Customer Reviews for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit

Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit

Our body's first defense against free radicals is antioxidants. And there is no better way to get antioxidants than through sprouted seeds. Through the miracle of nature, the nutritional value of seeds dramatically increases once they have sprouted. In the Food Storage Sprouting kit from Food for Health International, you will be equipped to meet all your sprouting needs. The kit includes a variable volume stackable sprouting tray system, complete instruction booklet, Sprouting For Health book, and 10 pounds of certified organic seeds. Our selections of seeds were specifically chosen to provide you with the best blend of nutritional value that sprouted seeds have to offer. This kit has everything you need to start sprouting in minutes.   1 x Variable Volume Stackable Tray System (7-piece)   1 x Sprouting for Health Booklet   1 x Complete Instruction Booklet   10 x 1 lb seed package - Non-GMO seeds:    Alfalfa   3 Part Salad Mix   Bean Salad   Green Pea   Crunchy Lentil Fest (3 color lentil mix)   Protein Powerhouse   Garbanzo   Mung Bean   Green Lentil   Wheat Storing your seeds in a cool dry place will increase longevity of the seeds. We recommend rotating seed stock every 4-5 years At Food for Health International, our company’s name reflects our commitment to providing food that promotes optimal health, increased longevity and a sustained quality of life. *Minor substitutions of seed varieties may occur dependent upon crop availability. †Shelf Life: Up to 5 years from date of manufacture. For best taste and nutritional value, store between 60˚F and 70˚F.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Review 1 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston,TX
Date:November 25, 2013

Great Deal For the Price!

Pros: organic
Cons: some seeds may not sprout
"These grow very well. They are organic and non-gmo!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:March 2, 2013

Excellent Deal

Pros: great product excellent seeds
Cons: none
"Purchased one of these a few weeks ago and started sprouting. Love the sprouts and the selection of seeds included is great. Loved it so much, purchased 3 more! You won't be disappointed, didn't realize how good sprouts could be! Out of the 4 pails ordered, one pail had 2 packets that were opened. Costco contacted the company for replacement.
I'm very, very pleased thus far.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lincroft, NJ
Date:January 23, 2013

Great to Start Sprouting

Pros: 10 different organic seed/seet mixtures to try, great way to try out sprouting, alrady for long-term storage
Cons: very inespensive sprouter directions minimal, one pkg came with slit manuf. repalcing
"Great way to try out sprouting. Nice selection of organic seeds. The sprouter is pretty basic, but does work. Great way to put one away for long term storage purposes. Would open and check to make sure non of the bags leaked. Satisfied overall."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Monterey, CA
Date:November 19, 2012

Great deal

Pros: great value, sealed container, bags of seeds re-seal(zip to close)
Cons: cheap trays, bucket doesn't reseal well
"I haven't used this yet but I opened it and it seems that they fixed the previously reviewed problem of spilled seeds. The trays are at the bottom of the bucket and are bent a little(round peg in a square hole) but un-damaged. Searching for an equal amount of seeds costs more than the whole kit! I am going to buy another one just for the seeds."
Review 5 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:July 21, 2012

An important part of your food storage plan

Pros: easy to sprout
"Sprouting magnifies the nutritional value of seeds by boosting the B-Vitamin content, triples the amount of Vitamin A and increases Vitamin C by 5 to 6 times. Easily digestible for everyone.
You'll be glad you have these when fresh vegetables are hard to find (or when you grow tired of freeze-dried stuff). Much easier than planting a garden, and they're ready in a matter of days. Think this too: grow even when the ground is frozen solid.
As a test, I sprouted the Bean Salad Blend (adzuki, green lentil, radish and mung) earlier this week. The 8- and 10-year-old are hooked on them (even the picky eater). I'll not be saving these just for the future...they're on the menu for everyday use.
A huge bonus to me: U.S.A. grown and organic as well.
Totally delighted with this purchase."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:IL
Date:May 22, 2012

Packaging an ISSUE

Pros: fantastic service
Cons: packaging seal bad at punched hole
"Unfortunately the packages are not sealed well. The 1st kit we received, we noticed that some of the seeds were in the bottom of the bucket. On close examination, the seeds were leaking out of the hole that was punched at the top of the package invalidating the seal. We called customer support and they sent a whole new bucket out. Upon inspection of the new packets, many had the same problem. Between the 2 buckets we had a complete set of sealed seeds. This would seem to be a quality control issue, and I don't know if this is the case on others, but it does allow for potential contamination. "Packages are NOT airtight where the hole is punche"."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2012

