Customer Reviews for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft

Items will be shipping November 15, 2013 through December 11, 2013 for delivery between November 22, 2013 through December 18, 2013. Note: All orders must be placed by 11:59 P.M. (EST) December 10th to ship by December 18th. **Cancellations must be made within 48 hours of the date/time you place your order, no exceptions, no refunds after 48 hours. Dimensions: 6.5-7ft tree height    Average weight 50 lbs, average trunk diameter 5" Care Instructions: Make sure the tree has been freshly cut 1-2 inches off the base   Always make sure your tree has plenty of water to prevent drying   Place your tree away from fireplaces, radiators, television sets and other heat sources; These elements can prematurely dry out your tree   Turn off all lights and decorations before going to bed or anytime you leave home   Don't overload electrical outlets   Never place an open flame on or near the tree   **Cancellations must be made within 48 hours of the date/time you place your order, no exceptions, no refunds after 48 hours. A Christmas Tree Company Fraser Fir is often referred to as the 'Cadillac' of Christmas trees. With luscious blue-green branches that are sturdy enough to support a wide range of decorations, the North Carolina Fraser Fir is an excellent choice. The most remarkable characteristic of this premium Christmas tree is its outstanding needle retention. A properly cared for Fraser Fir can be placed in the home in mid-November and easily last well into the month of January. At the Christmas Tree Company, we hand pick and thoroughly inspect each live Christmas tree. Only trees that pass our rigorous selection process are delivered to your home or office. Your Christmas tree is fresh-cut within 24-hours of shipment ensuring freshness and longevity. Before shipping, your tree is bottom pruned to make room for the stand, shaken, bound and packaged in a sturdy, moisture resistant carton for optimal protection. Your freshly harvested tree is then conveniently delivered to your doorstep. Real Christmas trees are a renewable, recyclable & environmentally sound choice. Your tree order includes a complimentary biodegradable Christmas tree skirt/bag for tidy and convenient disposal. Life Expectancy: A well cared for Fraser can last 4-6 weeks *Meets USDA Premium-Grade Christmas tree requirements for freshness, health, density, shape, and absence of major defects. *For additional product related questions, please call The Christmas Tree Company at 847-283-0550.
Average Customer Rating:
3.506 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
(out of 79 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 star
17
48 of 79(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Review 1 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Coast, Florida
Date:November 5, 2010

The BEST Christmas tree we ever had

Pros: quality, freshness, long lasting
Cons: none
"We ordered this Christmas tree last year directly from the Christmas Tree Company web page. It came nicely packed in the neat carton box. Kids were so excited to open the box with the Christmas tree- it was completely different experience that they had before. The tree was excellent! it smelled beautifully and looked expensive even without decoration on it! We've got it just after Thanksgiving and it stayed in the house until the end of the January, and it wasn't even dry after 2 months!
We just added some water once a week. It was so beautiful, we spent every free minute near it. Kids wanted to keep it forever and almost cried when we had to take decorations down in the end of January. The whole experience was definitely worse the money! We are ordering one this year also! I was very glad to see these trees on Costco this year. Costco definitely picks the Best from the Best!
"
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, CA
Date:December 11, 2010

Mistake

Pros: nice tree shape
Cons: too short, poor quality, have to lug back to costco
"We've got 2 1/2 year old twins and this was our first year trying out a real tree. We wanted an amazing, easy tree so we ordered the rather expensive ($131 after tax) 6.5-7 ft version.
When it arrived (on time), it was fine, but a bit short. The only reason it even barely made it into the 6.5 category was because of a totally bare spindle of a branch about a foot up in the air. The actual tree stopped no higher than 6'. That part was relatively fine with us, but the fact that we've only had the tree a week and needles are falling LIKE MAD despite properly chopping 2" off of the bottom and watering twice a day put us over the edge.
My husband is returning it right now - it just felt like way too much money to throw away. If it had been bargain priced, I would have thought "Oh well. You get what you pay for." But at over $130 for a dinky tree, it just didn't seem fair. So now, we'll have two upset toddlers, have to lug a tree all the way back to our local Costco and then procure a new one.
So much for super easy!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:December 4, 2010

