Customer Reviews for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum

Mini Turbine Head, Soft Dusting Brush, Mattress & Flat Out™ Tools
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1602 Reviews) 1506
(out of 1,602 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,602 reviews)
5 stars
1,172
4 stars
276
3 stars
71
2 stars
32
1 star
51
1,470 of 1,602(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cordova, CA
Date:September 24, 2011

Best Vacuum

Pros: excellent suction, cleanable canister, does carpet and floor without changing tools, head manuvers on ball to easily get awkward angles, compact
Cons: cord too short, wand and hose with tools a little awkward
Model Number: DC25
"I read many reviews before purchasing the Dyson DC 25 animal.
Since buying the vacuum three days ago, I have used it every day. Can't believe what I am still pulling up. Our carpet is very old and we have two long-haired cats and one perpetually shedding dog. Both my husband and I have allergies. Now the house smells great. Allergies seem much improved.
What I expect from a vacuum-- pick up dirt and pet hair. I know this is happening because I can see it in the clear canister. I clean the canister and cyclone after every use. This is new to me having always had a closed canister that used bags. Now, I always start with a fresh smelling vacuum.
I like the ball action because I can move the head around without having to move the entire machine. The machine is heavy, but it pushes the head into the carpet and the suction lifts hair and dirt.
Vacuuming every day is easy because I can go from carpet to floor without chaning attachments. It's fast, easy and efficient.
The cord is too short, but I solved the problem by plugging the vacuum into a heavy duty extension cord on a cord winder and can do half my house before having to move the cord.
Completely satisfied with my purchase. Good value and great for health."
Review 2 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:nj
Date:September 23, 2011

Sorry

Cons: doesn't lie flat and is too bulky to clean under f
Model Number: dc25 animal
"average cleaning capability for a vacuum of comparable cost. Very difficult to
work with attachments and difficult to connect parts after emptying dirt cannister etc.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011

Great sweeper

"Love my new pet Dyson. Great suction and lightweight. Have no problem with rolling ball"
Review 4 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Folsom, CA
Date:September 22, 2011

Great Vacuum

"I didnt think anytihng could be better then my original Dyson but this one actually is better. its smaller, lighter and it has way better pickup power. I just wish it held all of its attachments on the vaccum so I didnt have to store it in a closet."
Review 5 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Joaquin, CA
Date:September 14, 2011

worst instructions ever

Model Number: Animal Ball
"We bought this vacuum because the reviews wer so strong. It may be the best machine ever. I don't know yet. It has the WORST Assembly and Operation Manual I've ever seen. If this is an indicator of how this machine works, I'm taking it back immediately. I am very angry."
Review 6 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:so Cal
Date:September 14, 2011

So pleased with this vacuum!

Pros: no need to buy bags!, really sucks up the dog fur!, costco's price for this is great
Cons: instructions need to include text with the pix, the reach wand is stiff and awkward
"I bought this vacuum because it was recommended by friends and all of the five-star reviews. My Miele vacuum (which originally cost me over $700) was just not doing the job correctly, and the expense of buying bags (at about $15/bag) was ridiculous. The dog fur I vacuum up every day is enough to fill a bag. The Dyson DC25 Animal rocks! Emptying the bin is a breeze! The only complaint I have is that the instructions should include text with the pictographs. Figuring out how to take the telescoping "reach wand" out of the vacuum for cleaning stairs and upholstery took a couple of tries. But even my not-too-easily-impressed husband said, "This is the best vacuum I've ever used. I'm so impressed!" :-)"
Review 7 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2011

a class act

Pros: extremely nice design
Cons: the hose could be a little more flexible
Model Number: DC25
"Years ago I'd been given a very slightly used "premium" vacuum cleaner. It was chrome and had lots of attachments. It was heavy and hard to maneuver. It cleaned carpets well but I didn't use it as much as I should have. It took too much work to clean the bag. I never used it on the tile floors because then I had to hook up some additional attachments.
I got tired of living in a grungy house. Several co-workers owned Dyson vacuum cleaners and raved about them. So I got the DC25, and have been delighted with it.
It moves so easily back and forth and around furniture that it becomes fun to vacuum. It's easy to go from a carpeted floor to a tile floor and back, without fussing around. It cleans both kinds of surfaces beautifully. Because it has a see-through canister it's easy to see where carpets accumulate the very fine dust that is hard to see, so it's easy to figure out where to vacuum more frequently. This was something I'd never appreciated until I got the Dyson. People with allergies should think about that point. The canister is ridiculously easy to empty.
I vacuum once or twice a week because I actually enjoy doing it. As you can guess, my whole house is a lot cleaner.
Having an attached hose is more convenient than you might at first realize. It's easy to reach into crevices as you're zipping around doing the floors. The only thing I'd recommend to Dyson is to make the hose a little more flexible, but the whole design of the hose is very nice.
There are two filters, which look like dense sponges. Every two or three months I pop them out, run water over them, let them dry for a day, then pop them back in. It's easy to keep the Dyson itself clean.
The word "easy" shows up often in this review because the Dyson is easy on the owner."
Review 8 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2011

