Customer Reviews for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Dolby Digital® DTS 2.0™ SRS CircleCinema HD™ SRS TruVolume™
Average Customer Rating:
3.628 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
8
30 of 43(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sierra Madre, CA
Date:October 15, 2011

Energy Vampire - but nice

Pros: dramatically enhances movie and tv viewing
Cons: energy vampire - 7 watts when off, can't easily mount to vizio tv
"I haven't listened critically to music, but for movies, the Vizio 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar provides power and clarity, along with sufficient "boom" to really make movie viewing enjoyable. I can't compare it to other products, but I like what I'm hearing.
On the down side, the two units draw around 7 Watts when they are off. The Vizio TV, since they are regulated and Energy Star rated draws around 1 Watt. This will cost you about $7.00 per year or more to keep plugged in. Also, the provided brackets/feet allow you to set it on the surface in front of the TV or attach it to the wall. Vizio hasn't seen fit to make a bracket to attach it to the top of the TV for free standing use. You end up needing to put lifts under the TV base to get it up high enough for the IR remotes to work. Also, the "boom box" styling with the chrome rings makes the unit look cheaper than it would otherwise.
"
Review 2 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis Minnesota
Date:September 22, 2011

Great System, Great Price

Pros: ease of set up good looks price
Cons: non for me
Model Number: Vizio wireless surround sound system
"This system is simply the best buy for your money. If you are looking for great sound and ease of set up this is for you. There is no need to run exposed wires all over your living room, that is what hooked me (more importantly it hooked the wife). I have had the system for over a month now and have not had any problems with the lights what so ever. The kids love to watch movies with true theater like sound and now are begging for a larger screen tv (currently on a 46 in.)"
Review 3 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:September 13, 2011

LED Lights are fine

Model Number: Vizio VHT510
"I read a lot of reviews regarding the Soundbar. Most said that the sound and value were outstanding. The concern was the LED lights. While I may have only had the Soundbar for a couple of weeks, I have not experienced any problems. Even if they failed, and it ocurred with many early on, I don't feel it would even impede, to any great extent, the use of the system. Again the sound, and the convenience of a SRS wireless woofer, for the money, is great."
Review 4 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:August 17, 2011

Very good sound quality

Pros: classy look, great sound, wireless sub-woofer
Cons: absence of sub-woofer on/off button on remote
Model Number: VHT-510
"I loved this product the first time I bought it. The sound quality is just amazing at this cost and the wireless sub-woofer is the best feature I have seen in a home-theater system.
Unfortunately, the LED conked off after a few days like most of the reviews mention. I checked with the Customer Support and returning the product was the best option according to them.
I was feeling bad about it as there was nothing wrong with the sound system except for the display, but it is no good without it. So, I returned it and since I was so impressed with the system overall, I bought another one to give it another try.
It has been over 10 days since I bought this one and it is working fine so far and I hope it keeps on working."
Review 5 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lenexa, ks
Date:August 6, 2011

Good speaker package

Pros: sound quality, ease of use and setup, value
Cons: loses connection and sound, flimsy remote, satellite wires to sub
"I was looking for some sort of speaker bar to replace an older system and these fit well with my 55" vizio From costco. I did a lot of reviewing on consumer reports and Cnet. These got good reviews and for the money, vizio is hard to beat. I like the fact that the sub and rear satellites are wireless in combination with each other from the bar. The satellites still have wires, but its minimal. Overall good sound and easy setup. The remote is a bit flimsy, but you can pair with tv remote. Occassionally lose sound and have to Power off and on again. bar, but there still"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Washing
Date:August 3, 2011

Awsome System!!! Defineatly A Good Buy!!!

