Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System

Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System

Perfect for both personal use and entertaining, this single-serve home-brewing system offers consumers fresh gourmet coffee, tea, hot cocoa and more in under one minute. Using Keurig K-Cups featuring over two hundred varieties of pre-measured, premium brand coffee and tea this brewer's innovative one-touch technology makes it easier than ever for consumers to enjoy a wide array of hot beverages.    Added Value: 60 K-Cup Sampler Pack 6 Water Filters, 5 Cup Sizes, 80 oz. Reservoir. Features: Hot Water Button lets consumers enjoy their favorite instant coffee, soup, tea, and hot cocoa, in no time   Rinse Control instantly cleans the inside of the brew chamber to keep every cup as delicious as the first   Extra Large Removable 80 oz Water Reservoir offers impressive capacity, eliminating the need for frequent refills   Fully Programmable full spectrum of features including Auto On/Off and adjustable temperature control   Blue Backlit LCD with Digital Clock brightly displays information, at an easy-to-read glance   5 Cup Sizes including a 4-oz/iced beverage setting, a 6-oz., 8-oz., 10-oz. and 12-oz.   Quiet Brew Technology lets you enjoy every cup more peacefully than ever   Removable Drip Tray allows extra space for travel mugs   BPA Free (all parts that come in contact with water or coffee)   My K-Cup Reusable Coffee Filter can be filled with any gourmet ground coffee, to suit personal tastes, and conveniently stores right in the unit   Charcoal Water Filter removes impurities that could interfere with taste   Silver finish   UL listed   Dimensions: 14.6" L x 12.9" W x 16.2" H   Weight: 16.26 lbs.   Limited 3-year warranty   Made in China   For product related questions, please call Cuisinart toll-free at (800) 726-0190
Average Customer Rating:
3.629 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(167 Reviews) 167
(out of 167 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (167 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
26
3 stars
14
2 stars
17
1 star
31
111 of 167(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:December 5, 2014

Owned Nearly 4 Years

Pros: build quality, longevity workhorse, reservoir size, metal handle, hot brew temp is actually hot
Cons: no cons
"I thought I'd share my 4 year experience with the Cuisinart Keurig.
The build quality is outstanding using heavy metal for the handle, it has the largest reservoir out there, has lasted nearly 4 years, the brew temp is a very hot 192.
After 4 years the unit is starting to show its age as would any appliance used multiple times every day. It has become a bit temperamental requiring a slight slap on the top to initiate a brew cycle once or twice a week. I believe it may have an air bubble which the slap loosens. The other sign of age is the power button is wearing out requiring a really hard press to work. I've taken to programming the unit to be on from 6:30 AM to 10 PM so I don't have to worry about the power button totally failing as I now rarely use the power button (figure it will last longer not being constantly pushed).
Overall, I think this is about the best original Keurig K-Cup model out there. I would easily get another should mine become inoperable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:October 20, 2014

Stopped working, but ...

Pros: costco has a great return policy
Cons: ... lasted one month, ... won't take compostable k-cups
"... at least Costco will take it back - I'm really glad I didn't buy it elsewhere because when I tried to call Keurig for help with it I was put on an interminable hold.
I want one that takes the compostable cups anyway, so I'm not horribly upset."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:October 8, 2014

Better than the new Keurig

Pros: works great
Cons: no con to add
"My old Keurig broke and I purchased a new Keurig 2.0 K500 model at Costco. Hated it! The old K cups don't fit, the new plastic filter holder would not open to put the water filter in, and to get a cup of tea, you have to hold the button the entire time. I took it back to Costco and ordered this Cuisinart. I LOVE IT! It's like the old Keurig, all the old K cups fit, the hot water comes out after just pressing the button one time, and it works great. I read the other reviews and hope it lasts, but this is so much better than the new Keurig 2.0."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2014

quit sending emails

Cons: endless emails
"5 emails in 5 hours wanting me to write a review......"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:September 5, 2014

2nd one is NOT a charm

Pros: love the different size settings
Cons: they just don"t last!
"I have had two of these in the last 4 years. The first one I had just quite for no reason after about 1.5 years. I got another and just went to make some coffee and all of a sudden it does not work. Worked fine this morning. Checked the plugs, etc and it is DEAD. Going to get a Keurig."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:September 4, 2014

