Customer Reviews for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush

2 Handles, 3 Standard Brush Heads, 2 Charger Bases, 2 Travel Cases
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
6
43 of 58(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Review 1 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2009

Outstanding dental Checkups in your Future

Pros: great cleaning, better gum health
Cons: handle a bit heavy
"Although there are other electric toothbrushes on the market, none of them have the patented "Sonic" action like the Sonicare. This results in a very high speed up/down motion (not rotational like some other products). This is the brushing motion recommended by my dentist and periodontist.
The brush is extremely gentle yet highly effective in cleaning. This is especially important for anyone who has problems with gum recession aggravated by brushing too hard with a manual toothbrush.
If you have problems with deeper than normal "periodontal pockets" at your gumline, this toothbrush likely will help greatly. (This is a test all hygienists perform at the beginning of a cleaning where they probe by the gumline of each tooth and measure the depth of the pocket). In my case, it totally eliminated the deep pocket issue.
For those who purchase one for the first time, let me mention that the brushing technique is different than with a manual toothbrush. First, you do not move the brush back and forth in a sawing action like with a manual brush. You slowly drag the brush along the gumline from the back of your mouth to the front, spending 30 seconds on each quadrant of your mouth, both inside and outside surfaces. The other important aspect is to keep your mouth closed as the brush's high speed action will flip toothpaste out into the room otherwise.
I've bought several Sonicare's throughout the years, starting in the days when they were only sold via Infomercials and through dentist offices, and given them as gifts to friends and family.
As far as cleaning the brush head goes, I recommend a simple procedure which I follow. First, rinse under hot water and turn on the brush for maybe 10 seconds. Next, remove the brush head from the handle and remove the large nut from the brush (very easily done by hand). Rinse under hot water and place aside to dry. It takes maybe 20 seconds to do this. If you take care of the brush heads in this fashion, they last much longer than the advertised value.
How about use by kids? Well, it works great. It's true that the handle is a bit heavy. The brush works really well on braces.
How about the bells and whistles for the different models (multiple speeds, charging indicators, etc)? This is mostly personal preference. As far as the great cleaning and oral health aspects, all Sonicare models are superb."
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2008

Awesome deal

"Getting the extra handle and brush heads is like a buy one-get one free deal. I love my Sonicare and when ours finally died after 8 years, I knew I would buy the same product immediately. One thing kept me from giving 5 stars and that is the brush head size. The obsolete model had a bigger brush head that felt more substantial. The new brush head sort of feels like a childs toothbrush, but is still bigger & better than the Oral B set (which we had before the sonicare). Overall, we are very happy with our purchase."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2009

Solution to the yucky handle

"I have the toothbrush and love it, but the nastiness of the handle got to me so I cam up with a solution. When I put a new head on I clean the handle and let it dry, then I put a bead of silicon glue around both cracks. That way the water cant get in so the next time I switch the head its clean and easy. (the glue just peels off)"
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT.
Date:May 29, 2010

Excellent Product

Pros: great price great product
Cons: price of replacement brushes
"Leaves your teeth feeling like you just left the dentist every day!! My dentist recommened it and he was right! You do have to take the brush head off periodically to clean the hande, I put the handle in the top shelf of the dishwasher and it comes out factory clean!!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis MO
Date:February 20, 2009

Everyone needs one of these!

Model Number: Advanced
"This is the best toothbrush ever. My first Sonicare was back when they were being sold on infomercials. It lasted well over 5 years, recharging perfectly. I have since purchased a replacement. As a dental hygienist of 30 years, I can tell you there is no better brush out there. Really it is not a big deal to keep it clean as others have suggested. 4 of us in the family, and we have used them continuously......My boys even took their own to college. If I could afford to give every one of my patients one of these brushes I would in a heartbeat. I think they are especially good for older persons who haven't the dexterity or ability to be as thorough as they need to be due to arthritis in their hands etc. ALL my family members have one ...brothers sisters, moms, dads, nieces, nephews..I personally have the most basic brush......I don't know as all the ohter extras are necessary."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2010

Bad Battery

Model Number: e5550
"See the Oct 18 review.
Buyer clearly got one good battery and one bad one. I have one and the battery lasts 2 to 3 weeks of daily use. I think Philips should replace the bad one.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:November 26, 2010

Bought 4

Pros: works great when they work
Cons: seems like only every other one works
Model Number: Essence
"I bought 2, 2 packs for my kids, less than 1 month later, one would not keep a charge. 4 months in another only worked intermittently. We bought them in May and Now it is November and we only have one that still works like it is supposed to. We have looked up everything to do to fix them including resetting the battery, to no avail. From the look of the other reviews, this looks to be a common problem. I hope Philips figures out the problem...as it is costly for consumers."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT.
Date:November 12, 2008

Oral B the B stands for BEST

"Best thing I have ever done for my teeth, wallet and kids.
My teeth have never been cleaner. My kids love it and brush alteast 2 times a day, usually more because it feels so good and their mouths feel so clean.
It pulses when 30 seconds is up. Do each quarter of your mouth (Upper left, Lower Left etc) for 30 sec and then go to the next spot. 2 minutes you will have the cleanest teeth ever.
"
16 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 11, 2009

