Customer Reviews for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras

Remote Monitoring via iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry and more
Average Customer Rating:
3.64 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
10
35 of 50(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Review 1 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 14, 2012

Good product for the price

Pros: good price for the features
Cons: searching for recorded video isn't very intuitive
Model Number: QT528
"Very good resolution and fluid motion of the video for such a low price security system. Mine caught a guy stealing my out going mail. The police came to my house to look at the video and he was very impressed by the clarity. It was also easy to burn the video and give a copy to the police. I have it hooked up to a 27" monitor in the hallway so my kids can see who's at the door and to my home network so I can view it in any computer in my house. Got a free app and I'm able to view it on my Android phone too.
Overall, I am extremely happy with the quality for the price. I've done a lot of research for DVR systems ranging from $200 to $2,000. You get what you pay for. In this case, I think I got a little more.
One of the camera's night vision didn't work out of the box. I contacted Q-See and they issued me an RMA # to return the camera. They emailed me when they received my camera and emailed again when they send out a replacement. Shipping both ways was free. I recommend this model to my brother and a cousin who also bought one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2011

I think I like this system (dvr+camera)

Model Number: QT528-435-1
"Had 2 other DVRs before and this is so much better.
Pros:
DVR
- Did some "trial runs" and the recording is so much better. And what I see "live" is the same quality that is recorded - D1 at 30fps for each channel. No need to record D1 at realtime frame rate (30fps) - just nicer.
Not the "full" NTSC D1 (720x480) resolution - it is TV NTSC (704x480) but still is almost 4x CIF.
- GUI/Display - faster response and higher resolution. I use a lot "color" menu to finetune each camera
display.
- Password protected (Even though it slows me down initially - but I feel that this is good)
4xCameras
- Good DVR is useless without good cameras.
The cameras are much better even at night - 1/3", 520 line CCD with 36 IR LEDs with wider viewing angle
Also comes with better power supply for the cameras.
Had added 2 more expensive cameras (Costco don't sell them). They are better but these 4 cameras are good.
- better power supply.
Cons:
- Don't expect commercial quality that cost thousands of dollars. This system is still very practical/useable.
- Choosing higher resolution and frame rate requires bigger harddrive (HD) space. Still HD are cheap and max of 2x2TB (It comes with 1TB WD10EARS).
- Replacing previous dvr complication - the DVR size is slightly bigger and camera cables now run through the camera bracket (vandalproof).
-GUI interface is basic.
-Some network tech knowledge may be required.
Others:
There are other D1 DVRs online but are
a. more expensive and
b. the sellers are not Costco.
Haven't use q-see support yet. Have only tried basic functions.
So far I like it.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:September 12, 2011

Cheap - Yes, Good - No

Model Number: Various Qsee and 1 Swann system
"Due to the price I have purchased a few of these systems. 1 for myself and couple for my neighbours who I helped install.
I also manage security for my company and use a completely different system that we purchased for about $800 4 years ago made by swann.
Cheap: yes they are and thats why we all got on the band wagon.
Good - Not so much. The pic quality is good but their software implementation is the ABSOLUTE worst. Now if you want to only see if there was an incident, you will eventually get to the footage after clicking 15 mouse clicks etc. Someone in china/Korea designed the firware with no customer convenience in mind. Swann on the other hand, has 4 clicks.. Search --> Pick Day -->Pick time --> Play. Forward rewind is much more convenient in swann too.
Remote is almost non functional. God forbid you get a 8 camera system (more cameras.. more work dvr has to do) and you can just click search and go get yourself a drink and it will still be sitting in hourglass mode.
Motion detection is another joke. Fills up my 1TB in 2 weeks. Pretty much records everything. I have been trying to tweak it for weeks now. In swann, it used to do the same. Some fiddling with sensitivity and I get 6 months of recording in 250GB disk.
Oh wait.. almost forgot. God forbit you have an issue with the device. Qsee support is practically non existent. So unless you are a nerd/geek, you are just lost.
If you just want it for deterrance, may be worth the money but do yourself a favor.. buy another brand ... may be Swann...
I might sound like I work for Swann or something.. but I dont work for either. This review has come out of 6 months of frustrations."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2011

