Customer Reviews for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras

Remote Monitoring via iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry and more
Average Customer Rating:
3.64 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
10
35 of 50(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Review 1 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:oregon
Date:July 30, 2012

not good

Model Number: Qsee Dvr and 8 cameras 2 units
"I have been working with two of these units for 2 months. They have returned 8 cameras because they go out and I have been dropped and can not sign in on the myq-see site. Very poor help and I am at wits end on what to do. I have a lot of time installing these units and have been on the phone with them 10 times not to mention numerous emails. They would work fine for awhile then cameras would go out and I would not be able to log in. I think it is cheap cheap cheap, but I am at a loss in what to do because of the time I have in installing all the wiring."
Review 2 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Medford, Or
Date:July 30, 2012

Keep an eye on your property

Model Number: QT428
"The Qsee cameras and dvr have been a great way for us to keep an eye on our house when we are out of town. You can pull up your cameras on your device like smart phone, iPad, computer and see whats going on around your house. The camera will take photos if something or someone moves in front of it and email it to you right away. Someone you don't know in your back yard while your on vacation? Call the police to check it out even if your somewhere else. And call Qsee for setting up your system if you need help. I called and spoke with Brendon who had my issue fixed in record time. He was great!"
Review 3 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:July 14, 2012

Q-See 8 channel

"Great product. Easy install for the software. The hard part was running the cables!
After hooking everything up and putting power to the unit it took about one hour to configure everything on the DVR and the router.
Read the directions and follow the steps in the order that they say and presto I was able to see the cameras remotely.
I am not a computer expert but it was not that hard to do. Again read the directions and follow the steps.
I did have a cable that did not work and called Q-See and drove over to the office and they swapped it out no questions asked.
"
Review 4 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:July 11, 2012

Almost - Finally Happy

Pros: many many features, clear picture quality
Cons: faulty power and wires
Model Number: QC448-854
"I was happy with the price and product. Q-See #QC448-854 8 channel 500GB DVR System. This system has many more great features you may use and are glad you have in the unit. I put the CD in my computer and it messed up Acrobat and a few other programs. Go to there website you can get the same info. Called the customer service and was told they would call back within 24 hours but would not set a time. (recording) Gee I will just sit by the phone! I called at 8:30 am when they open and felt lucky to get tech support because they were already slammed with calls. FYI - set up and account on their website it is easier and they give you a history of you incidents. Not that you should need this in the first place. I spoke with several people over the course of 3 weeks Ruth, David, Manuel, George, they are all great people but did not have all the solutions for resolving my issues on that phone call. After 3 weeks of trials and frustrations, I am now waiting for new power supply and splitters. (shorts in the products) The mounting screws supplied are junk. Use wood screws that fit and you will save time and frustration. The daytime picture resolution and color are perfect. If you see zig-zag lines on you screen from curbs or cement it is a refraction of light which will change though out the day. They have an wonderful motion detection feature. I have a lot of flowers, bushes, and trees, you can block them out very easily so when the wind blows they do not set off you cameras. (Neat !) Even tree shadows or bugs will set off this motion detection, So adjust the sensitivity or block those areas out. The night time vision is in black and white, clear even in zero light. If you get no picture at night but in the day you have bad power supply in the chain of lines. (Uses more power for night vision) If you get hallo rings in the picture at night there is light source shining into the camera. If the eve of your house is in the vision of the camera the infer-red night vision will see this as white regardless of the color and reflect light into the camera which will wash out the picture or hallow it. Solution is to reposition the camera to not see this, or paint the inside of your eve flat black on the area seen. I feel more secure with this product on our home because it see's what you do not whether you are home or not. Their is a USB port on the front of the unit which will allow for recorded events to be transferred to a memory stick. This is admissible in a court of law as evidence due to a time and date stamp on the recording. Can you say "Smile for the camera"!"
Review 5 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:ND
Date:April 18, 2012

you have to be VERY Information tech savvy to use

Pros: decent camera
Cons: customer service speak jargon send you video
Model Number: QC
"This is a decent camera with outdated software
to download their updates you need to download another set of software
to download that you need another software tweak
I asked my cousin IT guy to help
he is stumped
Will update this site"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ashburn, VA
Date:April 15, 2012

Works like a charm

"This is a very high quality system that was easy to install and works well. While there are a lot of sophisticated features, it is easy to get up and running with the basics without even reading the manual. My experience couldn't have been better. I'm very happy with my purchase. Similar systems at other online retailers were significantly more expensive."
Review 7 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NE Georgia
Date:March 21, 2012

Great System!

