Customer Reviews for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™

Added Value: 64oz 2x Deep Cleansing Detergent Features Dual V™ Nozzle & SpinScrub™ Brushes
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
(out of 40 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
36 of 40(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Review 1 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:January 22, 2011

Great carpet cleaner!

Pros: cleans carpet great, carpet dries fast
Cons: doesn't pick up all water on hard floors
"I just received this Hoover yesterday and I couldn't be happier! I already cleaned all my carpet & tile! I used to have a Bissel Proheat 2x, and this Hoover blows it out of the water! It does an excellent job getting up all the stains. It even comes with detergent for the carpet and tile. Its wide base allows you to clean much more with one "stroke". Although it doesn't pick up the water as well on the tile. Of course I just used it for the first time and I could have had something attached wrong. For anyone with pets or high traffic areas on their carpets, this is a must!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:oregon
Date:February 4, 2011

Off to a good start!

Pros: excellent value, handles carpets and hard surfaces
Cons: requries a bit of elbow grease to operate
"after first round of cleaning i am quite satisfied. pre-purchase homework included consumer report reviews and a google search for reviews. overall value good based on my interpretation of findings.
product well packed, easy to assemble. very, very satisfied with initial round of carpet and hard floor cleaning. dirt comes up and carpet quickly dries. operation relatively straight forward...need a good sink to load and empty various containers. a good right arm is valuable to guide and power the unit forward and backward. good brushing action.
have not tried accessories.
given relative cost of carpet cleaning...my perspective is that after one use i am ahead of cost of professional cleaning.
lifespan of unit: we'll see.
off to a good start"
Review 3 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prescott Valley, AZ
Date:February 8, 2011

Great Machine

Pros: easy to assemble easy to use does excellent job
Cons: none that i can see
Model Number: F72549400
"This machine was simple to assemble and did a marvelous job of cleaning out carpets. It was easy to use and wasn't a back-breaker like most of the rental machines. It didn't t over saturate the carpets and extracted the greatest majority of water so drying time was minimal. I believe this was/is an excellent purchase"
Review 4 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 20, 2011

Outstanding machine

"Just got my Hoover SteamVac Cleaner yesterday. Put it together this morning with no problems and went to work. Great machine! Easy to use and did a wonderful job. Have read reviews on other sites complaining about various things, but honestly I think it is perfect for a home machine. I sitll plan to get my carpets professionally cleaned, but this will allow me to extend the time between cleanings considerably. Worked great, easy to assemble, easy to use, good price....not sure what else you could want."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kennesaw, GA
Date:January 26, 2011

Great product

"The unit works perfectly. The only thing is that assembly and operation instructions could have been better. They pertained to a unit that was not the same so assumptions had to be made. Overall we are very satisfied. Thank you again Costco."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando
Date:February 1, 2011

Good but Heavy

"If you need a workout this very heavy unit does a great job. It does us a lot of detergent."
Review 7 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vanouver, WA
Date:February 2, 2011

Hoover Steam vac

"Love it! Did have to download a manual. It wasn't included for some reason. But the machine is wonderful!"
Review 8 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:February 2, 2011

Amazing!

Pros: quick & easy
Cons: noisy
"Cleaned the carpet a few days after taking delivery of this fine machine and was very much impressed! My carpet is at least two shades lighter in color. Thank you!"
Review 9 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florence, AZ
Date:February 11, 2011

Just What I Needed

Pros: i would buy it again.
Model Number: F74252940
"My other cleaner had quit on me, and the carpet was almost beyond cleaning. This Hoover was exactly what I needed. It was not only a good cleaner, but very easy to use and manage. The liquid cleanser smells very good and did an excellent job. The drying was much faster than any other time I had done this carpet cleaning. Thankyou. Thankyou."
Review 10 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene,Or
Date:February 22, 2011

Best Investment ever

"I have four children and there always spilling things on my carpet not to mention all the mud and stuff they track in. This thing does wonders with ease. I just love it my carpet looks brand new again Amazing!!!!!!"
Review 11 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marietta, GA
Date:February 25, 2011

Excellent carpet cleaner

Pros: actually works as advertised
Model Number: Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain
"This was as replacement for a close competitor's carpet cleaner. The other unit was prone to clogging, not working properly and poor performance in general.
This Hoover unit was purchased at an equivalent price and does perform; unlike it's competitor.
I threw the 2-year old competition's unit into the trash, with it's purple plastic still looking pristine. It simply did not clean our carpets."
Review 12 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:fairfield ca
Date:February 9, 2011

Best so far

"We have tile floors was really surprised at how easy it rolled over each tile and how clean they got. We have tried every from scrubbers to steam mops so far this is the best."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver,CO
Date:February 15, 2011

INCREDIBLE CLEANER! EASY TO USE!