Unbelievably Dissappointed

Pros: nothing but the color
"I hope for everybody else's sake my tree was a fluke, but the tree I received was not at all as described. They say things like "we hand pick and thoroughly inspect each live Christmas tree. Only trees that pass our rigorous selection process are delivered to your home or office" and "fresh-cut within 24-hours of shipment", but my tree is misshapen, is dropping needles like it was cut down a month ago (it was just delivered yesterday), the top stem accounts for at least a foot and a half of it's height and it splits off in a "Y" shape at the base of the stem, making it impossible to place a star on top, there are bare spots, and they certainly didn't prune the bottom trunk as stated in the description, since the the branches went all the way down to where they cut the tree.
Based on the description and the price, I thought I would be getting a really nice tree, but disappointing doesn't even begin to describe what I got."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:December 7, 2010

Not up to Costco standards

"I felt safe ordering a tree from Costco because of Costco's standard of excellence. I am disappointed in this fresh tree purchase for several reason. The height was fine, but the tree has several holes in it which must be hidden against the wall. The tree arrived with many of the bottom branches broken, which caused us to lose fullness at the bottom of the tree. And although the product description states that these trees are bottom trimmed and ready for the stand, that was absolutely not true -- there were branches extending all the way to the bottom cut edge of the tree. This is certainly not the "Cadillac" of trees, nor is it super premium, as described. It is an ordinary tree just like I could have gotten at my local big box store for 1/2 the price. Only at my local store, I would have actually gotten a nicer tree. I would return this to Costco but my husband has back problems (the reason we decided to have a tree delivered in the first place) and cannot lift it onto the car for the return."
Review 5 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:November 15, 2011

Quite Disappointing

Pros: overvalued convenience
Cons: exaggerated tree height, poor packaging, poor communications
"While I do not recommend buying this tree, the idea of pre-ordering a tree through Costco is an attractive concept so I give it a second star. I write this review to inform members thinking about this service in 2011; let me tell you about my experience last year.
I was careful about scheduling the delivery because I travel for work and my wife was going to be out of town. As it turns out the tree in its crushed box arrived three days before the agreed upon date and sat in my driveway in the sun – no telephone confirmation or request, just a dropped in the driveway. Furthermore I ordered a 7.5 – 8 ft. tree and what came was a 6ft tree with a 20” crooked stem sticking out the top. It looked like the TV towers they put on top of buildings to claim “tallest building” status. After trimming the top to a reasonable tip length, cutting the broken branches from where the box was crushed and cutting the then dried trunk bottom off the bottom, we wound up with a 5.5 ft. tree with reasonable shape and symmetry. This is an interesting concept but it fails in execution – I thought you should know before you order."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Downey, CA
Date:November 10, 2010

Most Beautiful, Freshest Tree Ever

Pros: beauty freshness convenience
Cons: none
"We have spent years going to tree farms and choosing, even cutting down our special tree. None have compared to this gorgeous, bluish green wonder. This is anything you could ever desire in a Christmas tree and the convenience is incomparable. You will not be disappointed."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:November 17, 2011

Fragrant, Full and Fresh

"I had to write a review after seeing some negative reviews. My experience could not have been better!
After years of schlepping trees in ...and out...I knew I needed something delivered. I am a widow with 4 girls and frankly putting up the tree is exhausting.
Costco made everything so easy! The tree was fresh and beautiful, exactly the size I ordered, and lasted from early December until mid January! I don't own a saw so i couldn't cut off the recommended 2 inches, but somehow it all worked out anyway. Make no mistake, even the smallest size is large and rather heavy but I managed to unbox and put it up all by myself! I often forget to water the tree but this tree was forgiving and likely because it was so fresh.
Maybe because I ordered it early I had such a positive experience when others did not. In any case I am here to order mine for 2011.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Whittier, CA
Date:November 22, 2010

