Customer Reviews for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac

Handheld Vacuum with 7 Attachments
Average Customer Rating:
3.578 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
7
1 star
8
30 of 45(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Review 1 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago IL
Date:January 10, 2011

Excellent Vacuum

Model Number: XL Pro Plus
"I'll concur with most of the comments here. The Oreck is lightweight, easy to use, and does a great job of cleaning. It's far better to use a vacuum with disposable bags, rather than a bagless, which inevitably reintroduces dirt to your home.
Given the performance, the prices at Costco make the Oreck a bargain. However, I will agree with those who note that it can be hard to push an Oreck XL on carpet. If you lower the handle, the resistance dimishes, but they've made some change in the past year or two that creates this issue; I had an older Oreck that worked as well and was not difficult on carpet. This issue is the only one that keeps me from giving the Oreck a perfect five-star rating.
Which brings me to one more very important point. The Oreck that this one replaced was probably 15 or more years old. I bought it used and abused it for several years, ultimately selling it because I had broken the handle and wanted something newer. Orecks last forever!"
Review 2 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2010

Best vacuum I ever owned!

Pros: super light weight, very powerful suction, folds flat to get under beds tables etc., comes with great warranty
Cons: wish shoulder vac had 2 straps like a backpack
"I've had my Orek XL for 10 months now and I still love it! It is so light and easy to move that I talked my mom into buying one for herself.
It weighs so much less than other vacuums that I actually don't mind vacuuming now, whereas before I absolutely hated vacuuming. Next time you're at the Costco warehouse, pick up the Oreck and then another upright and you'll see what I mean
Before my Oreck I had several different heavy, clunky uprights which spit dirt right back out on wood or tile. The brushes on the Oreck don't let this happen.
It also fold flat to get under coffee tables, bed, etc. which is a plus and it has a great filtration system.
The previous review mentions it is hard to push. I believe the reason for that is on thick pile like shags, the suction is so strong that you do have to push it. If it was easy to push on thick carpet, you wouldn't have any suction and all that dirt would stay in your carpet. On lower piles such as berber and oriental rugs or tight weave carpets, it pushes easier.
On wood and tile floors it's incredibly light and if you stand it upright, it will propel itself across the floor.
My Oreck came with a small shoulder vacuum that I use to clean baseboards, ceiling fans, drapery, cobwebs, etc. Although I don't care for the design of this extra vacuum because it has one webbed strap which makes it flop around when I raiser or lower my arms, but it works great and I'm glad I have it.
I only wish they had made this shoulder vac with more of a backpack design like the professionals use with two straps so that it hangs off your back instead of your side. Come to think of it, I should try to modify mine with old backpack straps.
I did have a part that that broke inside the bag and they shipped me a new one.
You can't beat the two year warranty, 2 packs of bags, and the extra shoulder vacuum."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 19, 2011

Best vacuum I have ever owned

Pros: lightweight.simple no frills designsolidly made
Cons: none that i can see
"Got it yesterday. Nice design and features. Well made. Best job vacuuming .Lightweight and easy to use.Just a good solid vacuum. None of those cheap looking colored plastic knobs like alot of other current brands. I don't like the bag less ones anymore . This seems like more of a return to basics.I just wonder how many of the people who give things negative reviews just don't take care of their appliances and do proper maintenance. This vacuum comes with extra bags,belts and filters and 2 free checkups and maintenance for the first two years at a local Oreck store.There's a certificate that comes in the box for Costo members since this model seems as if it is made specifically for Costco to sell. The vacuum is light weight enough to do stairs that other heavier vacuums cant do and for corners and other locations the powerful canister model that comes along with this in the box does a great job. Hopefully in a few years I will have the same opinion of this purchase as I do right now and from what I have heard about Oreck I probably will."
Review 4 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2011

THE BEST EVER COMBO

Pros: convenient for hard flooring, comes with alot of bags, strong suction, convenient for carpet, easy for stairs and furniture
Cons: none so far
Model Number: oreck xl pro II with handheld
"This is the solution!!! I have mixed flooring throughout my house and have tried canister and upright vacuums. This is the perfect answer for hard floors and carpet!!! Trust me I have tried them all hoping to save money and find a solution.
The hand held vacuum is powerful and CONVENIENT. No more sweeping or lugging a canister vacuum behind me. I keep it handy and vacuum the hard floors, stairs, and furniture.
The upright is powerful and I have no complaints
Invest the dollars in this combo.
You can't save the earth by going bagless. You will end up filling the landfills with vacuums. Bagless vacuums do NOT last as long!!!
I will update this if I have ANY negative issues"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:November 18, 2010

Have I become Felix Unger?

