Customer Reviews for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter

Average Customer Rating:
3.961 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
21 of 26(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Review 1 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:August 23, 2011

Best Purchase Ever

"Bought two of these.
So happy with their performance.
Noise regulators for quiet or medium.
Easy to operate and are great for our allergies.
"
Review 2 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Greenville, SC
Date:July 30, 2011

Good for the money...

Pros: great for sinus problems., great for the $
Cons: noisey on high fan setting., uv light can bother you if your a light sleeper
Model Number: TPP240
"Good product for the money! Looking at other reviews I thought I'd put my 2 cents in. This is an excellent product for the money! Yes it has it's drawbacks! It's very noisey when on high and the UV bulb does have Mercury in it. If you purchased the new compact florescent bulbs they have Mercury too. Just don't break the bulb, simple. Call your local recycling facility and they will help with disposal if it burns out. The UV light can be a distraction if you don't like light on while you sleep. I put a thick washcloth over the top at night, problem solved. I also turn the fan on low because I'm a light sleeper, it's hardly noticable on low. Great for my sinuses! Noticed a difference the first day of use."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:July 20, 2011

Bad Experience

"This thing was a rattle trap from the get-go. Could not use on high, used on medium for a couple months but had to turn tv up to 70 to hear anything. Normally tv is set on 55-59. Then, loud rattling got louder on medium setting- good thing Costco took it back no problems."
Review 4 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:June 19, 2011

Not worth my time

Cons: deceptive packing, mercury warning should be listed on outside of box
"Lesson learned one more time that if something "seems too good to be true" it is! There is always a hitch somewhere and in this case it's the fact that the warning about the UV bulbs containing mercury should be prominently on the OUTSIDE of the box! I literally got this home, opened it, got out the instructions and read the warning about the UV bulbs and mercury in them. Instructions on how if they break in the unit you have to go through special process to clean up. Like call out the hazmat team as if it's on carpeting good luck getting it cleaned up without vacumning. Plus you have special disposal instructions and just like I've said to compact flourescents for the SAME reason.....NOT in my home! So I packed it up and returned it IMMEDIATELY.
Really, with pets and kids it's NOT worth the risk. I've had lamps knocked over and bulbs broken. Sorry NOT worth my time or aggravation and I feel this type of warning should definitely be on the OUTSIDE of the packaging! Very deceiving IMO!"
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 24, 2011

Plug In & Be Happy!

Pros: even feels good to my skin
Cons: uv light not easy to sleep with
"This was pleasantly easy to use, and bedroom even feels cleaner. I sleep much better all night using lowest setting since I got it six months ago; 2nd highest to stop sniffles & sneezes after air travel. The UV light is brighter than comfortable sleeping, but I'll notice deeper cleaning/ breathing results. I READ directions to ace filter cleaning, which IS lightweight, when the red light shows every 6 weeks or so (4 weeks when I leave it on high, or just on). Excellent buy."
Review 6 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
Date:April 6, 2011

Excellent Indeed!!!

"I had bad allergies, coughing with tightness in the chest so I ran to Costco and bought this. I turned on all day in high setting with UV lamp and Ion on. The next day, my cough was gone and breathing normal again! I also noticed my entertainment center and fake plant cleaned up from dust! It can be very dusty inside the house due to our tropical climate. This air purifier is just amazing!!!"
Review 7 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:February 20, 2011

Good for a month

"After less than a month of using this product is started rattling like it was going to fall apart and making horrible noises. Kept my husband and I up at night until I returned it today."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 6, 2011

Great Product

Pros: great price
Model Number: tpp240
"This is a great air cleaner. Works and does just what is says."
Review 9 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, Kentucky
Date:February 3, 2011

Therapure Air Purifier

Model Number: Thera/pure TPP240
"I was beginning to awaken with a stuffy nose during this winter season. After placing the purifier in the bedroom and sleeping with it on, no more stuffy nose!
I was so impressed that I purchased 2 more to place in rooms we spend the most of time in. I am totally satisfied with this product and it costs less than the more advertised product. Best part of it is, no replacement filters!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:January 15, 2011

Not good for the bedroom due to the bright display

Pros: quiet and great features for the money
Cons: no way to turn off bright display
Model Number: TPP240
"I purchased this to replace an older purifier for our bedroom. When using all functions it emits a very bright blue light that illuminated our entire room making it hard to sleep. This would be a great unit if used in another room (office, family room, etc.) There should be a way to disable the obnoxious light for night time use without turning off the UV/VOC feature. Unfortunately I will be returning this and looking for something better suited for bedroom/night time use. The manufacture should have taking this into consideration, an on/off switch for the display?"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2011

I likey!

