Customer Reviews for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p DynaLight™ Dynamic Backlight 2 Year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 14(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:April 9, 2011

I'm Quite Impressed!

Pros: tv has a brilliant picture!
Cons: tv needs to "warm up."
Model Number: 40FTIU
"I really love this TV! I don't pretend to be tech savvvy, so I had to get a neighbor's teenage son to hook it up for me; but it's been working OK since then."
Review 2 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Colorado
Date:March 11, 2011

Really nice TV

Pros: great color
Cons: hard to avoid that long format.
"I like this TV a lot, it is not too heavy, replacing one that was a two person lifting job...and it has a great picture. It was really easy to hook up and move around even though it is large.
The color and management of the different tools to operate it through the remote are much easier than our other TV's. All in all, quite satisfied!
"
Review 3 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:seattle
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: good picture
Cons: remote dosen't operate dvd
Model Number: 40FT1U
"I am dissapointed that the remote has buttons that don't work for operating a Toshiba DVD. Sound quality is only OK"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver Colorado
Date:February 15, 2011

toshiba 40" LCD HDTV

"This is really a great HDTV, the picture quality is great and the detail is amazing. My friends told me to buy only a TV that the company was a manufacturer, not an assembler. This proves it. This TV is great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:February 8, 2011

Great pitcher but weak volume

Pros: picture, value, features
Cons: weak sound
Model Number: 40FT1U
"I first saw this model here on the Costco website then read the reviews at another retail website.; then after that, I saw the floor model at Costco.
You do get a great TV for the money. The picture is awesome for the price but one category falls a bit short. It's the amount of volume available. I find myself have to max it out most of the time and even watching a DVD there are times I cannot quite make out what the actors are saying; and I have the TV in my bedroom and I'm about 9 feet away.
The DVD rental company I subscribe to will be phasing out It's disc's, and I will be needing a home theater system anyway that will allow me to watch movies from my computer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego,CA
Date:January 28, 2011

Great value!

Model Number: 40FT1U
"Bought for a secondary viewing space, this Toshiba for me was a lot of TV for the money. Quite happy with it and fits the bill just fine."
Review 7 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 18, 2011

Love this TV

Pros: easy set up, crystal clear picture, different viewing screen options
Model Number: Toshiba (Dont know number)
"I needed a new TV for my room and decided to wait until after Christmas for a sale. My intention was to get a 32-37 inch, but then found this 40 inch on sale and the reviews sold me on it. It may seem big for a bedroom - but I am loving it and I feel very spoiled! Great for movies with different screen selections so you can watch it in widescreen if you want. Crystal clear picture and havent had an issue whatsoever with the sound. That could be because the sound bounces off the wall behind it and it is in a smaller setting. Set up was easy. Very PLEASED with this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 16, 2011

Impressive and Affordable

Model Number: 40FT1U
"We purchased this television with a gift card with little if any complaints. Since holding out in using a really old 19 inch tube it is finally great to take advantage of full screen digital television,
I was concerned about only being a 60hz but in comparing it with my friends 120hz once you tweak the screen settings sporting events and movies (standard DVD w/ up-scaling) are identical.
The true test may come once we upgrade to a blue-ray but for right now this TV gets the job done."
Review 9 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:December 28, 2010

Picture not that great

Pros: great on hd channels
Cons: terrible with analogue
Model Number: 40FT1U
"When connecting it directly to an HD only source the picture is fairly good. Go to an analog picture and suddenly it all looks horrible. There is very fuzzy text, lots of image artifacts. This was a gift and I don't have an HD receiver and don't want to rent one for 7 dollars a month. This tv is connected using the standard co-axial cable to an analog cable box. Every picture looks horrible, if I connect it directly to the cable only the hd channels look fine but the others still look horrible."
4 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:December 20, 2010

