Customer Reviews for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p NetCast Entertainment Access SIMPLINK™ Connectivity
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Review 1 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:January 20, 2011

nice LED TV

Pros: very lightweight very thin, very easy to setup inputs can detect a signal, works with logitech harmony remotes, built-in speakers are pretty loud
Cons: bezel is shiny could create glare issue, can't personalize the input labels
Model Number: 42LE5350
"I was in the market to replace a Panasonic 50" DLP HDTV. Noticed two 42" edge lit LED TVs sitting side-by-side at Costco with similar prices. Compared the demo pictures for almost an hour, read about certain LG models having IPS panels versus VA panels (the Westbury NY Costco carries the IPS version), and then chose this one over the Panasonic based on picture quality and specs.
Unboxed it as soon as I got home, the TV itself is very lightweight and thin. Slapped the stand on and then connected the FiOS box, PS3, and XBox360 using HDMI, a DVD player using RCAs, and finally an ethernet cable from the router.
Turned on the TV, pressed the Netcast button on the remote and it asked to update the firmware on the TV. Update took about a minute or two. Once that was done, the TV restarted, and then I was able to access Netflix, Vudu, Yahoo widgets, and my DLNA server (a MacBook Pro) without a problem. [Sidenote - You don't really want to stream HD video over a wireless network ... wifi is just a hub and you'll end up slowing down everyone else on your wireless network.]
When I turned on the PS3 and XBox360, the TV detected they were on and asked if I wanted to switch to that input!
The sound quality of the built-in speakers is decent, which was a surprise.
For those of you with Logitech Harmony remotes, this TV is in their database, so it was a piece of cake to get it setup with that remote."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Randolph,NJ
Date:January 19, 2011

Best Deal ever as of today

Pros: nfl football game watching is a experience
Cons: youtube hd video
Model Number: LG 42LE5350
"well,i buyed this tv after giving a lot of thought and research on samsung only..but finally after watching this in costco and going through technical details,i buyed it and i am not dissatisfied...its good in every aspect..u name it..price,picture,sound,internet connectivity by netcast....netflix streaming is superab...only youtube dont show original HD video by singers..else its awesome product..only tv that can beat this si samsung 3D LED TV which cost a moolah...so,my suggestion,if u r planning to buy a LED TV,then go for it...i am 200% satisfied......"
Review 3 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:January 18, 2011

Fantastic LED - 3D effect??

Pros: good color out of the box, sharp image, very thin profile
Cons: stand
Model Number: 42LE5350
"I don't normally give 5* reviews, but this LG LED TV deserves it!
Picture quality on the LG is amazing. We tested it out by using a regular DVD in the BD player (upconverting to 1080i, not true 1080p) and my BF swears that it seems like people are walking out of the TV toward us. Since this isn't a 3D TV, we think it's because the screen is really sharp and the depth of field was changing with the characters as they walked -- but this was a really cool effect!
The colors are pretty good out of the box, but there's a setup wizard that works well. Also, we used the calibration feature in a Pixar DVD and had great results (better than the LG software).
We spent a lot of time debating between this LG and the 46" Samsung LED TV (46UNC6500), and we're glad we went with this one -- the Samsung was too red out of the box and the screen was too shiny for our lighting environment. Also, a slightly smaller screen with the same number of pixels = sharper image!
The only con is that the TV is a little wobbly on the stand, so I would avoid touching the screen unless absolutely necessary. I think it's because the stand comes in 2 pieces (base and pivoting attachment that connects to the screen)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Poway, CA
Date:January 17, 2011

Limited Network Ability Added

Pros: price, matte finish
Cons: what is limited network ability added, misleading product materials
Model Number: 42LE5350
"Be sure you know what you want to use this for. LG has two models that are very similar (the 42LE5300 and the 42LE5400). Besides some minor differences in some of the specs, the major difference between the two is the addition of NetCast for streaming services like NetFlicks.
Costco carries the 42LE5350, which is not even listed on LG’s site. From the detailed product specs, it looks more like a 5400 than a 5300. I almost bought this tv, and planned to use it with my NetFlick account, but something the sales associate said prompted me to ask a follow up question to LG support.
LG customer Care: The LE5350 series is only wired and does not have the ability to use the LG USB Wi-Fi adapter. Nor is the LE5350 series able to stream media over the network. The LE5300 series is basically the LE5300 series with limited network ability added.
Kodos to the costo sales associate; this is the answer they gave me. What confused me was that the box and the product details linked to from the costco.com web site all made it appear that it has the full feature network capabilities like the 5400, which is what I wanted.
As for me, I am planning to buy the 5400, and if costco carried it I would buy it from them (but they don’t). I’m still not sure that LG means by limited networking, but I’m not going to take my chances to find out. If you are not planning to hook this tv to a network anyway, then you should be good with this tv (the costco price is better than what I have found the 5300 elsewhere anyway, and costco extends the warrantee)."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Date:January 12, 2011