Pros: wireless subwoofer w/ rear speakers., easy set up! easy to operate!
Cons: girlfriend won't let me turn it up loud as i like, they should add a opitcal cabe or tell you upfront
"I actyally brought this system late February of 2011. I waited to review for 5 months.
I will tell you that I absolutely love it. The sounds are true and crisp, and the surrond-sound is so amazing I still today look around the room to see where the sound is coming from.
Easy to set-up and operate. I would say however, the onlything I didn't like is that it did not come with an optical cable.....get one! You can however use one of the 'old-school' cords....the ones that have the yellow, red, and white cables but the optical cable works better and stays out of sight.
I really like that you can put the main long speaker in front of your t.v. without wires bugging you. Better yet, the subwoofer is actually truely wireless....really! Now, you will have to attach the rear speaker wires to your sub.....the wires that come w/ it are long. I put my subwoofer under a end table, then put my rear speakers ON the 2 end tables with the wires behind the couch...out of sight out of mind.
My LED lights have not had any problems at all so far. I even left my sound system on, on some nights by mistake and the lghts still are a go. Truely, after about 2-4 days of getting use to your system, you won't need the lights if they got bad....the controls and settings will still be the same...but if they go out, take it back.
Again, I'm very happy with this system. I checked out about 20 other systems including boise, and I found that I like this one, mainly because of the sound, easy controls, and the actualal wireless speaker.
Hope that helps a bit."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 1, 2011

Great Purchase!

Pros: easy to assemble and wireless sub and rear speaker, sounds great!, very afordable
Cons: did not come with an optical cable
Model Number: Vizio VHT510
"This was better than I imagined it would be. I was looking for a system that would allow me to easily set up a surround sound system with my wood flooring and my vaulted ceilings. I took this out of the box and it literally took me 15 to 20 minute to properly set it up. For the best sound quality you should purchase an optical cable. I would highly recommend this to ANYONE!"
Review 8 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 11, 2011

Home Theater ound

Pros: terrific design. good sound
Cons: none
Model Number: VHT510
"Great design. Surrounds plug in to wireless sub with 20 feet of speaker wire for each. plenty long to set up. Great sound for what it is."
Review 9 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix area, AZ
Date:June 28, 2011

Vizio VHT 510 Surround Sound System

Pros: cost, sound
Cons: failure of lights within 2 days
"The LED volume (and input) indicator quit after one (1) day. This issue seems to plague this product. All VHT510s were removed from Costco recently so I presumed the problem was fixed when the items were returned to the shelves--that assumption proved to be WRONG.
TechSupport was helpful but verbally denied this being an issue, even after i asked if they had done any sort of Google search recently!
Unfortunate, to have this type of issue on a product. Am having new sound bar sent from Vizio to see if it works. From what I have read, I have a 50-50 chance of the new one still not working.
This issue aside, it's a great unit and the wireless subwoofer provides an easy option for connecting rear speakers (which connect to subwoofer)."
Review 10 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oahu, HI
Date:May 13, 2011

LED LIGHT PROBLEM AFTER 2 DAYS

Pros: overall sound is very good
Cons: led light problem, no hdmi connection
"Sounds great when I hooked it up to my Sony blu ray Google TV Internet Box and Sony 46" LED HDTV, impressive sound quality for a sound bar system. And I love how the satellite speakers connect to the wireless sub for easy anywhere placement.
BUT..my unit got the known LED volume light failure after only 2 days of use, so I could not see what volume level I was at. Also there is no HDMI connection, only optical and stereo. Returned to Costco after 3 days..sigh because I really liked the sound.
I will wait for the new model VHT520 coming soon which has HDMI connections and hopefully they fixed the LED problems."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:April 24, 2011

Excellent Choice

Pros: sound quality, ease of installation & setup, value
Cons: provide rear power off w/front remote
Model Number: VHT510
"I was a bit skeptical when I purchased this unit as I have been looking for a system with wireless rear speakers for over 2 years. Most of them fall short of expectations regardless of the brand. When I saw this one at Costco, I wanted to give it a try and could easily ascertain if it was a good choice or going back for return.
When i opened the box, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality or the parts, specs on the speaker drivers and efficiency of the individual speakers (spl). the wireless system makes sense-an amplified sub providing the power to the rear speakers. it was a snap to install, using an optical cable to my Sony Bravia HDTV and FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS for the rear speaker setup-it took only a few minutes and sounds excellent. This is used in a room with 15' ceilings and in an area that is about 21' x 30' and replaces a dedicated 5.1 surround system with 15" subwoofer very well. The audio is clear and the sound effects from the sub and rear channels are outstanding. You can't find a better product on the market for the money. This also has better sound quality than the Bose system (IMHO) at a fraction of the price. It is a keeper!. PS I did not have any of the issues with LED etc. some of the other reviews indicate. It has been running for several weeks without a hitch. NOTE: if you don't initially hear the rear/sub audio when you do the initial install, READ the manual Page18 to switch if from SRS WOS HD mode to SRS TSHD & you are set. (Don't mess with pairing the sub-try this first-takes 2 seconds and worked the first time.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2011

