Customer Reviews for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac

Handheld Vacuum with 7 Attachments
Average Customer Rating:
3.578 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
7
1 star
8
30 of 45(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Review 1 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:October 8, 2011

Not Worth It

"This vacuum finally quit on me before turning 1 year old. This was actually a blessing, as I should have taken it back long ago. The sucking power (compared to my $50 Hoover) was a joke - leaving behind visible debris. Also, Not having the hose attachment was a bigger pain than I anticipated, especially since the handheld vac that comes also had little to no power, and this vacuum leaves several inches in corners and edges. Don't waste your time with this one."
Review 2 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:September 16, 2011

My 3rd Oreck

Pros: light, great for allergies
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro® Plus II
"I love oreck. This is the 3rd one I purchase, because I give them away to my friends/family then purchase a new one. They clean like no other vacuum. Will never buy anything else again but Oreck. I even bought one for work."
Review 3 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Flower Mound, TX
Date:September 15, 2011

Vacuum screeches

"The upright vacuum makes a very loud whining sound during use. Vacuuming is painful enough without the vacuum screaming at you the entire time. Otherwise good. Went together well. Not too hard to push even with a wrist injury. Guess you can use it with earplugs but I returned it immediately. Did not get a chance to try the handheld so don't know about it."
Review 4 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2011

No better than a toy!

Pros: lightweight, good for hardwood floors only
Cons: doesn't work on carpet, expensive
"This vacuum is the biggest waste of $300 I've ever spent! Has very little sucking power, must make two-three passes on hardwood floors to pick up crumbs. The machine had a hard time on carpet- the real reason I bought it- and does not do corners or along baseboards well. The handy pockets that hold all attachments are on the upright vacuum, great, except you can only use them with the handheld vac. I will be taking this back to Costco today!!"
Review 5 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2011

Don't waste your time!

"I bought this vacuum about 6 months ago, since then I have had to replace the belt about 6 times! The belt breaks constantly and there is usually a burning smell coming from the vacuum. This is the WORST vacuum I have ever owned. I am extremely disappointed! I will be returning it and getting a dyson."
Review 6 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2011

Great buy - awesome vacuum!

Pros: easy to push no gimmicks works well
Cons: smaller size - longer to vacuum large rooms
"We have 4 kids and we see a lot of traffic. We also have relatively thick carpet that is at least an inch tall. This vacuum works great on our tall carpet and is super light. I don't know why people are claiming it is hard to push. It is not as wide as most vacuums so it does take a few minutes longer to vacuum a large room. I love the additional handheld vac with all the accessories. It's great for the kids to walk around and vacuum windows, blinds, and hard to reach places. Haven't had any problems and it has already seen heavy use in the 1 month of ownership. The warranty is great in case I ever need it. For the price, you can't beat it!"
Review 7 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lake Charles, LA
Date:September 2, 2011

Worst vacuum I've ever owned!

"We purchased this vacuum because several people we know own it. It took me about five minutes to realize this is the worst vacuum I've ever owned. Okay, I admit it's light. But that is the ONLY good thing. Here are just a few of the bad things: 1) it is hard to push, 2) it's not adjustable, 3) it has no attachments, 4) it is very narrow so you barely cover much carpet per push, and most importantly, 5) after only three months the motor is smelling like it is burned out. Very poor performance for the price. And don't be fooled by the hand held that comes with it. This is essentially worstless. I think my old dust buster worked better. So I've spent way too much money and am ready to throw it away. DON'T BE FOOLED BY THE HYPE. Buy something else."
Review 8 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:August 6, 2011

doesn't work on my carpet

"We have fairly low 1/2 inch carpet, a dog and a 6 month old, so I vacuum weekly.
This vacuum is hard to push on my fairly low carpet - have NEVER experienced this before with any other vacuum. It is lightweight which means it's easy to carry from one room to another, but is very cumbersome with vacuuming - it does not glide easily over my carpet.
Also, it doesn't seem to pick up the pet hair. After I am done vacuuming, my husband still thinks the carpet is dirty - I've checked the vacuum - nothing is clogged, the roller is spinning, the tubes are clear, but the bag is not filling up with dirt.
I will be returning this to Costco and buying a different brand."
Review 9 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:August 6, 2011

Lightweight

Cons: doesn't work well w/berber carpet
"I purchased this vac because of a recommendation from a pro cleaner. I am very pleased with how light weight it is and the fact that the arm is taller so I don't have to bend at the waist to push it. Handheld works great on my stairs. I like it much better than the Hoover self-propelled I purchased 2 yrs. ago."
Review 10 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2011
"Terrible vacuum. Extremely hard to push and even harder to pull back. Bumps along as you pull it back. Doesn't go in a straight line as you try to vacuum. Returned it and got a Shark Navigator. What a difference!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 2, 2011

EXCELLENT VACUMN

Pros: everything
Model Number: Oreck Pilot or XL Pro.
"I read thru the reviews for the Oreck XL Pro.
There are two negative reviews. I read them both. The problems they were having aren't from using an Oreck.
These vacumns are fantastic! I demonstrated them at a well known Retailer in Washington State. I would NEVER buy any other vacumn. The only thing I saw that the Oreck could not handle was an extremely thick nappy shag, I'm talking 2"-3" deep carpet. No vacumns worked on it.
I absolutely LOVE this vacumn. I would never tell anyone not too buy it. Lasts for decades, not years or months.
"
Review 12 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, IN
Date:June 28, 2011