Pros: both are bagged, not too noisy, automatically adjusts to floor depth, no button to unlock handle, cleans!, can use handheld on floors, stocked at the store
Cons: attachment holder is worthless, not one machine (but that might not be a con)
Model Number: U4180HHPDCOST
"I'm not a neat freak by any means, but I have to admit that even I was getting grossed out by how poorly my vacuum was working. For years I've wanted to get an Oreck, but Mom kept steering me away from them--why buy something so expensive? She wasn't a slob, but didn't want to see me go into debt for a vacuum.
Well, let me tell you. One sweep, and my couch looks 100 times better. Worth the price right there. Why didn't I get an Oreck when I had cats??
I really didn't want or need two products, and am considering returning these for one of their smaller and cheaper models. However, the plus for both of these is that they are both bagged. I once had a bagless vac and found it to be the biggest waste of time to clean up only to dump half the dirt out again emptying the machine. Totally gross.
When I skimmed all the literature, I didn't see that the handheld is bagged--it is. And, it has a filter. And, it comes with a turbo brush, which is extra with at least one of the other models. You can use the turbo brush on carpet. I used it on my couch, too, as the upholstery brush is hard to move because the suction is so good.
If I could, I would just keep the little guy and return the big one. But Costco is closer to me than an Oreck dealer and this is what they had . . . and I'm sure having both will be awfully convenient in the long run . . . Having two machines does reduce the weight on the upright and makes it easier to get under the bed.
Someone commented that the upright is hard to move over carpet. It can be, but I found that if you change direction and/or hold the handle lower, it moves with ease. That didn't work with my old machine, which didn't move easily over the carpet and didn't clean. Go figure. This one at least cleans it, too. Of course, if you have a lot of carpet, you may want to consider another model.
Most likely, I won't return these despite the cost, and the fact that they come with so many extra supplies, I don't know where I'll store it all. But having a vacuum that doesn't make my ears ring (it's not super quiet, but my old machine really did cause me to loose hearing), whose hose doesn't fall out, that is light (which I didn't think mattered), that automatically adjusts to floors, whose handle releases without pushing a button, and that does more than push dust bunnies under my bed--is kind of nice. It actually helped clean up my grumpy, morose, grieving mood, too. A vacuum? Scary, huh.
One thing I don't like is the attachment holder is totally worthless. But, my place is small enough that walking to another room to grab another attachment piece is no big deal. For me, it's definitely not worth removing a star.
I hope that after time, the machines retain their quality and my review remains positive."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Redwood City, Ca.
Date:February 24, 2011

terrible, not worth the money

Pros: light weight and made in the usa
Model Number: Orek XL Pro
"Very difficult to move on any pile carpet, except low berber. The small vacuum did not even pick up small shards of glass from a plate I broke, I had to constantly remove the head from the hose and pick up itmes using the hose end only. The electrical cord and hose were too short. The carpet unit was almost impossible to move on anything but berber carpet. We have a dog and after three or four uses the vacuum emitted a terrible dog smell. The bag was not even 10% full and our house smelled like dirty dog after each use. Too bad, I really wanted to buy USA"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Truckee, CA
Date:January 30, 2011

