Customer Reviews for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router

Best Wireless Speed & Range ReadySHARE™ USB Storage Access Broadband Usage Meter
Average Customer Rating:
3.649 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
10
25 of 37(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Review 1 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Monroe, WA
Date:March 12, 2012

Not So Good

Pros: easy setup, looks good
Cons: poor connectivity, newest firmware still in beta status
Model Number: WNDR3800
"I purchased this from Costco and used it for about one week. Costco had the best price in the area for this item. Setup was easy and interface worked well. The problem was connectivity. I use Wi-Fi for my Android phone when I'm at home. The Netgear WNDR3800 dropped signal all the time. My wife uses Skype for business and had the router drop signal four times in a 15 minute meeting. I was looking forward to using many of the features this router has to offer but connectivity is job one for a router and it failed. I had high hopes but returned the router."
Review 2 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:March 11, 2012

Great Dual Band Router

Pros: easy setup, super fast, great tech support
Cons: initial connectivity issues
Model Number: N600
"We were hesitant to buy this router after reading the reviews regarding connectivity issues. But once we got it home and installed it. Easy breezy install, by the way. It did indeed drop the signal on our Windows based laptops repeatedly those first few days. Called NetGear tech support (number on the box 24/7 support free for 90 days) and they were great in walking us through a few changes to the network setup. The dropped signal issues were completely resolved. And it is amazingly fast."
Review 3 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:March 8, 2012

Great so far

Pros: easy setup, built-in opendns content filtering
Model Number: N600
"I just set up the router this morning, and everything is working great so far. Final judgement will have to wait a week or two, but I am very encouraged. I almost didn't buy the router due to some of the negative reviews. But recent reviews on other sites indicated that the latest beta firmware had solved several problems. So I went ahead with the purchase, and upgraded to the beta firmware.
Setup was very easy. It initially connected without a hitch, and then I used advanced settings to customize. I found the advanced settings to be easy to configure and comprehensive (I work in IT so that may not be the case for someone who does not).
I will try to remember to update my review in a couple weeks. Hopefully it is still 5 stars then!"
Review 4 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 6, 2012

Best Router

Pros: easy installation
Cons: none
Model Number: N600 WNDR3800
"I just plugged it in and it worked! It works with my HP printer and all my other devices, MAC and PC. I had just bought a Belkin and it would not work with my printer at all, and everything else was difficult to connect. Belkin Tech was no help. So I returned it to Costco. The Netgear could not have been easier to setup. I highly recommend it!"
Review 5 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dana Point, CA
Date:February 20, 2012

Bad quality

Pros: nice design, costco return policy
Cons: doesn't work, too expensive
"Connection dropped all the times and we had to re-autenticate to the network each time we used the desktop. Worked fine with the laptop.
After 60 days, could not connect to the internet any more for hours with any of the devices connected to the router.
First, we thought it was a problem with the cable company, but connecting the pc to the cable modem showed that the ISP was not the issue."
Review 6 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2012

NETGEAR IS THE WORST!

Pros: none
Cons: worthless
Model Number: WNDR3800
"This router has firmware problems. At first intermittently and then total Wi-Fi drops off. Updated firmware was even worse as Wi-Fi stopped working totally. Will not buy another Netgear product. There engineering department doesn't even know how to fix it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2012

Poor Purchase Ever

"Poor product. Can not switch between Internet Provider( Ex: between DSL and Coaxial cable Internet provider). Big Hassel for installation. Poor software support."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:December 30, 2011

Drops wireless connections all the time

Pros: fast? but than all of them are... so nothing...
Cons: drops wireless connections
Model Number: WNDR3800
"One of the worst APs I've ever dealt with. Connectivity works well up to about 20 feet, than it starts resetting. Probably a faulty firmware, but even Netgear's latest firmware does not solve it. Absolutely useless device for an access point."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:December 19, 2011

Do NOT BUY.

