Customer Reviews for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules

Nutramax Laboratories, Inc., the trusted name in glucosamine/chondroitin sulfate research and manufacturer of Cosamin DS, the #1 Orthopedic Surgeon brand^, now combines NMX1000 Avocado/Soybean Unsaponifiables with its exclusive researched ingredients to bring you Cosamin ASU. What is Cosamin ASU? Cosamin ASU is the most complete and comprehensive joint support formula available, contains NMX1000 avocado,soybean unsaponifiables (ASU), FCHG49 glucosamine, TRH122 sodium chondroitin sulfate and decaffeinated green tea extract. Our most potent option for you with high quality, researched ingredients. Manufactured following standards practiced by the pharmaceutical industry. Exclusive formula of ingredients shown to work better than the combination of glucosamine + chondroitin sulfate in laboratory cell culture studies. ASU is a naturally-derived compound that has been shown in vitro studies to inhibit components that cause cartilage breakdown. Additional studies on joint tissue cells have also shown that ASU reduces the expression of inflammatory markers that are associated with joint discomfort and the process of cartilage breakdown in the joints. Cosamin ASU also contains decaffeinated green tea extract for additional health benefit. Recent laboratory research indicates that EGCG, a major component in green tea, potentiates the properties in ASU. 1,2 Available in an easy to swallow capsule that when taken as directed provides a daily dosage of 800 mg Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, 1,500 mg Glucosamine HCI, and 400 mg Avocado/Soybean Unsaponifiables Blend.^^ Suggested Use: Maximum Protection: Take 4 capsules per day. Capsules may be taken all at once or divided with meals throughout the day. Maintenance: Once desired effect is noticed, you may gradually reduce the number of capsules to maintain comfort level. Supplement Facts: Serving Size: 4 Capsules Amount Per Serving - % Daily Value:* Calories 15, Sodium 70 mg - 3%, Total Carbohydrates 1 g - <1%, Protein  1 g - 3%, High Purity FCHG49 Glucosamine HCL 1500 mg - **, TRH122 Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate (contains approximately 8% water) 800 mg - **, ASU Blend [Avocado/Soybean Unsaponifiables (ASU) Powder^^, Green Tea Leaf Extract ] 400 mg - **. *Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. **Daily Value not established. ^^Containing a minimum of 300 mg of ASU powder standardized to contain a minimum of 30% avocado/soybean unsaponifiables. Ingredients: Glucosamine hydrochloride (crab and shrimp**), sodium chondroitin sulfate, gelatin, proprietary blend (avocado/soybean unsaponifiables, soy protein isolate, green tea leaf extract, tocopherols [preservative], silicon dioxide), gum resin, water, magnesium stearate, silicon dioxide, titanium dioxide, FD&C Yellow No. 5,and FD&C Blue No. 1. ***Derived from crab and shrimp. Some ingredients in this product may be manufactured in a facility that also handles soy, wheat, and/or milk. Warnings: If you have a condition or allergy that requires medical attention, you should always consult your physician before taking any drug or dietary supplement. Keep out of reach of children. Cosamin ASU contains FCHG49 Glucosamine, TRH122 Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, and NMX1000 Avocado/Soybean Unsaponifiables, Nutramax Laboratories excusive proprietary researched specifications. Cosamin DS contains Nutramax Laboratories exclusive researched FCHG49 Glucosamine and TRH122 Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate which exceed the standards and specificatioins set forth in the U.S. Phrmacopeia (USP). Cosamin ASU contains FCHG49 Glucosamine, TRH122 Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate and NMX1000 Avocado/Soybean Unsaponifiables, Nutramax Laboratories exclusive proprietary researched. ^Source: SLACK Incorporated Market Research Survey, June 2005 and February 2006. Survey conducted of orthopedic surgeons and rheumatologists relating to glucosamine/chondroitin sulfate brands. m1Au AY; Au RY; Kramer E; Rashmir-Raven AM; Frondoza CG. Cyclooxigenase-2 expression and prostaglandin E2 production in chondroycytes are inhibited by the combination of avocado soy unsaponifiables (ASU) and epigallocatechin and gallate (EGCG). Experimental Biology 207. The FASEB Journal; Abstracts Part II; Apr 21(6): 736; Abstract # 702.6. Washington D.C.; April 28 - 30, 2007. 2Heineck LF; Grzanna, Mw; Au AY; Rashmir-Raven AM; Frondoza CG. Downregulation of prostaglandin E-2 production and cyclooxygenase 2 expression by natural products in cytokine activated chondroycytes. ICRS 2009 8th World Congress of the International Cartilage Repair Society. Miami FL, May 23 26, 2009. 3Au RY; Au AY; Rasmir-Raven AM; Frondoza CG. Inhibition of pro-inflammatory gene expression in chondrocytes, monocytes, and fibroblasts by the combination of avocado soybean unsaponifiables, glucosamine, and Chondroitin sulfate. Experimental Biology 207. The FASEB Journal; Abstracts Part II; Apr 21 (6): 736; Abstract # 702.6. Washington D.C.; April 28 30, 2007. U.S. Patent Nos. 6,797.289 and 5,587,363 Additional Patent Pending. If you have questions, please call (800) 925-5187 between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time, Monday through Friday to speak to a Customer Service Representative or email us at Contactus@nutramaxlabs.com
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
22 of 30(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Review 1 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:maryland
Date:January 14, 2014

