Customer Reviews for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™

Added Value: 64oz 2x Deep Cleansing Detergent Features Dual V™ Nozzle & SpinScrub™ Brushes
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
(out of 40 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
36 of 40(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Review 1 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:April 15, 2011

Awesome!

Pros: no more mopping!
Cons: doesn't have onboard water heater.
"Works great on tile floor with grout, leaves the floor pretty dry with the squeegee attachment. All in all a good purchase."
Review 2 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PHX, AZ
Date:March 2, 2011

Phoenomal Cleaner

"This carpet cleaner works as well or better than a rug doctor.
It will pull inches of dirt out of carpet that doesn't even look dirty.
p.s. I love the sticker on the solution container that says "warning: to reduce the risk of fire use only Hoover products.""
Review 3 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 1, 2011
Pros: most everything.
Cons: a little noisy., the cord could be 4 or 5 feet longer.
"I bought this to do our hardwood and tile floors only. It does a great job on both floors.The hardwood floor never looked better and the tile floor gets really cleaned. It has cut down the time to clean the floors in about 1/3 the time. The cleaner for hard surface floors also is very good. I've noticed that after cleaning the hardwood floors, they stay cleaner and have a shine to them."
Review 4 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marietta, GA
Date:February 25, 2011

Excellent carpet cleaner

Pros: actually works as advertised
Model Number: Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain
"This was as replacement for a close competitor's carpet cleaner. The other unit was prone to clogging, not working properly and poor performance in general.
This Hoover unit was purchased at an equivalent price and does perform; unlike it's competitor.
I threw the 2-year old competition's unit into the trash, with it's purple plastic still looking pristine. It simply did not clean our carpets."
Review 5 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene,Or
Date:February 22, 2011

Best Investment ever

"I have four children and there always spilling things on my carpet not to mention all the mud and stuff they track in. This thing does wonders with ease. I just love it my carpet looks brand new again Amazing!!!!!!"
Review 6 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2011

And I verified

Pros: dose the job
Cons: bulky
"Tiles..... works great (leaves a file of water that will dry in 30 seconds in NY winter)
Hardwood .....works great (leaves a file of water that will dry in 30 seconds in NY winter)
Carpet....works great
Wish it had a heating component to heat the water and for drying."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parker, CO
Date:February 16, 2011

Lovin' This Cleaner!

Pros: ease of use, cleaning capability
"I have used several different kinds of rug cleaners including Bissell and the ones you rent at the grocery store. I have also had our rugs professionally cleaned. This Hoover was much easier to use than the others I've used and did just as good of a job as the pros!
I have 2 kids, 1 dog (very big who spends lot's of time outside) and 4 cats. To say our carpets & upholstery need to be cleaned regularly is quite an understatement!
I've only used my new Hoover rug cleaner on two, extremely dirty (smelly) carpets and they came out looking (and smelling) new. I haven't used it on my hard floors yet but will soon.
I figured the cleaner will pay for itself over the next 4-6 months since to rent a cleaner (for only 24 hours) is about $60-$80."
Review 8 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver,CO
Date:February 15, 2011

INCREDIBLE CLEANER! EASY TO USE!

Pros: price ease of use. convenient!
Model Number: Hoover SteamVac All Terrain
"I purchased this unit and LOVE IT!......It cleans just as well (if not better) than your leading carpet cleaning companies!....Had some reservations about the durabiity (plastic parts) as some of the other reviews mentioned, however...no issues at all!......It cleans incredibly, is easy to use, TERRIFIC price, and am overall VERY satisfied.! THANKS COSTCO for yet another TERRIFIC product!"
Review 9 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:February 15, 2011

Very pleased!

Pros: competitive cost, leaves carpet dry, easy to use
Cons: none yet
"I had been looking for a spot cleaner for my carpets for occasional spills/pet stains. I decided to buy this full size machine because of the competitive price, great reviews, costco guarantee, and it was comparable in price to small spot cleaners. The machine did a great job with the pet stains. I didn't have any really stubborn stains such as wine or ketchup so I can't speak for that. My carpets didn't even really look dirty but while I was spot-cleaning I decided to do all of my carpet. I was shocked at how much dirt the cleaner removed and thoroughly impressed with how dry it left my carpets. If this machine can maintain this performance for several years then it is an easy home-run. I don't think this can entirely replace professional cleaning but it does a great job to tackle immediate messes, picking up spills, and extending the time between professional cleaning. Professional cleaning is a drag because you have to remove your furniture but this unit is almost as nimble as a vacuum cleaner so it's easy to tackle the high-traffic areas several times a year."
Review 10 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rural Minnesota
Date:February 11, 2011