Great TV

"Love this TV! Super easy set up. Looks great mounted on the wall! Very slick. I really like the fact that there isn't a big bulky speaker mounted at the bottom of the screen.
Set up is a breeze. Just follow the easy steps. WiFi would be nice, but wired internet is probably faster to stream movies. May add wireless down the road.
Upgraded from an older 37" LG lcd. This TV is a little wider, but isn't as tall as the old one. Nice upgrade for a very little increase of space on the wall.
Looked at a lot of other options. Wasn't sure about the Vizio. Not very familiar with that brand. Samsung and Sony were too expensive."
Review 6 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2011

Great TV for the price

Pros: great picures right out of box many adjustments, thin, good sounds, price
Cons: remote control cannot be programmed to cablebox, no wifi
Model Number: 42e5350
"We purchased a 42" Insignia LCD earlier, but thought it was too big and contrasty, so we returned it. Then we saw the LG model in Costco, we puchased it with reservation that we might bring it back. Right after we plugged everything in, we were amazed how great the picture was. It surpassed all of our expectation Next day we peeled off rest of the stickers and threw the box away. Thank you LG."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Union, NJ
Date:January 1, 2011

Returned twice

Model Number: LG 42LE5350
"The tv has a good picture, some nice features and fair sound but the problem is when I would change channels from an HD channel to a regular channel or vice versa (ex.1080i to 480i) the picture turns to snow and there is a loud pop sound from the back of the tv. I called LG to see if maybe there was a software patch I could install but the rep said that they would have to send a techinican to fix it. I said no thank you since I had just purchased the tv, I would return it for another one. The LG rep said that was unusual for a brand new tv since they test everyone before shipping. Well apparently they do not because I returned it and brought home another brand new supposedly tested tv with the exact same issue. Now I really like the set but I don’t feel I should spend over $700 for what would turn out to be a refurbished tv. So I am returning another one, hopefully there will be some good deals coming around soon on a different brand. Very disappointed!"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:December 30, 2010

Good Product

Pros: clear picture, features for the money, network adapter
Cons: motion blur still seen during sports programs, uneven back light when the picture is all black
Model Number: 42LE5350
"My 3 year old 40" Samsung died after 3 years so I was looking at Sony for a replacement. Samsung just lost a great customer. My 4 year old 32" Sony is still going strong. However, this set was an LED model with internet access as well as netcast feature. I prefer hard wired internet as it is much faster when streaming movies from my server.
I was taken by the picture quality in the Costco. The size and features were good enough to get me by until I can get the 55" Sony I would love to buy.
I had the same issue adjusting to the clarity of the picture. It seemed like a 3D image and I checked to make sure I wasn't crazy. I am using ATT Uverse and static shots look great. I still see motion blur on football and basketball games. It could be Uverse though as the audio is always out of sync as well.
I can recommend this TV as a solid value purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sandy, Utah
Date:December 28, 2010

LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

Pros: thin, netflix, 4hdmi, amazing clarity, light, fast input switching
Cons: little wobbly on its stand, no pandora at the moment
Model Number: 42LE5350
"We picked this TV up the day after christmas, while it was still on sale for 729. We had purchased a 37" vizio that had problems with audio sync, rebooting, and random fade-to-black. It was a tough decision, but the decider was the Netflix capabilities. (which streams in HD from the look/feel) This TV is amazing. The picture is insanely sharp, the GUIs are very user friendly, the inputs are easy to reach, there are 4 HDMIs plus components, LAN, and optical out. The audio from the screen is a little weak, but if you are attaching it to a stereo, it is just fine. There is a very small delay in the audio processing between a stereo and the local audio, just as there is with any HDMI connection (processing lag) but it really is very minimal. an excellent purchase and for the price an amazing find."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manassas, VA
Date:December 28, 2010

Great Product with good features

Pros: all features packed in this tv
Cons: actually 4 hdmi input not 3 as mentioned
Model Number: 42LE5350
"this purchase was first look and buy scenario, past few months i was more inclined to Sony, samsung, Vizio, and was prepared to go with Sony 46" LED LCD at costco, but suddenly LG caught my eyes, and my wife confirmed it right away, its because of low price, great features compared to Sony, and Netcast features, I believe this is the only product that gives you option to turn off all indicators on TV to avoid power on /standby lighting distraction, 2.4ms response time, only few TVs have suc good response time at this price but not all features as this TV has, go for it, if want everything with low price,"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:lanham, MD
Date:December 26, 2010

LG LED TV

Pros: good price, excellent picture, serpurb performance when playing video gams
Cons: only one output audio source, no built in wifi
Model Number: LG 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
"i was looking for a tv to go in my family room after researching many brands i was looking at the samsung, lg, sony, sharp, and vizio .. price and quality wise i noticed there was a deal on the Lg and for the size it was a perfect fit. it was really when I got home that \I was blown away by the color and clarity of the picture. I had seen a another lg before in another store next to an aquous and i was amazed with the picture and how it stood out far superior to the sharp and the sony led. the picture looks so life like that you have to get used to the clarity. it feels and seems like the actors are in you house instead of on the screen and this is a not even 3D. for this size the LG gives a 4million to 1 ratio and if you check all of the previous listed manufactures you will find that for the 42 inch none of them come close to the ratio of 4 mil to 1. I am impressed at how easy it is to setup and operate. I give it a 5 star it;s flat light for the size and the best picture i have seen on a 42 in tv.thus far and did i mention the price is excellent."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.