Customer Reviews for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router

Best Wireless Speed & Range ReadySHARE™ USB Storage Access Broadband Usage Meter
Average Customer Rating:
3.649 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
10
25 of 37(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Review 1 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:October 4, 2010

Watch the MODEM requirement

Cons: poor customer support
Model Number: wndr3700
"I missed the spec that said "Broadband (cable, DSL) Internet service and modem with Ethernet connection". This means you can ONLY use this router with an ISP that provides a MODEM.
I missed this when I ordered the router (my fault). I wasted several hours trying to install this router so finally I sent a message to customer support at netgear. Their e-mail stated I must have a modem so I knew it wouldn't work for me. My Line-of-sight ISP doesn't use modems and I couldn't access the internet with the ethernet connection from the ISP going straight into your computer (something netgear told me to try in the e-mal).
It would have been helpful if the requirements stated a MODEM was a MANDATORY requirement.
netgear was kind enough to cancel my user account (without letting me know).
This was my fault but I don't like the way netgear handled this situation and I won't buy their products in the future. They didn't even bother to offer a different netgear product (maybe they don't have a product to offer, they didn't bother to say, but cancelling my user account made things clear)."
3 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
Date:October 16, 2010

Blown Away

Pros: fast network connections (gig-e on lan and wan), good wireless range, usb2 connect external hard drive to share files, dlna support for easy media sharing
Cons: primitive security model
Model Number: N600
"I bought this mainly to upgrade to a higher performing router. The Wireless-n and Gig-E connections drew me in. It totally delivers on that - my broadband connection to FIOS is now better than ever. However, after I connected a hard drive to the USB port, I was blown away with this router. The ReadyShare software, although not perfect, allows you to share files via standard network shares, or a web page or FTP. In addition, it can also act as a DLNA server so your network connected blu-ray player can stream music and pictures to your TV.
The security model on the ReadyShare is very primitive. It only allows for an admin with full rights and a guest account with read rights. Unfortunately, the admin account is the same one that is used to secure the router.
All in all though, it's a terrific, fast router with a surprising level of features for this price point. I would have no problem recommending this to my family and friends."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Just a working guy from Cleveland Ohio
Date:September 19, 2011

SHAME on Netgear ONLY 3 Months Tech Support!?!

Pros: the router worked well
Cons: buyer beware, hidden costs
Model Number: N600
"AND THE TECH SUPPORT I RECEIVED WAS TERRIBLE
I cannot believe that I spent $130 for a router and the first time i called to set it up AND set up all the great features for which i purchased it and the tech support person has an attitude like he is doing me a favor by simply helping me set it up. After we finish the set up, he basically says he does not have time to help me set up all the features I was excited to use like Ready Share, which turns a regular hard drive into a network drive by connecting it to the router. He suggests I read the manual and call if I have any questions. I am somewhat tech savvy and a computer friend and I cannot figure it out.
We just called tech support back yesterday, a little after 90+ days later and I was shocked and stunned to learn that tech support is no longer free after only 90 days and paying $130 for the router.
I still cannot believe it."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:March 8, 2012

Great so far

Pros: easy setup, built-in opendns content filtering
Model Number: N600
"I just set up the router this morning, and everything is working great so far. Final judgement will have to wait a week or two, but I am very encouraged. I almost didn't buy the router due to some of the negative reviews. But recent reviews on other sites indicated that the latest beta firmware had solved several problems. So I went ahead with the purchase, and upgraded to the beta firmware.
Setup was very easy. It initially connected without a hitch, and then I used advanced settings to customize. I found the advanced settings to be easy to configure and comprehensive (I work in IT so that may not be the case for someone who does not).
I will try to remember to update my review in a couple weeks. Hopefully it is still 5 stars then!"
Review 5 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Poway, CA
Date:November 24, 2010

Best Router I have ever owned, hands down!

