Customer Reviews for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router

Best Wireless Speed & Range ReadySHARE™ USB Storage Access Broadband Usage Meter
Average Customer Rating:
3.649 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
10
25 of 37(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Review 1 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
Date:October 16, 2010

Blown Away

Pros: fast network connections (gig-e on lan and wan), good wireless range, usb2 connect external hard drive to share files, dlna support for easy media sharing
Cons: primitive security model
Model Number: N600
"I bought this mainly to upgrade to a higher performing router. The Wireless-n and Gig-E connections drew me in. It totally delivers on that - my broadband connection to FIOS is now better than ever. However, after I connected a hard drive to the USB port, I was blown away with this router. The ReadyShare software, although not perfect, allows you to share files via standard network shares, or a web page or FTP. In addition, it can also act as a DLNA server so your network connected blu-ray player can stream music and pictures to your TV.
The security model on the ReadyShare is very primitive. It only allows for an admin with full rights and a guest account with read rights. Unfortunately, the admin account is the same one that is used to secure the router.
All in all though, it's a terrific, fast router with a surprising level of features for this price point. I would have no problem recommending this to my family and friends."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Just a working guy from Cleveland Ohio
Date:September 19, 2011

SHAME on Netgear ONLY 3 Months Tech Support!?!

Pros: the router worked well
Cons: buyer beware, hidden costs
Model Number: N600
"AND THE TECH SUPPORT I RECEIVED WAS TERRIBLE
I cannot believe that I spent $130 for a router and the first time i called to set it up AND set up all the great features for which i purchased it and the tech support person has an attitude like he is doing me a favor by simply helping me set it up. After we finish the set up, he basically says he does not have time to help me set up all the features I was excited to use like Ready Share, which turns a regular hard drive into a network drive by connecting it to the router. He suggests I read the manual and call if I have any questions. I am somewhat tech savvy and a computer friend and I cannot figure it out.
We just called tech support back yesterday, a little after 90+ days later and I was shocked and stunned to learn that tech support is no longer free after only 90 days and paying $130 for the router.
I still cannot believe it."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:October 1, 2010

Fast router

Model Number: N600 WNDR3700
"Replaced a 7+ year old netgear with this new N600 router. Setup was easy. I like that you can control the wireless power settings. I set the power to 50% and it is more than adequate for my 2-story 1500+ home. I can roam around with my laptop anywhere in the house without any signal drop.
The USB drive feature is giving me some timeout issue with my 1.5 TB Seagate drive however. Not sure what the problem is. I don't have timeout issue when connecting directly to my laptop. I might try another USB drive on the netgear and see. Overall, it's still a great router."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Poway, CA
Date:November 24, 2010

Best Router I have ever owned, hands down!

Pros: speed, setup, quality
Model Number: WNDR3700 / N600
"I was needing to replace an old router because it was dropping connections and needing to be rebooted all the time. I had wanted a dual band gigabit router, and really wanted network attached storage so i cold get rid of my multiple external hard drives. I read about this router before it came out, and liked what I heard, but I don't buy the latest technology until it proves itself. Well a year later all the reviews I see say "this router is the real deal". So I take a chance and buy it. I LOVE IT! No more dropped connections, better signal strength, and I get my gigabit speeds with the network attached storage ability. Netgear is the only brand I use for my networking needs. Always great products that are easy to set up."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:December 19, 2011

Do NOT BUY.

Cons: poor support only 90 days
Model Number: Netgear N600
"Netgear only has 90 days of support over the phone. After 90 days, you have to pay for support. This product worked and then did not. I called Netgear and spend an hour to get it fix. It worked and then the wireless connection slowed down. It does not give you a steady signal. Goes down low an up and then no signal
It seems Costco is allowing poor products into their store. I bought a belkin router 4 years ago and changed it back which still works. It gives me the same speed as Netgear. At least a year of warranty is needed in America.
Lousy product. I will not buy Netgear again as cheaper item gives better results.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:October 4, 2010

Watch the MODEM requirement

Cons: poor customer support
Model Number: wndr3700
"I missed the spec that said "Broadband (cable, DSL) Internet service and modem with Ethernet connection". This means you can ONLY use this router with an ISP that provides a MODEM.
I missed this when I ordered the router (my fault). I wasted several hours trying to install this router so finally I sent a message to customer support at netgear. Their e-mail stated I must have a modem so I knew it wouldn't work for me. My Line-of-sight ISP doesn't use modems and I couldn't access the internet with the ethernet connection from the ISP going straight into your computer (something netgear told me to try in the e-mal).
It would have been helpful if the requirements stated a MODEM was a MANDATORY requirement.
netgear was kind enough to cancel my user account (without letting me know).
This was my fault but I don't like the way netgear handled this situation and I won't buy their products in the future. They didn't even bother to offer a different netgear product (maybe they don't have a product to offer, they didn't bother to say, but cancelling my user account made things clear)."
3 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TROY, MI
Date:March 9, 2011