Amazing results

Pros: easy to use and does the job
Cons: onboard tool caddy is a bit clumsy. left it off.
Model Number: Hoover® SteamVac™ All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse
"I had owned an older Hoover Steam/Vac for more than a dozen years. I used it often and was very pleased with the job it did. But it finally has just worn out, and I needed a new one.
What prompted me to order this newer unit was when my very large dog threw up all over our family room wool carpet. The bile stain was so set in that my older machine did not get it all up, and hand work with paper towels and elbow grease did not remove that large dark yellow/brown stain from our light gray carpet.
It arrived via UPS the same week I ordered it. Easy to assemble, and very easy to use. I went over the stain in the carpet that was now over two weeks old, and this new Hoover took ALL the stain totally out with very little effort. I cannot find a trace of that horrible looking stain no matter how hard I look."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florence, AZ
Date:February 11, 2011

Just What I Needed

Pros: i would buy it again.
Model Number: F74252940
"My other cleaner had quit on me, and the carpet was almost beyond cleaning. This Hoover was exactly what I needed. It was not only a good cleaner, but very easy to use and manage. The liquid cleanser smells very good and did an excellent job. The drying was much faster than any other time I had done this carpet cleaning. Thankyou. Thankyou."
Review 12 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 9, 2011

Great machine

Pros: easy handling, large hot water tank, lots of tools, easy to clean
Cons: none
Model Number: Hoover® SteamVac™ All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
"Way better than my 10 year old Hoover carpet cleaner. Separate tanks for fresh water and shampoo is a big help. Parts can be easily taken off to clean. Removable tool caddy makes it lighter for carpet cleaning."
Review 13 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scott Valley, CA
Date:February 9, 2011

Does a great job

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: brushes hard to clean
"I just used this steam vac last week. Very easy to use, carpets came out great! The dirty water container I emptied was very dirty. I used to pay to have my carpets cleaned every 1-2 years. This cleaner produced similar results and will save me money in the long run. Now I can clean high traffic areas more frequently."
Review 14 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:fairfield ca
Date:February 9, 2011

Best so far

"We have tile floors was really surprised at how easy it rolled over each tile and how clean they got. We have tried every from scrubbers to steam mops so far this is the best."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prescott Valley, AZ
Date:February 8, 2011

Great Machine

Pros: easy to assemble easy to use does excellent job
Cons: none that i can see
Model Number: F72549400
"This machine was simple to assemble and did a marvelous job of cleaning out carpets. It was easy to use and wasn't a back-breaker like most of the rental machines. It didn't t over saturate the carpets and extracted the greatest majority of water so drying time was minimal. I believe this was/is an excellent purchase"
Review 16 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Date:February 4, 2011

Good product for the price

Pros: cost effective cleaning.
Cons: shipping box not very sturdy.
"It works great . Cleaned a lot of grime out of my carpets and did a very good job of sucking the water out of the carpet - better than the last professional that I used.
When it comes to stain removal, it wasn't quite as good, but that probably had more to do with the chemical cleaners than with the machine itself.
My biggest complaint was the way the product was shipped. The original manufacturer's box wasn't really sturdy enough to tolerate UPS ground shipping. The box was large and heavy with no hand-holds, so UPS roughed it up and the box nearly fell apart in transit. Other than that - I love it."
Review 17 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:oregon
Date:February 4, 2011

Off to a good start!

Pros: excellent value, handles carpets and hard surfaces
Cons: requries a bit of elbow grease to operate
"after first round of cleaning i am quite satisfied. pre-purchase homework included consumer report reviews and a google search for reviews. overall value good based on my interpretation of findings.
product well packed, easy to assemble. very, very satisfied with initial round of carpet and hard floor cleaning. dirt comes up and carpet quickly dries. operation relatively straight forward...need a good sink to load and empty various containers. a good right arm is valuable to guide and power the unit forward and backward. good brushing action.
have not tried accessories.
given relative cost of carpet cleaning...my perspective is that after one use i am ahead of cost of professional cleaning.
lifespan of unit: we'll see.
off to a good start"
Review 18 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san jose, ca
Date:February 4, 2011

Better than FloorMate for floors

Pros: suction power. ablity to rinse only..., bigger water tanks.
Cons: big. storage may be a problem for some, one fo the screws was missing. hoover sending repl
"So I've had a Hoover FloorMate for about 6yrs and was disappointed b/c it just doesn't pick up the water very well. We have extensive hardwood / tile floors and I was getting tired of going back over them with a mop (kind of defeats the purpose). Since Costco has such a great deal going, I decided to try this model and WOW. What a difference. The suction is very good and my floors are almost dry when I'm done. Love the ability to switch back and forth between clean water and solution because parts of my house don't really need soap.
Haven't tried the carpet cleaner yet but will soon. I would recommend this over the FloorMate on the suction for hardwood alone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:February 2, 2011

Amazing!

Pros: quick & easy
Cons: noisy
"Cleaned the carpet a few days after taking delivery of this fine machine and was very much impressed! My carpet is at least two shades lighter in color. Thank you!"
Review 20 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vanouver, WA
Date:February 2, 2011

Hoover Steam vac

"Love it! Did have to download a manual. It wasn't included for some reason. But the machine is wonderful!"
1 2 next>>