Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System

Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System

Perfect for both personal use and entertaining, this single-serve home-brewing system offers consumers fresh gourmet coffee, tea, hot cocoa and more in under one minute. Using Keurig K-Cups featuring over two hundred varieties of pre-measured, premium brand coffee and tea this brewer's innovative one-touch technology makes it easier than ever for consumers to enjoy a wide array of hot beverages.    Added Value: 60 K-Cup Sampler Pack 6 Water Filters, 5 Cup Sizes, 80 oz. Reservoir. Features: Hot Water Button lets consumers enjoy their favorite instant coffee, soup, tea, and hot cocoa, in no time   Rinse Control instantly cleans the inside of the brew chamber to keep every cup as delicious as the first   Extra Large Removable 80 oz Water Reservoir offers impressive capacity, eliminating the need for frequent refills   Fully Programmable full spectrum of features including Auto On/Off and adjustable temperature control   Blue Backlit LCD with Digital Clock brightly displays information, at an easy-to-read glance   5 Cup Sizes including a 4-oz/iced beverage setting, a 6-oz., 8-oz., 10-oz. and 12-oz.   Quiet Brew Technology lets you enjoy every cup more peacefully than ever   Removable Drip Tray allows extra space for travel mugs   BPA Free (all parts that come in contact with water or coffee)   My K-Cup Reusable Coffee Filter can be filled with any gourmet ground coffee, to suit personal tastes, and conveniently stores right in the unit   Charcoal Water Filter removes impurities that could interfere with taste   Silver finish   UL listed   Dimensions: 14.6" L x 12.9" W x 16.2" H   Weight: 16.26 lbs.   Limited 3-year warranty   Made in China   For product related questions, please call Cuisinart toll-free at (800) 726-0190 Model: SS-780PC / Keurig
Average Customer Rating:
3.621 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
(out of 153 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
25
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
29
102 of 153(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Washington, WI
Date:December 23, 2013

Awesome Brewer/multiple uses

Pros: durable, 3-year warranty, multiple features, large water resevoir
Cons: bright blue led light
Model Number: SS-780PC
"I waited for a year to review this item to give a fair review. This machine has worked perfectly. I do only use distilled water in it, just to be on the safe side - plus I don't like our city water. I use it for coffee, tea, soups, instant potatoes/oatmeal, hot chocolate, even the brew over ice sweet tea. I love the my k-cup also that comes with it - I do use it for variety, but there are plenty of k-cup varieties out there. I chose the Cuisinart brewer because it had a larger water reservoir, a hot water button, rinse feature and a 3-year warranty verses the 1-year with the Keurig. It is always accurate with the measurements, never have had a problem with any water leaking unless I overfill the reservoir. The only thing I would change is the bright blue LED light on the bottom of the water reservoir tank, lights up the entire room - maybe make it an option that can be turned on. But I have absolutely loved this machine. I have used a Keurig also and feel that they are not as durable."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:February 14, 2011

Giving it a second chance

Pros: cups size options, hot water button, easy to make just one cup, easy to clean
Cons: not 100% reliable
Model Number: SS-780PC
"I purchased this Nov 2010. Up until yesterday, it was the best appliance I ever purchased. 95% of the time, it worked flawlessly. We used it practically on a daily basis.
We always did the rinse cycle after every cup to ensure the needle stayed cleaned and turned the machine off when not in use. We also used filtered water along with the filter that comes with the machine.
Every once in a while, the water would not pump into the unit. It sounded like it was trying to do it, but it wouldn’t work. So we would turn it off for an hour and then try again and it would be fine. We figured an air bubble temporarily got inside the pump.
But then yesterday, the pump couldn’t get any water into the unit. I spent the day, turning the machine off for a couple of hours at a time and trying again. Each time, no water would go into the unit.
So we returned it to Costco today with no issues. But we liked this coffee maker so much that we are going to get another unit and hope this one lasts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:July 30, 2011

How to fix

"It took me three product returns to finally figure out why the pump would always quit working. Here's the problem and the solution. The K-cups have too much air in them. Think about the pressure in a can of pringles chips and how it "pops" when you open it. I live in the mountains of Colorado, so the little K-cups always seem like they are ready to burst.
The problem is that when you put the K-cup in the machine, it pokes a hole in the top first, then the bottom. Why? Because The machine has needles that poke both the top and bottom of the K-cup. However, since the top is easier to penetrate than the harder plastic bottom, the top is pierced first and that is where the air gets released. The "puff" of air released from the top, along with some dry coffee is sent up through the pump hose. This causes the pump to lose its 'prime' or get plugged by the still dry coffee grounds.
Solution: I have a tack from a wallboard that I use to simply poke a tiny hole in the bottom of the K-cup before placing it in the machine. This will release the air pressure which is the source of the problem. I don't understand why cuisinart doesn't advise this, as it seems like it would eliminate 99% of the product returns. You're welcome. Now go enjoy your first trouble-free cup of coffee. Cheers.
"
56 of 56 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014