Great Router-wish it had 3.0 USB

Pros: auto dual n usb
Cons: no usb 3.0
Model Number: N600 DUAL BAND
"I like the auto Dual N speed and coverage is terrific. I consistantly connect at 120 Mbps using the Belkin N USB WLan stick.
..I love the ability to have a network harddrive--only using a 160 HB passport --works great--intend to add 1.5 T.
My router has two USB ports--spec only calls out one.
Only problem-- I had to have tech support help with set-up--menu a bit tricky--not as easy to set-up as Cisco WRT150 it replaced.
I wish the USB was 3.0 to match the new 3.0 USB 1-2 T hard drives!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:May 11, 2011

Excellent router

"I upgraded from an older Linksys g router to this. Excellent speed and fantastic range. I was a bit worried since my old router didn't get to all of the rooms in my house, but I get a full signal in the farthest corner now. Setup was incredibly easy - I was up and running in less than 20 minutes. The setup wizard is very handy. Added a guest network as well. I've had it installed for about 3 weeks and it's been flawless so far."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa AZ
Date:November 24, 2010

Works well

Model Number: Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
"Easy set up. Lots of features. Wireless coverage very good, all that I had expected and needed it to cover. I like the guest access, since my kids have friends over.
I have not been able to figure out how the USB storage works as of yet. Instructions on that were not very helpful. I've had several routers that I've been unhappy with, but this one is a keeper.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Agawam, MA
Date:October 10, 2011

Very bad experience

Model Number: WNDR3700
"Purchased this unit to replace an old Linksys router for a small business. We needed the functionality of the PPTP VPN pass-through and it simply didn't work.
Not only did it not allow VPN connectivity, but it apparently lost the static IP I had assigned it previously (a few days before). I had to reset it to factory defaults to login at all.
Because of the multiple issues and the wasted hours attempting to get this unit to work properly, we returned it to the local Costco."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2011

Great wireless router, poor USB media server

"Overall, this router does what it's specs boast. Both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz channels carry great speed and broadcast a strong and reliable signal. If you are looking for a reliable wireless connection with lots of security and configuration options, this router is it. If on the other hand you will be disappointed when you find your connection to the USB attached hard drive is unbearably slow, you might need to look at other options. The best thing to do is pretend the USB port does not even exist."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 13, 2011

Wireless connection drops after about 20 hours

Model Number: WNDR3800
"I have had this router for about two weeks. Initially for the first day there were no problems. Then the 2.4GHz band wireless signal remains strong, but the none of my devices can connect to it. I have tried restarting my devices to no avail. I finally rebooted the router and then the connection is restored. I am using the latest firmware provided on the Netgear
The connectin problem happens every day. I am going to return it the next time I visit Costco. Very disappointed with Netgear."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2011

Throughput!

Pros: fast, reliable, affordable
Model Number: N600
"Had issues accessing NAS device over the network with my Dlink 615 and Linksys routers. They both worked fine for Internet browsing and printing but accessing videos on my NAS device with either product was painfully slow. The Netgear device does a very good job with Everything including accessing video over the network.
It will be hard to beat the performance and reliability in this price range. My next product choice would have been 3x the cost if this didn't work.
Great product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 2, 2011

Good router but can be better

Pros: better then other routers i've tested.
Cons: could not achive stable 300mbps.
Model Number: WNDR3700
"After reading many positive reviews I decided to purchased this router. This router is better then other routers I've tested certainly beats Cisco E2-3k models. It's DD-WRT compatible.
But I could not achieve stable 300Mbps connection. So I'm returning this router and will wait for something better to come out.
P.S.I'm trying to upgrade my aging WNDR3300 running DD-WRT with stand alone gigabit switch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:August 4, 2011

Unstable wireless

Pros: gigabyte wired connection.
Cons: unstable wireless.
Model Number: Netgear WNDR3700 V2
"Wired connections work fine.
Wireless worked for about 24 hours then had problems with the wireless connection to a newer laptop. Had full signal but would not connect even after re-booting the router and deleting/re-adding the network on the laptop. Put old router back and the laptop connected immediately. Returning the router...
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vacaville, CA
Date:October 16, 2010

Fast Easy Setup. Lots of Features

Pros: fast easy setup
Cons: none that i could find
Model Number: N600
"Went from out of the box to up and running in about 15 minutes. This included setting up my desktop computer, laptop computer and wireless printer. Everything synced up on the first try without a hitch. Only trouble I had was occasional stall on my DSL service, but this was not the fault of the router, but rather my 7 year old modem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:November 25, 2010

Disconnects intermittently

Pros: setup is easy
Cons: drops internet connections
"Instructions were easy to follow; However, it was not easy figuring the connection between the NIC and the router.Then it worked.
Now and almost every 2 other days, I loose my Internet connection; Last time I tried, disconnecting NETGEAR ( from the toolbar) and then reconnecting, resolved the issue."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 4, 2011

NICE ROUTER

Model Number: Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
"This router works well. I get a strong signal to all my devices in multiple rooms. The router is configurable for the advanced user. Dont forget that this is a router only and it needs to connect to a modem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:June 29, 2011

Fantastic product

Pros: blazing fast, easy setup, lot of features
"Fantastic product. It covers an average household (5-8 devices) and more. Blazing fast. I would recommend this to anyone who wants quality HD connections"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene OR
Date:October 23, 2011

Fast

"Best router ever! All my devices go through this with speed and precision."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>