Customer Reviews for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive

Backup Multiple Computers via Network PC & Mac Compatible
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
32 of 41(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Review 1 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Date:February 7, 2011

Returning to Costco

Pros: none
Cons: support is limited, instruction card hints at ease of installation
Model Number: Clickfree 1 TB C2N
"I purchased this after reading reviews about ease of installation and use. However, I experienced problems similar to a previous reviewer with 2 Windows computers along with a Mac.
I have a Windows XP Home PC, a Windows Vista Business laptop and a Mac. Had to hard install Clickfree on the XP and Mac as the USB key did not function as advertised. Neither the key nor the hard install would work on the laptop.
First support issue: After the hard install on the Mac and XP, I could only get a backup to perform if the device was attached via USB cable. Tried several uninstalls and installs, this did not correct the problem of the non-hard wired computer being unable to backup automatically and wirelessly.
Next, tried to switch where the device was hard wired (from PC to Mac and then back and forth a couple of times). It made no difference as the device would only back up the computer to which it was physically plugged into. No wireless backup ever occured.
Second support issue: I then tried to install the Clickfree program to the laptop. After many failed attempts, I contacted telephone support. They then said that since the laptop does not have a built in CD ROM (my drives are external on the Sony Vaio), I would not be able to install the device. They suggested a virtual CD ROM driver from the manufacturer so I contacted Sony - who did not have a way to install a virtual CD ROM. Next suggestion from Clickfree support was a third party CD ROM driver. This approach also failed with two different drivers.
Clickfree support next indicated that they would speak to the developers and would get back to me in 24 hours. One week later, no response.
Bottom line: If you have a laptop with no built-in drive, this is not for you. Had I known that unadvertised fact, I would not have purchased this product or wasted time installing it on ANY computers. Note there is nothing in the technical specifications that tells you this.
I will return this to Costco and purchase an Apple product - that will back up all my computers automatically."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Grants Pass, OR
Date:March 8, 2011

A Bit Flakey

Model Number: HD1037NSE
"Had trouble installing software on 2 computers using the flash drive. Called support and they said to plug the Clickfree box into the other computers and install the software from there. When donig a backup on my main desktop computer and clicking the "DETAIL" button in backup dialog box, my computer locked up. Several copies of dumprep.exe were running using 100% of the CPU. This is the program that automatically runs and sends errors to Microsoft. I had to end the processes which also stopped the backup. I started the backup again (did not click the "DETAIL" button) and it completed. Then the next time a backup ran it was supposed to backup only new or changed files, but it did a full backup again. I called support and they said they did not know of these issue and to reinstall the software. I uninstalled and reinstalled the software and did a backup which was again a full backup and it completed. The next and subsquent backups have all been only new or changed files. So it seems to be working. Support was very good from the stand point of short wait time and english speaking techs that seemed knowledgable, but there does seem to be issues with the install and maybe even with the backup program itself. Have decided to keep the unit for a while and see how it goes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, Colorado
Date:December 8, 2010

Best of the external HD's . . .

Pros: ease of use, wireless, multiple pc/mac backup, handsome looking, auto backup scheduling
Cons: had to purchase online vs. the store.
Model Number: Clickfree 1TB C2N Desktop Backup Drive
"I researched external hard drives thoroughly and this HD is simply the best. Specifically, the price is significantly less at Costco vs. other stores/websites; wireless backup for multiple computers (regardless of OS, e.g., works well for Win7 and Mac Leopard); and, you can transfer your files/folders from one pc to another (again, regardless of OS system).
Personally, I bought this HD for ease of use. In short, it is idiot proof. Secondly, I recently bought a new pc and needed to transfer files (photos, music and documents) from my old pc (which was an XP system to my new pc which was a Win7 system, as well as back it up to the ClickFree HD. Simply amazed how easy it was to use.
The one negative is that I had to order it online because my Costco store doesn't carry it. No biggie though . . . I waited a few days and most important, if anything goes wrong, I can return it to Costco with no questions asked. 'Nuff Said."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puget Sound
Date:March 11, 2011