Good features but bad quality

Pros: features
Cons: design or quality defect
Model Number: SS-780PC (03432)
"After having two Keurig Platinum brewers go bad after about a year of use for each, I decided to purchase the Cuisinart Model SS-780PC from Costco because it has a 3-year warranty as opposed to the 1-year warranty for the Keurig. The brewer worked fine for about a month and then started to not heat the water for the first brew cycle. I returned it for replacement. The replacement did the same thing. It worked well for the first 6 weeks or so and then began to brew a cold cup of coffee for the first brew cycle. I am now returning the brewer for a refund. While Costco’s service and refund policies are excellent, it is an inconvenience for the customer and a profit loss for Costco. I would therefore hope Costco has some internal process for identifying patterns of defects in a particular product it sells to remedy the problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sugar Grove IL
Date:November 2, 2012

Love the idea of it but too many issues.

Pros: love the idea and concept!
Cons: very pricey and doesn't last long!
"I really wanted a single serve cup to get that fresh cup of coffee each and every time. Didn't buy the Keurig because of the reviews saying there are lots of problems with it. Costco told us that a lot more of the Keurig's were returned and not as many of the Cuisinart mode so we bought it instead. Now this is not a cheap coffee maker so it should work for a few years. After 20 months it died. I had issues for a few months with air bubbles and then the pump went. The other issues, coffee isn't as hot as I would like gets cold quick. The coffee pods are very expensive. My husband and I love a good couple cups of coffee in the morning and more so on the weekends. This is great for a single person or household where only one person drinks coffee. Can get very expensive if you have a few cups every day. We went back to the coffee pot where the coffee is held in the top of the maker by Cuisinart. Much more condusive to our coffee drinking and budget."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orland Park, IL
Date:October 24, 2010

Nice Product

Model Number: SS-780PC
"We purchased the Cuisinart SS-780PC after seeing a demo of it in the store. We were impressed by how QUIET it was! We've had an early model Keurig for 4 years and were happy with it but were looking for a new machine with more features. The Cuisinart does not disappoint. After reading some of the negative reviews of the Keurig B70 (also sold at the local Costco) we opted to give the Cuisinart a try. We were glad to find a competitive product in the same location. And it's a no brainer to purchase products from Costco because of their exceptional return policy."
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 4, 2012

BPA- Free Unit Beats Keurig

Pros: plastic is bpa-free, easy to use, great features like hot water button, low price at costco, looks modern, small footprint to keep on the counter
"I bought this Cuisinart Brewing System because the plastic on this model is BPA-free. I've read that some chemicals in plastic can leech into beverages, if the plastic contains BPA, so I wanted to be sure all plastic that I use is BPA-free. The other Keurig units do not state BPA-free, so I chose the Cuisinart. I gave this to my parents for Christmas and they absolutely love the features on it and the convenience of having a hot, fresh cup of coffee or tea in under one minute. The hot water feature is also unique and wonderful for making a quick bowl of oatmeal in the morning. I love that it includes the water filters and the K-cup for using your own ground coffee or tea, while it also uses the wide variety of Keurig premeasured cups that are available everywhere. The hot apple cider cups and hot chocolate are great when entertaining since everyone can pick their favorite drink and enjoy it in one minute. My parents have had it and used it daily for over a year and have not had any issues. I highly recommend this unit, especially at Costco's awesome low price!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indy, IN
Date:March 18, 2014

Great Single Serve Coffee Maker

Pros: easy to clean, adapter stores inside of unit, rinse cycle only uses 2 ounces, large water tank
Cons: no water connection
Model Number: SS-870PC
"After having several replacements from a competitor we gave up and returned their machine after having it only a few months. The Cuisinart seems well made and easy to us. Some friends previously made the same trade and love the new one. We also love it. We have not had a single issue with this unit. It is easy to clean and looks nice. I love that the adapter stores inside the unit. The rinse cycle is a good water saver. Our first unit used an entire cup to rinse. I do wish that it was able to hook up to the fridge water line, but I have not seen anyone with that feature yet."
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sedona, AZ
Date:March 13, 2014

