is large and cumbersome, the hose kinks frequently and doesn't spring back into place. You have to move it around quite a bit to get it to go back into place. This is a major downfall as far as I am concerned. It makes for a very frustrating cleaning experience.The only redeeming quality that I can see is the suction is good. I highly recommend the Miele. It is worth the money."
Review 14 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:January 22, 2012

Impressed!!!!

Model Number: el6988ezx
"This purchase was a smart move! I was extremely happy with the performance, how quietly it operates, and the durability. I have gone through 2 Dyson uprights and yeah they worked great for the first 6 months and after that they stopped working well. I'm looking for a machine that will last longer than 6 months. I vacuum alot and want a machine that will last a long time and still work great. I also love the fact that I am able to replace the belt and roller brush if necessary, my self, and not have to pay for it to go to a shop. I am thrilled with this vacuum. Definently worth the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Compton, CA
Date:July 19, 2011

frustrating junk

Pros: bright light
Cons: poor design, flimsy hose, small bag
"Poorly designed, over-priced junk.
Hose is extremely flimsy--when you try to pull the canister around, the hose always kinks at the base where it attaches to the vacuum. There's hose support where it attaches to the wand, but not at the base. ?!
The bags are very small. Especially useless if you have a dog.
You can not lay the wand flat in order to vacuum under tables, sofas, beds etc... The wand has a large, awkward lever near the base that prevents the wand from laying flat or even close to it.
Frustrating purchase that is getting returned to Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:December 17, 2010

Worst suction...dont buy - get the dyson canister

"I did a lot of research and decided on this...luckily I bought it at Costco and they took it back as it was an expensive mistake. Terrible suction for wood / tile floors... carpet suction medicore.
I was used to an Orek and the only reason I did not get the Orek was I wanted a canister and they dont have one.
I bought the Dyson canister and am very very happy. Great on ALL floors..easy to use - I would not hesitate to recommend this.
Thanks to costco for helping us solve mistakes in buying... I am forever a loyal customer."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lehi, Utah
Date:November 1, 2011

Great Vaccum!

Pros: powerful power head, adjustable power bar, quiet motor, compact design, great suction, works well on carpet and hardwood flooring, useful well-designed attachments
Cons: very small bag size, short hose-length, poorly constructed hose
"We have a 2,800 square foot home with three active little boys: 1,400 sf of carpeting, 1,400 sf of wood flooring. This vacuum was a pleasant surprise after our last canister vacuum died. I think at this point, the hose is going to be my biggest problem, as it is poorly constructed (bends/kinks easily, short), but the vacuum works great on both carpet and wood (with proper floor attachment)! I actually enjoy vacuuming again, and my house appears and smells clean."
Review 18 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 17, 2011

Awesome little sucker

Pros: automatic cord wind up, fits under furniture, light, multi tool function
Cons: would llike the hose to be a lil longer
Model Number: EL6988
"just purchased yesterday & of course I HAD to try it last night & again this morning....It has EXCELLENT suction! This is my first canister vaccum so I'm still getting use to that part but I am overall impressed! Worked great on my area rugs & regular carpet...I vaccum everyday & always see dog hairs & missed crumbs but not with the electrolux. I think this was a good purchase & with the Costco gaurantee you can't go wrong! I love Costco!"
Review 19 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago IL
Date:February 19, 2011

Truly Awesome Vacuum Cleaner

Pros: lightweight and very strong
Model Number: el6988ezx
"I don't know if one of the previous reviewers was trying to vacuum wet sand or honey or something, but we found this vacuum cleaner to exceed our expectations in many ways. From the telescoping nozzle, to the extra wide hard floor brush, to the extra-capacity dust bags, and the extra strong suction, vacuuming carpets, floors, and dusting was a snap! Well worth the price. Performs great, don't listen to the naysayers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:January 5, 2011

HIGH PRICE

"It's priced high for what you get.
It does work very well.
As another user pointed out the head is a poor design. The swivel neck broke on ours within a few months of normal use.
It's annoying how you can not just stand the pole up as pictured. They should have made a dock to snap the pole to the body.
It's always in the way when in our home.
All in all a very good vacuum. LED lights are nice. Bag is pretty small.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>