Optical Illusion

Pros: beautiful tree
Cons: top branch excessively large, expensive tree for the size it actually is
Model Number: #545895
"So I got my tree delivered two days earlier than requested. I ordered a 6.5 to 7 ft. tree, I would have ordered an 8.5 ft tree if I knew I was gonna get a tree with an 18" top branch!
I feel cheated, height wise. The tree is green and smells great but it is not quite the size it should be.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2010

Disappointment

Cons: hit or miss
"I was very excited about getting this tree. Everything about the description described one impressive product -- premium tree, hand picked & thoroughly inspected, rigorous selection process, bottom pruned to make room for the stand. Unfortunately, my purchase did not fit the characteristics above. I'm no Fraser fir expert, but this tree was far from premium. It was not symmetrical - It had a big hole on top with longer branches left to cover the hole. When I turned the tree around to hide this imperfection, the other side had a "dent" in the main body of it. If I were hand picking trees, this one certainly wouldn't have made the cut. The selection process for trees must not have been as rigorous on the day my tree got cut down from the farm. In addition, the tree was not bottom pruned to fit the stand. The only good thing was that the height/size was perfect. The top branch was not abnormally long as others have described in their reviews.
I know that I took the risk by purchasing this tree online, but the description (plus cost) made me feel that I was going to get one amazing tree. I will never again go this route - Lesson learned. Good luck to everyone else moving forward in purhasing."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:December 1, 2010

Not Even Close!

Pros: convenient
Cons: price, does not resemble picture
Model Number: 545895
"Not even close to what is advertised. Nothing like the photo. Ordered/Paid for a 6.5-7 ft tree and received a tree that is barely 5.6ft. I could have bought the identical tree I received at the temporary parking lot tree stand for 60% less. Very disappointed! Shame on me for breaking tradition for convenience. Merry Christmas!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:DFW, Tx
Date:November 21, 2010

Pretty tree, much smaller than the size orderd

Pros: very fresh
Cons: much shorter than ordered
"Ordered the 8.5-9 foot tree. It arrived in great shape and looks very pretty. However it is "maybe" 7ft tall.
A price adjustment would be in order.
Thanks"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:November 17, 2011

Exceptional Purchase

Pros: gorgeous, delivered to you, great price/value
Cons: you have to cut the trunk yourself
"I feel so badly for the people who had bad experiences. However, it's COSTCO -- return it! Exchange it! I just ordered our tree again for this year. First time was last year and we were wowed & delighted.
It was perfectly packaged. It came within the window (2 days) of our delivery date. It was a gorgeous tree! Stunning all by itself with no trimmings. And it lasted 4 weeks. My only hesitation ordering again was -- how can they meet my expectations again?! It was so wonderful!! Oh, it's DELIVERED. Cannot be happier. Now we go tree shopping just for fun & holiday cheer. No hassles."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:November 23, 2010

I Wish You Were Taller

"Ordered my first real tree on 11/16 for a scheduled delivery on 11/24...got my tree early on 11/22. It came packaged just as it looked in the demo video. It smells and looks great. But Beware! The tree also looks just like the picture...the very top of the tree is one long branch. I ordered a 7.5-8 foot tree. The tree measured exactly 7.5 foot from the base to the top of the tree except the top of my tree was a long 1 foot branch....I'm disappointed that my tree did not reach up to the top of my living room windows as I had hoped."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:December 13, 2010

close to a Charlie Brown Christmas Tree

Model Number: 11599558
"We purchased the 6 1/2-7 ft tree, tree is about 6ft tall with one lone shoot about 9 inches long, perhaps to make the indicated height, trimming this to normal height and cutting 1 inch from the bottom, the tree barely makes 6 ft. The trunk diameter is about 3 1/2 inches, difficult to keep in the stand. The tree does have nice shape other than scoliosis, a bend 2/3 of the way up the tree. It did appear to be freshly cut."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wylie TX
Date:December 13, 2010

WE LOVE OUR TREE!

