Customer Reviews for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp

Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp

This handmade lamp is a patchwork quilt of individual alabaster panes, depicting the unending variety of natural alabaster and its mystical allure of Antiquity. Each piece is fashioned by master craftsmen, using quality stones and time tested artisanal techniques. Due to the handcrafted construction and organic variation in the alabaster itself, each creation is one-of-a-kind, imbued with its own unique colors and textures, milky veins and amber-hued swirls.    Combining beauty, form and function, this lamp will enhance any decorative scheme.  Paired with a set of alabaster votives, your home environment will reflect the beauty of an ancient, natural material. Features: Egyptian Alabaster Recommended: standard candelabra base 40 watt bulb (not included) Westinghouse Inline rotary switch w/ 6 ft. cord UL listed (components) Four 3/4" tan colored felt pads on base of lamp Recommended Care: Wipe surface with soft cloth Dimensions: 4.25” W x 4.25” L x 12” H; Weight: 7 lbs.   Note: Due to the handcrafted nature of this item, size and weight may vary slightly. Model: L-02M
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
16 of 21(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Review 1 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 22, 2013

Peace and Tranquility

Pros: displays adequate light and does not glare
Model Number: L-02M
"I love this lamp!! It gives me a feeling of peace when I step into my home at the end of a hectic day. It displays a golden, tranquil hue that immediately makes me feel calm and relaxed. It is a very handsome piece that displays nicely on my credenza. I would recommend this lamp to anyone who is looking for a functional piece that adds ambiance and beauty to a room"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2012

Quality lamp

"I ordered two of these and they were both of exceptional quality. You can use a 7 watt night light bulb for a dimmer, soft lighting effect, or a 25 watt candelabra based bulb that will give the lamp a brighter light and look. Either one will give off an ambiance
that is warm and beautiful. I am very glad I purchased two of these. Each are unique and different, but work together very well.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2012

Poorly Put Together

"Just received this and noticed that glue is missing half way down a corner of the lamp.
Doesn't seem to be very well put together....BIG Bummer!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:February 16, 2012

Beautiful.... but

Pros: beautiful when lit, heavy duty
Cons: minor craftsmanship errors
"Very beautiful when lit. Gives any room a nice glow and ambience. Nice long chord if needed. Very heavy and solidly made. Now the "but" part. It is well made, but you can see glue lines inside, and some of the pieces that are glued were cracked, and then still glued on. This isn't a deal breaker though. Even the cracked pieces blend in pretty well because of the design. Only noticeable to those looking for them. Kinda spendy, but the wife loved it. That's a win right there! Also, there is no bulb with the light. If giving as a gift, best to buy a bulb before so they can plug it in right away."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County CA
Date:February 15, 2012

Beautiful

"This is an exceptually beautful and functional piece of art. It's pretty with either the light on or the light off. I'm very happy with my purchase."
Review 6 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Damascus, OR
Date:February 14, 2012

Love it!

Pros: nice size for a table, beautiful soft light
"The picture is a fair representation of the lamp, but a picture can't show how the lamp's glow is warm and alive. As was mentioned in other reviews, the alabaster is not perfect and will have irregularities. The one I received had a major crack near the top for an inch and a half and a quarter of an inch wide. I am going to order another one and keep the better of the two."
Review 7 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:February 10, 2012

BEAUTIFUL LAMP

"I bought two of these lamps to use on the mantel in my great room. They are beautiful and I never turn them off. I started with expensive low wattage ( 15 watt ) bulbs, but discovered I like the glow they emit with nightlight bulbs. Beautiful ambiance. My room is contemporary and these blend perfectly as the shape is a contemporary look. VERY pretty and look much more expensive than they are. I got them at reduced price and am very happy"
Review 8 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:February 1, 2012

Amazingly beautiful alabaster lamp!!

Model Number: 546383
"When I received this alabaster lamp, I can't begin to tell you how happy I was. It is even more beautiful in person! It arrived in perfect condition and the elite workmanship is overwhelmingly evident. The glow of light that the lamp emits creates such a wonderful ambiance that it is a constant conversation piece every time someone sees it. It looks absolutely beautiful in my home - I couldn't imagine a more unique piece! I am planning on ordering a couple more for gifts for my friends."
Review 9 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 22, 2012

Authentic & Elegant Lamp

"I saw this authentic and beautiful lamp at my friend's house and fell in love with it. Great workmanship and good coordination of style with my home decor given the neutral and natural look. Very unique and classy; especially given the reasonable price."
Review 10 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:January 16, 2012

great light!

