Customer Reviews for System Mechanic Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

System Mechanic Premium

Keeps your PC running like new and provides state-of-the-art data protection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.269 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
13 of 26(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for System Mechanic Premium
Review 1 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:November 15, 2010

No better than the others

Model Number: System Mechanic Pro v10
"After a glowing review from a respected Seattle Times writer, I bought this tool just to see if it really would do what he said. Nope. It didn't speed up the start-up process or the "snapiness" of program execution.
After installing this program, it automatically bumped me to Version 10. I ran all options (twice).
I suspect that this product is no different than the others. If you keep your machine in good condition - clean and fragged regularly - then you won't see anything more than a negligible improvement (or nothing at all).
If your machine is several years old and getting sluggish due to lack of maintenance, then buy it - but don't expect miracles."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corona, California
Date:January 21, 2011

Worst purchase ever

Model Number: UPC813279004873 Costco#537362
"Finished 2 installations but had to un-install one because it slowed the pc down to a crawl, and even worse, the pc becomes unbootable after un-installation of System Mechanics Premium (SMP), iolo's premium service agent checked the pc and announced he could not help unless I opt to pay $100 for them to fix this pc, or $300 for a 12-month coverage of 3 pc's! Unbelievable.
I purchased the SMP thinking to save me the work to re-install the OS, that did not work at all. I had planned to install SMP on all my pc's. Not now.
Recommendation: unless you know how to get your pc back to work yourself, be careful with this software. It only works under certain conditions, but iolo did not tell what those conditions are.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Plano TX
Date:January 16, 2011

Worst purchase

Pros: last year's product was good
Cons: no cust or tech spt in reality, iolo doesn't care about customers & no supvrs
Model Number: System Mechanic Premium
"The box stated "Bonus: Anti-Virus & Anti-Spyware included". Part of install for System Mechanic Premium required current Anti-Virus software to be uninstalled, did that. Then after doing all this, System Mechanic stated my PC had no Anti-Virus or Anti-Spyware installed. It was not included in the purchase. 3 phone calls to Tech Spt resulted in being disco'd after nearly 10 mins. on hold (NOTE: no toll-free no.), 2 calls to Cust Svc useless (told to call Tech Spt & disco'd by rep once). Emails to Tech Spt have been useless, too, despite complying with request to send pic of box to them. NEVER BUY SYSTEM MECHANIC PRODUCTS - CLEARLY THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT CUSTOMERS WITH VALID PROBLEMS."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 11, 2010

Maybe helped a little, maybe not

Pros: with rebate it was almost free
Cons: doesn't seem to have made a difference
"Ran all of the components several times, can't see any noticeable improvement in speed, although it claims to have made many modifications and repairs and that everything is now good.
Just for kicks, I subsequently ran their online test software, and it still claims to detect serious problems and recommends purchase of their software. Sounds a little phony, like they'll find problems on any computer, including even ones they've already "fixed.""
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 9, 2010

Just another "free" Option?

Pros: it is an "all in one." i hope..., it is almost "free!", costco backs it!
Cons: warnings and disclaimers are very disconcerting., you must remove all your existing anti-virus sw, it shows little to no improvement., takes time to uninstall & install., check consumer reports rating
Model Number: ?...813279004873...?
"I installed this program(s) on both my laptop and desktop. On my desktop; It immediately went into my hard disk dos system, as if my computer was "crashed" and needed "recovery." It was "scary" as it asked me if I wished to continue in several areas; like "partitions"; of which I am ignorrant. My Laptop took it in stride and did not enter into recovery mode. Both computers were working fine before I installed System Mechanic. I noticed NO increase in speed. I also was forced to COMPLETLY uninstall my Avira and Macaffe virus programs before System Mechanic would continue installation. My Macaffee Came installed; paid for in the purchase price of my laptop; so I lost it and the value of it. I also had to go on the internet and establish a new account at the System Mechanic site; before it would allow me to continue installation on my laptop. C___ Cleaner and Avira are FREE software that probably do as well or better than System Mechanic. I would not have even "toyed" with sysyem Mechanic except for the promised "rebate." Incidently NO rebate information or "receipt" comes with the the mailed software. You must get it off the Costo site. System Mechanic web site told me to contact their "rebate center." I found out they have no "rebate center" , as such. Keep records and copies of your rebate submission and online receipt. I worry that one must stay on top of this one. Fortunately; however, Costco backs this up with a refund, if you are not happy."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 21, 2010

PC Mechanic

"Noticed an improvement in performance,
It is free at the moment. I highly recommend this product. You don't have to use their security portion of their SW. You can choose to keep what you have.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:December 27, 2010