Easy Peezy

Model Number: C2N Plus 1037NSE-1004-100
"This review is for the C2N Plus model. Installed for 1-Vista and 2-XP computers on ethernet home network. Worked perfectly as installed per Quick Start guide. Just connected C2N+ drive via usb to main pc and it backed up, then inserted the setup key (usb) into each ot the other pc's in turn and they backed up. That's it. Continues to back up all 3 pc's automatically, daily. I don't understand why anyone would have problems with this, unless it is a local pc or cockpit issue. User I/F to backed-up files is so easy..... Oh, and I pulled a copy of the complete user guide off of clickfree web site, but didn't read a word of it. No need. Caution: use the Quick start guide (setup key for 2nd, etc computers.) - no need to connect the drive itself to them (which the info on the back of the box says to do - don't know if it works or not, but just use the setup key.)"
Review 5 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:February 22, 2011

Good & Bad

Pros: backed-up pc in about 3 hours
Cons: backed-up netbook in about 1.5 hours
Model Number: Clickfree 1TB C2N
"Like many other reviewers, I bought the Clickfree for its supposed ease of use. It is pretty much flawless when connected to my PC. When using the wireless feature to connect to my netbook, it almost never functions correctly. If I disconnect it from my PC and connect it directly to my netbook, it works fine. I've called their Cust Serv about 4x. Twice I had a good experience. Twice I talked to techs that appeared not to care about my problem. The device does back-up data fast and thoroughly. I have yet to try restoring/transferring any data yet. Get it for direct connection to a computer and then plan on plugging it into your laptop or else consider getting a second one for a direct connection."
Review 6 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2010

Taking it back to Costco

"I so wanted this to work out. I need a system for backing up the computers in my home and after a lot of research, chose this Clickfree.
Setting up my computers (2 PC, 1 Mac) was simple. Doing the first backup was also a breeze. After that... chaos. The only computer that continued to backup without a hassle was the one directly connected to the hard drive. The others would either 'disappear' from the network or just flat didn't perform as scheduled. When I ran the 'fixmyclickfreebackup', it couldn't find anything wrong.
The more I research, the more I find that people say a particular product works flawlessly while others say it is junk. I can't seem to find one that everyone loves."
Review 7 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 6, 2011

works as advertised

Pros: easy installation even with windows 7, quiet as can be
Model Number: C2N Plus
"I've been using Clickfree for a week and it has worked flawlessly. I installed in on my desktop and used the attached USB drive to to install it on my two laptops with no problems at all. All 3 of my computers are running Windows 7. It has backed up all 3 of my computers on a daily basis without any problems. I haven't noticed any performance difference and I've had absolutely no issues. It's only been a week but so far I am very happy with this product. It's way easier than updating my computer manually via my old external drive and it has an easy to read display telling you when it's backing up which computer, which files have been backed up and how many files have been saved."
Review 8 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jim in California
Date:March 20, 2011

trouble loading software

Pros: lots of storage, fast backup, easy to use interface
Cons: needs intelligent irq selection
Model Number: C2N
"After reading mixed reviews I decided to buy this backup product because of more favorable than not. Upon attempting to install on my main desktop my operating system ground to a near halt. Upon a second attempt Musicmatch popped up and again the system nearly stopped. If I unplugged Clickfree the system would go back to full speed. In the old days I had this problem usually caused by IRQ conflicts, when installing second hard disks. Since I am old and impatient and didn't want to use dos to troubleshoot the problem, I just uninstalled Musicmatch and then installed the Clickfree software with no further problems. The base machine is running XP service pack #3."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:austin, tx
Date:January 17, 2011

Not flexible

Model Number: Clickfree 1TB C2N Desktop Backup Drive
"I am returning this hard drive because it is not what we were looking for. We wanted something that we could auto back up or drag and drop a specific file to the drive. I wanted an easy way to store my photos and share between computers.
After much fiddling ... I gave up and decided to return this one. It is great if all you ever want to do is auto back up and not go back and look at your files on the HD. I could not find an easy way to do that.
We have 3 macs. Two of them are on Snow Leopard -- not sure if that has anything to do with it. Note - I did get it to work on all three to auto back up. But it is just not the drive we want."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:March 19, 2011

Great tech purchase for a non-techie

Pros: easy to use, great value
Model Number: C2N Plus
"One of my best friends, who is an IT service manager, demanded that I get a network backup drive. After shopping around and checking reviews, I found this one and asked my friend about it -- he immediately told me to buy it, and I'm so glad that I did so. It is so easy to install and use, and I have both PCs in my home office (both are on the same router) connected to this back-up drive. After a recent Windows update miffed my PC, requiring an operating system rebuild, I simply restored all of my PC's files, pics, etc. (everything!) back onto my PC after the rebuild. Hooray!"
Review 11 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:December 19, 2010