Model Number: 8.5-9 foot tree
"We ordered the tallest tree and it is beautiful, fresh and nearly as perfect as the picture. Wish there was a place here to post a picture of ours. There were needles and a few broken branches as well, but the shape, color and aroma of it makes up for the minor mishaps of shipping. Our tree arrived 1 day early and was noted that it would be early in the tracking provided from the shipper. ."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 27, 2011

Needles Falling Off

Pros: delivered to door, very full
Cons: needles fall off
Model Number: 6"
"We have only small cars, so getting a tree home from a lot is always an ordeal. Thus, the delivery to our door and all the great reviews convinced us this was the way to go this year. We ordered the tree to arrive 11/23. We received the notice of shipping on 11/15. It arrived on 11/21. Two days early, but we adjusted. Luckily, we were there when it arrived, cut off a couple inches at the bottom, and put it a stand with water. We've been keeping the water in it at a replenishment rate of about 2 Q a day. It is full, but there have been needles falling off since the beginning. At first, we assumed they were accumulation from its years of growth and it was put so quickly in the box, that they didn't take time to clean off the excess needles. Now on 11/27, as we decorate the tree, we have to admit that the needles are drying out and falling off the tree. We're afraid of what it will look like by Christmas and how often we're going to have to sweep up the floor around it, which right now is about 1 dustpan-full per day. Next year, we'll be going back to figuring out how to get a tree home from a lot."
Review 17 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:December 4, 2010

Very Close to The Picture!

Pros: very very convenient
Cons: feel a little lazy for not going to the tree lot!
"Tree came 3 days earlier and the height is spot on. The tree is thinner on the top - with a single branch extending about 6+ inches - perfect for putting something on top.
It is very clear that the growers trimmed and shaped the tree before they shipped it - it has a near perfect cone shape without any big branches sticking out and is even on each side. It is not quite as full on the bottom as in the picture however. Looks better than any tree on the lots I've been passing by though...
The tree fills our house with a great smell - really it's strong on the first day! Because the tree is packed in the box and tied up neatly, I was able to unpack and setup it up by myself - a big plus for my wife and our newborn."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:November 14, 2011

Don't Do It!

"I was tempted last year to purchase one of Costco's Xmas trees via the internet. It came well packed, but my goodness what a horrible decision I had made. It was simply awful! The tree was dry, broken branches, and ugly looking bare spots. I felt horrible during last year for picking this tree. I should have called Costco (I regret that decision) and told them. I'm sure there are people who had a good experience, but I will NEVER risk that again. I refuse to have an ugly Xmas tree again."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:October 30, 2011

great product!

Pros: everything
Cons: none
"The tree came nicely packed in a box- kids were excited for an early Christmas present! It was perfect:it smelled great and looked expensive even without decoration on it. it stayed in the house for more than a month and wasn't even dry. It was so beautiful, the whole family spent every free minute near it. The whole experience was definitely worth the money as I made happy everybody in the family - my wife("You are so thoughtful!") and my kids that told everybody on the block that Santa loves them more as he's already sent them tree for Christmas as a present. They already started to worry if they've been good enought to get Santa's tree this year so I am definitely ordering one this year also."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fresh-cut Premium-grade Fraser Fir Christmas Tree-6.5-7ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:November 25, 2010

AMAZING TREE!

Pros: great height, full and fresh, arrived on-time
"Our tree arrived exactly on the date we requested. It was nicely packaged and super easy to put up. It was everything we expected and so much MORE! The tree is very full, perfectly shaped, and is the perfect height – exactly what we have asked for! It smells heavenly - we have never had a fresher tree  I would recommend this product to everyone looking for a tree this season."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>