Pros: high quality, diy friendly
Model Number: QT528-435-1
"Product is great. It works perfectly. Easy setup and Amazing customer support. I had a few issues with remote viewing. All where my fault, but the Tech from Q-See fixed me up in about 5 minutes! Works on local network and remote viewing is simple and effective. Thanks to my technician, Brendon. If the rest of your team is as good as you, they are to be commended."
Review 8 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:March 10, 2012

OK System

Model Number: QT528
"Works as it should. Automatic time update by internet is a plus. Would be better if it can handle wider voltage range so it can be powered directly by deep cycle battery and perhaps quieter fan. Camera is ok, but will be nicer if mounting is compatible with round lamp holders. That way it can use widely available round electrical junction boxes."
Review 9 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:houston, tx
Date:February 15, 2012

Awsome Suppot

"I recently purchased one of these systems and they work great. I had difficulty setting up remote monitoring to view on my computer and phone, but technical support was awesome. Brendon assisted me and had me up and running in no time. best technical support I have ever experienced!"
Review 10 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brush Prairie, Washington
Date:February 11, 2012

Good buy Gerat customer support

Pros: simple do it yourself system
Cons: dvr blower noise. keep out of quiet areas
Model Number: QT428
"This is the third video security system I have installed and I am very pleased with it. I am not a professional and got involved with these systems to help some of our local volunteer organizations. This one gets internet service via DSL so setting up port forwarding for remote access was more complicated than the previous systems. I contacted Q-See customer support via email to start with and followed up with a phone call. They were very professional and helpful.Within two hours everything was up and running. This is a great system for the money but don't count on it to provide facial recognigition of strangers unless they are very close to the camera and there is good lightnig. The night vision works pretty well for monitoring enclosed areas but not so well outside in parking lots or yards."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Hills, CA
Date:February 10, 2012

Best Service ever

Pros: amazing customer support, excellent night vision
Model Number: QT526
"Ok after contacting ADT for a video surveillance camera that wanted an arm and a leg I just bought the Q-See 16-channel Security DVR 8 High-resolution 600 TVL Real-time Full Detailed Recording. Which is no longer available thru Costco. Well anyway I set it up myself and called the Q-See tech support and spoke with Brendon, Zooie and Mike at different times and originally spoke with Brenden and ended with Brendon. Outstanding customer service by all 3 guys. They completly rocked it to be able to get my 3G network on my iphone to work. This product I purchased amazed me for the night mode. I live in pitch darkness and it looks very light outside at night when looking thru the monitors."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 14, 2012

Good product for the price

Pros: good price for the features
Cons: searching for recorded video isn't very intuitive
Model Number: QT528
"Very good resolution and fluid motion of the video for such a low price security system. Mine caught a guy stealing my out going mail. The police came to my house to look at the video and he was very impressed by the clarity. It was also easy to burn the video and give a copy to the police. I have it hooked up to a 27" monitor in the hallway so my kids can see who's at the door and to my home network so I can view it in any computer in my house. Got a free app and I'm able to view it on my Android phone too.
Overall, I am extremely happy with the quality for the price. I've done a lot of research for DVR systems ranging from $200 to $2,000. You get what you pay for. In this case, I think I got a little more.
One of the camera's night vision didn't work out of the box. I contacted Q-See and they issued me an RMA # to return the camera. They emailed me when they received my camera and emailed again when they send out a replacement. Shipping both ways was free. I recommend this model to my brother and a cousin who also bought one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Antioch, CA
Date:December 15, 2011

System met my expectation.

Pros: good tech support
Cons: online faq's are numerous and therefore confusing.
Model Number: QT-428
"No issues with assembly or connections. Had to contact Technical Support to resolve remote access, the wait time was minimal and the Tech (Chris) was great and zeroed in on my problem I was up and working in 15 minutes. The online FAQ were somewhat confusing."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:December 15, 2011

So Far so Good

Pros: simple set up and great clarity
Cons: motion detection takes some time to tune
Model Number: QT528
"I gave it a good rating simply becuase I dont have anything to compare it to. It meets my needs and my house is more secure. In reading the other reviews im a little nervous my system will break before the year is up. But so far, it was a breeze to install my 8 camera system. The size of the cameras doesnt bother me, most people wont notice them. If you can follow directions its simple to configure to your router and set up remote monitoring on your Iphone or web from any where in the world you have internet access. Ive submitted a few questions to support and they respond within an hour or so. It takes some time to set up your motion detection, im sure all competitors are the same in this area. Most of my cameras are pointed at a background that isnt constantly moving so its easy to tune. Its pretty cool, I can check who is at my front door by switcing my TV to AV2."
Review 15 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corona, California
Date:December 13, 2011

