Customer Reviews for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine

77 Stitch Functions Based on 40 Unique Stitches Used in Various Applications
Average Customer Rating:
4.955 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
(out of 22 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2011

Excellent machine for the price

Pros: easy to thread, easy to learn how to use, great price
Model Number: XR 4040
"After being disappointed with a couple of very expensive sewing machines, I decided to give this one a try. The expensive ones don't last as long as expected, then they have to go to the shop for expensive repairs. I'm really pleased with how well this one sews! It powers right through thick fabrics, it's easy to thread, easy to use, and does everything I want to do. It's a great basic machine, and the price is sure right!"
Review 2 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New york
Date:October 18, 2011

My new toy

Pros: easy to use
"I was like a kid in the cany store when my sewing machine arrived. I shoved everything off the table to station my new toy on it's pedestal. I love it."
Review 3 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:October 17, 2011

Recommend!

Pros: so far the machine works flawlessly
Cons: none
Model Number: XR4040
"So far, I like everything about this machine, especially the price. Easy to wind the bobbin, easy to thread, easy to sew, easy to change the presser feet. I'm relearning to sew and this machine makes it fun!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2011

Fantastic Machine

Pros: has everything you need.
Model Number: Brother® XR4040 77
"I was not prepared for how much I was going to love this machine. It is so simple to use. I mean truly simple and it does so very much. It should cost double what I paid for it ~ but don't tell Costco that! You will love it! Guaranteed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverton, UT
Date:August 26, 2011

Great first machine!

Pros: easy to use, great price, great features
"I just received my machine and I already Love it! It was easy to start sewing right out of the box. I am new to sewing so I don't know if I'm missing anything, but so far I have been able to do everything I've wanted."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:McGuire AFB, NJ
Date:August 25, 2011

Tremendous Value

"What a wonderful surprise .. this machine has so many features it's truly a great value for the money. I purchased it specifically as a back-up to my Babylock Ellegante .. I needed something lightweight to take to classes .. This machine has filled the bill and SO much more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Owings, MD
Date:August 24, 2011

Good purchase

Pros: easy set up
Model Number: XR4040
"Let me start the review by stating that I have not really used the sewing machine yet (and I haven't sewed in 15 years!) I was intimidated to set it up, but it was so easy and user friendly! I did a couple test stitches on paper and it turned out great. I can't wait to buy fabric and actually start crafting!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston,TX
Date:August 15, 2011

intelligent sewing machine

Model Number: Brother XR4040
"it is very intelligent sewing machine with a lot of different functions, easy to operate, I love it!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2011

Great buy

"Purchased this for my daughter who is just starting to sew. It works very well and she loves all the different types of stitching she can do!"
Review 10 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County CA
Date:August 14, 2011

I LOVE it!!

Pros: lightweight, self threading, computerized, intelligent
Cons: no backlight on lcd
Model Number: XR4040
"After two frustrating hours with my mom's old Kenmore (circa 1976), with bunched and knotted thread, breaking a needle and fiddling with all of the settings, I gave up and ordered this machine based on the reviews listed. This thing is great. I sewed on a button WITH A SEWING MACHINE! And, I mended a shirt with an overcast stitch that looks like the stitching from the factory. I can't wait to use this machine again! If you're debating whether or not to buy it, DON'T. JUST DO IT, especially considering the 25 year warranty and Costco's awesome return policy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Arkansas
Date:August 10, 2011

New to the Brother Brand

Model Number: XR4040 77
"I'm an old Singer fan but bought this Brother because it was inexpensive and convenient. I haven't actually sewn anything with it yet but have finally figured out how to operate it. It really is as simple as they say but I had difficulty figuring out some things because I was "over-thinking" it...and I was concerned about how "plasticky" it is constructed but now I don't see that as a problem although one does need to follow the instructions about handling it. I don't think it's a good idea to force or use a lot of pressure on the plastic levers, etc. I'm looking forward to making slipcovers with it now and think I'll really enjoy the machine."
Review 12 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 9, 2011

Can't go wrong with this one

Pros: very good intruction/owner's manual, easy to set up and use, lots of features for the price, everything you need to sew but thread & scissors
Cons: some plastic parts seem a bit flimsy
Model Number: XR4040
"I'm a seasoned home improvement guy and needed to repair some upholstery on a large sectional. I have never sewn using a machine, but after an evening with the comprehensive and easy to use owner's manual, I was stitching up a storm. It's my new favorite "tool.""
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:August 8, 2011