the very BEST

"this is the best product for aching joints,I take 4 tabs a day really helps me..would recommend to all"
Review 2 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:November 22, 2013

Excellent Product

Pros: really works
Cons: none
"I have pain in the knees and this product helps to elimate that discomfort. Have tried other brands but this product works the best."
Review 3 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:February 25, 2013

love it!

"I have used the ASU for a couple of years now and it maintains mild to moderate arthritis in my hands with no NSAIDS needed (and NSAIDS didn't even work as well) I do take it religiously every day at the maintenance dose. So glad Costco carries it now!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2013

Greatly Reduces pain level

Model Number: Cosamin ASU 180 Capsules
"Started off using 4 caps per day - 3 weeks
then reduced to 3 caps per day- 3 weeks
will then try 2 caps per day am hoping the 2 caps per day continues to provide relief.
"
Review 5 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 4, 2012

Best relief

"I cannot remember a time that I felt as good as I do now that I take these. I have had increasingly bad pains from arthritis since my late teens. I have tried many different suppliments that include glucosimine and HA with not much success. This is by far the best suppliment I have had. I take two in the morning and two in the evening. If I miss two doses within a 48 hour period my pain level goes up and I get real stiff. I am so glad that this works and Costco carries it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:August 6, 2012

Great for joints

"I've used lots of different products over the years to help my arthritis. The research on this one convinced me it would be the most helpful. I've been taking it for over a year and my joints are feeling great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 9, 2012

Cosamin ASU

Model Number: Cosamin ASU
"After reading the reviews, I was somewhat surprised by the negative reviews. Both my husband and I began taking these at the recommendation of my orthopedic surgeon. We have both had tremendous success with this product. I was on the verge of knee replacement but 6 months later I am still pain free. Not completely of course but a remarkable difference. My husband also has had great relief from arthritis pain ! Guess it doesn't work for everyone but certainly has for us !"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tillamook Oregon
Date:February 15, 2012

Great product, great price

Cons: caps are big so take with lots of water
"This product was recommended by an orthopedic surgeon when I thought I would be looking at surgery for my knee injury. Instead I did 6 weeks of P.T. with exercises and started taking this stuff and I can't believe how improved my 61 year old knees are in just 2 months. I'll never stop taking this now and Costco's price is exactly the same for twice as many capsules as what I bought at another discount retailer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Weed, California
Date:January 12, 2012

