Customer Reviews for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals

Electric Only
Average Customer Rating:
3.161 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
(out of 118 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
13
1 star
40
63 of 118(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Review 41 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:staten island,ny
Date:October 22, 2008

washer

"nice looking machine ,quite as long as you count how many shirt or pants you need to wash.after 10 month the shocks are gone .if you have a big family this machine is not for you."
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, California
Date:December 16, 2008

Not for Whites

Pros: water/energy savings, easy to operate
Cons: lousy job on whites, questionable if worth the money, some loads take long
Model Number: Duet Sport Pair
"No complaints about Costco's delivery and installation. The washing machine does an OK job on colored loads but is horrible on whites. After only a couple of washings, my white towels and socks had turned a dingy gray. I now resort to soaking but the soak cycle does not dispense bleach so it helps only a little bit and including the soaking, washing a load takes forever. Its cheap, top-loading predecessor did a much better job in much less time. Depending on the load, the wash can be still quite wet when done. The dryer is OK but certainly no better than the much cheaper dryer I had before."
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Wetumpka, AL
Date:February 16, 2009

Disappointed

Model Number: 3302
"Very diappointed in this set. The washer is loud and I hate the front load feature. I thought I would like it but when you pull clothes out some always fall on the floor as you transfer to the dryer. The dryer is ok. Talk to someone who has a front load washer before you buy. I want to go back to a top loader."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:January 25, 2009

Washer Bad Quality

Pros: the dryer works fine.
Model Number: WFW8410SW01
"I've owned the Whirlpool Duet Sport washer and dryer for just over a year. Within the first 3 months, the washer had to have the springs and shocks replaced because it made an incredibly loud squeaking noise. After just less than a year of use, the digital control panel on the washer shorted out. I couldn't wash a load of laundry on any cycle. It just beeped even if the washer was turned off. I had to unplug it. And to make matters worse, it took a month to get a new control panel installed on the washer. The part was on backorder."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Az.
Date:December 12, 2008

great product but....

Pros: when it works..it's a great product!!
Model Number: WFW 8410SW02
"Had DUET SPORT WASHER for 2 weeks..worked well and then.....NOTHING!!!
Pushed on POWER and nothing happened. Called for service and told them the issue and was told it was a comp. board problem . They called to come out but did NOT have the part because they had NOT ordered it..they still had to order the part..so NO washer for almost 2 weeks!! Had only washed 5 loads in 2 weeks of owning it and then ..does not work!!.
Very bad customer service from WHirlpool and the service company ....disappointed in the way they handled the problem .
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:December 12, 2008

Drying time way Overrated

Pros: decent price, costco 2 yr warrenty
Cons: slow drying time, loud washer, bad door seal design on washer, spin doesn't extract as much water as others
"We bought the electric dryer and it would take up to 2 hours to dry a load. The auto-dry functions never worked so we would use timed dry on the highest heat and would have to start it 3 or 4 times(45 minutes at a time). Our old dryer was faster than this one.
The washer was decent, kind of loud sometimes, and seemed to pool more water at the door seal than other brands.
Maybe we got a bad dryer, but for spending this much money we wanted to make sure we got something we liked, so after a month and a half we returned these(thanks Costco) and bought a set of LGs which so far have been 100 times better."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area
Date:March 2, 2009

Washer Super Loud, Dryer is Fine

"With-in two weeks I had to have the circuit board replaced on the washer because it wouldn't turn on anymore. From the start is has been extremely loud, no matter how well I level it. It shakes so violently that I think it finally busted something indie and it now sprung a leak from inside (not hoose). I have to return it because Whirlpool wont replace it. Dryer is fine."
Review 48 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 28, 2009

Duet Sport Pair mediocre at best.

Cons: pedestals not sturdy to support high spin setting
Model Number: W10117768A
"I purchased the set with the Gas Dryer on July 2008. For starters, when the set was delivered, the delivery people assured me the owners manuals were in the dryer. They left and when I reached into the dryer - no manuals. I have not received them to date. In addition, I have had the washer leveled but whenever I use the high spin setting the washer still walks. It sound like a jet plane on take off. I replaced my 2 year old Maytag becuase I wanted the efficiency of a gas dryer. Big mistake, this new unit does not compare to the Maytag I replaced it with."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chula Vista
Date:November 8, 2009

DO NOT purchase just yet

Pros: looks great
Cons: noise movement
Model Number: Duet Sport by Whirlpool
"We have had this set for about a year.
I have been so unhappy with the walking of the washer across the floor. The spin cycle on HIGH was just crazy so I never used it due to the noise. The spin on medium was just ok and not even that was pleasant to be within earshot of. I have had a handyman look at them and even whirlpool themselves come out. I had my laundry room even upgraded with a special concrete flooring and still have this problem. Whirlpool suggested we discontinue use of pedestals but likely we will still have moving machine. UGH. I waited for so many years for a front loader and THIS is what I get? I am so thankful for Costco's return policy. Thank you Thank you Costco. Now I just need to research thoroughly how to find a washer that is energy efficient as well as quiet and STILL.
Laundry is a chore but this machine made doing it misery!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Date:January 9, 2010

