Customer Reviews for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum

Features: Hygienic Cleaning: Patented s-bag traps the dust for easy disposal. HEPA filtration traps dust and allergens. The Oxygen combines the superior filtration of a HEPA filter with the innovative, self-closing design of an Electrolux s-bag to capture 99.97% of airborne dust and allergens and to prevent dust from escaping back into your home when you change the bag. Superior Versatility: Uninterrupted above-floor cleaning is simple with tools stored in the handle and a telescopic wand. Height adjustment, variable speed controls on the handle and well-crafted tools make cleaning between your carpet and hard floor surfaces easy. Convenient Controls: Carpet and bare floor controls are at your fingertips, and the automatic cord rewind means no bending to wrap and untangle cords. You can quickly switch between carpets and hard floors by controlling the brushroll with controls at your fingertips. Quiet Operations: Using "V" belt technology, the Deep Clean powerhead delivers deep cleaning without the noise. Multi-surface powerhead and height adjustment are also on this vacuum for easy cleaning of bare floors and carpets.    Specifications: Color: Yellow and white   Tools on board: crevice, dusting brush, upholstery tool, barefloor brush   Cord length: 21' with automatic rewind   Hose: telescopic, integrated wand system with LED headlight   Filtration: HEPA H12   Container: Bagged   Dust Capacity: 2 Dry Quarts   Power: 12 amp motor   Canister Dimensions: 12" W x 9.5" D x 18" H   Canister Weight: 13 lbs.   Total parts weight: 22.6 lbs.   UL Listed   2-year limited warranty   Made in Hungary Added value:    5 canister bags- model S-Bag Classic, EL201 For further product related questions please call Electrolux at 1-800-896-9756. Model: EL6988EZX
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
5
27 of 37(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Review 1 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:September 14, 2012

Liked it so much, I got a second one!

Pros: excellent cleaning capabilities, easy to maneuver, extra bags, can't praise it enough!
"This canister vacuum is soooo good! It is easy to use, cleans super good and it doesn't hurt my back as upright vacuums do! I don't know why some people didn't like it, but it does everything I want it to do. (Perhaps reading instructions may help people get the best use of it)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Redding Ca
Date:September 5, 2012

Too Many Design Flaws

Pros: works great on pet hair, switch to turn the powerhead on/off is on the wand, retractable cord, goes completely flat to get under a bed
Cons: the hose kinks at the base, the attachments clipped to the wand fall off, plastic tab locking head to wand breaks, bags are small need to replace often
Model Number: EL6988EZX
"I really liked this vacuum for the first 9 months I used it. It did a great job on pet hair and was flat enough to get under the bed and couch. Unfortunately it had several design flaws that ultimately forced me to return it to for a refund.
Some of the flaws were; the attachments kept falling off the wand, forcing me to store them in the closet and get them every time I needed them. The hose would kink at the base of the vacuum when turning corners, blocking the suction. The bag was too tiny and requires replacement frequently. The final straw was when the tiny plastic tab that locked the head to the wand broke. The head would no longer lock on to the wand. I actually had to duct tape the head to the wand to continue using the vacuum. I finally returned the vacuum to Costco. Thank you Costco for allow me to return it after 9 months
Bottom Line: For the price of this vacuum, the design flaws are far worse than the pros."
Review 3 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Columbia, MD
Date:August 30, 2012

Not worth buying

Cons: poorly constructed
Model Number: EL6988EZX
"We purchased our vacuum a few months ago and used it only a handful of times. It stopped working, so we had it repaired under warranty. Used it once more and the suction no longer worked. We are going to have to return it to Costco."
Review 4 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:August 20, 2012