"A house guest recently gifted me with the Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic lamp…I LOVE it. I've put it on little table in my kitchen/family room which provides a warm, welcoming hue when I enter my home, but also serves as a beautiful nightlight. So tasteful and gives off almost a calming aura, that I'm getting one for my bedroom as well! Really special! Oh, and it just takes a simple candelabra light bulb found everywhere…drug store, supermarket, hardware stores."
Review 11 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 11, 2012

Wonderful Christmas gift!

"My mother in law finally came up with a good Christmas present. She somehow located this gorgeous lamp which I have placed right next to my bed. It has the perfect glow for a bedroom, but I think it would also work in a living room setting. It's nice to have a handmade, natural product with a one of a kind feel vs. the cookie cutter machine made products which fill our lives."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Amazing Gift

"i received this lamp as a Christmas gift and absolutely loved it. it is such a beautiful and unique piece and i cant wait to gift it myself. it is elegant and architectural at the same time. I highly recommend it!"
Review 13 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corona del Mar, CA
Date:December 7, 2011

Beautiful and Unique

Model Number: 546383
"Others did not like it, so it's a matter of taste. Ordered two, one came broken up, returned on next trip to Costco. Ordering another one."
Review 14 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:December 6, 2011

Lamp damaged before shipped

Cons: lamp was damaged and patched prior to shipment
"I ordered the Egyptian Alabaster Cylinder lamp.
When I opened the box, I saw a v-shaped crack near the top.
Looking inside the lamp I found where someone had smeared something that looked like glue over the inside area where the crack was.
When you get these lamps look it over very carefully for any damage."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:December 5, 2011

no1special

Pros: very nice lighting effect
Cons: needs a little more craftsmanship
Model Number: 573778
"Has a very nice glow to it. Couple of issues. 1) it is not level. 2) has a chip at the top and at the bottom. 3) the top edge should be polished. 4) no need for the rough cut notch on the side of the bottom for the cord. The plug comes out the center of the bottom and the bumpers provide enough clearance for the cord. If the notch were not there you could display all 4 sides.
It does not come with a bulb. I used an LED bulb that costs virually nothing to operate and hooked it up to a timer so when i come home its on."
Review 16 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley
Date:September 8, 2011

No Bulb?

"This lamp requires a very unique light bulb. Guess What? The lamp didn't come with one! Ruined the birthday present surprise. Had to waste my own time returning it to the local Costco."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:September 8, 2011

Beautiful light, disappointing workmanship

Pros: beautiful alabaster
Cons: poor construction
"I'm using a 7 watt candelabra base compact fluorescent lamp and I'm very happy with the light - it's brighter than I thought it might be.
The construction is sub-par, some of the glue joints are rather thick, implying that the pieces were not well fitted before gluing. The top is not quite level."
Review 18 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:April 13, 2011

Very nice!

Pros: appears more expensive than it is
Cons: not the usual light bulb size
"These are accent lights which produce a warm light (as pictured) and look nicer than Costco's price suggests (other merchants listed similar lights for 70% more.) They're not perfectly uniform as mentioned in the item description. The exposed surfaces are polished. The lamps have swirls of white, yellow & amber which look nice even when not lit. I liked the first one so much, I ordered more.
All had four nice thick (>1/8th inch) round felt pads on the bottom to protect furniture. A slot is cut in the base for the cord, which suggests a back side. You can run the cord out other sides if needed, but it's not as neat. The cord color was white and the felt pads were tan, but I suppose this could change.
The base is fairly thick, making it less likely to topple, but the lamps look like they'd break if you knocked the lamp off a table (as many lamps would.) They're heavy enough to feel sturdy though.
The only problem I had was with the supplied, removable light socket, because the size was not listed. It accepts a chandelier bulb, which meant an extra trip to the store. I used some 5 watt decorative candle-style CFL bulbs (25 watt equivalent), which work nicely.
The lamp socket is held in place with a metal clip and is removable. The hole cut in the base is bigger that the socket & clip, perhaps for ventilation.
Definitely worth trying if the pictures appeal to you."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 21, 2011

A real Beaut

"Great lamp at an excellent price. Arrived in just one day from time of order."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Egyptian Alabaster Mosaic Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:February 18, 2011

One of a kind

Pros: stunning colors
"The natural designs on this lamp are stunning. It gives off a remarkable amount of light and nicely illuminates a dark corner. It really is a show stopper and will be a favorite. Finely crafted as well."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>