Pros: speed, setup, quality
Model Number: WNDR3700 / N600
"I was needing to replace an old router because it was dropping connections and needing to be rebooted all the time. I had wanted a dual band gigabit router, and really wanted network attached storage so i cold get rid of my multiple external hard drives. I read about this router before it came out, and liked what I heard, but I don't buy the latest technology until it proves itself. Well a year later all the reviews I see say "this router is the real deal". So I take a chance and buy it. I LOVE IT! No more dropped connections, better signal strength, and I get my gigabit speeds with the network attached storage ability. Netgear is the only brand I use for my networking needs. Always great products that are easy to set up."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:December 19, 2011

Do NOT BUY.

Cons: poor support only 90 days
Model Number: Netgear N600
"Netgear only has 90 days of support over the phone. After 90 days, you have to pay for support. This product worked and then did not. I called Netgear and spend an hour to get it fix. It worked and then the wireless connection slowed down. It does not give you a steady signal. Goes down low an up and then no signal
It seems Costco is allowing poor products into their store. I bought a belkin router 4 years ago and changed it back which still works. It gives me the same speed as Netgear. At least a year of warranty is needed in America.
Lousy product. I will not buy Netgear again as cheaper item gives better results.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:May 9, 2011

Don't miss this review

Pros: super easy to install, did call support for 1 thing- they were great., streaming video on 3 separate devices at same time
Cons: not a one!
"Bought this router in late April 2011, I'm not a network expert, I'd consider myself an novice. The product works flawlessly and was very easy to install and setup. I have a PC that is hardwired, then 3 separate laptops, one of which has the WNDA3100 laptop radio made for this router, I'm getting about 160Mbps download at the 5GHz bandwidth from about 30' feet away and 120Mbps with the 2.5Ghz radio. Best part though is ease of setup, not only for the router, but for each of the wireless devices I added. I also added our Wii as well, it too was very easy. We love the netflix app on the Wii."
Review 8 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:October 1, 2010

Fast router

Model Number: N600 WNDR3700
"Replaced a 7+ year old netgear with this new N600 router. Setup was easy. I like that you can control the wireless power settings. I set the power to 50% and it is more than adequate for my 2-story 1500+ home. I can roam around with my laptop anywhere in the house without any signal drop.
The USB drive feature is giving me some timeout issue with my 1.5 TB Seagate drive however. Not sure what the problem is. I don't have timeout issue when connecting directly to my laptop. I might try another USB drive on the netgear and see. Overall, it's still a great router."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Monroe, WA
Date:March 12, 2012

Not So Good

Pros: easy setup, looks good
Cons: poor connectivity, newest firmware still in beta status
Model Number: WNDR3800
"I purchased this from Costco and used it for about one week. Costco had the best price in the area for this item. Setup was easy and interface worked well. The problem was connectivity. I use Wi-Fi for my Android phone when I'm at home. The Netgear WNDR3800 dropped signal all the time. My wife uses Skype for business and had the router drop signal four times in a 15 minute meeting. I was looking forward to using many of the features this router has to offer but connectivity is job one for a router and it failed. I had high hopes but returned the router."
Review 10 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2011

Great wireless router, poor USB media server

"Overall, this router does what it's specs boast. Both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz channels carry great speed and broadcast a strong and reliable signal. If you are looking for a reliable wireless connection with lots of security and configuration options, this router is it. If on the other hand you will be disappointed when you find your connection to the USB attached hard drive is unbearably slow, you might need to look at other options. The best thing to do is pretend the USB port does not even exist."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:March 11, 2012

Great Dual Band Router

Pros: easy setup, super fast, great tech support
Cons: initial connectivity issues
Model Number: N600
"We were hesitant to buy this router after reading the reviews regarding connectivity issues. But once we got it home and installed it. Easy breezy install, by the way. It did indeed drop the signal on our Windows based laptops repeatedly those first few days. Called NetGear tech support (number on the box 24/7 support free for 90 days) and they were great in walking us through a few changes to the network setup. The dropped signal issues were completely resolved. And it is amazingly fast."
Review 12 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 13, 2011