Nothing work

Pros: seems like a good deal for 1 tb
Cons: looks & built really cheap but who cares., the dvr will be inside a cabinet.
"I just returned this product to Costco. Not sure if I got a box of defects (maybe it was built on a Friday afternoon) but I sure hit the jackpot.
My background: server administrator (build servers, administer email) so I am familiar technically.
Following their quick start guide, I plugged the DVR to my monitor using the vga cable. No picture. :(
Swapped it with my own vga cable and still no picture.
OK, maybe it needs the remote control to change the source.
Inserted brand new batteries and remote does not work. Changed batteries to rechargeable and still no light emitted when I push any of the buttons.
Not giving up yet. I already wasted most of my evening but determined to hook up at least one camera.
So I moved the DVR to my flatscreen and tried the BNC cable. Finally it displayed a message "Initializing" with their logo. OK. I thought here we go. Hard drive light flickering, a good sign.
Then it just displayed a black screen with a black square on the bottom right of the screen. No setup menu like the one pictured in the quick start guide.
Tried it several times (reboot), got fed up and packed it all back in the box.
I was seriously considering ordering it again but not sure it's worth the hassle.
I think I might go with a better product.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:February 3, 2011

Fantastic system

Pros: priced very well, good quality very easy set up, probably don't need technical help
Cons: poor technical help when needed
Model Number: QT528
"We own several restaurants and started using video about 5-6 years ago. We started with a company called EZ-Watch. They were OK, but supplied very inferior equipment (but a good software). Repairs were often and numerous and they ultimately were unable to support their hardware. When the EZ-Watch equipment finally failed for good we went to a service called DTT. Good equipment and service but way too expensive. The remote connection required an upload speed that was not available (1 mbs+). Fortunately we sold that restaurant and could get out of the contract. Then we found Q-See. The equipment is far superior to what we have had in the past and set up was seemless. Everything we needed was in the box, and Costco's pricing can't be beat. The only negative I can say is their technical service is not good. I've tried both phone and internet chat. The phone wait was very long, and their accent made it difficult to understand them. The intenet chat was a little quicker, but it appeared the person on the other end was looking for keywords instead of actually reading the question. The responses seemed random and unrelated until I kept at it and drove the person into a relative answer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2011

Horrible Tech Support

Pros: great resolution
Cons: horrible tech support min 60 minutes hold time, not networkable over the net without tech support, software for pc is not good, cheaper models they sell have better pc software
Model Number: QT-528, QCC-444
"BE Prepaired to wait over 30-60 mintutes on Hold to speak to a repersentative for tech support. You will need to call usually more than one time during your setup. The Level 2 Tech support which is a longer hold time is rude and rushed to disconnect the call.
Level 2 Tech which does networking is routed to Level 1 approximately 45mins and rerouted in the que for Level 2 another 30-60 mintues on hold.
I am very well trained at Computers and networking but I still need to contact there techsupport whom accessed my computer over the net and took control and wouldnt show or teach me what he was doing. Thats why I had to call back again to adjust and setup another unit i bought. I bought 5 of these and am still 2 weeks into setting up and networking everything.
Great item for the money just have to Have Lots of Patience and time to deal with there very tempermental Staff and bad telephone system. They said the are currently upgrading there phone systems and thats why after waiting on hold and you hear your call being transfered and then disconnected was because of phone problems.
Not sure how the Got to sell to Costco.
But I'm sure they will be cutting them off pretty soon!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brush Prairie, Washington
Date:February 11, 2012

Good buy Gerat customer support

Pros: simple do it yourself system
Cons: dvr blower noise. keep out of quiet areas
Model Number: QT428
"This is the third video security system I have installed and I am very pleased with it. I am not a professional and got involved with these systems to help some of our local volunteer organizations. This one gets internet service via DSL so setting up port forwarding for remote access was more complicated than the previous systems. I contacted Q-See customer support via email to start with and followed up with a phone call. They were very professional and helpful.Within two hours everything was up and running. This is a great system for the money but don't count on it to provide facial recognigition of strangers unless they are very close to the camera and there is good lightnig. The night vision works pretty well for monitoring enclosed areas but not so well outside in parking lots or yards."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pembroke Pines, FL
Date:January 21, 2011

Lots system for the price if it works

Pros: great system when it worked
Cons: q-see customer support
Model Number: QT528
"Setup of DBR took about 1 hour. Web site
documentation for network setup, opening ports, e-mail notices good but recording modes, motion alarm mode docs are very lacking. Included cameras worked great day and night; images were very clear. My system crashed after 3 days. Q-see support was terrible,try and call you spend 30 mins in phone system heck only tobe disconected and could not get an e-mail response, for 2 days. Told it would take a few weeks to get this new system repaired. I took the system out & returned it to Costco.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 28, 2011

Stay Away from this company !!!