Pros: small footprint, nice looking, quiet for its size/function, uv feature helps purify air
"This is the 5th different air purifier I have purchased for my home. I have severe allergies to dust, pet dander, grass, trees, just about everything nice on the planet, which gives me an itchy skin rash. So clean air is critical. This thing packs not only a HEPA filter, but also UV and ion features to cut down on the allergens and make my home a haven. Small footprint with big cleaning power and NICE looking in my living room. VERY quiet on low and med, and not too bad on high -- a big improvement over the one it replaced."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, Indiana
Date:January 4, 2011

Didn't realize how well it worked

"I purchased this previously to use in our garage when we have get togethers because that is where the smokers go. Thought it would help keep the smoke to a minimum. Used it for one party and didn't think it made much difference in keeping the smoke out so I took it back. Had another party over the holidays and realized it made a big difference. Guests commented on how much more smoky the garage was than last time. Will be making the purchase again soon."
Review 13 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:January 4, 2011

Cold Air Blows

"I brought this air filter for an upsatirs stuffy room and what I notice more than anything else is the cold air that blows from the machine, I'm surpirsed that no other comments/ reviews have mentioned it. I can't really see a big difference in the air quality of the room, but I assume it's doing it's job. Also regarding the noise I don't think it's noisy nor quiet- I can hear it but it's not annoyingly loud."
Review 14 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ca
Date:January 2, 2011

Good Purchase

"After a few days of continual use, the family has noticed an overall increase in air quality within the house. With most of the household having mild allergies, this was a good purchase."
Review 15 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2011

Would NOT buy.

"This air purifier made a burnt plastic smell from the first time I powered it on. I tried both the ionization feature and UV features. They did not help in removing the odor. After a few days of trying it, I gave up and returned it to my local Costco."
Review 16 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:December 20, 2010

Very Satisfied

"Very satisfied. Gave it 4 stars since it is noisy on any setting other then low. However as one reviewer stated, leave it on low all the time and room will be fine. It has improved the odor of the house. I do keep the UV and ion on all the time it is running since I feel the air smells better with these features on. As a scientist however, I'm really not certain they do much. Unclear if it is helping my allergies. Not strong enough to completely neutralize the odors in my 13 year old's room yet that is another issue.
I plan on buying 2 more: another one for the house and one for the business to help reduce dust in the main reception area of my office. Here in the Southwest we have lots of dust in the air."
Review 17 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:December 1, 2010

ambivalent about this one

Pros: low setting is quiet
Cons: plastic air smell, medium & high setting quite loud
Model Number: tpp240
"1. Whomever says this machine is quiet is
a. hearing impaired
b. not providing a complete description:
i. on low setting ONLY is this quiet
ii. medium setting is quite loud
iii. on high is disruptively loud
2. I've seen complaints that the blue light is too bright. This can be turned off by running the ion feature only, and the UV feature off at night.
3. This does not emit a "clean" smell in my opinion, but rather a plastic-type smell
4. I believe in the benefits of this machine, therefore I will keep it. But I have another that is cheaper that i like quite a bit more.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:November 30, 2010

Worth every penny

"I have a daughter with horrible allergies. Our old air filter kicked the bucket and we bought this as a replacement. There is no comparison to the previous model (Hunter). I like it so much I want one for my room now! It is so quiet when it is on low that you almost don't realize it is on."
Review 19 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2010
"We bought this on a whim as we have a carpet in our bedroom and three dogs. It has been great at keeping a clean smell in our room. The dust seems less as well. The only con is that the lights are bright when you are trying to sleep so we have to put something over the top. Seems to not be an issue but it would be nice to turn the lights off."
Review 20 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Date:November 24, 2010

just love the smell of clean healthy air

Pros: no replacement filters to buy
"I have bought this type of air purifier in the past and spent a lot more for the results. This cleans the air of smells plus the unseen things that are transmitted in the air from person to person. I love the fact that with a little filter cleaning maintenance, no need to buy expensive replacement filters. So no one who visits my house will know what was cooked at the last meal or smell my dog."
1 2 next>>