worst purchase ever

Pros: nice color
Cons: poor suction, hard to vacuum in a straight line it wants to move
Model Number: Dyson DC25
"I got my vacuum today and I hate it so I am bringing it back tomorrow and getting a different one. I think I will try the hoover wind tunnel max. The Dyson doesn’t have very good suction and it is hard to vacuum in a straight line it wants to move over gerrr."
Review 9 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Castro Valley, CA
Date:July 20, 2011

We live in an Animal House

Pros: easy to assmeble
Cons: the dirt cup is too small
Model Number: DC25
"We live in a house with 2 cats and a dog that love to shed, EVERYWHERE. I've been waiting to buy a dyson, then I finally did my homework and decided it was time to buy one.
I had a Bissel Pet Hair Remover. It didn't do that well as time went on.
When it arrived, my husband took it out of the box and literly snapped it together. The suction power is wonderful to pull all of the dirt and fur out of the carpet and area rugs."
Review 10 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Campbelltown, PA
Date:July 13, 2011

Awesome machines for us pet lovers

Pros: lightweight, ball - ease of movement
Cons: short cord, small canister
Model Number: DC25 Animal
"This is my 2nd Dyson. Have owned the DC24 Animal for 5 yrs or more (love it!). I wanted to add one for upstairs so I didn't have to carry up and down steps. The ball is awkward at first, but followed previous reviews to just turn your wrist and not to try turning the machine, works like a charm. It would be nice if the canister was larger and the cord was longer but these are small inconveniences I can learn to live with. Overall, I feel you can't beat Dyson on the cleaning power if you have pets in the house. I love this DC25 Animal almost as much as I love my old DC24 Animal. The extra attachments included with this deal are nice also, but there is no where to attach them to the vacuum. ??
As always, you can buy from Costco with total confidence, can't beat their price and no hassle return policy if you don't like the products, just take it back, no questions asked.
"
Review 11 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:nashville tn
Date:June 17, 2011

Does the Job

Model Number: dysen DC25
"I have a cat ,Tommy who sheds enough that I could knit another cat. The Dyson DC 25 is excellent at getting cat hair from the carpet. Well worth the money and I give it five stars."
Review 12 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011

dyson animal

"it is excellent - I have a thick carpet with a dog and had a hard time with the hair and this vaccuum picks up everything and is easy to move - I absolutely love it."
Review 13 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Middletown, DE
Date:June 1, 2011

consider a different model

"third dyson i purhased. hard to push. doesnt pick up well like the other models. wouldnt recommend. love dyson, hate this model."
Review 14 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2011

The Best Invention Ever!!!!

"I love the Dyson DC25 Animal! It is the best vacuum I have ever owned! It picks up better than any other vacuum on carpet or hard floors and I'll never have to spend a dime on belts, bags or filters! I can't ask for anymore than that, but to top it all off it's just plain cool looking!"
Review 15 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Too many cats Maryland
Date:May 17, 2011

The Best Suction I have ever seen.

Pros: well thought out, extra attachments
Cons: stiff hose
Model Number: Dyson DC25 Animal Ball
"The best suction I have ever seen, removed about as much stuff (cat hair mostly) out of one carpet as my E****a would remove from my whole house. Assembly was easy, might want to mention that you should hear a loud "Click" for each piece you assemble on this vacuum. I didn't have the first piece assembled right at first and the machine wouldn't run. After reconnecting the power brush the vacuum worked very well. Only drawback I found is I thought the hose for attachments was a bit stiff when I was using it. Other than that, the bag-less system worked very well and the method of removing it (pressing a button) and dumping it ( pressing a different button) has been well thought out. There are two hepa filters, one in the ball and the other in the canister both are easy to get to and remove, I didn't need to but wanted to see how much trouble was involved, again I was impressed. Well thought out. Not to mention that with the Costco deal you get all the attachments."
Review 16 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Potomac, Maryland
Date:May 11, 2011

Just Buy It!