Good Value

Pros: good value especially with the rebate, no technical issues worked as advertised, works on 3 boxes, updated to the new version before installing.
Cons: update to new version was very time consuming.
"Worked as well as any of the "all in one" utilities, and better than most I have used. Helped my old XP desktop considerably, speeding up boot, internet speeds, and general operations. Nothing is ever fast enough, but it did improve this box. Haven't loaded it yet on the Vista laptop, but optimistic that it will help it as well. Don't expect much help for the new windows 7 laptop."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VT
Date:November 12, 2010

Excellent program

Pros: fixes registry and shortcut problems with 1 click
Cons: virus protection will need to be renewed for a fee
"I have used this program for a few years. Combining this program with an anti-spy ware program superantispyware.com (free) gives me total protection for the computer, plus it fixes problems which seem to occur all the time in windows. With the rebate, you can't go wrong!
Even without the virus protection, I think this is a must have application to keep your computer running smoothly.
Only negative is that after a year passes, you either need to renew, or uninstall, or you will have a pop up in the corner of your screen every day telling you it has expired (though it still works, no further updates).. This notification can not be turned off through msconfig."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 27, 2010

A good tool to clear up clutter

Pros: economical compared to similar software
Cons: doesnot improve performance
Model Number: 10.0
"I did not see any visible difference in speed but it cleaned up my pc and salvaged some space.."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 15, 2010

Resuscitated my XP laptop!

Pros: inexpensive especially after the rebate., autmoatically updated to the latest version., start it and walk away while it fixes issues., good for three pcs!
"My HP laptop, with Windows XP, had slowed to a crawl. Booting up took over 15 minutes and performance was terrible - delays in mouse movements, hiccups playing videos or music, programs loading slowly. I bought this after reading a positive review in the newspaper. Over a thousand registry errors found and fixed, clutter removed, and after a few hours worth of restarts, scans and fixes my laptop performs like new. Very impressive!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:February 8, 2011

Seems to work

Model Number: System Mechanic Professional 10
"I bought System Mechanic Premium because of several reviews in computer magazines. I am happy with the product but was surprised to learn after I purchased it that it was only a one-year subscription. Either it was not stated or I missed the information that I would have to pay to renew each year."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Worth, FL
Date:December 27, 2010

Very good purchase

Model Number: System Mechanic 10
"Very good software, although I did not like the antivirus part of it, it takes forever to scan the computer and there is no way to shut if off for 15 minutes. Also they bother you right a way trying to sell you their updates after one year!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:January 14, 2011

So so

"I ran a bunch of the tests/clean-ups but haven't noticed much of a difference in speed ..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:November 18, 2010

Nice Software

"This is my 2nd time to use System Mechanic. I like the fact that it's easy to use and clear to see what can be improved on your computer. On top of that, it's technically free at the moment! Strongly recommend to give it a try."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 20, 2011

System Mech

Model Number: System Mechanic Professional iolo
"Probably operatior trouble. In followint instruction did not get accomplished. Perhaps next time Grand Son here he can get it on here for me!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OH
Date:January 15, 2011

Removed

Pros: none
Cons: slows unit down
"Put on 3 computers have removed from 2 after 2 weeks. It slows them down. It would be ok if the units have 4 gigs of ram."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver,WA
Date:February 1, 2011

Do NOT recomand it

"I try it many times and my computer frizzed up.wasted my time.
overall Rating Not even worth one star
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hobart WA
Date:October 13, 2011

Good product, but Best in Pro Version

Cons: just step up and get the right version first
"To the person who was surprised to find out that the subscription would need renewing.... Any one which truly works does. But it is true that this particular version does not include all the elements that protect against Malware. I found out the hard way by initially buying the cheaper one, but now I have the Professional version of System Mechanic installed and running. And anything short of WOW doesn't give this version justice! My higher-end laptop has never before run nearly this fast or reliably. The 3-year license works out to the same amount as buying the cheap one and renewing it twice."
Review 19 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa , AZ
Date:August 6, 2011

best I have found for computer cleanup

Model Number: System Mechanic Premium
"Easy install (must remove similar software before install) , had similar software installed for a year , but first time cleanup with this took about 3 hours and computer is about 10 times faster and so far it has eliminated an occasional lockup when waking computer up !"
Review 20 for System Mechanic Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA
Date:June 22, 2011

Like buying a new PC

"Sys. Mech is the most comprehensive system repair that I have ever run across. Identifies & repairs all system errors to make your PC run like new. Great deal, no strings attached. Every PC owner should have this and that's the truth."
1 2 next>>