Wireless connection drops after about 20 hours

Model Number: WNDR3800
"I have had this router for about two weeks. Initially for the first day there were no problems. Then the 2.4GHz band wireless signal remains strong, but the none of my devices can connect to it. I have tried restarting my devices to no avail. I finally rebooted the router and then the connection is restored. I am using the latest firmware provided on the Netgear
The connectin problem happens every day. I am going to return it the next time I visit Costco. Very disappointed with Netgear."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TROY, MI
Date:March 9, 2011

Great Router-wish it had 3.0 USB

Pros: auto dual n usb
Cons: no usb 3.0
Model Number: N600 DUAL BAND
"I like the auto Dual N speed and coverage is terrific. I consistantly connect at 120 Mbps using the Belkin N USB WLan stick.
..I love the ability to have a network harddrive--only using a 160 HB passport --works great--intend to add 1.5 T.
My router has two USB ports--spec only calls out one.
Only problem-- I had to have tech support help with set-up--menu a bit tricky--not as easy to set-up as Cisco WRT150 it replaced.
I wish the USB was 3.0 to match the new 3.0 USB 1-2 T hard drives!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2011

Throughput!

Pros: fast, reliable, affordable
Model Number: N600
"Had issues accessing NAS device over the network with my Dlink 615 and Linksys routers. They both worked fine for Internet browsing and printing but accessing videos on my NAS device with either product was painfully slow. The Netgear device does a very good job with Everything including accessing video over the network.
It will be hard to beat the performance and reliability in this price range. My next product choice would have been 3x the cost if this didn't work.
Great product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Agawam, MA
Date:October 10, 2011

Very bad experience

Model Number: WNDR3700
"Purchased this unit to replace an old Linksys router for a small business. We needed the functionality of the PPTP VPN pass-through and it simply didn't work.
Not only did it not allow VPN connectivity, but it apparently lost the static IP I had assigned it previously (a few days before). I had to reset it to factory defaults to login at all.
Because of the multiple issues and the wasted hours attempting to get this unit to work properly, we returned it to the local Costco."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:May 11, 2011

Excellent router

"I upgraded from an older Linksys g router to this. Excellent speed and fantastic range. I was a bit worried since my old router didn't get to all of the rooms in my house, but I get a full signal in the farthest corner now. Setup was incredibly easy - I was up and running in less than 20 minutes. The setup wizard is very handy. Added a guest network as well. I've had it installed for about 3 weeks and it's been flawless so far."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 2, 2011

Good router but can be better

Pros: better then other routers i've tested.
Cons: could not achive stable 300mbps.
Model Number: WNDR3700
"After reading many positive reviews I decided to purchased this router. This router is better then other routers I've tested certainly beats Cisco E2-3k models. It's DD-WRT compatible.
But I could not achieve stable 300Mbps connection. So I'm returning this router and will wait for something better to come out.
P.S.I'm trying to upgrade my aging WNDR3300 running DD-WRT with stand alone gigabit switch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dana Point, CA
Date:February 20, 2012

Bad quality

Pros: nice design, costco return policy
Cons: doesn't work, too expensive
"Connection dropped all the times and we had to re-autenticate to the network each time we used the desktop. Worked fine with the laptop.
After 60 days, could not connect to the internet any more for hours with any of the devices connected to the router.
First, we thought it was a problem with the cable company, but connecting the pc to the cable modem showed that the ISP was not the issue."
Review 19 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:August 15, 2011

Upgrade Purchase

Model Number: Netgear N600 Wireless Router
"...this was a replacement for a router that was 6 yrs old...the speed increase was noticiable and the features were greatly expanded...one problem after installation was the connection was 'Winking" out for a split second ...it didnt interupt the ISP service..but it was noticeable..once i downloaded the UPDATES for the ROUTER this problem was CORRECTED! Works Perfect NOW."
Review 20 for Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa AZ
Date:November 24, 2010

Works well

Model Number: Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
"Easy set up. Lots of features. Wireless coverage very good, all that I had expected and needed it to cover. I like the guest access, since my kids have friends over.
I have not been able to figure out how the USB storage works as of yet. Instructions on that were not very helpful. I've had several routers that I've been unhappy with, but this one is a keeper.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>