Just what I ordered

"The Sprouting Kit arrived in good condition and just as described. All the packets are sealed in individual packets and the bucket was sealed tight. I verified with the Sprouting Kit company that the seeds are good for 2 years or indefinitely if they are sealed in an airtight container in a freezer or refrigerator. This is helpful if you are saving them for an emergency."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2012

missing the sprout trays

Pros: missing its growing trays, wonderful assortment of seeds
"Received the box today. I was excited to see what was in it and try it out so I broke the seal on the plastic tub and opened it up. It had 10 nice size bags of sprouts, two booklets of directions and recipes but was missing the growing tray. I have contacted Costco but haven't heard back yet to see if they will just send the trays. So those of you who are saving this for a rainy day, make sure yours has the trays in it or you will be out of luck when you need it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central PA
Date:March 15, 2012

5-year Shelf Life Sprouting Kit

Pros: tremendous value and variety
"Purchased this to add to our emergency food storage after another review mentioned that fresh greens might be difficult to come by in some emergencies (thank you to that person for the heads up). The bucket is sturdy and bags all sealed well, but no "use by" date was evident anywhere inside or outside the bucket. I contacted Food for Health to find out a reasonable "use by" date and the rep told me that their products are usually no older than 1-2 months by the time we customers get them and that they have a 5-year shelf life. Now we know how to work them into our long-term storage."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 26, 2011

Love this kit

Pros: easy to use, tasty seed combinations, healthy, easy way add fresh produce to long term storage
"I love this sprouting kit. It is so easy to use and the sprouts are so tasty. I have tried many of the different packets and I have enjoyed all of them so far. The multilevel sprouting kit makes it easy to spout just a few seeds or enough for a family. I haven't tried it yet but I am sure you can even spout a different variety on each of the different levels of the spouting racks."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:November 3, 2011

Love this purchase.

Pros: complete kit.
Cons: not certain how many years this will store.
"I have not yet used this item but I LOVE the way it is packaged. A complete ORGANIC SEEDS SPROUTING KIT with 10lbs of seeds is wonderful. In an emergency food shortage situation this would be a great source of fresh healthy greens.The entire thing is sealed in a bucket which can be stored in the refrigerator or freezer for several years."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MO
Date:July 4, 2011

Great starter kit and good value

"The trays in this kit work great. The seeds are a good assortment. Everything is well packed. The directions might be a little sparse for the newbie but there isn't much to it and there are plenty of web sites on sprouting."
Review 13 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 14, 2011

Sprouting Kit

Pros: lightweight, stackable
Cons: this one is for storage.
"I was excited when my Sprouting Kit came, it was in a sealed container, labeled and ready for my food storage bin. It is light weight and stacks easily. I'll probably order a couple more, to use as presents or to keep for myself."
Review 14 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2011

Low Price for High Value

Pros: great variety of seeds represented, organic, sealed for long term storage, lower priced than counter part comparison seeds
Cons: unable to purchase seeds alone without the kit, unable to choose types of seeds
"I was thrilled with my purchase of this kit. The packages are all sealed nicely and the trays look like a real space saver. I have not tried sprouting them yet, so I can't attest to the quality or taste yet, but the product seems to be of good quality as a whole and I can't wait to taste some organic sprouts soon.
My only disappoint is that there does not seem to be the option to buy more seeds without the kit. I would like to be able to do this as I don't want any more trays. If Costco could ask the manufacturer to provide this option, I'd be tickled pink."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:April 4, 2011

Would purchase again---lots of fun for family

Pros: simple to use, quick germination, no gardening experience necessary
"We purchased this kit to help with our food budget. We've only tried the alfalpha sprouts and they were easy to grow and very tasty---much tastier than store bought! The whole family has gotten involved with the sprouting and it's a kick to see how much the seeds grow each day. **We are interested in Costco carrying a refill kit that we could purchase once we've used all the seeds.**"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bloomingdale, Ohio
Date:February 18, 2011

Food for Health Food Storage Sprouting Kit

Pros: it is organic, it is 7 trays, best price
Model Number: 547976
"I have been looking for a sprouting kit to add to my emergency food storage and I found Costco to have the best price and best kit. It is organic which is very important to me. I have not used it yet since I am still able to put in a garden but I am sure it will be everything I need and at an exceptional price. I am very pleased, I told 2 friends about this and I had to order one for each of them."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:January 21, 2011
Pros: best price i've seen, packaged well for storage
Cons: didn't use this yet
"I purchased one of these a few months ago after reading how beneficial sprouts are. Sprouts are also easy and quick to grow and have fresh vegetables at any time of the year. I felt that seeds may or may not be available in the future so I did purchase another. This is a good price and I did look elsewhere and prices for the same item were over $100 plus shipping."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Food For Health™ USDA Organic Non-GMO Sprouting Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbus, OH
Date:January 20, 2011

Great Food Storage Item

"Fresh greens are a God Send when you only have freeze dried/ dried and canned to chose from. If you are being a responsible citizen who keeps a reserve of food for times of crisis, this is a great way to have a reserve of fresh food as well. People are also letting the sprouts grow past the sprout stage and into a leafing (greens) stage for whole new dimension to sprouting. The way these seeds are packed they will stay fresh and ready for years. 10 lbs are a LOT of seeds.. at a good price!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.