Customer Reviews for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush

2 Handles, 3 Standard Brush Heads, 2 Charger Bases, 2 Travel Cases
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
6
43 of 58(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Review 1 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2011
"This is the old model that's why the Great deal
I had the new one and it's so much better lighter and doesn't get water in the chamber
"
Review 2 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:July 10, 2011

truly whitens

Pros: puts the fun back into brushing, super clean feeling all day/night long
"within the first week I noticed my teeth were a lot whiter. I drink red wine, so had some surface stains which were lifted. My Husbands teeth are Dramatically whiter. I was trying to find a way to "delicately" tell him to go get them whitened professionally, but after using this toothbrush for now about 6 months, he won't need that professional whitening after all! its great! However, I noticed a little sensitivity in some areas because I was using the whitening setting every time for more than 2 weeks (which I believe the instructions said NOT to do..Oops!...lol) anyway, I switched to the "Sensitive" setting and all was well. Now I just whiten one week at a time, every month, and have had no issues, and maintain a noticeably whiter smile!."
Review 3 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:July 6, 2011

AWESOME!!!! MUST HAVE

Pros: works!, best results, little effort great cleaning
Cons: expensive
Model Number: Essence
"love this product, where have you been all my life SONICARE??? I should have bought this a long time ago, could have probably saved me thousands on my cleanings at the dental office.... not to say brushing with this magic stick replaces visiting the actual dentist, but the feeling after using it even ONCE is the same as paying $120 for a cleaning! love it, and love brushing EVEN more now. I dont have dental insurance, so I need to do everything I can to take care of my teeth. will definitely NEVER go back to manual brushing!"
Review 4 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peoria, AZ
Date:June 22, 2011

Awesome!!!

Pros: best toothbrush
Model Number: ?
"Love it, Purchased two, got one for my Fiance and he loves it too. Its smart, tells you when it needs recharging."
Review 5 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:June 3, 2011

Horrible battery life

Cons: batter life, moldy
"It kicked the dust about 9 months into using it. It will no longer hold a charge. Please note I did not continuously charge it until necessary. I have read reviews that the Sonicare FlexCare is a much better product. Looking into it now. If it lasts, it's worth the price."
Review 6 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:April 15, 2011

Product to keep the inside brushhead clean!

Pros: almost no tartar at my checkups
"I've used the Sonicare power toothbrush for over 9 years. It makes my teeth feel like they were cleaned by the hygienist every single day! If you want to avoid the "yuk" factor with the accumulation within the brushhead, google sonic seal. It it a fantastic product made specifically for Sonicare brushheads that I've used for 3+years. It acts like a rubber seal and keeps all mositure, toothpaste, etc out of the interior of the brushhead. Fantastic for those of us too lazy to clean & dry it every single day to prevent buildup."
Review 7 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:April 13, 2011

Satisfied Customer

Pros: cleans better than a regular tooth brush, convienant travel kit
Cons: takes a few brushing to get use to it.
Model Number: Essence
"I am very pleased with my purchase of the Philips Sonicare. It was recommended by my dentist. After using my Sonicare my dental check up has much improved."
Review 8 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Union Gap/Yakima WA
Date:April 13, 2011

Improvement to previous models

Pros: redesign bush
Cons: none
Model Number: Essence combo
"I've used a Phillips Sonicare for five year then it died. The new Essence has a better brush configuration and seemly better speed. The combo package is well worth the dollars: you can get the combo for less than a single one at other retailers."
Review 9 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stillwater, OK
Date:March 29, 2011

Great update and replacement

Model Number: Philips Sonicare® Essence
"Have used sonicare for over 12 years and my old battery wasn't charging well, so updated to new sonicare. Works just great, and like the new shape of the handle. For the person who earlier complained about the yuck factor of stuff inside the top of the handle and under the head it does pay to read the instructions and that can be easily avoided."
Review 10 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2011
"would be more user friendly if the batteries were replaceable. I looked at other brands beacuse of it."
Review 11 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vista,CA
Date:March 11, 2011

Best value! Awesome Product!

