Customer Reviews for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator

Electric Start, Battery Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
20 of 24(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Review 1 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:March 11, 2011

Not an auspicious beginning

Pros: easy start. quiet
Model Number: DG3200
"Wanted to test run the generator after arrival. Turned on the fuel cock and fuel poured out of the carburetor. Eastern Tools advised me to take it to a local shop for repair. Had to load this 127 pound machine in my car (not easy to do by yourself) to get it fixed before I could ever use it. Not good. Once fixed, it seems to be running just fine."
Review 2 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:March 10, 2011

No regrets for me

"I don't know where it came from but this generator was delivered within two days of me pressing the purchase button. Set up was not a problem at all and it runs like a top. You have to buy oil, but everything else was there and ready to go. Now all I need is a power outage and I can really see how good a deal this was. The size is perfect for my needs and fits very well in my garage."
Review 3 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Ut
Date:March 1, 2011

Duracell 3200 Generator

Pros: it was easy to put together and start
Cons: bad misfire problem
Model Number: Duracell 3200
"The generator didn’t run properly right out of the box. The motor had a serious misfire. I called the manufactures’ customer service line and their phone system hung up on me four times in a row. So I returned the generator to Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Livingston, Montana
Date:February 27, 2011

Great Buy

Pros: easy to start
Cons: easier to read owners manual
Model Number: DG3200
"Product came quicker than expected which was a plus. Nothing was damaged on delivery. Assembly was easy and took about 30-40 minutes from start to finish, although I had a small problem lining up the upper holes of the handle assembly with the bolts which was a bit of a hassle. I then added oil and fuel pushed the start button and bamm, it started on the first try!"
Review 5 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:February 23, 2011

Good Value

Model Number: Duracell 3200
"Easy to assemble, started on 2nd pull, works well. Manual left a lot to be desired; mine never mentioned electric start---Directions were how to start with pull cord. Black arrows pointing to black areas on unit are of no help in identifying parts of the unit.
Unit also appears to have been damaged in the past, (The shipping box was fine). There were scratch and rub marks on one whole side of the frame, and the pull cord front plate shows crush damage. Upon opening, an oily-like substance covered the frame, battery and box in the oil-fill area. Could this unit have been a damaged return that was just re-boxed and sent out again? Functionally it is fine, but something is amiss here.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Near Portland OR
Date:February 21, 2011

Duracell Generator

Model Number: Duracell 3200 Generator
"Just received my Duracell 3200 Generator over the week end and it arrived in great shape all I did was follow the instructions and added oil crossed my fingers pushed the button and it started first time out of the box"
Saved a hundred bucks that will pay for the fishing trip next week.
"
Review 7 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2011

Duracell 3200 Generator

Model Number: Durcell 3200 Watt Generator
"This Generator was very easy to assemble and operate. Was impressed how quickly it started up and was easy to handle. I would recommend this product highly."
Review 8 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA.
Date:February 17, 2011

A Great Buy

"Recieved the unit in perfect shape, no problems!
Followed the instructions and it fired up on the second pull! This ia a great value, I recommend this to anyone looking for a good generator!
"
Review 9 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA.
Date:February 16, 2011

Great for jobsite

"This is my 2nd generator from Eastern Tool that I have owned. The last unit is still running great after 4 years of constuction abuse. This unit showed up clean and damage free and it took me about 15 min to get it all put together and running. I also wish it would come with this first bottle of oil in the box but it was not that big of a deal. The unit started on the first push of the button (yeahoo no more pull starting) and ran for about 1 hour. I have used it several times now and have had zero problems with it. For the price you will not find a better unit....."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 16, 2011

Great Product

Pros: great unit
Cons: none
Model Number: DG3200
"My wife and I do alot of traveling in our RV.
I had the need for a new Generator and bought the Duracell 3200 Watt unit. I must say this was a great unit right out of the box, and has been trouble free. I have suggested this unit to others as well.
"
Review 11 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2011

Great Product

"I have been very happy with this generater. I received the box in good condition - and had no problems using it right out of the box. It was a great price, & i'm very pleased with my purhcase."
Review 12 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:February 10, 2011

Nice Little Unit

Pros: ease of use
Cons: none
Model Number: Duracell DG 3200
"Didn't have any problems. Everything was included, nothing missing or broken. Followed the assembly instructions, added oil and it started right away."
Review 13 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:December 29, 2010

duracell generator damaged

Pros: none
Cons: so far 3 have arrived damaged
Model Number: duracell generator
"I just returned my 3rd generator. One of the engine mounts was sheared off. The 2nd one ordered also had the same engine mount sheared off. On the first one the engine was frozen and could not turn.
Buyers need to check the engine mounts for breakage."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Near Seattle, WA
Date:December 27, 2010