Wonderful product

Pros: great picture and range
Cons: none
Model Number: QT 426
"Great value for the money. Super documentation. I installed the cameras with my handy-man and configured the DVR by myself. The instructions are very detailed and precise even a non-tech like me was able to wade through the instructions and make it work. When I got stuck customer service was readily available on CHAT.The picture quality and night vision n these cameras are superb. In short this product is all what I wished for and more for the price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Dallas, Texas
Date:December 2, 2011

QT528 Q-See 8 Channel Full D1

Model Number: QT528 full D1
"I purchased this system for about a year. (Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Resolution Security System 4 Day & Night High-Res CCD Cameras) I installed 5 cameras for home security monitoring, and another 3 cameras for monitoring backyard wildlife activities ( in the nest of Eastern screech owls). Each time when the owl enters the nest, the system is triggered for recording. I made an Owl video with the footages recorded. My children and friends told me that the video is very professional. I like the q-see system, since it brings me lots of joy. The system is very durable, easy to use, carefree, and can be mornitored anywhere in the world."
Review 17 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 28, 2011

Stay Away from this company !!!

Model Number: Qsee 8 channel DVR with 8 cameras
"I have purchased two of their products so far and both have let me down. The camera power supplies get fried after a short period, I'm using it in an office environment with plenty of stable reliable power that's running 8 other computers. These were all plugged into UPS power supplies.
Bought the 8 channel system and had 4 of 8 cameras become useless in less than 15 months. Wasted all my time & money in getting these installed to then have them fail and then I have to spend more time & money to remove these useless wall-flowers !!!
And there is no OEM support to be heard of.
Costco was generous enough to honor the warranty, but I'm done with this brand, and you should be too... I generally equate Costco with carrying good quality products at a good price point... but this system has really let me down.
I think Costco should protect their reputation and stop carrying this brand."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:fl
Date:October 31, 2011

dont buy

Model Number: costco item #550442
"After insulation in 3 weeks, one camera blown out, and the power supply unit fried.. Been trying to do the RMA for 3 weeks without any resolution. Stay away from this company!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:October 19, 2011

Shipped with Wrong Cables from Q-See

Model Number: QT528-435-1
"Set the system up to test before install and discovered the camera cables were the incorrect type. It was hard to contact the "right" person at QSEE to correct the problem. After I did, they make you complete a form to correct their mistake and you must pay for shipping to send in for replacment which will take 3-4 weeks or more. The only saving grace is I bought this at Costo so I can return it. I should have read these reviews before ordering and saved Costco the trouble. I also notice that the software is not user friendly.
Other than this the quality looks good but I have obivously not seen it in full operation.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 1 TB Hard Drive and 4 High-Resolution Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:September 12, 2011

Cheap - Yes, Good - No

Model Number: Various Qsee and 1 Swann system
"Due to the price I have purchased a few of these systems. 1 for myself and couple for my neighbours who I helped install.
I also manage security for my company and use a completely different system that we purchased for about $800 4 years ago made by swann.
Cheap: yes they are and thats why we all got on the band wagon.
Good - Not so much. The pic quality is good but their software implementation is the ABSOLUTE worst. Now if you want to only see if there was an incident, you will eventually get to the footage after clicking 15 mouse clicks etc. Someone in china/Korea designed the firware with no customer convenience in mind. Swann on the other hand, has 4 clicks.. Search --> Pick Day -->Pick time --> Play. Forward rewind is much more convenient in swann too.
Remote is almost non functional. God forbid you get a 8 camera system (more cameras.. more work dvr has to do) and you can just click search and go get yourself a drink and it will still be sitting in hourglass mode.
Motion detection is another joke. Fills up my 1TB in 2 weeks. Pretty much records everything. I have been trying to tweak it for weeks now. In swann, it used to do the same. Some fiddling with sensitivity and I get 6 months of recording in 250GB disk.
Oh wait.. almost forgot. God forbit you have an issue with the device. Qsee support is practically non existent. So unless you are a nerd/geek, you are just lost.
If you just want it for deterrance, may be worth the money but do yourself a favor.. buy another brand ... may be Swann...
I might sound like I work for Swann or something.. but I dont work for either. This review has come out of 6 months of frustrations."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>