Customer Reviews for Oster Blender

Oster Blender

This Oster blender is a true precision machine. The powerful 600-watt, reversing motor alternates the blades forward and backward, drawing food and ice down for consistently smooth blending, which means no more trying to scrape food from the blender with a spatula. A super sharp, 6-point star blade evenly chops food and creates a shaved ice blend in a matter of seconds. The lid features a 2 oz. measuring cup. Pre-programmed settings including time and function provide one touch operation, so you can let the blender do the thinking. Seven speeds and high and low pulse options give you amazingly precise control at the touch of a button. And Low, Medium and High manual settings provide even more options for blending a variety of food and beverages from frozen drinks to dips, sauces to smoothies, soup to nuts. The 6-Cup, dishwasher safe, glass pitcher makes blending better and pouring easier. The glass has been thermal shock tested so you can pull it out of a steamy dishwasher and safely make a frosty cold beverage right away. And like most Oster Blenders, it is made in North America and backed by the superior quality of All Metal Drive. Because the two pieces that connect are metal (instead of plastic), you get a more durable and longer-lasting blender that will function flawlessly, party after party, year after year. The Oster Reverse Motor Blender. Skilled. Versatile. Stylish. Any way you slice it. Features:    Pre-programmed settings offer consistent blending; Select "Frozen Drinks" or "Food Chop" for easy one-touch operation; blender automatically shuts off when cycle is finished   Stainless steel 6-Point star blade; traditional 4-point blender blade combined with S shaped blade of a Food Processor for fine chopping and ice crushing   Reversible motor rotates blades forward and backward, pulling ingredients down into the blades   Large 6-Cup capacity, dishwasher safe and scratch resistant glass jar is thermal shock tested to withstand extreme temperature changes   Lid with a 2-oz. measuring cup   Add ingredients while blending and chopping with feeder shoot   Back-lit blue button controls are easy to use and easy to clean   7 speeds with high and low pulse options, Low, Medium and High manual settings to tackle any special recipe   Oster All Metal Drive for lasting durability Powerful 600 W motor; Max power & long life; creates snowy ice in seconds     UL Listed   Dimensions: 8.6" W x 10.2" L x 13.9" H; Weight: 8.8 lbs.   1-year limited warranty   Made in the North America For product related questions, please call Oster/Sunbeam/Jarden Group toll free at (800)334-0759. Model: BVCB07-Z
Average Customer Rating:
4.441 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
(out of 93 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
5
86 of 93(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oster Blender
Review 1 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilsonville, OR
Date:February 23, 2014

Love this machine!!!

Pros: powerful motor, auto settings, 6 reversible blades
Cons: that it wasn't for sale on my costco's shelf!!
Model Number: BVCB07-Z
"I use this exclusively to blend frozen shake smoothies several times a day. I love the automatic frozen drink feature with the reversing blades and automatic shutoff when done. It's easy to rinse clean. I've read a couple of people complain that this unit doesn't pull down from the top and only blends the bottom liquids. This is untrue and is because they don't understand you need to add a little more liquid or use less ice to get the right proportion to blend a frozen drink. This is the same for any blender. If the mix is too stiff or frozen, it won't blend. But if you add the correct ratio of liquid to ice, you get a perfectly blended drink every time. This is a great blender for relatively little cost. I was irritated that after reading about it on line, I went to my local Costco to buy it and this model was not carried. They only carried an inferior Oster model or other brands for 5 to 8 times the cost. I would recommend this blender w/o reservation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Berkeley, CA
Date:March 15, 2012

The Blender We Were Looking For!

Pros: sturdy and good quality, easy to use, nice modern look, affordable
Model Number: Oster® 7-Speed Reversing Motor Blender
"We've had this for about two months now and we love it! We were looking for a blender to make smoothies and frozen cocktails, not necessarily for food processing (we already have two food processors). My mom has an Oster from the 80's that *still* works, so we decided to go with this brand. I didn't think that the reversing blades or pre-set blend functions were necessary, but I've gotta say they've been super useful! The frozen drinks function works perfectly for my smoothies!
It has 7-speeds (does anyone really need more??): low, low pulse, med, high, high pulse, frozen drinks, and food chop. The base and thick glass jar are both sturdy and well made. The buttons are easy to press, and they light up when on.
I do wonder if the reversing blades will shorten the life of the blender though. Only time will tell!
Overall, for the price, quality, and functionality of the product, you really can't go wrong here!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grants Pass, OR
Date:March 17, 2014

OMG what a great blender!

