Customer Reviews for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer

Dolby Digital® DTS 2.0™ SRS CircleCinema HD™ SRS TruVolume™
Average Customer Rating:
3.628 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
8
30 of 43(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Review 1 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Superior, Colorado
Date:February 18, 2011

If you can live without the volume indicator

Pros: construction, sound quality, price
Cons: electronic defective
Model Number: Vizio VHT510
"It is a solidly constructed system. The sound quality is good and the price is attractive. But the blue LED volume indicator went out after a few days. Vizio Tech Support provided the 6-step instructions to fix it:
1- Power off sound bar
2- Unplug sound bar from outlet
3- Press and hold in the power button on the sound bar for 30 seconds (while it is unplugged from the wall)
4- Release the power button
5- Plug in the sound bar
6- Power the sound bar back on
I did get the volume indicator back by these steps. But lately the indicator is gone for good, no matter how I tried to "fix" it. The volume still changes though. So if you are OK without the indicator, the sound bar is still a good choice. But I can't justify a $300 plus device that became defective so fast. So it is likely heading back to Costco --- thanks to the generous return policy. Go Costco!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:January 14, 2011

Missing the Blue Lights

Pros: great sound. i could finally hear the dialog
Cons: i miss the blue lights. i need the blue lights.
Model Number: Model VHT510- VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater with Wireless Subwoofer
"Loved the sound and the look in the store. The sound transfered to home well but the look...not so well. The blue volume indicator lights disappeared after a few days. Called Vizio and was told how to reset. Unplug, hold down power button 30-40 seconds, plug back in and power up. It worked to reset to factory preset. Blue lights back on... for another week or so. Will not come back no matter how I reset. Returned to Cosco (fabulous return policy). Second try because I love the system. Same results, almost identical timing, no more blue lights. Do I attempt a third time with the same system? I am leaning toward NOPE. We'll see what else is available. I loved this system and the sound was great, just cannot do without the blue... lights. The blue lights not only indicate volume level, they are used to adjust each of the various channel levels as well. All of this and they looked cool too. It's unfortunate because I have been very impressed with other Vizio products I have purchased. Be careful when you purchase this one. How important are the blue lights to you?"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:April 24, 2011

Excellent Choice

Pros: sound quality, ease of installation & setup, value
Cons: provide rear power off w/front remote
Model Number: VHT510
"I was a bit skeptical when I purchased this unit as I have been looking for a system with wireless rear speakers for over 2 years. Most of them fall short of expectations regardless of the brand. When I saw this one at Costco, I wanted to give it a try and could easily ascertain if it was a good choice or going back for return.
When i opened the box, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality or the parts, specs on the speaker drivers and efficiency of the individual speakers (spl). the wireless system makes sense-an amplified sub providing the power to the rear speakers. it was a snap to install, using an optical cable to my Sony Bravia HDTV and FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS for the rear speaker setup-it took only a few minutes and sounds excellent. This is used in a room with 15' ceilings and in an area that is about 21' x 30' and replaces a dedicated 5.1 surround system with 15" subwoofer very well. The audio is clear and the sound effects from the sub and rear channels are outstanding. You can't find a better product on the market for the money. This also has better sound quality than the Bose system (IMHO) at a fraction of the price. It is a keeper!. PS I did not have any of the issues with LED etc. some of the other reviews indicate. It has been running for several weeks without a hitch. NOTE: if you don't initially hear the rear/sub audio when you do the initial install, READ the manual Page18 to switch if from SRS WOS HD mode to SRS TSHD & you are set. (Don't mess with pairing the sub-try this first-takes 2 seconds and worked the first time.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, Wa
Date:December 24, 2010

Can't Go Wrong For The Price!

"Bought this system a couple weeks ago and so far it's awesome! Sound quality is excellent and it was very easy to set up. The wireless sub is very beneficial as you can set it up in the back and connect your rear speakers to it and not have to run speaker wire across your room.
Like other reviewers have noted the remote does seem to be a bit lacking, but I linked it with my universal remote without a problem. So far I still have the blue volume indicators working on my speaker bar too."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:October 28, 2010

Fantastic sound, Great Value

Pros: surround speakers
Model Number: VHT-510
"If you're looking for a sound bar to replace the crummy sound on your flat panel, this is it!
I've tried other sound bars with sub costing much more, and nothing comes close for the money. Unbelievable sound!!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oahu, HI
Date:May 13, 2011

LED LIGHT PROBLEM AFTER 2 DAYS

Pros: overall sound is very good
Cons: led light problem, no hdmi connection
"Sounds great when I hooked it up to my Sony blu ray Google TV Internet Box and Sony 46" LED HDTV, impressive sound quality for a sound bar system. And I love how the satellite speakers connect to the wireless sub for easy anywhere placement.
BUT..my unit got the known LED volume light failure after only 2 days of use, so I could not see what volume level I was at. Also there is no HDMI connection, only optical and stereo. Returned to Costco after 3 days..sigh because I really liked the sound.
I will wait for the new model VHT520 coming soon which has HDMI connections and hopefully they fixed the LED problems."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:December 12, 2010

