Customer Reviews for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle

ADDED VALUE: 1 Cake Elegant Cartridge 1 Water Brush Extra Pack of Replacement Blades
Average Customer Rating:
3.603 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
(out of 73 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
7
58 of 73(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Review 1 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:August 25, 2010

Good results, but requires practice.

Pros: makes creative designs in fondant cookies cheese, can use large cricut library for patterns, cuts paper with different blade for art projects
Cons: does require practice, doesn't come with case
Model Number: 2000238
"We picked this up to use for family baking projects. There is a definite learning curve - expect to practice a number of times before you're able to consistently make clean cuts.
Key things: use lots of shortening on the mat and roll the fondant/dough to about penny height. Without the shortening the fondant will slide around. If you only use shortening you can then roll up the extra and reuse it later. I was able to cut a sheet of 24 stars at once on my third use of the machine using Wilton fondant. Satin Ice fondant is also supposed to work well; I haven't tried it yet.
It can also be used to cut other foods, such as cheese and luncheon meats; the kids got a kick out of stars and the Batman logo. Yes, it can use other cartridges besides the "Cake" ones.
Also, while not officially supported, you can replace the cake blade with the deep cut blade and use the Cricut Cake as you would the Expression to cut paper and other materials. Just be sure to get the appropriate mats.
Regarding one of the other reviews, it is normal for the blade to cut (slightly) into the mat.
All in all, it's a pretty good device. There are numerous websites and forums with examples of projects and recipes to use with it."
Review 2 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 31, 2010

Disappointed

Pros: appears to be solidly built
Cons: blade instructions didn't match blade i received, cutting isn't clean and precise as advertised, fondant/patterns tear when removing from the board, plastic shavings from cutting mat
Model Number: Cricut Cake Personal Electronic Cutter
"I had very high hopes for this product. I really wanted it to work because I see how it could save a lot of time and help execute on creative ideas.
However, after numerous attempts to get it to work and give good clean cuts, I gave up and returned it to Costco. It won't cut anything cleanly that is less than 2-3 inches wide and even then, the fondant has to be so thin that it rips when removing it from the greased back cutting mat. I tried putting the fondant in the freezer for a bit (as suggested on one of the blogs I found), but that didn't work either.
In cutting through the fondant, the plastic mat also gets pretty cut up, which I read is to be expected (also why they sell replacement mats). However, I'm concerned with where those little pieces of plastic end up. It's supposed to be a food safe product, but I don't think that those little plastic shavings from the cuttings are very food safe.
Perhaps if Cricut comes out with an improved version that does more precise cutting and/or a different method for adhering the fondant to the mat, I'll give it another try."
Review 3 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:May 21, 2010

Disappointed

Pros: uniform cuts, can use all cricut cartridges
Cons: cuts either too deep or not deep enough, too much time, won't work with cricut frosting sheets, expensive for the poor job it does
"I am grateful I purchased this at Costco because I have decided to return it and they have the best return policy around.
First, let me say I have been baking cakes and working with fondant and gum paste for several years now. This machine was very frustrating to use. It was difficult to get the pressure just right on the cutting blade 1) (high) it was so hard that it cut up the mat, 2) (medium) not quite hard enough and left torn edges on the cuts 3) (low) so light that it didn't even cut through. I decided to try the pre-cut frosting sheets from Cricut first before making my own gum paste. What a complete waste. They were so brittle by the time the cut was finished that it was just cracking each cut out. The gum paste/fondant I made worked much better than what you can buy from Cricut Provo Craft.
I really wanted this to work, but after using it for an entire weekend on a tiered birthday cake, I realized it took me twice as long as if I would have just done everything by hand. I wanted it to work so badly, but sadly I am returning it instead."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oroville, CA
Date:August 25, 2010