Cons: poor support only 90 days
Model Number: Netgear N600
"Netgear only has 90 days of support over the phone. After 90 days, you have to pay for support. This product worked and then did not. I called Netgear and spend an hour to get it fix. It worked and then the wireless connection slowed down. It does not give you a steady signal. Goes down low an up and then no signal
It seems Costco is allowing poor products into their store. I bought a belkin router 4 years ago and changed it back which still works. It gives me the same speed as Netgear. At least a year of warranty is needed in America.
Lousy product. I will not buy Netgear again as cheaper item gives better results.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 13, 2011

Wireless connection drops after about 20 hours

Model Number: WNDR3800
"I have had this router for about two weeks. Initially for the first day there were no problems. Then the 2.4GHz band wireless signal remains strong, but the none of my devices can connect to it. I have tried restarting my devices to no avail. I finally rebooted the router and then the connection is restored. I am using the latest firmware provided on the Netgear
The connectin problem happens every day. I am going to return it the next time I visit Costco. Very disappointed with Netgear."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:December 8, 2011

Really Happy w/ this Router

Pros: easy to set up, it works all the time, love the gigabite ports
Model Number: WNDR3700v2
"My previous router was very inexpensive, and I got what I paid for. The previous router was always dropping wireless signals, was slow, and troublesome. The router was very easy to setup, took only a few minutes, and since then has just worked. I highly recommend it!"
Review 12 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2011

Great wireless router, poor USB media server

"Overall, this router does what it's specs boast. Both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz channels carry great speed and broadcast a strong and reliable signal. If you are looking for a reliable wireless connection with lots of security and configuration options, this router is it. If on the other hand you will be disappointed when you find your connection to the USB attached hard drive is unbearably slow, you might need to look at other options. The best thing to do is pretend the USB port does not even exist."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:los angeles, ca.
Date:November 2, 2011

quick and easy

Pros: easy set-up
Cons: size is large
Model Number: netgear n600
"quick and simple to get running; it is much faster than router it replaced."
Review 14 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene OR
Date:October 23, 2011

Fast

"Best router ever! All my devices go through this with speed and precision."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Agawam, MA
Date:October 10, 2011

Very bad experience

Model Number: WNDR3700
"Purchased this unit to replace an old Linksys router for a small business. We needed the functionality of the PPTP VPN pass-through and it simply didn't work.
Not only did it not allow VPN connectivity, but it apparently lost the static IP I had assigned it previously (a few days before). I had to reset it to factory defaults to login at all.
Because of the multiple issues and the wasted hours attempting to get this unit to work properly, we returned it to the local Costco."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Just a working guy from Cleveland Ohio
Date:September 19, 2011

SHAME on Netgear ONLY 3 Months Tech Support!?!

Pros: the router worked well
Cons: buyer beware, hidden costs
Model Number: N600
"AND THE TECH SUPPORT I RECEIVED WAS TERRIBLE
I cannot believe that I spent $130 for a router and the first time i called to set it up AND set up all the great features for which i purchased it and the tech support person has an attitude like he is doing me a favor by simply helping me set it up. After we finish the set up, he basically says he does not have time to help me set up all the features I was excited to use like Ready Share, which turns a regular hard drive into a network drive by connecting it to the router. He suggests I read the manual and call if I have any questions. I am somewhat tech savvy and a computer friend and I cannot figure it out.
We just called tech support back yesterday, a little after 90+ days later and I was shocked and stunned to learn that tech support is no longer free after only 90 days and paying $130 for the router.
I still cannot believe it."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:August 15, 2011

Upgrade Purchase

Model Number: Netgear N600 Wireless Router
"...this was a replacement for a router that was 6 yrs old...the speed increase was noticiable and the features were greatly expanded...one problem after installation was the connection was 'Winking" out for a split second ...it didnt interupt the ISP service..but it was noticeable..once i downloaded the UPDATES for the ROUTER this problem was CORRECTED! Works Perfect NOW."
Review 18 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:August 4, 2011

Unstable wireless

Pros: gigabyte wired connection.
Cons: unstable wireless.
Model Number: Netgear WNDR3700 V2
"Wired connections work fine.
Wireless worked for about 24 hours then had problems with the wireless connection to a newer laptop. Had full signal but would not connect even after re-booting the router and deleting/re-adding the network on the laptop. Put old router back and the laptop connected immediately. Returning the router...
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 31, 2011

Wireless made easy

"This router was so easy to set up, and is much faster and easy to configure than my old Belkin router. It took about 5 minutes total to set up, and the speed is fabulous. I highly recommend this router for ease of set up, speed and security."
Review 20 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, California
Date:July 6, 2011

Router

Model Number: WNDR3700
"The router is very good. The price is good compared to other discount stores."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>