Decent sound

Pros: wireless subwoofer connects to rear speakers, simple to set up
Cons: failed indicator lights
Model Number: VHT510
"Like another reviewer, the volume indicator lights went out after a week, but since it was otherwise acceptable, I returned it and got another one. (Keeping fingers crossed.) An optical cable provides much better sound (5.1) than the tv speakers, but not as good as a separate home theatre sound system with more powerful speakers/subwoofer. Big plus in placement flexibility having the rear speakers connected to the wireless subwoofer. This convenience is what sold me on it for my situaition. For the price, the remote seems a little flimsy and the button battery cover is tricky to remove. The reviewer not getting sound from the rear speakers should check wire connections inside the rear speaker housings. They may appear connected, but upon removing the little cover, you will see they aren't plugged in by the factory."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Washing
Date:August 3, 2011

Awsome System!!! Defineatly A Good Buy!!!

Pros: wireless subwoofer w/ rear speakers., easy set up! easy to operate!
Cons: girlfriend won't let me turn it up loud as i like, they should add a opitcal cabe or tell you upfront
"I actyally brought this system late February of 2011. I waited to review for 5 months.
I will tell you that I absolutely love it. The sounds are true and crisp, and the surrond-sound is so amazing I still today look around the room to see where the sound is coming from.
Easy to set-up and operate. I would say however, the onlything I didn't like is that it did not come with an optical cable.....get one! You can however use one of the 'old-school' cords....the ones that have the yellow, red, and white cables but the optical cable works better and stays out of sight.
I really like that you can put the main long speaker in front of your t.v. without wires bugging you. Better yet, the subwoofer is actually truely wireless....really! Now, you will have to attach the rear speaker wires to your sub.....the wires that come w/ it are long. I put my subwoofer under a end table, then put my rear speakers ON the 2 end tables with the wires behind the couch...out of sight out of mind.
My LED lights have not had any problems at all so far. I even left my sound system on, on some nights by mistake and the lghts still are a go. Truely, after about 2-4 days of getting use to your system, you won't need the lights if they got bad....the controls and settings will still be the same...but if they go out, take it back.
Again, I'm very happy with this system. I checked out about 20 other systems including boise, and I found that I like this one, mainly because of the sound, easy controls, and the actualal wireless speaker.
Hope that helps a bit."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St.Louis, MO
Date:January 1, 2011

Good sound bar...But!

"Pretty nice set-up for the money. It comes with a set of rear speakers, which attach to a powered sub-woofer, providing oh-hum sound, even at full gain. The wireless sub-woofer it a cool touch, and while the bass is not mind-blowing it does an acceptable job for a small to medium sized room.
The sound bar gets pretty loud while maintaining good sound clarity, but lacks depth and quality. But nobody's going to argue that it's a 100 times better than any tin can tv's speakers. The remote is easy to use...its small and has a slide out keyboard to control the: sub, center, rear, treble, and bass gains.
I've read from other reviewers that ther is issue concerning the blue indicator lights on the sound bar burning out. I can add validity to those claims as I am also experiencing the same problem! Other than that problem my only other major complaint is with the sound bar's lack of a digital coax input. While the bar does have a optical input...My DirectTV HD satellite box (H24 non-DVR model) does not and it has a digital Coaxial output but no optical. Therefore, I must output from the tvs optical port to the sound bar, which means no Dobly Digital or DTS decoding. I am returning my Vizio and will see what else Costco has to offer.
Good luck your mileage may vary this is just my experience.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lenexa, ks
Date:August 6, 2011

Good speaker package

Pros: sound quality, ease of use and setup, value
Cons: loses connection and sound, flimsy remote, satellite wires to sub
"I was looking for some sort of speaker bar to replace an older system and these fit well with my 55" vizio From costco. I did a lot of reviewing on consumer reports and Cnet. These got good reviews and for the money, vizio is hard to beat. I like the fact that the sub and rear satellites are wireless in combination with each other from the bar. The satellites still have wires, but its minimal. Overall good sound and easy setup. The remote is a bit flimsy, but you can pair with tv remote. Occassionally lose sound and have to Power off and on again. bar, but there still"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:alpharetta , ga
Date:January 9, 2011

Wish it worked....Sorry

Model Number: vht510
"I really looked forward to the product.... great Consumer Reports reviews BUT could never get the subwoofer linked to the sound bar after 2 calls to tech support and an hour on the phone. Was told it was an out of the box defect. Tech support was excellent and tried. even wanted to send me a new one... another charge, shipping, then credit.... to much trouble. will return the product. Set up simple if it worked. I read other reviews in other publications and this problem is not isolated..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sierra Madre, CA
Date:October 15, 2011