"okay, i have to admit i put off a couple years before giving into purchasing this toothbrush. my best friend recommended it to me but it took me awhile before i gave in. i was one of those people who thinks sonicare toothbrush is for people who are too lazy to brush their teeth manually. what's the difference between this and a regular toothbrush?
buy it and you'll know the difference! =)
well, i noticed that my teeth feels and looks a lot cleaner and whiter. the vibration feels really good, like massaging your gums. the uv sanitizer light is awesome! knowing that it kills the bacteria each time before you use it.
in addition, this package is an awesome deal. i've compared prices from other stores and costco has the lowest price and the extras too!
buy it, you won't regret it.
"
Review 12 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2011

Great Brush

"I bought this to replace my 5 year old Sonicare brush. I like the new features which include 30 second reminders and the charging indicator. If this one lasts 5 years I'll be very happy."
Review 13 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Asheville, NC
Date:February 24, 2011

Remove the Brush Head from the Handle!!!

Pros: does a creditable job of cleaning teeth
Cons: handle is not water tight
Model Number: Essence
"An excellent product but not five stars from me because I had an unpleasant surprise the first time I replaced the brush head. The handle of this unit is not water tight and if you're like me and want to thoroughly rinse the thing after use, remove the brush head from the handle. When I went to replace the brush head in mine the first time, I found that the whole inside of the handle was covered with disgusting black mold. I was able to clean it out by filling the cavity of the handle with chlorine, but forewarned is forearmed. Remove the brush head frequently and let both brush and handle dry thoroughly!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane Washington
Date:February 2, 2011

Great product!

Pros: nice improvment compared to my last sonic
Cons: brush heads over priced
Model Number: sonicare
"I really like the smaller wand, makes it easy to navigate"
Review 15 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Marin, California
Date:January 30, 2011

Poor quality

Cons: poor battery life, charge light does not work, on/off switch takes 3 or 4 hard presses to work
"This new Sonicare was a big disappointment. After only a few months the battery lasts only a few days, the charge light went out after two months, and now I have to wrestle with the on off button to get it to work. My old one lasted 5 years and worked great. Very poor quality.
Back to Costco today!"
Review 16 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2010

Love These Brushes!!!!

Pros: quick and easy to use
"For 2 minutes a day I have saved THOUSANDS at the dentist. Wonderful Purchase!"
Review 17 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:November 26, 2010

Bought 4

Pros: works great when they work
Cons: seems like only every other one works
Model Number: Essence
"I bought 2, 2 packs for my kids, less than 1 month later, one would not keep a charge. 4 months in another only worked intermittently. We bought them in May and Now it is November and we only have one that still works like it is supposed to. We have looked up everything to do to fix them including resetting the battery, to no avail. From the look of the other reviews, this looks to be a common problem. I hope Philips figures out the problem...as it is costly for consumers."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2010

Bad Battery

Model Number: e5550
"See the Oct 18 review.
Buyer clearly got one good battery and one bad one. I have one and the battery lasts 2 to 3 weeks of daily use. I think Philips should replace the bad one.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:October 18, 2010

Battery Life

Pros: good toothbrush
Cons: battery life is too short
"We bought this unit it late May 2010. The brush does a good job of cleaning teeth. However, one of the brush battery keeps on going out. We have to charge it every two days. The other brush once is charged can last 3 weeks (use twice daily). We returned to Costco but we didn't buy another same unit. We're reseaching it to see which kind is better before the next purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Sonicare® Essence Power Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago Western Suburbs, IL
Date:October 3, 2010

Surprisingly good toothbrushes

"Having used Oral-B electric toothbrushes for years, I was skeptical that Sonicare could live up to it, but a dentist friend highly recommended these. She couldn't have been more right. These are fantastic, and Costco offers a great deal in this 2-for-1. Comes with a charger, carrying case, etc. Two enthusiastic thumbs up. Fast shipment, too."
1 2 3 next>>