Best Brewer of all

Pros: great brewer
Cons: none there isn't anything negative i could say!
Model Number: SS-780PC
"After 5 K-cup brewers and 1 Vue from Keurig, I noticed the Cuisinart Brewer at Costco.com. Bought it in May 2014.
It's a much more substantial appliance than the original brewer types. It's performed perfect.
Water tank much better location offers complete fill as the Keurig never can be totally filled.
I would strongly recommend this Brewer!
"
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:July 25, 2014

Stopped working in 13 days

Pros: built like a tank, large resevoir, looks nice
Cons: unreliable, broke in 13 days
"The Cuisinart is a solid unit, build well and looks great on the counter. However, mine broke after 13 days of use continuing the Keurig curse of broken machine after broken machine. Cuisinart customer service wouldn't even troubleshoot over the phone, they just said to return it to Costco. Back to the Keurig Platinum I go. At least they last a few months before dying."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:July 14, 2014

Very nice product, but don't expect it to last yrs

Pros: quiet operation, fast brewing, convenient, nice appearance
Cons: longevity needs improvement
"This is our 3rd Cuisinart in 6 years. Each one has conked out for one reason or another. Having had a Keurig prior to the 3 Cuisinart's, I can say the Cuisinart is a nicer unit. Though they're both made in China, the Cuisinart advertises to be BPA free where the parts meet the water, which is important to my me and my family."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:June 22, 2014

Excellent brewer

Pros: good coffee
Cons: none
"Had it 3 months and it works great. Bought a Bunn my cafe first - could never get it to work. The Cuisinart is sturdy, reliable, and makes great coffee."
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 26, 2014

Daily pleasure to use . . .

Pros: versitility dependability and value
Cons: none
Model Number: SS-780PC
"For 3 years the most dependable and versitile coffee maker we've ever owned. Coffee, Decaf and Hot Tea provider for our family's special tastes with varied cup sizes for our special needs. Handy "any" K-Cup storage. Kudos to Cuisinart!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014

Love it!

"I got the Cuisinart after going through 2 Keurig machines in 3 years. I love the K-Cups so that's why I looked at the Cuisinart and it is a trusted name. I love this machine. It was easy to set up and very user friendly. I was disappointed that the filter does not filter out the chlorine taste of our water, so I am using filtered water in it."
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Date:May 20, 2014

Great purchase much better then Keurig brand

"Returned 2 Keurig's to Costco when they didn't last a year. Purchased this machine in store 2 1/2 years ago. Never had a problem. Works beautifully. I like that the water is also hotter then the Keurig brand machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 10, 2014

chinsy

Pros: convenient and does not burn coffee
Cons: the unit does not last long so the expense
"the unit, not too old doesn't pump water, the descale signal came on, I immediately tried to do what the instructions said to do, however it wouldn't let the vinegar go through to clean it...the water also only goes up to 192 degrees and coffee needs to be brewed at a higher temperature....I spent so much money on my unit...and it was a waste of money-trying another brand now...too bad as the rest of the unit is perfect. called the company and I would have to ship this heavy unit, how much would that cost!"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indy, IN
Date:March 18, 2014

Great Single Serve Coffee Maker

Pros: easy to clean, adapter stores inside of unit, rinse cycle only uses 2 ounces, large water tank
Cons: no water connection
Model Number: SS-870PC
"After having several replacements from a competitor we gave up and returned their machine after having it only a few months. The Cuisinart seems well made and easy to us. Some friends previously made the same trade and love the new one. We also love it. We have not had a single issue with this unit. It is easy to clean and looks nice. I love that the adapter stores inside the unit. The rinse cycle is a good water saver. Our first unit used an entire cup to rinse. I do wish that it was able to hook up to the fridge water line, but I have not seen anyone with that feature yet."
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sedona, AZ
Date:March 13, 2014