Disappointed

Pros: quiet
Cons: heavy, tiny bag, takes a lot of effort to use, bulky design
Model Number: Oxygen DeepClean EL6988EZ
"Thought this would feel much lighter than our Kenmore Progressive, but it's not. It feels like it weighs about the same -- it's deceptively compact making it appear lighter. The trade off for the compact size is the tiny bag. Our Kenmore actually takes up a smaller footprint because of how the power head hangs instead of laying flat on the floor for storage.
This Oxygen model takes a lot of effort to use. The power head doesn't move easily and the canister base is hard to move even when empty. For a canister vac, it feels unwieldy and bulky, despite the smaller canister base. It seems to vacuum okay on carpet for a bagged HEPA vacuum, but otherwise it was very disappointing.
I purchased this based on the recommendation of how light Oxygens are supposed to be, so it was returned.
It comes with two "high performance" s-bags made of filter fabric (one in the vac) and five classic s-bags made of paper."
Review 5 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:May 10, 2012

A good purchase

Model Number: EL6988 E
"It is easy to handle, and when your in your mid 80's headed for 90. You don't need some real heavy vacuum unit."
Review 6 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southeastern PA
Date:April 15, 2012

Will Costco take this one back?

Pros: high suction with new bag (only).
Cons: hose does not swivel - crimps, brush head does not move., does not work well when bag has any dirt in it., cord is a bit short.
"This vacuum cleaner had good reviews on the Costco website, but after using it for a while, I've decided to give up and look for a better one. Unlike my old vacuum cleaner, the hose on this one does not swivel. It just folds and crimps, cutting off the vacuum flow, whenever I turn. The brush head stays in only one position, rendering it useless for much of the dusting that I like to do with the machine (e.g., baseboards, high spots). With a new bag, it really sucks up all the dirt (and smaller carpets), but when the bag starts to fill, the suction is not very good. The cord is relatively short, so I frequently have to unplug and plug it in again. I would not buy this machine again."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:March 29, 2012

Excellent product

"Gave this vacuum as a gift to newleweds. They love it because it is very efficient, easy to clean, and extremely portable. It's a breeze carrying it up and down 3 floors in a townhouse. I highly recommend this product. I also highly recommend Costco online shopping. They make everything so much easier - and are a trustworthy source of high quality products."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:March 19, 2012

Great vacuum cleaner

"I have only had my vacuum a couple of weeks but after having an extremley heavy upright with no suction, this vacuum is a dream! The suction is great and it is very quiet and easy to carry and guide. I have not had any issues thus far with the hose kinking as other people have. The only complaint I have is the cord could be a little longer."
Review 9 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lincoln, ca
Date:March 14, 2012

Very Nice Vacuum!

Pros: weight, suction, low noise, lghts on motorized brush head
Cons: cumbersome brush head
Model Number: EL6988EZX
"I've used this vacuum twice since we received delivery a couple weeks ago. So far, I'm impressed! The Electrolux Oxygen is quiet and vacuums well. The canister also isn't too heavy to move around. The motorized brush head however is heavy and sort of tall - such that it barely vacuums under cabinets.
There are additional costs, however, to using a bagged vacuum like this. There are two filters which will require replacing in the future. 1) motor filter Cost is about $13 or less, and 2) hepa filter h12 which costs $15 or less. These filter replacements are in addition to buying disposable bags. (there are differents types of bags offered too, from paper to anti allergy). I think if I use the anti-allergy bags, I shouldn't need to replace the filters as often.
All in all, I'd say this is a very nice vacuum cleaner that seems well made and ready for years of use."
Review 10 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Mateo, California
Date:March 2, 2012

Great Little Vacuum cleaner

Pros: lightweight mobile quiet cleans once over
Model Number: EL6988
"Have been using it for over a month. No problems. Good suction power equivalent to a medium Shop Vac. Lightweight enough to carry around. The two attachments are priceless cleaning the walls, windows, drapes, shades, etc. Its been a great little cannister vacuum cleaner with a quiet motor. No complaints. It was a gift to my wife."
Review 11 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 27, 2012

Worst Vacuum Ever

Pros: looks good
Cons: poor choice
Model Number: Oxygen with Hepa Filter
"I usually curse every time I use this vacuum.
1. The cord is three feet too short.
2. It tips completely over just about every
time it is used.
3. The end of the hose has a piece of material which blocks half of the tube. It clogs all the time and is hard to clean out.
4. The machine turn/off switch is easily brushed by the hand and shuts off while vacuuming. Bottom line: Don't buy it!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Aurora, Oregon
Date:February 20, 2012