"It has this wonderful setting called Frozen Drinks that turns a whole blender full of carrots, greens, berries, celery, seeds, nuts and yogurt into a smoothie in less than a minute... It does this little back and forth dance and just sucks all the solid stuff down to the blades and VOILA! Smoothie!
I love it!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California Central Coast
Date:March 27, 2014

Great for making frozen fruit smoothies

Pros: easy to use to make smoothies
Cons: beware of the sharp upturned blades when cleaning
Model Number: Oster BVCB07-Z
"This blender is great for making fruit smoothies. I really like the way the blender automatically goes through different speeds to make a frozen fruit smoothie then stops. It works very well and is kind of entertaining to watch. Be careful cleaning the sharp upturned blades. I cut a finger, a little, cleaning the inside of the glass container by hand."
Review 5 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fair Oaks CA
Date:March 8, 2013

Excellent for the Price

Pros: price, convenience, ease of use
Cons: none
Model Number: Model: BVCB07-Z
"We had several inexpensive blenders that never did the job, and wanted to make healthy smoothies. No doubt the Vitamix is best, but it's expensive and we were not sure if we would really make healthy smoothies or it would become another unused kitchen appliance.
So the compromise was the Ninja, which was promptly returned it as it worked no better than the old blender we had. After reading numerous reviews about this Oster blender we decided to try it, if was disappointing, either buy the Vitamix or abandon the smoothie idea.
The Oster was the right answer, we are making healthy, delicious smoothies with fresh or frozen fruit, protein powder, ice cubes, almond milk or low fat milk, greek yogurt and spinach or other greens.
The Oster handles it all; load the heavy duty glass pitcher, turn it on and select the “Frozen Drink” button. It blends everything perfectly. The trick is to load items in this order: liquid, protein powder, fruit, greens, yogurt and ice. The reversing blades work well.
Several reviews complained of leaking at the seal on the bottom of the pitcher. To avoid this, we rinse the pitcher after use, put roughly one cup warm water with a squirt of dish detergent and blend on high. The blades are perfectly cleaned with no danger and no risk of the seal not being replaced properly on the bottom.
Also, this fits easily under the kitchen cabinet, unlike a Vitamix or some of the others.
This really is a great item for the price, and we think we found a “keeper”."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oster Blender
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta Suburbs, GA
Date:February 21, 2012

Price point and function makes this blender #1!

Pros: easy clean-up durable powerful perfectly priced
Cons: could use a longer reverse blade time
"Did a lot of research on low-end and high-end blenders fully knowing I didn't want to purchase a blender for several hundred dollars. We had purchased another blender system, The Ninja, and returned it. It didn't live up to it's promises. But this Oster is from a long-running appliance maker who has given this 6-bladed blender lots of power and the reversible blade option to boot. While I do have to run my smoothies almost always on two 'frozen drink' cycles and push the mixture down with a long spatula, that's not a problem--especially at this price. This unit blends frozen fruits and liquids into a delicious chunk-free delight each and every time. I have not used the food chop option, but look forward to maybe a good pico de gallo soon. Don't waste your hard earned dollars on the blenders that cost over a hundred dollars. This one has my vote of confidence!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oster Blender
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:July 10, 2013

Powerful and easy to use

Pros: powerful. solid. well-built.
Cons: glass pitcher does not seat solidly into base
Model Number: Oster® 7-Speed Reversing Motor Blender
"Strong motor. Easy assembly and dis-assembly. Simple to clean. Does an excellent job making both smoothies and margaritas. Display is clean and intuitive. Love the back-lights too.
Only one con: (and I see others have said the same thing): the pitcher does not seat solidly into the base. I honestly thought I had received a mis-matched blender (wrong base or wrong pitcher) when I first assembled it. Most blenders I've used before have slots or guides that make it simple to seat the pitcher into the base. This unit sort of floats above the base and is wobbly, if you're not careful. Very odd they would design it this way. BUT - it works and it works well.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:February 21, 2014

Don’t Know Why I Waited so Long…

Pros: durability of the glass container, the blades!
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Oster #BVCB07-Z
"The Oster Model #BVCB07-Z was purchased to replace 3 other products bought over the past two years to make fruit protein shakes. Although they had their merits, I finally realized I needed a more heavy-duty appliance, and the Oster certainly fills the bill. This blender literally pulverizes the frozen fruit and makes delicious fruit protein shakes.
The glass container is easy-peasy to clean; after making the smoothies, I rinse the container and lid and then fill the container half full with water and a drop or two of dishwashing liquid and run the blender again. Rinse everything out then let it air dry and I’m good to go until the next day. This was a great purchase.
"
Review 9 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Middletown, NJ
Date:October 19, 2010

Excellent value and function

Pros: powerful, well built
Cons: none
"Excellent value and function. I purchased a less expensive model at my local COSTCO, which works well. This more powerful model is well worth the cost because it is much more powerful and has useful additional features"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 27, 2014

Works great

Pros: fairly quite easy to use controls, easy to understand instructions, simple operation
Cons: don't have any so far!
Model Number: BVCB07-Z
"So far, so good... We recently replaced an Oster blender we had for over 20 years. We noticed that this particular blender had some mixed reviews, mostly good and thus far, have been delightfully pleased with it's performance and ease of use."
Review 11 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:February 2, 2011

really like my reversing blender

Model Number: Oster 7 speed reversing blender
"tried out several blenders last year and they would just throw the food up on the sides of the jar and it would stick there.
with the reversing action, and especially starting off with the food chopper button, the cycle runs slow enough and then reverses so no food is spattered and stuck up high where it sticks and never mixes.
i've made hummus, split pea soup, "juiced" vegetables into a raw juice blend, and made very light and smooth smoothies.
the reversing is a key mixing feature.
i think the noise is about what i expect from a heavy duty motor."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2011