Excellent Value

Pros: electric start!!!, clean running, well built- feels solid, low oil shut-off
Cons: 120v single phase only, no volt meter, no oil included
Model Number: Duracell DG3200
"Received before Christmas, just got the time to assemble today. Everything went together smoothly except the upper bolts for the handle bracket, which would not thread in the recessed nuts. Not a problem- the stress is on the lower bolts and they threaded fine. You really need to read the manual on this- the detail about attaching the negative wire to the battery is hidden, information about adding oil initially is not there, they just assume you know you should do that. But most of it is pretty obvious. No shipping damage, started up on the first push on the electric start, ran smoothly at 122.1 volts with NO variation. A little noisy compared to my old 4000 watt unit, but noticed that the exhaust was really clean- think they are shipping the CARB version to everyone. Hour meter is really helpful for maintenance- also labeling the choke and fuel shutoff positions is a nice touch. Comes with all the tools you need to assemble and maintain the unit, plus a cover to keep it clean. The only things missing from this are that it is single phase, so you can't run 220v motors with it (my old $250 rope start 4000 watt generator could do that), and no voltmeter on the unit. But easily worth the trade-off for the electric start at this price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cabot, AR
Date:December 27, 2010

Delivered broke

Model Number: DG 3200
"It was not until I installed the wheel kit and tow bar that I discovered some problems. First, the dip stick was sheared off inside the engine. I was able to fish it out with some needle nose pliers. No problem I thought, I would just get a new one. Then I noticed that the engine seemed a little crooked. It was, the bottom engine mount was broke clear off!
If you order this generator, do a good inspection before any assembly. The box was undamaged so it was damaged at the manufacturing plant and some employee packed it anyway. Lovely.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Castle Rock, WA
Date:December 23, 2010

Duracell 3200

Pros: nice portable generator
Cons: no owners manual.
Model Number: Duracell 3299
"Nothing broken on arrival. Easy to assemble. Electric start is nice and also tried manual pull start. started first try. Ran without load for approximately 30 minutes,
runs fairly quiet. Could not find owners manual.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South eastern Michigan
Date:December 22, 2010

Good Value

Model Number: DG3200
"Ordered the product online and received at my home 10 business days later. The packaging and generator unit was not damaged in any way. All the parts were contained and easily assembled. The unit came with all the tools to assemble and the funnel w/ tube is very nice for adding the engine oil. If you are considering this unit from Costco, be aware that you will need to provide your own 20oz. of 10W-30 oil before starting the engine. Total assembly time was about 30 minutes."
Review 18 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area, Wa
Date:December 20, 2010

Looks great / No broken or missing parts

Pros: ease of use, everything but oil included, quick assembly, looks nice and seems well built
Cons: none yet (crossing my fingers)
Model Number: DG3200
"I just received my unit a couple days ago (took 2 weeks from order to delivery). box was undamaged and generater was in great condition. It looked very nice and not "cheesey". Startup directions were pretty simple and assembly was easier then I had anticipated. Luckily I had just bought some oil 10w-30 and was prepared. The accesories provided were nice ie...tools,funnel with tubing , sealed charged battery (no messing with adding acid), cover. Started right up using battery 1st time. Also tried using pull-cord and started 1st pull.
I ran it for about 45 mins with no load to warm up and then put some lights and a 1500 watt portable heater on it for while. no popped fuses and ran very nice. Ran it 2 hours total . A little louder that i thought it would be but much quieter than my old 4000w coleman.
Threw way less than a gallon in it and after 2 hours could still hear fuel sloshing in tank when i tilted it (off of course)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:December 18, 2010

Nice little generator so far

Pros: powers my tv/stereo/fridge/heater fan all at once, battery start, comes with a free cover
Cons: some oil had leaked into the box during shipment.
Model Number: Duracell 3200
"Filled it with 5W-30 Mobil 1 oil (looks like either 5W-30 or 10W30 are ok since the quick start guide and manual specify different oil weights). Started right up and is able to power my TV/amp/sub, refrigerator, and a heater/fan all at once with some heavy duty 50-ft cords. It's not as quiet as I had hoped, but about typical for small generators."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Duracell® 3200 Watt Running / 4000 Watt Peak Portable Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2010

Looks good so far

Pros: motor runs smooth
Cons: should come with oil
"It was shipped and received in good condition. Easy to assemble,study, started first time, runs the ac and all other items on my trailer"
1 2 next>>