Hot & fast coffee

Pros: hot & fast, lots of samples included
Cons: cuisinart registration site was cumbersome
Model Number: SS-780PC
"This unit is a little pricey, but has proven to be worth the cost. It was purchased for work where ten people use it regularly. It brews quickly and the beverage is much hotter than our old one. This seems to improve the flavor from the k cups. The five cup sizes are important as our old one had only three and they were all too small for us, requiring us to brew twice to get the right amount of coffee. The large reservoir helps too. One note...the gadget to use your own coffee was inside a door on the side of the machine. I didn't know it was there and thought it was missing from the box."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kansas
Date:March 5, 2014

Good Coffee

Pros: good coffee, three year warranty
Cons: k-cups included had expired
"After reading some independent reviews, I selected the Cuisinart rather than the Kuerig, based on coffee taste and the three year warranty vs. Kuerig's one year warranty. The Cuisinart does make a very consistent and hot cup of coffee. However, all the K-Cups that came with the Cuisinart had expired which was frustrating."
Review 17 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:February 20, 2014

Trying this one

Pros: more extras included than competing brands, excellent price on k-cups at costco, k-cups are avialable everywhere, much more convenient that other brewing methods, includes water filters others are separate
Cons: expect these systems to only last 3-4 years, can be costly in the long run, must be kept clean per instructions, more expensive than competition
Model Number: Model: SS-780PC
"After much research about single cup brewing machines this was the one hands down. Its more expensive than the other brand name and was not available locally at my Costco stores at the time I purchased it. Nevertheless I took to the plunge to replace my old k-cup maker that finally died after about 3 -4 years use. For my wife it had to be a K-cup brewer since we can get a great deal at Costco for K-cups that puts the cost of coffee in line with bag or can coffee but much more convenient. Either way I expect that I should get about 3 to 4 years use before it may begin to die. The Cuisinart has a better warranty that the competitors and may help with that. My research has confirmed that basically the internal parts of all these Kureg K-cup brew systems advertised makers have similar internal parts and are likely to fail in the same way. That failure is well documented on the web and on so do your own research. Many problems I found are due to failure to follow recommended cleaning instructions. I highly recommend you use water filters no matter how good you think your tap water is. When in doubt, use the best filtered water that is practical because this is probably the single biggest issue with all these machines. The plumbing and built in screen filters will clog if not cleaned per instructions on a regular basis. That said, if you spend a little time doing this as recommended you will save time and frustration later and have the convenience of single K-cup brewing at its best."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Post Falls, ID
Date:February 10, 2014

Excellent multitasker for your kitchen

Pros: very fast: hot coffee tea water in a minute, replaced two appliances on our counter, coffee and tea remain freshly sealed until use, large 80 oz reservoir, base comes off easily for cleaning
Cons: none
Model Number: SS-780PC
"My wife and I are both RNs. She works nights while I am on a day schedule. Now we both get freshly brewed coffee or tea just when we want it. In addition to the prefilled K cups that keep your coffee fresher than a large can, the unit easily brews custom blends, loose tea, or tea bags. We also use it as a ready source of steaming-hot water for soups and other applications. It saves us space by replacing both the coffee maker and the hot pot on our counter. We love this beautiful unit with its bright blue display and the blue led lights shining up through the large 80 oz water reservoir."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014

Good features but bad quality

Pros: features
Cons: design or quality defect
Model Number: SS-780PC (03432)
"After having two Keurig Platinum brewers go bad after about a year of use for each, I decided to purchase the Cuisinart Model SS-780PC from Costco because it has a 3-year warranty as opposed to the 1-year warranty for the Keurig. The brewer worked fine for about a month and then started to not heat the water for the first brew cycle. I returned it for replacement. The replacement did the same thing. It worked well for the first 6 weeks or so and then began to brew a cold cup of coffee for the first brew cycle. I am now returning the brewer for a refund. While Costco’s service and refund policies are excellent, it is an inconvenience for the customer and a profit loss for Costco. I would therefore hope Costco has some internal process for identifying patterns of defects in a particular product it sells to remedy the problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart® Single Serve Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nashville TN
Date:January 27, 2014

Cuisinart Coffee Maker

Pros: 3 yr warranty
Cons: out of order within a year
Model Number: 528272
"Purchased March, 2013. Will not pump water. Used only filtered water and filter in water reservoir. Not a happy camper. My keurig coffee maker that I gave to my son is still working."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>