Great smoothie blender

Pros: works great!, glass jar not plastic
"Well, my brother bought a $400 blender to make smoothies and was telling me how great it was. I wanted to make some too since it would be a nice healthy low cal lunch or breakfast. But I decided to try this much cheaper blender and see if it would do the job. It works beautifully. It has a one button smoothie setting that goes forward and reverses three times and stops automatically. And neener neener neener, I saved about $340. Yea, it doesn't go 1500 mph to make soup, but I didn't want to make soup with it anyway. Good job Oster."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:April 26, 2011

Da' Beast

Pros: power, ice and food program, reversing motor, glass jar
Cons: none.
Model Number: Oster® 7-Speed Reversing Motor Blender
"WOW. As soon as I pulled the base (motor/controls) out of the box I knew this blender was a beast. It makes short work of ice and food (ex. carrots and radishes with water and tomato paste and water to make my own “V-8” juice) using the pre-programmed feature which utilizes the reversing motor. Even the “Low” speed is great in that is does not slash liquid out of the jar, but efficiently mixes water/milk and powder mixtures. And as for smoothies/milk shakes – it’s like having a Dairy Queen in your kitchen."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tennessee
Date:June 17, 2013

love the auto reverse feature

Pros: pretty easy to assemble/disassemble and clean
Cons: a little pricey? but maybe not?
"Have been using this almost every day for a month now. Only to make smoothies, that's what I bought it for. As I saw in other reviews, the auto reverse feature sounded great. It works! You push the "auto smoothie" button and it goes back and forth. Have never had to scrape with a spatula...I add frozen fruit and ice cubes from the fridge for my smoothies and it chops both up fine every time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parma, Ohio
Date:February 23, 2013

Best Blender Ever

Pros: super easy to clean and operate.
Cons: absolutely none !!!
Model Number: BVCB07-Z
"I have to say that this is the "Best" Blender I have ever used. I had a Vitamix and I think this one is even better for several reasons. First of all, it reverses to pull the ingredients down into the six blades. Unlike the Vitamix, you don't have to keep pushing the ingredients down and you don't have to keep starting and stopping the unit to completely pulverize the food. I was blown away by the speed and the stop and start of the motor. Everything I put into this blender was completely mixed and processed into a smoothie. For the price it is more than worth the money. I have an older Oster that I bought over 20 years ago and it still works fine, but this one is even better. And unlike the Vitamix, you can take the whole blade, glass jar and bottom apart for easy cleaning. And unlike the Vitamix, the jar is glass and it's super easy to clean under just hot water. It's thick glass and it's durable and strong. I found that the Vitamix didn't clean up as easily as they said by just putting dish washing liquid into the jar and turning the unit on high. I still had to scrub it with a brush at times and because of that, there were tiny scratches on the jar that were there permanently."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2011

wonderful blender

Pros: powerful, preprogramming for smoothies, metal parts not plastic, nice looking, glass container not plastic
Model Number: item #546960
"It makes a perfect smoothie for me everyday without fail. Easy to use and I like the reversible blade function that helps chop the ice up. Great price too. I have no regrets"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Amherst, MA
Date:December 6, 2011

Great for smoothies

Pros: reversing motor, smoothie button, removable blade, all metal drive, glass pitcher
Cons: walks a little on the counter top while working.
Model Number: Oster® 7-Speed Reversing Motor Blender
"We bought this blender primarily for smoothies. We have had an Oster blender for about 20 years but frozen smoothies would not mix well requiring stirring the ingredients to get them down by the blades. This blender solves this problem. It has a reversing motor and a preprogrammed smoothie button which is really one touch. We buy the frozen three berries and the frozen Kirkland strawberries from Costco. All you have to do is add the frozen fruit, milk, a pinch of sugar and vanilla and hit the button and the blender starts out slow, reverses direction a few times, finishes fast and makes a perfect smoothie. It is really a walk away and do something else process. We make smoothies about twice a day. We have had the machine about a month. If it holds up half as long as my last Oster blender it is a 10 star item."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:August 8, 2012

Love it!

Pros: uncomplicated/easy to use
"I bought this to make smoothies. Finally, one that blends all fruit. It'squiet and smoothies are blended in 20 seconds."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Oster Blender
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2012

good product

"It is made in USA and dose not choke while blending. reverse action helps."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Oster Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:March 12, 2013

GREAT for Smoothies

Pros: 6-point blade that reverses, preprogrammed settings, glass container
Cons: none so far
Model Number: BVCB07-Z
"Love this blender! It has a 6-point blade that reverses, allowing any food that might have gotten stuck to be loosened. I use it for making smoothies, using lots of frozen fruit, and the programmed setting for frozen drinks works wonderfully well! I had previously purchased a more compact smoothie maker, but the motor burned out after 6 uses. I have recommended this blender to all of my co-workers."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>