Great machine. Great Price

Pros: perfect stitches
Cons: no dvd instructions
Model Number: XR-4040
"Very versatile machine. Stitches are very even and precise. Buttonhole attachment makes it worth buying the machine. So easy to use and the buttonholes turn out beautiful.. Wish there was a DVD to explain how to use the machine and you must consult the owners manual often to use all the stitches. But other than that I would highly reccomend this machine"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Oregon
Date:August 3, 2011

Great Purchase

Pros: great beginner machine, easy to operate, very reasonable price
Cons: sorry nothing bad to say about this machine
Model Number: XR4040
"I bought one of these machines for two of my grand daughters and they loved them. It was their first machine and they are learning to sew and it's perfect. Now, this one is the same as theirs only a newer model but the same with a different outward appearance but the mechanisms are the same and at the same sale price. I will be buying another one for my youngest grand daughter when she is ready for it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 8, 2011

keeps me in stitches

Pros: excellent directions/guide, affordable
Model Number: XR4040
"I love my new machine! It is easy to work and came with numerous options. I have never been a seamstress, and I was worried that it would be complicated and difficult to operate, but it is not! I was able to purchase a quarter inch piecing food and a quilting foot. The feed dogs drop and I am able to stipple my first quilt! I am very pleased!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 30, 2011

Wow!! This machine makes me WANT to sew!!

Pros: simple to use, great for beginner with room to grow
Cons: accessory storage poorly designed
Model Number: XR 4040
"I was very skeptical about sewing machines when I bought this. I got it based on Costco's fabulous return policy. I figured if I hated it, I could easily return it. Wow, I really love this machine. It is making me actually WANT to sew!!
I'm a beginning sewer with my only formal learning in high school sewing .. a long long time ago. I've got the basics. This machine takes my sewing up a notch to easy button holing; machine sewing buttons; blind hems (still practicing) and overcasting. I LOVE IT!!! I can actually sew!!!! (and even like it). I've tried & practiced those stiches & have fun at it. I'm still working on the blind hem, but the machine makes it simple & fun!
Love the computerized stiching instructions. It tells me what foot to use, automatically sets basic tensions (yay, no birds nests knots like with my old Singer) and is fully adjustable.
The variety of stiches is ideal. More than I'll use & need, but love the luxury.
I paid the extra over the manual Brother one notch cheaper (on Costco) because I figured the extra feet would be handy. They sure are. I've used them all just practicing a few basics.
I didn't think I'd use it, but I love the automatic threader & the easy pop in bobbin feature.
It's simple to thread & use. I'm very happy
My gramma sewed on a vintage Singer, my grandpa (a shoemaker) sewed on a vintage PEDAL Singer & my mom sews on a 1980's Singer. I figured that's the way to go. I had a 10 year old Singer machine I also bought at Costco & HATED it from the day I got it. Switching to Brother was a BIG deal for me that I don't regret for a second!"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westlake Village, CA
Date:December 23, 2010

Beats Singer on all counts

Pros: quality construction, helpful manual
Model Number: XR4040
"I recently bought the Singer Brilliance that Costco had with coupon .. hated it in every way .. then returned it and bought this one when they had a coupon for it. WHAT A DIFFERENCE. The Brother is so much better quality... sturdy construction .. features more user friendly .. AND the manual is SO much easier to read and get into your sewing projects faster."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:lemoore ,ca
Date:December 23, 2010

brother sewing machine

"I just bought this for my daughter in law because I already have one. I love mine and knew she would love hers. I have done lots of sewing on mine and it works so good"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Honokaa, Hawaii
Date:December 22, 2010

Good deal on an electronic sewing machine.

Pros: electronic, variety of stitches, self threading needle, excellent price
Cons: flimsy plastic parts for spool and needle threader, electronic
"After less than a month, this machine seems fun just because it is modern. Some important functioning parts are flimsy and I am concerned about breaking in the future. There is a 25 year parts Warranty which seems promising.
Although there are many stiches to choose from, I am not sure if I will ever use even half of them.
Overall I am happy with it currently."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® XR4040 77-stitch Function Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:December 19, 2010

Great Value with Many Extras

Pros: good upgrade machine
Cons: special bobbin size; no carrying case
Model Number: XR 4040
"This machine is very good for the better than novice user. It has most of the Brother helpful extras, auto threading, etc, and the next level is about $70.00 more with fancier stiches and more automatic features. It is light, and clever in operation. Good for all basic sewing chores, with ability to do some advanced stiching. Does not accept downloads for special projects but can use all the available presser feet. The LED panel should be illuminated, but this is a minor problem."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>