Model Number: Qsee 8 channel DVR with 8 cameras
"I have purchased two of their products so far and both have let me down. The camera power supplies get fried after a short period, I'm using it in an office environment with plenty of stable reliable power that's running 8 other computers. These were all plugged into UPS power supplies.
Bought the 8 channel system and had 4 of 8 cameras become useless in less than 15 months. Wasted all my time & money in getting these installed to then have them fail and then I have to spend more time & money to remove these useless wall-flowers !!!
And there is no OEM support to be heard of.
Costco was generous enough to honor the warranty, but I'm done with this brand, and you should be too... I generally equate Costco with carrying good quality products at a good price point... but this system has really let me down.
I think Costco should protect their reputation and stop carrying this brand."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:June 13, 2011

Reliability Problem

Pros: excellent features, superior ipad app, good price
Cons: reliability, box could be smaller
Model Number: QT528-1
"I have been looking at units for 3 years and finally found this one with great feature, good price and good camera resolution. Unfortunately, it failed after about a week of use. Instead of pulling out the wiring and cameras to take back to Costco, I sent just the DVR to Q-See, The turnaround time was not great and there was no feedback when the unit was shipped. I got back the same unit I shipped and all they did was re-flash the BIOS. The unit failed again with an infinite reset loop after 2 days. This time I pulled everything out and returned to Costco. I lost money because of the additional items I bought to install the unit and payed for the iPad App. Not sure if I am unlucky or they have a reliability problem. The RMA person did say they processed to many RMAs on a daily basis for her to keep track of mine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Miguel, CA
Date:February 1, 2011

Measures up, but needs some accessories

Pros: excellent surveillance system for the price, cameras are top notch, basic installation a breeze, dc power box - one point power supply
Cons: better support for wireless technology, no accessories to make install "clean"., advanced features might be a bit techie for some
Model Number: QT528-435-1
"I purchased this after installing a Q-See system at my parents house. I am very happy with the system. Easy to install, straight forward instructions, but you will need to be a little more savvy for port-forwarding.
There are 2 small draw-backs:
1 - Nothing on the Q-See web site for wall plates for the BNC & 2.1mm DC connectors. The DC power box is a great feature, but there needs to be wall plates to make the installation look professional.
2 - Q-See needs to instruct their site support personel on how to make the DSR *wireless*. They insisted that I purchase a router (even though I clearly told them I have a gateway already) instead of a repeater/access point/bridge. I think that wireless is the only way to go, and most households today have a wireless modem/gateway.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2011

Excellent Cameras!

"These cameras are extremely well built and are can withstand a great deal of wear and tear. Q-See does a wonderful job taking care of their customers after the purchase, their tech support is very helpful and knowledgeable for any questions. I am tough to impress and this product surpassed expectations, highly recommend!"
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 19, 2011

q-see8 channel package

Pros: easy set up, if you not going to watch it on the internet.
Cons: bad support, may take some time setting up internet viewing., 3 stars because of support. quality may be better
Model Number: QT528
"Like the other's say the tech support is not very helpful. I was first in line for phone support and they tranferred me to the next level only to wait for one hour. I did figure it out on my own by then so I hung up. So you get what you pay for. I haven't install the system yet but will soon. Set it up to watch from my droid x with no problems, wanted tech to resolve a question but hung up after waiting so long. Al so email a question to tech support, received responce but they didn't understand the question so I stated it again. This time I have not received a responce. Its been over two weeks and nothing. If you are a tech-e or know some one then go for it. If not you may be spending time on the phone or returning it to costco. I almost did just because of the bad support. As far a quality it to soon to tell. I will get back to you on that."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Naples, Florida
Date:July 17, 2011
"I bought a previous Q-see system, 9004, and it didn't last a year. I bought this system based on the reviews, which were, basically, positive. I've had it now for 2 months and one camera went out already, shortly after I left for vacation. I won't know whether it's the camera or the cable until I return home. It's on a 100' cable which has some add on connectors which could be the problem. The tech support has also improved since my last unit. I had this one working online within a couple of days after hooking it up. I do recommed a temporary hook-up until you're satisfied that all works well before running cables through the walls and mounting the cameras. This system does have much better picture quality with the D-1 cameras, my other 4 cameras are from the older cmos version, and don't show any color. All in all I still recommend this unit, for cost and basic home security."
Review 15 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:December 15, 2011