Just doesn't stack up

Pros: good suction
Cons: poor quality hose that kinks, too large of a machine not easy to maneuver
"I have been an owner of the Miele cannister vacuum for the past 10 years and have loved it. I wanted to find another canister vac that was less expensive for use in my cleaning business. I bought the Electrolux and was quite disappointed. The machine is large and cumbersome, the hose kinks frequently and doesn't spring back into place. You have to move it around quite a bit to get it to go back into place. This is a major downfall as far as I am concerned. It makes for a very frustrating cleaning experience.The only redeeming quality that I can see is the suction is good. I highly recommend the Miele. It is worth the money."
Review 13 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Date:February 17, 2012

Quality in the Name

Pros: quality construction
Cons: hose a little bulky
Model Number: Electrolux Oxygen Cannister #EL6988
"Electrolux is Excellent! What more can you say.. Extreemly well designed. However, somewhat bigger or more bulky than others.
Great suction power and features both in carpet and hardfloor applications. We have over 50% hardwood floors in our home and dog that sheds during 6 months of year. This unit does the job! And it's much quieter than others we searched.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2012

quality has eroded

Pros: vacuums ok
Cons: cord rewind failed right away, hose flimsy, no on-off control on hose handle
Model Number: EL6988
"Vacuums ok; however electric cord rewind failed after 90 days. On-off switch not on hose handle control - just on base canister - major inconvenience from previous model. Vacuum hose is extremely flimsy from previous model - crimps easily . Exhaust air flow is upward hitting you in the face and is obnoxious..Previous model was to the sides/rear and unobtrusive."
Review 15 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:January 22, 2012

Impressed!!!!

Model Number: el6988ezx
"This purchase was a smart move! I was extremely happy with the performance, how quietly it operates, and the durability. I have gone through 2 Dyson uprights and yeah they worked great for the first 6 months and after that they stopped working well. I'm looking for a machine that will last longer than 6 months. I vacuum alot and want a machine that will last a long time and still work great. I also love the fact that I am able to replace the belt and roller brush if necessary, my self, and not have to pay for it to go to a shop. I am thrilled with this vacuum. Definently worth the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:November 7, 2011

Happy with it...however

Pros: very powerful suction.
Cons: hose kinks, have to exchange it after only 6 months
"We love this power of this vacuum. Unfortunately I agree with the cheaply made hose. We have to return (buying another) because the floor attachment is short circuited. It doesn't connect always. I am going to give it another try b/c I love the vacuum so much."
Review 17 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lehi, Utah
Date:November 1, 2011

Great Vaccum!

Pros: powerful power head, adjustable power bar, quiet motor, compact design, great suction, works well on carpet and hardwood flooring, useful well-designed attachments
Cons: very small bag size, short hose-length, poorly constructed hose
"We have a 2,800 square foot home with three active little boys: 1,400 sf of carpeting, 1,400 sf of wood flooring. This vacuum was a pleasant surprise after our last canister vacuum died. I think at this point, the hose is going to be my biggest problem, as it is poorly constructed (bends/kinks easily, short), but the vacuum works great on both carpet and wood (with proper floor attachment)! I actually enjoy vacuuming again, and my house appears and smells clean."
Review 18 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 24, 2011

Love it!!

Pros: lightweight, quiet
"Bought this vaccum based on the reviews I read and they were very accurate. It is easy to use, quieter than most vaccums and does a great job picking up cat hair. I'm very happy with it and would recommend it."
Review 19 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:October 10, 2011

Happy with the Oxygen!

Pros: lightweight, quiet, powerful, extra bags
Model Number: EL6988EZ
"I'm pleased with my recent purchase of the Electrolux Oxygen. It's quiet, yet powerful. Setup was a breeze. The bonus S-Bags added to the overall value."
Review 20 for Electrolux® Oxygen® Bagged Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2011

Awful!!!!

Pros: none
Cons: everything
"Don't know how this has 4 stars! Hose kinks and broke after 3 mos. Called company for a replacement. New one already kinking. Short power cord. Cheap attachments. Small bags. Has decent suction, but that's it. Returning this today."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>