Broke Down Right After Warranty Expired

Pros: easy on water usage
Cons: hard to keep from moving around
Model Number: WFW8410SW01
"The Duet Sport Washer worked fine for two years and one month. It broke down and the estimated repair cost exceeded the price of a new washer. I would expect a much longer lifespan, so I cannot recommend this product."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:naples fl
Date:September 3, 2010

Keep Looking

Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
"I was disappointed in the cheap controls and my laundry does not come out clean. I put a folded t shirt in the washer and after the wash cycle it was still folded . I would look around for a better product. I am sorry I purchased them! the only pro is that they are covered under a two year warranty"
Review 52 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:ABQ, NM
Date:November 12, 2010

Built-In Flaws

"Had no problems with this until it was 2.5 years old. We have it well balanced and stacked on a tile floor so it was relatively quiet and didn't move around. However it just started making noise. Come to find out they make these things with where the bearings between the tub and the basket wear out really easy. Too bad you can't get the bearing by themselves. Have to replace the back half of the tub. $350 just for the part and that doesn't count the $250 labor. Nothing is under warranty after 2 years. We take very good care or it so it is a joke to see it die at 2.5 years. Last Whirlpool for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2010

not so great

"Very noisy – avoid if you are going to put these machines (or the washer at least) on a wood floor. Additionally, after a short time of ownership, although out of warranty, the water inlet valve went out. I say look around, there has to be better uses for your money…"
Review 54 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SOUTH FLORIDA
Date:February 8, 2009

ONLY BOUGHT BECAUSE OF COSTCO

Model Number: WFWSW8410SW02
".
DID SEVERAL WEEKS OF RESEARCH BEFORE PURCHASE. MANY NEGATIVE COMMENTS ABOUT FRONT LOADERS AND LOUSY SERVICE FROM WHIRLPOOL. HOWEVER THE SALE AND COSTCO CUSTOMER SERVICE GAVE ME COURAGE. FIRST, THE INSTALLATION WAS AWFUL. I HAD TO HAVE SERVICE COME BACK AND FIX THE ROAMING WASHER. ALSO, I RECEIVED A 15 INCH PEDESTAL INSTEAD OF 13 INCH. THE DRYER KEEPS MAKING POPPING SOUNDS WHICH REPAIR SAYS IS OK? THE FIRST REPAIRMAN SENT BY WHIRLPOOL WAS INCOMPETANT AND RUDE. I WAS ABLE TO GET OTHER COMPANY NAMES AND THAT HELPED. OWNED SET NOW FOR 20 DAYS. HOPE THERE ARE NO MORE PROBLEMS. HAPPY TO HAVE 2 YEAR WARRANTY.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mariposa County, CA
Date:September 28, 2009

Not the Best I've ever Purchased

Pros: washes everything clean.
Cons: will not spin a heavy item.
Model Number: WFW8410SW02
"Have been using this washer for several months, however, recently purchased some thick bath rugs that refuse to spin, regardless which cycle it is on - have tried washing 1 rug alone, 2 rugs together, 1 rug with towels, etc., and the machine still refuses to go through the spin cycle."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle suburbs
Date:October 25, 2008

Love this duo

Pros: cleans very well; drys very quickly
Cons: must leave the washer door open to avoid mustiness
"I purchased this set from Costco last year and it has been great. I love the setting options on the washer and dryer. It's great to be able to dry a large load in half the time of my old dryer. I can wash and dry 3 or 4 items in an hour with the quick wash option. Love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Aurora, CO
Date:October 22, 2008

Best price for the same model EVER!

Pros: energy star (save water as well), quite to operate, great price
Cons: delivery person won't install the natural gas line
"I was shopping around this August (2008) for a new washer & dryer and all of sales associates agreed the Costco.com deal was unbeatable!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Elkhart, IN
Date:October 27, 2008

Great for large loads

"I'm enjoying this laundry pair. It holds very large loads and has cut down my laundry time by hours each week."
Review 59 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Date:November 6, 2008

Good Purchase

"Delivery was quick and easy. Underestimated the size much bigger than our 14 year old model. Washes well."
Review 60 for $1,399.99 after $550 OFF Duet Sport Pair 6.7CuFt Dryer 3.7 CuFt Washer 13" Pedestals
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:DFW
Date:November 11, 2008

Unbeatable deal!

"We recently purchased this set in a gas dryer/washer combo and couldn't be more pleased with the efficiency of them. Our clothes dry in half the time now with the gas dryer and the washer uses less than half of the water than our old machine. I only gave them 4 stars because of the door issue; as the other reviewer stated. When transferring clothes, you have to go around the open doors. However, the dryer door can be reconfigured to open on the other side, but not the washer. That being said, I would still buy them again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>