Hot & fast coffee

Pros: hot & fast, lots of samples included
Cons: cuisinart registration site was cumbersome
Model Number: SS-780PC
"This unit is a little pricey, but has proven to be worth the cost. It was purchased for work where ten people use it regularly. It brews quickly and the beverage is much hotter than our old one. This seems to improve the flavor from the k cups. The five cup sizes are important as our old one had only three and they were all too small for us, requiring us to brew twice to get the right amount of coffee. The large reservoir helps too. One note...the gadget to use your own coffee was inside a door on the side of the machine. I didn't know it was there and thought it was missing from the box."
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs
Date:February 16, 2011

2nd time over not good

Pros: easy use
Cons: not reliable
Model Number: SS 780PC
"This is the second Single Serve from Cuisenart we have bought. The first one did not make it 30 days before it quit dispensing water. To be fair we thought we had just got that one bad one and ordered a second unit..
Two weeks later the same problem has happened again. What happens is the machine quits despensing water, the manual says to rinse, but that does not help. Then we try changing filters, and doing the Vinigar rinse the manual says to do, but within a day or two we are clogged up again.
When we returned the first one the local Costoco Rep said they are getting a bunch back. They stated that Cussinart is saying the problem is due to the elevation of Colorado Springs. I'm not sure about the vailidity of that claim as it seems the problems is more of a clogging (maybe air) in the water lines problem than a altitude one.
We like the convience of the system but, I gots to have my morning JOE!!! Guess I'll be taking this one back and try to find a more reliable model."
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:March 31, 2012

Fixed Mine!

Model Number: SS-700
"I love my Cuisinart SS Brewer and was hoping not to have the pump problems, but today (8 months) the brewing noise came, said it was brewing, but nothing came out. Thought "there's got to be an easy solution" and searched the internet until I found one. Unplug the brewer and blow compressed air through the white tube at the top of the water reservoir. It will force the water out (be careful if it is hot, but mine went nicely into the cup). After that I plugged it back in and followed the initial startup instructions, and it is working perfectly! For now, anyway. That was easier than dealing with getting a replacement."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kansas
Date:March 5, 2014

Good Coffee

Pros: good coffee, three year warranty
Cons: k-cups included had expired
"After reading some independent reviews, I selected the Cuisinart rather than the Kuerig, based on coffee taste and the three year warranty vs. Kuerig's one year warranty. The Cuisinart does make a very consistent and hot cup of coffee. However, all the K-Cups that came with the Cuisinart had expired which was frustrating."
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 7, 2011

Good machine; bad coffee

Pros: convenience, build quality, ease of getting hot water
Cons: coffee is weak, coffee doesn't taste great, high cost of coffee when compared to drip
Model Number: Cuisinart Keurig brewer
"This machine does exactly what it is intended to do. It is well designed and looks good to boot, and has convenient features like ease of getting hot water or rinsing the needles that are at its core to keep them running smoothly. Additionally, the charcoal water filters are a nice touch. My complaints are not with the machine itself.
My complaints are with the coffee that the machine brews. Perhaps I am a coffee snob, but I like my coffee strong and flavorful, and I like to fill my mug in the morning. Even with the "Extra Bold" K-cups, you can't really get even 6 ounces of strong coffee. My mug holds 16+. That means using 2+ K-cups per mug (costing about $1+ per person per morning) or reducing intake. And the coffee, even brewed in small quantities, just isn't as good as what I brew myself. Really, it wasn't even close.
The convenience of this product is great. The brewer itself is great. But until they figure out how to make a strong mug-full of good coffee with it, it looks like I'm going to have to continue to grind and brew every morning. At least I can take pleasure in the fact that I'm spending less per day doing that--a lot less."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:February 20, 2014