Best Present Ever

Pros: time savings
Cons: rolling out fondant/gumpaste thinner
"My husband purchased the Cricut Cake for Mother's Day. It took a little time to get used to, but does a fabulous job. I've been decorating cakes for two years and this has really helped my business. I can get a lot more done in less time.
I noticed a lot of people complaining about it cutting the mat. Its supposed to cut into the mat slightly so it can cut through the fondant or gumpaste. Over time, you'll need a new mat. My settings are Speed 4 and Pressure 3. I've learned to roll my fondant a little thin and let is set up a little. I've used the Wilton fondant and Wilton gumpaste with this product. The gumpaste needs to be rolled out thin enough to see the mat through it. Now and then the edges are a little rough, but it doesn't take much to touch up.
I've used it on my last three cakes and find myself getting better at using it each time.
Its also saved me money and space from having to go out and buy all different cutters for each new cake order I get.
I am thrilled with this product and can't wait to try out even more ideas."
Review 5 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:August 31, 2010

Cricut Cake

Model Number: CCA001
"LOVE IT!!! I am able to add beautiful designs to a buttercream cake. Excellent for monograms too. I must admit, the first time using it I did get discouraged. DVD said a little crisco, and the paste slide, so I added more. DVD said roll thin and after paste broke, I decided to roll it a little thicker and it worked! I bought additional mats so paste could dry a little on one mat while working a design on the other to keep production time up. Remove too soon and the piece stretches. Another confession, if I didn't get the Cricut Expression a month earlier, I would have been lost. All my learning came from the Expression. My children learned the Expression and then taught me since I wasn't getting it, plus we looked at the video over and over again for the Expression. The video for the Cricut cake is not good enough and rushes through functions and what they do. I love the Cricut Cake and what it does for me but the Expression taught me how to use it. Works best with bigger designs but a must have item."
Review 6 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:August 27, 2010

Great product

Model Number: 2000238
"I purchased this item to use in my bakery. My wife is a big fan of the scrapbook cricut and told me about this product (I think she wanted me to get it so she could use the cartridges for her scrapbooking ; - ) ! Watching the DVD first is very helpful. I have used it on numerous cakes so it has just about paid for itself. Once you get used to it, it is very simple to use. My 2 cents on the cons: Since this is used for cake decorating purposes, the pages in the instruction booklet explaining which keys perform specific cuts should be laminated. Flipping back and forth through the booklet (which is somewhat flimsy ) some of the pages have already torn out. Another suggestion would be to have an extra keyboard overlay with the alphabet (as the original cricut cartridges do). When you are busy in the kitchen your hands are bound to get greasy and it is very inconvenient to flip thru the booklet . Even a laminated fold out w/all the different cuts would be nice to lay on the counter while you work."
Review 7 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:August 25, 2010

Average Purchase

Pros: the letters came out great!
Cons: it's not easy to take it off the mat
"When I first saw the cricut cake machine in the costco magazine I thought, I have to have this! It looked amazing and I love something that will make my job simplier, especially cake decorating. I thought that it would eliminate the mess too! Well the mess is definitely not eliminated. It still is messy so I guess there's no solution to that.
After watching the demo on their website I thought what could be easier? Well You still do have to come up with the ideas. It cuts good but sometimes it doesn't come off the mat as easily and the detail can be hard to keep on the design since it can be so tiny. I've used it once so far and the cake did come out good but I was only comfortable using a easier design from the elegant cake cartridge. I think this machine takes a lot of patience and practice using it. It's just like everything else, practice makes perfect (or almost perfect). It won't be perfect the first time though."
Review 8 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:August 25, 2010

Doesn't work as promised

Pros: key pad wonderful
Cons: doesn't cut well at all
"I am a Pastry Chef at a Caterering Facility in Philadelphia. I purchased this item to help make Monogram cakes easier. I've been working on this machine trying to get the setting just right for it to work. I've been unsuccessful. I have a pasta sheeter to get the gumpaste the exact thickness each time. The problem I have is with the needle. It doesn't cut perfect lines like shown on the ads. The machine itself is designed extremely well. It is easy to use and understand. The design just doesn't cut well. I've even purchased the frosting sheets from the store. They were a waste of money. the need just ripped the paper. (after trying each speed and pressure) I'm only trying to cut basic letters and having trouble can't imagine the more intricate designs. Buyers beware, I've been playing with the machine for a few weeks and can't seem to get it to work like they show."
Review 9 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:August 25, 2010

Helpful Tool!