Pros: price ease of use. convenient!
Model Number: Hoover SteamVac All Terrain
"I purchased this unit and LOVE IT!......It cleans just as well (if not better) than your leading carpet cleaning companies!....Had some reservations about the durabiity (plastic parts) as some of the other reviews mentioned, however...no issues at all!......It cleans incredibly, is easy to use, TERRIFIC price, and am overall VERY satisfied.! THANKS COSTCO for yet another TERRIFIC product!"
Review 14 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parker, CO
Date:February 16, 2011

Lovin' This Cleaner!

Pros: ease of use, cleaning capability
"I have used several different kinds of rug cleaners including Bissell and the ones you rent at the grocery store. I have also had our rugs professionally cleaned. This Hoover was much easier to use than the others I've used and did just as good of a job as the pros!
I have 2 kids, 1 dog (very big who spends lot's of time outside) and 4 cats. To say our carpets & upholstery need to be cleaned regularly is quite an understatement!
I've only used my new Hoover rug cleaner on two, extremely dirty (smelly) carpets and they came out looking (and smelling) new. I haven't used it on my hard floors yet but will soon.
I figured the cleaner will pay for itself over the next 4-6 months since to rent a cleaner (for only 24 hours) is about $60-$80."
Review 15 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rural Minnesota
Date:February 11, 2011

Amazing results

Pros: easy to use and does the job
Cons: onboard tool caddy is a bit clumsy. left it off.
Model Number: Hoover® SteamVac™ All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse
"I had owned an older Hoover Steam/Vac for more than a dozen years. I used it often and was very pleased with the job it did. But it finally has just worn out, and I needed a new one.
What prompted me to order this newer unit was when my very large dog threw up all over our family room wool carpet. The bile stain was so set in that my older machine did not get it all up, and hand work with paper towels and elbow grease did not remove that large dark yellow/brown stain from our light gray carpet.
It arrived via UPS the same week I ordered it. Easy to assemble, and very easy to use. I went over the stain in the carpet that was now over two weeks old, and this new Hoover took ALL the stain totally out with very little effort. I cannot find a trace of that horrible looking stain no matter how hard I look."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:February 15, 2011

Very pleased!

Pros: competitive cost, leaves carpet dry, easy to use
Cons: none yet
"I had been looking for a spot cleaner for my carpets for occasional spills/pet stains. I decided to buy this full size machine because of the competitive price, great reviews, costco guarantee, and it was comparable in price to small spot cleaners. The machine did a great job with the pet stains. I didn't have any really stubborn stains such as wine or ketchup so I can't speak for that. My carpets didn't even really look dirty but while I was spot-cleaning I decided to do all of my carpet. I was shocked at how much dirt the cleaner removed and thoroughly impressed with how dry it left my carpets. If this machine can maintain this performance for several years then it is an easy home-run. I don't think this can entirely replace professional cleaning but it does a great job to tackle immediate messes, picking up spills, and extending the time between professional cleaning. Professional cleaning is a drag because you have to remove your furniture but this unit is almost as nimble as a vacuum cleaner so it's easy to tackle the high-traffic areas several times a year."
Review 17 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PHX, AZ
Date:March 2, 2011

Phoenomal Cleaner

"This carpet cleaner works as well or better than a rug doctor.
It will pull inches of dirt out of carpet that doesn't even look dirty.
p.s. I love the sticker on the solution container that says "warning: to reduce the risk of fire use only Hoover products.""
Review 18 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:April 15, 2011

Awesome!

Pros: no more mopping!
Cons: doesn't have onboard water heater.
"Works great on tile floor with grout, leaves the floor pretty dry with the squeegee attachment. All in all a good purchase."
Review 19 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2011
"I was really impressed with this steam cleaner, it did a great job making the dirty high traffic areas of my house look new again.
A nice feature of this machine is that I can use it on hard surfaces as well. It worked great on the tile floors in my kitchen. I also like the 2 large separate tanks for dirty & clean water. I also found the dry time for the carpet to be really fast, as it must have good suction.
I would recommend this unit!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hoover® MaxExtract® All Terrain Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner with Auto Rinse™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wyoming, MI
Date:January 25, 2011

LOVE THIS CLEANER!!!

Pros: sucks the water up well, cleans well, easy on your back
Cons: weak cord and hose hook. company sending a new one
Model Number: F7458-900
"This is an awesome cleaner! I had a large Bissel and hated it, then I borrowed my sisters small Bissel and hated that as well. I then saw that this particular Hoover cleaner was rated at the top of Consumer Reports so I bought it. I was going to clean only the back hall but it went so easy, and cleaned so well, that I ended up doing the entire house! It cleans wonderful, sucks the water back up so it doesn't leave your carpet damp forever, is easy to use, and is easy on my back, which was a big problem with the others. I can't say enough good things about it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>