Great vacuum, great value MADE IN USA

Pros: made in america, super light weight, great suction
Cons: none found so far
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus II
"First let me say that we love the fact that this product is made in the USA, that was a hugh plus from the get go!
We were a little sceptical from all of the reviews, but thought what the heck we're purchasing it from our favorite store (Costco) if we don't like it, we can just return it.
No need for that as we love it so far.
This is the first vacuum we have owned that doesn't have the all in one hose thingy on the vacuum. Having two different vacuums (the upright & the little hand held) to accomplish all of my needs is perfect...and keeps the units to an amazing light weight & manageable pair. We think our other vacuum weighs 4 times what these combined do.
We have hardwood floors, tight woven wool room rugs upstairs and medium height carpet on the stairs and the whole lower part of the house. The upright vacuum worked excellant transitioning from one surface to the other.
Excellant on our stairs and fit perfect under the beds...that was a hugh bonus right there being able to vacuum under the beds without moving them! And being a little narrower than other vacuums it fits between things nicely.
And it didn't break my back like all the other vacuums we have owned taking it up and down the stairs and using it to vacuum the stairs.
The hand held is why we only gave it 4 stars instead of 5. It keeps falling onto its side, it never stayed upright when you weren't holding on to it.
If they had built it more square instead of rectangular we think it would be a little less frustrating to use. (It's top heavy.)
The suction on both units is excellant in picking by the dust, dirt and lint. We're between dogs right now so we couldn't test it on animal hair, but everything so far tells me it will do excellant on pet hair as well.
Didn't think the noise was bad at all, we owned a dirt devil at one time and I had to wear protective ear gear using that thing, it was really loud. My husband always laughed at me over that, but I need to protect my hearing.
I always thought we couldn't afford a Oreck, but what a great price for the value. You get a great product made in the USA, a bunch of extra vaccum bags, extra belt and lots of great accessories.
I'll definately vacuum the stairs more often and under the beds every time I vacuum the bedrooms because it works that great and that easy!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011

Love Them Both

Pros: ver lightweight, handheld good on hard floors
"I bought this Oreck combo for my summer home. I bought my first pair 6 months ago. I love them both. The handheald with shoulder strap is perfect for all my hardwood floors and bathrooms too. The upright is so light and manuverable. I have deep pile carpet in one home and berber in the other. It's great on both. I don't know what the other reviewers are talking about."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Apple Valley, CA
Date:November 3, 2010

Easy to operate

"I returned my Bissell Animal because it stopped "picking up" and exchanged it for this Oreck. I find it very easy to operate, push and pull, yes it doesn't self propel but it's very light. I miss the on-board hose but overall really like it, it does an excellent job cleaning after my 20 mo. twin boys, 2 cats and 2 dogs."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:January 26, 2011

Second one

Pros: has a bright light
Cons: better as a flashlight than a vacuum, does not pick up dirt at edges of room, hard to push, loud, unpleasant smell
"Had an older Oreck that was lighter and easier to use. The newer version is difficult to push on a low pile carpet, extremely loud, and does not pick up larger pieces of dirt (eg sunflower seed shells) unluss direct overhead. You really heed another vacuum for the room's perimeter.
Have not tried the hand held vacuum.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:March 18, 2011

4 1/2 stars!

"We bought this after our cheap Bissel fell apart. It's a light vacuum and easy to use. My 4 year old can even handle it without issue. My husband stated upon first use, "It's a nimble little thing!" and ended up vacuuming the entire upstairs for me. :-)
I like that the carry vac is separate. It makes vacuuming our van much easier. We have 3 children, 5 year old and under, and 2 medium hair cats and this vacuum does a wonderful job.
We have low carpet and it does great on the carpet and on hard floors. It's the first vac. I've found that vacuums hard floors without spitting litter everywhere.
I didn't give it a 5 star rating b/c I can see how having a carpet level adjuster would be useful for higher carpets.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:steeler country
Date:April 17, 2011

oreck sweeper

Pros: vacuums well & is lightweight
Cons: none
Model Number: above
"Sent this sweeper to my sister in AZ, cause she has a bad back. I have this sweeper, and love it. Her 2 teenage sons put in together in a heartbeat, and have NOT stopped using it. I get messages from the family how much they LOVE it, and it is made in USA !!! .
I love my Costco too !!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:S.F. Bay Area
Date:January 16, 2011

Great Purchase

Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus II Vacuum System
"My highly rated Eureka stopped working so I replaced it with the Oreck. I am thrilled with my purchase. This upright Oreck is only 9 pounds and has good suction, so I can vacuum much faster and with less effort. Due to the ease of use, I find myself vacuuming more often. Also the slightly smaller width allows me to vacuum under dining room chars and coffee tables without moving them every time I vacuum. In addition this vacuum edges better than my old vacuum, which means it cleans right up to the baseboards. I have low to medium pile carpet and it works great for me. The suction is probably good to very good, which is good enough for me since I am vacuuming more often. With 2 cats I need to vacuum often!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Martinez, CA
Date:February 14, 2011