Easy to use, multiple computer backup over network

Pros: easy to use., multiple computers., works over a network.
Cons: none
"I bought the Clickfree 1 TB C2N from Costco in December 2010. I backed up my dying Dell with Windows XP and used the Clickfree to transfer everything to a new computer with Windows 7. No problems with the transfer. Also very easy to get every computer on my network connected and backed up automatically to the same drive, but each is kept seperate on the Clickfree and labeled for easy identification. It is not a con for me, but the Clickfree has to be connected to 1 computer by USB that is on your network. It does not connect directly to the wireless router."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ramona, CA
Date:December 19, 2010

Works Great and Easy to Setup

Pros: simple to use and set up
Cons: none
Model Number: Clickfree 1 TB C2N Desktop Backup Drive
"The product works as advertised. I set the backup to take place at 0300 hours so it is done when the computer is not in use. I have noticed some complain about it not working on multiple computers. NOT True. You have to install BackupLink on the other computers to link them into the backup network. There is a USB key located on the back of the main unit with the BackupLink software on it that you must install on the other computers. I have three computers backing up into the main unit and it works fine. I set them a 1/2 hour time deltas."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:February 26, 2011

I think I bought a lemon

Model Number: CN2
"Wasted 2 days trying to make this lemon work on the nework with no luck. I bought two drives one for my office and one for home. None of them worked over the network as it suppose to do. Called CSR for help, still they won't work. I was able to backup all my 5 pcs but I had to move the drive all the time from one to the other. It works good this way but it does not recognize the rest of the PCs.The link software did not find the the other PCs. They both are going back to Costco."
Review 14 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:December 7, 2010

Clickfree 1TB C2N ackukp System

Cons: none to date
Model Number: Clickfree 1T C2
"Flawless. Really plug and play. Backed up by PC and my MAC on same drive. Thank goodness I have not had to restore from the unit. It copies files and not entire drive. It appears to do all advertised. Great Price. I have been using it intermittently so if I goof and really mess things up I have a complete file backup which only, at worst, is only a few days old. After using it I am buying two more units for grandaughters."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:January 31, 2011

Simple backup

Pros: simple and clear to use
"I bought this based on reviews from consumer groups. The product comes with very clear instructions on how to connect the device to one or more computers and everything worked just fine. I've only run one backup but so far so good. I have not taken the time to change any settings but it seems pretty straightforward so far and easy enough that someone without a lot of technical knowledge could use it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 28, 2010

It Works!

Pros: easy setup, simple operation, truly automatic backup
Model Number: C2N Plus
"Yes, this little unit does just as advertised. Simply and quietly.
Super easy setup with USB key. Backs up automatically every time we turn on our computers. No more worries about lost content.
Unit also enables immediate backup and archiving to CD/DVD.
Note: First complete back up can take quite a while. One of our laptops with many large graphic files took nearly 3 hours for the initial save."
Review 17 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nor CA
Date:March 7, 2011

Take the "network" word out!

Pros: nice looking design
Cons: takes too long, no eithernet connection, easly lose usb dongle.
"It does not have Ethernet connection on this device. Only way to transfer/copy your data is via USB wireless dongle.
Imagine ~200GB (up to 1TB )of data transferring via wireless................ that would take forever. I have MBP and only looking for Firewire 800 for faster rate. I just can't believe the rating it's getting.
I just received it today and going back to Costco for refund.
"
Review 18 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OAKHURST, CA
Date:December 21, 2010

Fantastic Product

Model Number: HD1037NSE
"With hard disk storage in computers getting larger and backing them up more and more time consuming, this product was just what I needed to tame the beast.
I have three computers, each containing very valuable information. The task of backing them each was miserable, but not any more. The "Clickfree" system was my best purchase ever."
Review 19 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2011

Clickfree C2N

Model Number: C2N
"This product is fantastic. I was thinking of backing up with carbonite. Got their trial and it did not back up my document files. Purchased clickfree and delayed backing up as I anticipated a long process. All I had to do is plug Clickfree in and the backup was completed! Thank you Costco for carrying the best products available!"
Review 20 for Clickfree 1TB C2N Special Edition Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Tx
Date:March 20, 2011

Gets the Job Done

Pros: easy setup
Cons: online docu is hard to find
"I needed a product to handle XP, Vista, and Windows 7 within my network. This product solved the problem. Out of the box, it defaults to an everyday backup, I set it at 2 weeks, and it came alive on schedule provided that both the base unit (where its connected), and the remote units are powered on, and not in sleep mode."
1 2 3 next>>