My Second Sonicare

Pros: amazing checkups, whiter teeth
Cons: hard to clean, brush heads don't last as long
Model Number: E5550
"I bought my first Sonicare back in 1994 and it lasted 13 years (I kept it on the charger when not in use). I had the best checkups in my life and my teeth were so much whiter.
I bought the Essence E5550 1 1/2 years ago. Since Philips bought Sonicare, they've come out with a few different versions but I'm not seeing a real improvement.
Still works fine, but now they make the brush head with a big opening in the bottom of it & everything gets up in there where it's nearly impossible to clean.
The menu and start buttons are too close together and I accidentally press the menu when I'm trying to turn off the toothbrush.
Also, the brush heads don't last as long. On the old Sonicare, they said to change the brush head every 6 months and now they want you to do it every 3 months.
It's still the best toothbrush out there for dental care, though, and my gums are really happy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsboro, AL
Date:November 28, 2008

great!

"I have used an oral b electric toothbrush in the past, with ok results. This Sonicare is so much better! My teeth have that squeaky-clean feeling, like I've had them cleaned at the dentist.
I'm glad it has a feature to build up to its strongest power- it takes a little getting used to. But the results are great!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:February 8, 2009

Great Item

Model Number: elite
"Best electric toothbrush !!! Lots of power and never had a problem after two years -- the old one lasted us over 10 years -- may have the same luck with this one ??
One needs to clean out the handle and brush at least once a week --- I clear the brush after each use"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Asheville, NC
Date:February 24, 2011

Remove the Brush Head from the Handle!!!

Pros: does a creditable job of cleaning teeth
Cons: handle is not water tight
Model Number: Essence
"An excellent product but not five stars from me because I had an unpleasant surprise the first time I replaced the brush head. The handle of this unit is not water tight and if you're like me and want to thoroughly rinse the thing after use, remove the brush head from the handle. When I went to replace the brush head in mine the first time, I found that the whole inside of the handle was covered with disgusting black mold. I was able to clean it out by filling the cavity of the handle with chlorine, but forewarned is forearmed. Remove the brush head frequently and let both brush and handle dry thoroughly!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:January 28, 2010

Not effective

"Sadly, after several years of using this brand of electric toothbrush, I must admit that the condition of my gums has not improved. I can see significant amounts of plaque on my teeth after brushing the full two minutes. Also a negative is the disgusting mildew-smelling slime that accumulates in the handle as it migrates from the brush head past the cone shaped cover. The rubber on/off button has lost its sensitivity and I must now use my fingernail to turn it on and off, which is contributing to the deterioration of the button."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa FL
Date:July 5, 2010

Love this toothbrush!

Pros: effective quality product
"I bought this brush b/c my dentist recommended it and, I have to say, I wish I've done it sooner. It's an excellent product. It really gets my teeth clean, especially hard to reach places.
In response to the review about "leaky brush", it's supposed to do that. Read the instructions. It tells you to clean your brush once a week, including taking it off the base and rinsing out the inside.
This is a good quality product. I've used it for over 6 mos. with no problems. Buy it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2010

Product design and quality suffers greatly

Pros: had a great concept
Cons: changes have been flawed, durablility went from many years to many months
"Have been a user of sonicare products for years purchasing them for myself, mom, wife, daughter. About the time of Philips first owning the product -- the design and quality has suffered so greatly that this product can no longer be recommended. My last model never performed well and was not operating properly after 12 months. I will be checking with my dentist for a good alternative unless Philips does a steller turn-around."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2010

Defective Product

Model Number: 423502035191
"I can't give this product a good review. We have owned Philips Sonicare for years and this is the first time we've had to take a toothbrush apart daily to clean it. If you don't clean it daily the fungus starts to grow. I'm unable to clean all parts of the brush. The company says yes you have to take it apart daily and also clean it weekly with soapy water....way to much work! the need a better design."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:October 18, 2010

Battery Life

Pros: good toothbrush
Cons: battery life is too short
"We bought this unit it late May 2010. The brush does a good job of cleaning teeth. However, one of the brush battery keeps on going out. We have to charge it every two days. The other brush once is charged can last 3 weeks (use twice daily). We returned to Costco but we didn't buy another same unit. We're reseaching it to see which kind is better before the next purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:November 28, 2008

Does not live upto brand expectations

Pros: low price, long lasting bristles, regular brushead (non-rotating)
Cons: base too thick, does not hold charge, bristles don't vibrate far enough, loose brushead fills with residues constantly, clean 1-2min daily to prevent clogging, loose base and holder, does not clean space between teeth properly
"We've used different Sonicare and Oral-B brush systems for over 10 years and this particular model does not live upto Sonicare reputation."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:February 9, 2009

Love the clean feeling

"This is my first power toothbrush at 51 years young. My hygenist did recommend that I start using one.
I can't compare with other ones, but I love the clean feeling after each brushing. I always wipe my after each use. Thanks for the tips on keeping it clean.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:bakersfield , ca
Date:September 4, 2009

good brush,poor design , mold issues

Pros: great cleaning performance
Cons: design flaw leaks, mold grows on the inside health issue, sonicare has totally igonered this commom issue
"while the brush performs great, it let the water and spit leak through the rubber and accumulate inside the assembly which after a while turns into mold, I looked up online and this is a common issue with these, and sonicare has not cared to do anything to fix it, if you do have the brush already I would recommend to get sonic seal wich is a good solution to this problem,"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>