Model Number: Item #519302
"Like anything in cake decorating, practice practice practice makes perfect...
The only way to get pressure and speed settings correct for your gumpast/fondant/anything in your hands is to dive in and practice.
It's a shame the marketers have touted the Cricut Cake as "professional results!" with really no training or practice, because it seems that's just unreasonably raising expectations for most people using this tool at home. Most of the negative reviews I've seen - and woah did I research before making the plunge - seem based on speed & pressure issues.
The Cricut Cake is an incredibly powerful tool with huge bang for the buck if you are willing to devote the time to practice with it. Like any cake decorating tool, if you learn how it behaves in your hands you'll probably end up swearing by it.
Just my 2 cents. Have fun!"
Review 10 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2010

Disappointed

"Needless to say, this was a huge splurge for me. I was so incredibly excited to get the cricut cake and intoxicated by all the cool things this machine promised. However, it has not worked. I've spent hours trying to get it to cut a simple design but haven't had much luck. I've followed the directions exactly and tried all the tips that other users have suggested online. Even on the lowest tension, the blade cut my mat. I don't know what the learning curve on this thing is but I have a FT job and a family and can't devote weeks on figuring this out. In my opinion, the instructions are grossly defective. I'm going to give it one more shot and if it doesn't work, I hope they'll take it back. I regret not buying it from Costco in the first place since I know they wouldn't hassle me about a return."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:August 26, 2010

Was expecting so much more.

"My daughter and I make cakes and have been doing so for about two years. We bought this product thinking it was going to take our cakes to another level and allow us to make much more elaborate designs without all the hand cutting of designs. So far we have wasted so much time and gumpaste trying to get even the simplest cutouts made with the Cricut. It wads the gumpaste up and you have to keep rolling it out and starting over until the gumpaste is finally so dry you have to throw it away. We've read the instructions and watched the tutorial that came with it. It looks so simple on that, but we have yet to have much success. Very frustrating! We will give it a couple of more tries and then return it. Thank goodness Costco has such a good return policy."
Review 12 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:August 25, 2010

LOVIN' It!

Model Number: CCA001
"I had never used any of the machines before so I didn't know what to expect as the reviews were mixed, but I still ordered it. I am SO glad I did! This was my first Cricut purchase and I had never used any of the machines before. My first few cuts weren't perfect, but with the tips and tricks I read online, and after watching the dvd that came with it, I was decorating in no time. I finished a 3 tier cake the same day I first tried the machine, and it turned out beautiful. Getting the thickness correct is the most important thing. I have cut both fondant and gumpaste with it. I decorate cakes as a hobby but the machine allowed me to make a cake that looked like a professional made it. I am very happy with my purchase."
Review 13 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Marysville, WA
Date:August 25, 2010

Once you've mastered it, worthwhile product!

"So this is one of those products that takes a while to get used to. It took me quite a bit of time to figure out how to use all of the different features (size, shape, orientation). It just takes a little bit of practice. Once you have used it a few times, it is fairly simple to use. Getting the right thickness of the gumpaste also takes some practice. It needs to be thin, but not too thin. This also took a few tries to master. Once having mastered these couple of things, now I really like the Cricut Cake! It takes so little time to cut out professional looking letters and designs. It can cut out things that would be almost impossible to do by hand. This is a good purchase for a frequent cake decorator!"
Review 14 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:August 25, 2010