Model Number: CD25
"When the machine came, we ran it on our wall-to-wall carpets, that had been vacuumed the day before. The amount of dirt and animal hair (dog and 2 cats) it picked up was remarkable! The house actually smelled cleaner and the carpets looked newer.
The machine is unusual in design but well thought out. Once you figure it out it's quite easy to use and remember. The parts are made of heavy plastic that snaps together easily. I expect that it will last a long time.
Emptying is a breeze. Push a button and the dirt canister--sealed--is in your hand. Take it to the trash can and push another button--a trapdoor on the bottom opens and the dirt is dumped out. It is much easier to empty than a bag vacuum--you don't have the mess of a bag and you don't have to buy bags (and not be able to find them when you need one).
The machine comes with an excellent selection of tools. This is a great vacuum cleaner, well worth the (high) price."
Review 17 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:April 23, 2011

Not as impressed as I was expecting to be...

Pros: ease of emptying canister, this packaging comes with great value added tools
Cons: only two tools fit on board, feels very unbalanced
"I did a lot of research before buying this vacuum, I read tons of reviews, at the last minute I decided to go with the ball over the traditional. I'm not impressed. Perhaps it takes some getting used to? But the ball just feels very awkward to use, I find the vacuum leaning to one side more than the other, very much like the balance is off. Because of this unbalanced feeling (and a difference in suction sounds during use) I haven't been excited to use this vacuum. I will be putting it to the real test in the next week, I have kept the box and all just in case I can't get comfortable with it's operation. It may be returned, and if it is I will get the traditional next time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pennsburg, PA
Date:March 26, 2011

Good but Pricey

Pros: easy to maneuver, very good suction
Cons: price
Model Number: DC25 Animal
"This is the first vacuum we have owned that my wife and I both like. Once you get used to the ball, this vacuum is the easiest to push and maneuver of any - even easier than our previous self-propelled model.
The suction is excellent, working well on both carpeted and hardwood floors. We have a very furry dog and this vacuum makes quick work of picking up the mounds of fur and hair she sheds every day. I particularly like the ease with which the brush can be removed to clean out the dog hair that inevitably gets wrapped around it.
Some people complain about the clearance under tables, etc. But I find just the opposite. It easily fits under out coffee table while previous vacuums did not.
Aside from the price my only other concern is durability because of all the plastic. It's closing in on one year old now and so far so good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:March 25, 2011

Why didn't I sooner?

Pros: intuitive movement, great fur capturing, clear directions and markings, easy to clean filters.
Cons: a little heavy, can be hard to figure out stair use positioning, no onboard storage for attachments
Model Number: DC25 Animal (Purple Ball)
"I love this Animal!
After waiting, literally years, and wading through thousands of reviews, when a great Black Friday price came along, and our old vacuum started acting up, I grabbed it!
This bundle saves you lots of money buying the accessories and gives you everything you need for a Dyson.
I knew that our old vacuum wasn't great. But I had no idea what it was leaving behind, or how packed those crummy bags were. This unit handles well, vacuums like a heat seeking missile and keeps my cat's fur off the carpet and couch.
The hose was a little tight for the first couple of months.
There is some awkwardness in doing stairs, as the hose and unit need to be positioned so they don't move. But with the mini turbine head on the wand, doing stairs is faster and easier than I thought possible.
The reviewers who say it doesn't handle well on hard surfaces must be leaving the brush on. I have tile, linoleum, hardwood, braided wool and chenille carpets and wall to wall polyester. I never get the broom out anymore, grab the Dyson, turn the brush off and 'poof' all the debris is in the canister. Beautiful.
The first time I vacuumed my kitchen, a huge clump of fur/hair scooted out from under the fridge. (I had vacuumed under there all the time with the previous vacuum.) No problems!
I amazed with this unit, I love it, I love that I got it at Costco with all the accessories I could ever want for the less than I saw the unit alone elsewhere. I'm sorry for all the folks who didn't get to love it. I'm hoping that there were just a few bad units out there, as 6 months into having mine, (and using it at least 4 times a week) I can't imagine using anything else!
If you are on the fence, stop reading the reviews and give it a shot. You can't go wrong with Costco's return policy if you hate it! I don't think you will though!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dyson DC25 Animal Ball Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego,CA
Date:March 22, 2011

Best Vacuum I Ever Bought

Cons: cord is short
"I have a yellow lab and he sheds like crazy. This machine picks up all the hair in one pass and has great suction. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Best $$ I ever spent."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>