Best deal out there

Pros: excellent picture, good sound
Cons: no rca component jacks
Model Number: 40FT1U
"I had purchased a 37inch 120hz 1080P from Costco. This tv was terrible. Good picture, lousy sound that had to be readjusted every time the channel changed, and would cut itself off without warning. I returned it to Costco and took home this Toshiba.
I am so pleased with the picture, sound and performance of this TV, I am buying a second one for the bedroom.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aurora, CO
Date:December 9, 2010

Huge value

Pros: most tv for the $$$
Cons: captioning not as easy to use as some.
"in response to a previous review, if you want bass, you need surround. TV's are not boom boxes.
This set is worth every penny."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:December 7, 2010

Outstanding Value for the Money

Pros: excellent picture, a lot of tv for the money
Cons: none from my perspective
Model Number: 40FT1U
"Picture quality is outstanding with very rich, deep blacks that give depth to the picture, with brilliant true-to-life colors. The brightness and boldness of the colors makes the picture jump off the screen. A terrific HDTV viewing experience. Toshiba is a very reputable company with very good customer service.
Every flat screen TV I've seen has speakers mounted at the back of the set. Look at the overall design of these TV's. Where else are they going to put them? The sound quality from the TV is not going to be theater-like but it is more than acceptable. If you want a fuller, richer sound, then hook it up to a home theater system. In searching for a new TV, I found almost every one did NOT have RCA audio output jacks. RCA jacks are for older equipment. Newer systems have the Digital Audio Out for surround sound systems. In fact, the newer sound systems I saw did not even have RCA jacks so you must use the digital type. Furthermore, when you buy an HDTV, aren't you going to hook it up to your cable company converter box to obtain as many Hi-Def channels as possible? The cable converter box I have has the RCA audio out jacks so I hooked up my older surround sound stereo system to the converter box and the sound with the HDTV is now a wonderful theater sounding performer. As far as the remote, it is a basic remote that does everything it is supposed to do! Again, when you connect the TV to the converter box, you must use the fancy multi-function remote supplied by the cable company so there is no need to use the TV remote. As far as instructions, hooking up a TV is not rocket science, but if you really want more info, go to the Toshiba website and print off their 58 page PDF file of information.
Anyone interested in buying this model should put everything in perspective. This is a fantastic model that delivers everything you need from an HDTV.
"
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gainesville, VA
Date:December 3, 2010

Great Budget Television

Pros: great picture
Cons: could have a nicer remote
"There are not a lot of reviews for this set so I thought I'd chime in.
Though I've had mixed success with Toshiba products in the past, I have to give them credit here. The picture on this set is wonderful. So nice, in fact, it will show deficiencies in your cable network you never noticed before.
Sound is like most TV's, not particularly amazing. Hook up a surround sound system if you want theater level sound.
The setup menu is very simple and there is a limited amount of adjustment available to the end user. Some might not like this. I like the simplicity.
It's a budget set that performs very well. What more could you want?"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 22, 2010

Returning for Something Better

Pros: picture quality and anti-glare, 40" for under $500
Cons: poor sound all treble no mid or base, cheesy remote, many picture controls made no noticeable diff
Model Number: Toshiba 40FT1U
"I was lured in by the great price. Got it home mounted it on the base and turned it on. First impression was boy are those speakers trebly. Tried the equalizer which didn't make much of a difference. There's hardly any low mid's or no base - none. Oh did I mention the speakers are on the back of the set - pointing to the wall behind you instead of at you. How stupid is that?
Picture is good. No glare. The setup menu is difficult to navigate. And the manual really doesn't have any instructions for getting the picture right. I was getting a horrible picture and did something, I have no idea what and than it said 1081i and worked much better.
Also doesn't have RCA plugs for older stereo hookup. Only digital optical out which requires a special cable. Does have a USB port. I plugged a few things into it and it didn't recognize any of them. That seemed useless.
While I do like the 40" size, the picture quality and lack of glare I cannot accept the poor sound quality, lack of responsiveness of the controls. I'm going to take advantage of Costco's return policy and try something else."
10 of 17 people found this review helpful.