nice sound

Pros: sounds good
Cons: led light to ajust everthing out after 3 days
Model Number: vht510
"Easy set up. Sounds good wireless sub is nice and rear speaker hooks up from sub nice."
Review 13 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:March 1, 2011

Good for the price

"Not an unbelievable sound. But very good esp for the price. The manual is a bit sparse. It tells you how to control some of the different settings but not what the settings are doing. Not sure if any manual really does that.
I am fan of the sound. My wife however doesnt like the subwoofer so she always watches the TV with it off.
"
Review 14 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Superior, Colorado
Date:February 18, 2011

If you can live without the volume indicator

Pros: construction, sound quality, price
Cons: electronic defective
Model Number: Vizio VHT510
"It is a solidly constructed system. The sound quality is good and the price is attractive. But the blue LED volume indicator went out after a few days. Vizio Tech Support provided the 6-step instructions to fix it:
1- Power off sound bar
2- Unplug sound bar from outlet
3- Press and hold in the power button on the sound bar for 30 seconds (while it is unplugged from the wall)
4- Release the power button
5- Plug in the sound bar
6- Power the sound bar back on
I did get the volume indicator back by these steps. But lately the indicator is gone for good, no matter how I tried to "fix" it. The volume still changes though. So if you are OK without the indicator, the sound bar is still a good choice. But I can't justify a $300 plus device that became defective so fast. So it is likely heading back to Costco --- thanks to the generous return policy. Go Costco!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ROCKLIN, CA
Date:February 17, 2011
Model Number: VIZIO 5.1 HOME THEATER
"Installed the product on 2/2011 and had no problems. Works as advertised and so far have not had any trouble with the display lights which were mentioned in some of the reviews."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:February 15, 2011

Don't buy this

"Poor quality control. After wasting my time running the necessary wries I found one of the satellite speaker wires not inserted in the connector. Tried to fix it but the connector was damaged. Also, one of the buttons on the remote would not work."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Date:February 10, 2011

I ignored the other reviews and am sorry I did so

Model Number: Vizio 5 surround sound - VHT 510
"Much like the dozens of others who have written a review....my blue lights in the front indicating the levels of sound went out after just a few days. Acutally, they lasted 8 days!
We now have no visual way of telling where the volume is set and what may be best for each station/show."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2011

Good Sound but LED's Go Out

Pros: good sound
Cons: led's go out
"The sound is good but the LED's that show volume, balance, bass etc. went out after about 1 week. You can sometimes get the LED's to work again by resetting the power but sometimes even this doesn't fix the LED's."
Review 19 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kailua, Hi
Date:January 27, 2011

Pretty good

Pros: price is right
Model Number: vht510
"My 1st audio system in many years. Setup is OK. Sub paired up well. Sound is gr8. The blue indicators show up & down sound levels, but, not sure how to really use them. Don't know how to balance the system. Their layout plan is good. Make sure you get a 90 degree adapter for the optical cable if you mount it on the wall, or risk damaging the cable.
The manual photo of the sound bar could be twice as big to show the connections & the lights & the buttons.
I've only had it 2 days, so I will get back after a couple of weeks to see whether these blue bars still work. Seems they tend to go out, according to other buyers.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:January 26, 2011

What a difference to the sound

Model Number: VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater with Wireless Subwoofer
"Product arrived quickly.
Easy to hook up.
Sound is great compared to speakers on TV.
Blue LED lights still working after a week of use. Waiting to see if I'll have a failure of these lights as many have reported.
One lesson learned to pass on. When installing optical analog cable (not included) the port has a spring loaded flapper covering the female receptical for the cable. Thought it was a removable cover. Busted the flapper off the TV hook up for the cable with neddle nose pliers. Don't use pliers. Just push the cable against the flapper door and it moves out of the way."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>