Happy with my purchase

Pros: lightweight, great suction, made in usa, great warranty, great price
Cons: a little noisy
"I researched several different brands before deciding on this one and am very happy with my purchase. With a 2 story home & a 100 lb. Golden Retreiver I wanted something lightweight so I could easily carry up & down the stairs, but also wanted enough suction for the dog hair. I highly recommend this vacuum. We had a bagless vacuum before this one & had lots of issues with suction and dust/dog hair getting all over when emptying it. I love that this one has bags (comes with a year supply). They are pretty inexpensive and have helped with my allergies. The smaller handheld vacuum is great for stairs, under kitchen cabinets, base boards or cleaning the car."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cheshire, CT
Date:December 26, 2010

Good on hard floors but jet plane noise

Pros: great on hard floors, lightweight
Cons: very loud, difficult on carpet
Model Number: U4140HHPKCOST
"There are a few good things about this package. The vacuum is lightweight. It is great on hard floors - the little side brushes clean right up to the baseboard. It also does a nice job on berber or very low pile carpet/rugs. The handheld vacuum is nice for vacuuming stairs or your car.
HOWEVER, the vacuum is extremely loud compared to other vacuums we've had. If you're in the same room or even the next room you cannot hear a thing besides the vacuum (we probably should be wearing earplugs).
It is terrible on carpet with any amount of pile. If you've pulled the vacuum next to your feet/body and you're trying to push away, the vacuum gets stuck in the carpet and you have to use two hands just to get it moving (40 yr old man).
I would have brought this back but my wife does not believe in bringing something back that we've used and isn't broken.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pasco, WA
Date:April 3, 2011

Awesome Vacuums

Pros: nice long durable cords on both vacuums., quiet, comes with several vacuum bags for both machines.
Cons: none
"With this one purchase I am able to replace 3 other machines! It's so lightweight but the suction is incredible. I vacuumed a floor rug today that I thought was destined for the garbage and it came out looking brand new. It got out all the cat hair that my old vacuum could not even touch. It goes under the bed and is narrow enough to go under my kitchen chairs. The Oreck website has just the handheld vac at $150 so you can't go wrong with this deal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:May 12, 2011

ORECK vacuums

Pros: none
Model Number: U4140HHPKCOST
"Worst vacuum I have ever used. Only Costco purchase I have ever regretted. Bought Oreck vacuum at Costco about 2 years ago, despite bad reviews I had read, relying on Costco never to offer anything but the best.
Oreck upright does not run smoothly over tight low pile -- have to shove and pull back constantly. There is no height adjustment. Cannot believe it would function on a deep pile or shag carpet at all. It only runs smoothly on a bare floor!
Oreck portable is just plain junk -- parts (wands, nozzles, etc.) fall apart constantly when in use.
Would to return it, if Costco would accept it.
"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Costco, New Jersey
Date:January 12, 2011

good price, works well

Pros: lightweightgood suction, good price
Cons: handheld awkward
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus II
"I have had an electrolux for 30 yearsi. After repairing it 4 times I needed a new one quick. We just tried this vacuum. It works well. It is not self propelled. The brushes probably need adjusting. Picked up a lot more than my old vacuum. Very light. Handheld does a good job but is cumbersome to use. The hose is not long enough and you need to carry it around to reach certain places."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2011

Best Vacuum Out There!

"We've had this vacuum for two days now. We have high pile carpet and two dogs that shed. It has done an amazing job picking up all the dust and dog hair. Love this vacuum. It's very light weight and easy to pick up. It's a little difficult to push because of how much suction the vacuum gets but I can't complain about that. It's doing a terrific job. It's quiet too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Oreck XL Pro® Plus II Vacuum System with Ultimate Handheld Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2010

Spotlessly clean

Pros: good vacuum cleaner
Cons: none at all
"Works good. Spotlessly cleans up trickiest corners of the room too. Good system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>