So Far so Good

Pros: simple set up and great clarity
Cons: motion detection takes some time to tune
Model Number: QT528
"I gave it a good rating simply becuase I dont have anything to compare it to. It meets my needs and my house is more secure. In reading the other reviews im a little nervous my system will break before the year is up. But so far, it was a breeze to install my 8 camera system. The size of the cameras doesnt bother me, most people wont notice them. If you can follow directions its simple to configure to your router and set up remote monitoring on your Iphone or web from any where in the world you have internet access. Ive submitted a few questions to support and they respond within an hour or so. It takes some time to set up your motion detection, im sure all competitors are the same in this area. Most of my cameras are pointed at a background that isnt constantly moving so its easy to tune. Its pretty cool, I can check who is at my front door by switcing my TV to AV2."
Review 16 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Hills, CA
Date:February 10, 2012

Best Service ever

Pros: amazing customer support, excellent night vision
Model Number: QT526
"Ok after contacting ADT for a video surveillance camera that wanted an arm and a leg I just bought the Q-See 16-channel Security DVR 8 High-resolution 600 TVL Real-time Full Detailed Recording. Which is no longer available thru Costco. Well anyway I set it up myself and called the Q-See tech support and spoke with Brendon, Zooie and Mike at different times and originally spoke with Brenden and ended with Brendon. Outstanding customer service by all 3 guys. They completly rocked it to be able to get my 3G network on my iphone to work. This product I purchased amazed me for the night mode. I live in pitch darkness and it looks very light outside at night when looking thru the monitors."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arvada, Co
Date:February 14, 2011

Quality Product

Pros: excellent cameras and picture, high quality cabeling, good instructions
Cons: dvr too large for easy placement, wi-fi for internet connection needed
Model Number: QT528
"This is my second try at finding a quality home security system. At this time it looks like I won't have to look any further. This is a quality system with excellent cameras and features. I am a little disappointed in the size of the DVR as it won't fit on standard size book shelves and it does not have wi-fi to connect wirelessly to the internet which would allow more flexability for DVR placement. Installation was mostly easy and the instructions are good. I have used the remote access via the internet with excellent resuts on both my laptop w/wi-fi and my Ipad w/3g & wi-fi. Beware of the helper website for port forwarding, the instructions were not correct for my modem but I was able to correct the problem as I have experience with computers and the previous cam system that failed. Once set up all worked as advertised. This is an excellent system so far."
Review 18 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:October 19, 2011

Shipped with Wrong Cables from Q-See

Model Number: QT528-435-1
"Set the system up to test before install and discovered the camera cables were the incorrect type. It was hard to contact the "right" person at QSEE to correct the problem. After I did, they make you complete a form to correct their mistake and you must pay for shipping to send in for replacment which will take 3-4 weeks or more. The only saving grace is I bought this at Costo so I can return it. I should have read these reviews before ordering and saved Costco the trouble. I also notice that the software is not user friendly.
Other than this the quality looks good but I have obivously not seen it in full operation.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Alabama
Date:March 25, 2011

Good system easy to install.

Model Number: QT528-435-1
"I bought this system because it has D1 recording, cameras are 520TVL and it's an 8 channel DVR so I can add cameras in the future.
The system was easy to install and the power distribution panel makes it nice. I got all the instructions I need off the website for port forwarding, Mine is special because I have two routers and they even had instructions for that scenario.
The only caveat is that network viewing doesn't yet support IE-9 but according to support they're working on it. I uninstalled IE-9 and it works great. I can sit at me computer and see what's going on outside.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2011

Best Surveillance System!

Pros: extremely reasonable pricing
"This security system is wonderful for my comprehensive surveillance needs. The cameras withstand wear & tear and keep function at top-notch quality. This system is nice because it includes 520tv line resolution. The cameras are very clean high resolution which makes this bundle high quality. The DVR has full DI recording. Also this bundle has a RJ59 cable which is extremely high quality and is quality shielded cable UL approved."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>