Pretty good, but need to experiment

Pros: precise cuts, speed, eliminate redundant work
Cons: learning curve, may be expensive
"Like many of you I was excited to start using the Cricut Cake ASAP and get amazing results out of the box. The only problem is that there is somewhat of a learning curve and that applies to each ingredient you use. Some fondants/gumpaste have different textures and elastisity, so you may have to do something different depending on what you are using. Long story short, you will not get AMAZING results out of the box, but with patience, experimentation and creativity, you will.
Also, it can get expensive if you rely on using cartridges to acquire your designs, luckily for cheapskates like me, there is 3rd party software available online that allows you import your own designs."
Review 15 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Roy, WA
Date:August 26, 2010

Should help ease cake making

"My cake partner and I have used the cricut for several cakes and have had good luck most of the time. It does take some practice and also lots of patience! We were not impressed with the frosting sheets because of the outrageous price and the likely chance of having made a mistake and then it is wasted. We had the most luck with freezing fondant or gumpaste that we rolled out very thin. We love that we can coordinate decorations with not just the cake but also with invitations, cupcake toppers, etc! I would not recommend buying this machine if you occasionally going to make a cake or cupcake as it is pricey - we are starting a business and this fits into our plans."
Review 16 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:August 30, 2010

Easy professional results

Pros: professional results
Cons: pricey
"If you are already familiar with other Cricut machines, the Cricut Cake is easy to use right from the box. If you have never used a Cricut before, I would think the more familiar you are with crafting tools (in general) the better success you will have with this product. I used it with frosting sheets and had great results. It took me a try or two to get the pressure correct- mine was set on the highest setting right from the box and just about cut through the mat on first run. Once I got the settings right, it cranked out cut after cut perfectly- both designs and letters. People were blown away by the cake I made, so I would say it was worth the $$."
Review 17 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aliso Viejo, CA
Date:August 25, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: easy to clean., professional results everytime!
Cons: none!
Model Number: 2000238
"I love my Cricut Cake! The machine is easy to clean and looks great as a kitchen tool on the countertop. The machine cuts smoothly and it is quiet. My kids love to decorate cakes with me and have fun choosing designs to add to cakes and cupcakes. Cookie cutters are limiting with the size but the Cricut Cake sizes are virtually limitless! I would recommend this to any cake baker. Buy this machine if you love making cakes. You don't have to be a professional to make professional looking cakes with the Cricut Cake machine! The machine is stainless steel so there isn't any rusting. This would be a great gift for a cake and cupcakes lover!"
Review 18 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:seattle, wa
Date:August 26, 2010

cricut cake

"I was so excited to get this machine! When I first used it I was really nervous because of all of the cons I had heard but, It was really simple to use, I was very happy with it, it does get a little more difficult with smaller cuts though. but As I was getting ready to make my 3rd cake my cutting mat fell on the ground and broke, it cracked right through the middle and could no longer be used, for the price of the machine I would think the parts would last a little longer, but that was really the only probllem I have had and I replaced the mat with a bigger one, and for only around $10.00"
Review 19 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2010

Not worth it

"I'm very disappointed in this machine. I was so excited about it, I heard about it months before the release and nervously waited for it to be available. I was so excited to see that Costco was the first place I found to offer it on sale! I bought it and got started. I have had it for months now and am still strugling. The gum paste sold by the company just gets torn up inside the machine and so do all the other brands of gum paste and fondant I have tried, including home made. I think this is a great idea I just wish it worked!"
Review 20 for Cricut Cake™ Personal Electronic Cutter Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 25, 2010

I love mine

Pros: add a pro
"At first it was difficult to get the hang of cutting and I really didn't like the cricut frosting sheets, they tasted awful and were very hard to work with. Started using some other frosting sheets that I had from Lucks and they and rice paper work great.
My husband really likes doing the cutting out for me and it saves me a lot of time and gets him to get creative too.
Love that all the regular cricut cartridges work with this one too. I can trade with my daughter for special events.
A great purchase in my opinion."
1 2 3 4 next>>