Energy Vampire - but nice

Pros: dramatically enhances movie and tv viewing
Cons: energy vampire - 7 watts when off, can't easily mount to vizio tv
"I haven't listened critically to music, but for movies, the Vizio 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar provides power and clarity, along with sufficient "boom" to really make movie viewing enjoyable. I can't compare it to other products, but I like what I'm hearing.
On the down side, the two units draw around 7 Watts when they are off. The Vizio TV, since they are regulated and Energy Star rated draws around 1 Watt. This will cost you about $7.00 per year or more to keep plugged in. Also, the provided brackets/feet allow you to set it on the surface in front of the TV or attach it to the wall. Vizio hasn't seen fit to make a bracket to attach it to the top of the TV for free standing use. You end up needing to put lifts under the TV base to get it up high enough for the IR remotes to work. Also, the "boom box" styling with the chrome rings makes the unit look cheaper than it would otherwise.
"
Review 13 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:January 3, 2011

Costco to the Rescue

Pros: easy to setup., looks good and no wires from front to back of room, sounds good
Model Number: VHT-510
"I bought one and it broke within 24 hours. Called Vizio and they wanted me to send it in at my expense and they would ship another back in 5 - 8 business days. I called Costco and asked if we could do something better. Vizio then offered to do advance shipping (2 day) and included the paid shipping label for the return. The second unit works well and I'm quite happy with it. I have a small living room and this is more than enough for it. No problems with balancing out rear speakers as others have complained about. There are some movies that have better sound tracks than others though. For the price and easy setup, it gets a thumbs up from me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kailua, Hi
Date:January 27, 2011

Pretty good

Pros: price is right
Model Number: vht510
"My 1st audio system in many years. Setup is OK. Sub paired up well. Sound is gr8. The blue indicators show up & down sound levels, but, not sure how to really use them. Don't know how to balance the system. Their layout plan is good. Make sure you get a 90 degree adapter for the optical cable if you mount it on the wall, or risk damaging the cable.
The manual photo of the sound bar could be twice as big to show the connections & the lights & the buttons.
I've only had it 2 days, so I will get back after a couple of weeks to see whether these blue bars still work. Seems they tend to go out, according to other buyers.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:January 26, 2011

What a difference to the sound

Model Number: VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater with Wireless Subwoofer
"Product arrived quickly.
Easy to hook up.
Sound is great compared to speakers on TV.
Blue LED lights still working after a week of use. Waiting to see if I'll have a failure of these lights as many have reported.
One lesson learned to pass on. When installing optical analog cable (not included) the port has a spring loaded flapper covering the female receptical for the cable. Thought it was a removable cover. Busted the flapper off the TV hook up for the cable with neddle nose pliers. Don't use pliers. Just push the cable against the flapper door and it moves out of the way."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2011

Two failures in two months

Pros: looks nice, great sound
Cons: failure prone
"The first one I bought had the problem with the LED volume level lights stop working after a week or two. We replaced it with another one that worked fine for about a month and then the wireless subwoofer suddenly lost link with the soundbar and nothing would work to get them to pair together again. There is also a buzzing noise from the power brick that will only go away if it is unplugged from the wall. After the second failure we went with the JVC BA1 instead. Other than the problem with it failing, it sounded great and looked nice too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Suffolk, VA
Date:November 5, 2010

Major Improvement

Pros: very good looking works well., nice sub woofer
Cons: rear speakers seem under powered
"This system is very good looking. the bar sounds great and the subwoofer works well. I would have given it more starts if I could get the rear speakers to work well. For some reason, the rear speakers don't work as well as they should. Perhaps it has something to do with the sub but just can't seem to make it work. the instructions are not very good at helping to balance the system. If you can figure out how to balance the system, this is a very good system for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, Al
Date:January 20, 2011

Do Not Purchase

Pros: awesome sound, good looks
Cons: 3 day half-life, 6 day life-span
Model Number: VHT510
"Awesome system, got it for Christmas from my parents.... Then, 6 days later, no LEDs ... Returned system at the advice of VIZIO customer support... 2nd system, a whole 7 days later, No lights!!! Awesome system , but its like having a T.V. without a display. No adjustments can be made to the levels with any accuracy... DO NOT BUY THIS unless you are looking for a hobby of installing, uninstalling, returning, and getting to know your local Costco Crew.. True story (T.S.)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Burke, VA
Date:November 26, 2010

Excellent sound for the money

Pros: incredible sound
Cons: lcd light burn out!
"This system is excellent for the money. The sound is incredible. However, I seemed to have encountered the same problem, twice now, with this sound bar. The LCD light, inside the grill of the sound bar, would die within a couple of days of use. I have contacted the VIZIO service center and it was determined to be defective. Now I have to return this second one and purchase a third one. Hopefully, the third one will be a charmed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 5.1 Home Theater Soundbar with Wireless Subwoofer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:January 15, 2011

"You get what you pay for"

Pros: attentive tech support
Cons: poor quality
Model Number: VHT510
"The product worked great for a month; and then the wireless subwoofer stopped communicating with the soundbar. The troubleshooting section of the manual was confusing and it did not solve my problem.
The only redeeming quality was that Vizio's online tech support at least made their best attempt to try and fix the system.
Thank goodness I can return it within Costco's 90 day policy.
No more Vizio for my family."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>