Trying this one

Pros: more extras included than competing brands, excellent price on k-cups at costco, k-cups are avialable everywhere, much more convenient that other brewing methods, includes water filters others are separate
Cons: expect these systems to only last 3-4 years, can be costly in the long run, must be kept clean per instructions, more expensive than competition
Model Number: Model: SS-780PC
"After much research about single cup brewing machines this was the one hands down. Its more expensive than the other brand name and was not available locally at my Costco stores at the time I purchased it. Nevertheless I took to the plunge to replace my old k-cup maker that finally died after about 3 -4 years use. For my wife it had to be a K-cup brewer since we can get a great deal at Costco for K-cups that puts the cost of coffee in line with bag or can coffee but much more convenient. Either way I expect that I should get about 3 to 4 years use before it may begin to die. The Cuisinart has a better warranty that the competitors and may help with that. My research has confirmed that basically the internal parts of all these Kureg K-cup brew systems advertised makers have similar internal parts and are likely to fail in the same way. That failure is well documented on the web and on so do your own research. Many problems I found are due to failure to follow recommended cleaning instructions. I highly recommend you use water filters no matter how good you think your tap water is. When in doubt, use the best filtered water that is practical because this is probably the single biggest issue with all these machines. The plumbing and built in screen filters will clog if not cleaned per instructions on a regular basis. That said, if you spend a little time doing this as recommended you will save time and frustration later and have the convenience of single K-cup brewing at its best."
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Post Falls, ID
Date:February 10, 2014

Excellent multitasker for your kitchen

Pros: very fast: hot coffee tea water in a minute, replaced two appliances on our counter, coffee and tea remain freshly sealed until use, large 80 oz reservoir, base comes off easily for cleaning
Cons: none
Model Number: SS-780PC
"My wife and I are both RNs. She works nights while I am on a day schedule. Now we both get freshly brewed coffee or tea just when we want it. In addition to the prefilled K cups that keep your coffee fresher than a large can, the unit easily brews custom blends, loose tea, or tea bags. We also use it as a ready source of steaming-hot water for soups and other applications. It saves us space by replacing both the coffee maker and the hot pot on our counter. We love this beautiful unit with its bright blue display and the blue led lights shining up through the large 80 oz water reservoir."
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nothern California
Date:June 8, 2013

Very Pleased. Please update the dimensions

"You could be losing potential buyers for this Cuisinart Single Serve Brewing System.
We almost returned this purchase without opening the box. In haste, we did not read the dimensions when we purchased this model. Afterwards, we realized that it would not fit under our kitchen counter and planned to return it to Costco without opening the box. The dimensions on your website are not accurate. We DID OPEN THE BOX, and are we glad we did!
Posted dimensions: 14.6" L x 12.9" W x 16.2" H.
Actual Dimensions: 13.5" L x 10.5" W x 12.5" H
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City Utah
Date:September 16, 2011

Even my Dad bought one (and he's pickier than me!)

Pros: you can also brew tea hot chocolate & hot water!, better than freshly ground whole bean coffee!
Cons: coffee can be expensive.
Model Number: SS-780PC
"So, I'm down to a one person household and no time to mess around! I love, love...LOVE my Cuisinart!! It is so easy, so convenient, you will so KICK yourself for having waited so long (I certainly did). My mom and dad came to visit and they stayed with me for a week. My Dad loves his coffee. He was really impressed by the convenience, the quality, and the delicious coffee that the Cuisinart made. What was funny was that Mom tried to get him to buy one while they were in Costco the week before. He thought it was just the next latest and greatest...well, once you experience coffee made by this Cuisinart, you ain't ever going to let this baby go! He bought one the day after he got back! He said he was so spoiled, he had such a hard time making a full pot of coffee the day they got back in town!
If you forget everything about this machine, please, don't forget this: buy it at Costco: it comes with a bunch of freebies and it's cheaper than anywhere else. Also, any trouble you have with the machine can be resolved by reading the user manual. It is very user friendly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:November 4, 2010

Quality and Warranty !!!!

Pros: 3 year warranty, bigger tank, storage for regular grind basket
Cons: price
"I have had another one cup coffee maker for years and been fairly happy. This Cuisinart has blown me away! Not only is the tank bigger, but the coffee is hotter, there is a clean feature and it dispences hot water. The main thing I like is the 3 year waranty!."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2013

Great machine - when it works

"I've had the same problem that other reviewers have mentioned. It's great while it works but over time will start brewing partial cups, even after descaling. I'm on my second Cuisinart (after 2 Keurigs). The only reason I keep getting them is that Costco's return policy is so great that I get a new one each time the old breaks down. Cuisinart offers a 3 year warranty, but you have to pay to ship the new one and ship the old one back on your dime, which is another $30ish."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Date:August 17, 2012

Better Machine than Keurig

"I have owned a Keurig machine for about 2 Years, and have gotten to the point where I needed a replacement.
As Keurig only warrantees their product line for 1 Year, they would no longer support my purchase (B70 Platinum).
This machine is warranteed for 3 Years, and both Cuisinart and Costco offer full support and exchange priviledges on this machine.
The design seems slightly better than the B70, and I hope to enjoy using this for years to come.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>