Rebuilding lost cartilage

Pros: restores joint function and eliminated pain
"I purchased this product to do what doctors said cannot be done--grow lost cartilage. It appears to be working. Two years ago my knee was down to bone on bone due to excessive running. I could not move or walk without pain. In two years I am pain free and have run several short races with no problems. Cosamin ASU restored my desired level of activity without knee replacement."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 2, 2012

ASU Great

"I have severe osteoarthritis in my knees. Was taking Cosamin DS and switched to the ASU. I took 4 a day of the ASU and was disappointed that it didn't seem to work. I kept taking it and after a few months, a lot of my pain disappeared. I am forgetful about taking it and go long periods of time without it. (until the pain starts again). I've been through 2 bottles in the last year and now ordering a 3rd."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Camas, WA
Date:September 14, 2011

Surprising Reaction

Model Number: Item # 550991
"I have been taking the same dose of glucosamine and chondroitin for years and was eager to add the benefits of the ASU formulation for my osteoarthritis. I substituted this product and within three days I was experiencing a return to my pain levels of years ago and decreasing range of motion. After two weeks I discontinued the ASU and went back to my original formula of just the extra-strength glucosamine/chondroitin. Within two days my motion was returning and the pain level continues to decrease. Just remember that there is a small percentage of people who have this reaction and you won't know until you try this supplement. Would have loved the touted, long-term benefits but no go."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tempe, AZ
Date:August 13, 2011

My Orthopaedic Surgeon Recommended...

"After experiencing knee pain on my right knew, I went to visit my orthopaedic surgeon. He suggested I use this product specifically and also told me to lose some weight. I am doing both together to achieve optimal health."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2011

Great Product

"The dose on the product says four pills a day. I tried that and ended up with a major headache. I took the dose down to two a day one in the morning and one at night. Seems to have worked. I will build up to the four pills a day."
Review 14 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 18, 2011

Good stuff....depending

"This product is the best of the Glucosamines, by the company who pioneered them. If you haven't taken it before, it can take 4-6 weeks to be effective, and some forms of arthritis may not respond. Also its not a miracle drug. Its worth trying and Costco has the lowest prices for this anywhere. Good luck."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, Tx.
Date:February 5, 2011

Terrific Relief!

Pros: it works!!!
Cons: they're big capsules
"I had immediate relief when I started taking Cosamin ASU. I tried to reduce my dosage to 1/day too soon and some pain returned so I returned to 4/day and the pain in my leg and knees is gone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:November 18, 2010

No Relief

"No pain relief at all. I followed the directions and tried to give it time but still haven't felt any comfort."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:REDDING, PA
Date:November 9, 2010

DID NOTHING FOR ME

"THIS COSAMIN PRODUCT DID NOT DO ANYTHING FOR MY STIFF JOINTS. I WAS VERY UPSET ABOUT THIS AS I AM IN GREAT NEED OF HELP. I AM GOING TO TRY SOMETHING ELSE"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:September 27, 2010

Improvement

Model Number: Cosamin ASU
"My arthritispain in my hand is much less. Could not open jars, etc. but now i'm able to do so."
Review 19 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2010

It works.

"I'm thankful to finally have relief from the pain in my finger joints. I'd tried some other glucosamine and chondroitin products and thought maybe I'd have to live with this ache. I used the dosage suggested on the Cosamin ASU bottle, and it worked. Now I take just enough to maintain the pain-free status. The cost was rather prohibitive in the stores, so I searched online and found Costco had the best price. I am "deeply" grateful to Nutramax."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cosamin® ASU, 180 Capsules
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2010

No Help To Painful Joints

Cons: did not work
"Thought this said it was the "best" product but I think that was no true. Took these pills exactly as described and saw no pain relief in my stiff left knee joint. I was very upset. I love Costco and will continue to buy from them but these pills were not good. Try something else!"
1 2 next>>