Works Well on Pet Hair

Pros: long cord, picks up animal hair, lightweight
Cons: narrow width
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus II Vacuum System
"We have two large dogs and two cats (all mostly indoors). Our husky is blowing his winter coat, and my two Kenmores weren't keeping up. Considered a Rainbow but ultimately just couldn't justify the pricetag. The Oreck is light enough to carry up and down stairs, and the suction is great. It is more difficult to push and pull over medium-pile carpet, but it is lighter than my Kenmores so it all evens out. I like the fact that I can use on carpet and tile and the vacuum works equally well on both. The only negative I can see is the overall unit is narrow and requires more passes. Haven't tried the small vacuum yet."
Review 13 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011

Love Them Both

Pros: ver lightweight, handheld good on hard floors
"I bought this Oreck combo for my summer home. I bought my first pair 6 months ago. I love them both. The handheald with shoulder strap is perfect for all my hardwood floors and bathrooms too. The upright is so light and manuverable. I have deep pile carpet in one home and berber in the other. It's great on both. I don't know what the other reviewers are talking about."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clemmons, NC
Date:June 3, 2011

great vacuum

Model Number: Oreck xl pro II
"After years of using a canister type vacuum, I decided to give the Oreck a try and it is great. Light weight and cleans well.
Love the small unit for steps too!
"
Review 15 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:June 1, 2011

Amazing Vaccum

Pros: light weight and easy to maneuver, picks up everything including heavy dog hair, years supply of bags, extremely well made, great bonus hand vac
Cons: none
"Just ordered my first Oreck Vaccum and I wish I would have done so years ago. Not only is it much lighter and much less bulky (fits under small chairs and corners easily) than my Dirt Devil Duel Bagless. But it also really picks up the dirt. I rarely had to go over a spot to pick something up twice. And I have two Chow Chows and it picked up all their hair easily too! My Dirt Devil Duel Bagless said it was for pets but it took several passes to pick any hair up and often it didn't pick the hair up! The Oreck also picked up great around the edges. And I don't know why I saw so many poor reviews for the Hand Vac. It worked just fine for a Hand Vac (it's more like a Hand Held Cannister Vac). Good suction and the suction powered beater brush was more than adequate for my carpeted stairs. And the years supply of bags for both the Oreck and the Hand Vac was a great extra value. And best of all, no cheap plastic used in the Oreck design. The plastic parts used appear to be very durable unlike my Dirt Devil Duel Bagless. And lastly it was so easy to use (almost effortless compared to other Vaccums). I vaccumed my whole 2K sq ft house at one time. WIth my Dirt Devil Bagless, 1/3 of the house at a time was all I could stand at one time. BUY THIS THING! The $100 extra you'll pay over a Hoover, Dirt Devil, etc is so well worth it!"
Review 16 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:central new jersey
Date:May 31, 2011

ugh

"I just purchased this vac... it does a good job picking up, but I find it very difficult to push on carpet...
Right now I plan to returned it to the store after I try it once again... I'm five feet tall, my husband a little over six feet... he found it just as difficult to push while using it...
Perhaps there is a self propelled model... this I will look into...
"
Review 17 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:jax. florida
Date:May 31, 2011

wonderful purchase!!

"i really really love the hand canister the best!!! i have 4 kids and 2 animals....its great for everyday hardwood and tile clean up...the stand up vac. is great for carpet and a day for cleaning!!! I LOVE LOVE IT!!!!"
Review 18 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2011

Great Value

"I am very happy with this purchase. The upright comes with a long cord and a lot of large bags. The headlight is a great feature and the vacuum is very light weight. The upright drags a little on my carpets, and I have low pile carpeting. The handheld has a lot of power and comes with plenty of extra tools and bags. If you are looking for a light weight vacuum, and a handheld for all your other vacuuming needs you will be very pleased with this duo."
Review 19 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2011

Best Vacuum Out There!

"We've had this vacuum for two days now. We have high pile carpet and two dogs that shed. It has done an amazing job picking up all the dust and dog hair. Love this vacuum. It's very light weight and easy to pick up. It's a little difficult to push because of how much suction the vacuum gets but I can't complain about that. It's doing a terrific job. It's quiet too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:May 12, 2011

ORECK vacuums

Pros: none
Model Number: U4140HHPKCOST
"Worst vacuum I have ever used. Only Costco purchase I have ever regretted. Bought Oreck vacuum at Costco about 2 years ago, despite bad reviews I had read, relying on Costco never to offer anything but the best.
Oreck upright does not run smoothly over tight low pile -- have to shove and pull back constantly. There is no height adjustment. Cannot believe it would function on a deep pile or shag carpet at all. It only runs smoothly on a bare floor!
Oreck portable is just plain junk -- parts (wands, nozzles, etc.) fall apart constantly when in use.
Would to return it, if Costco would accept it.
"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>