Customer Reviews for Nature's Bounty® Fish Oil 1400 mg., 130 Softgels

Nature's Bounty® Fish Oil 1400 mg., 130 Softgels

Available at your local Costco warehouse. Not available for purchase on Costco.com. Limited Time Offer: Valid April 10, 2014 through May 4, 2014. While supplies last.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
(out of 6 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 of 6(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nature's Bounty® Fish Oil 1400 mg., 130 Softgels
Review 1 for Nature's Bounty® Fish Oil 1400 mg., 130 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2011

Very Happy With Product

"I called Nature's Bounty to find out where the fish in this product comes from. After giving them the lot number on bottle, they told me that it comes from deep, ocean water fish. I asked for them to call me back when they knew what country the fish came from. They called the next day and said the fish came from both Canada and the UK and said that any future bottle of the same product that I purchase should also come from deep water Canadian or UK fish. Purified from contaminants, has a high concentration of EPA, looks like it is naturally enteric coated, and at a great price compared to what you find in health food stores. Don't know if it gets much better than this!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Bounty® Fish Oil 1400 mg., 130 Softgels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2011

Lacks 3 to 2 EPA/DHA ratio

Pros: 980 mg of epa + dha, one-a-day dosage
Cons: lacks 3 to 2 epa/dha ratio, more expensive than competition
"I have used both Kirkland's 400 count 1000 mg "Concentrated" Fish Oil w/ 300 mg Omega-3 Fatty Acids (Item # 926628) and Kirkland's 180 count 1200 mg - One Per Day Formulation Enteric Coated
Fish Oil Concentrate (Item # 240669). However, in my ongoing search for a one-a-day fish oil supplement that contains the generally recommended 1,000 mg of EPA and DHA omega-3 per day (not merely 1,000 mg of "fish oil"), I took a look at this Nature's Bounty offering.
Kirkland's 1,000 mg supplement contains only 300 mg of omega-3 in unidentified quantities ("EPA/DHA and other Omega 3"), and requires at least three doses a day to come close to 1,000 mg of omega-3. Kirkland's 1,200 mg supplement contains 684 mg of EPA and DHA. In addition, it consists of the recommended 3 to 2 ratio of these omega-3s (410 mg of EPA and 274 mg of DHA). However, the 684 mg total falls well short of the recommended 1,000 mg, requiring one to take more than one a day.
Nature's Bounty's 1,400 mg supplement contains 980 mg of EPA and DHA. This is close to the recommended 1,000 mg per day, meaning the convenience of taking just one pill per day. Unfortunately, its 700 mg of EPA to its 280 mg of DHA is not the recommended 3 to 2 ratio. It's more like 7 to 3. I am not a physician and am not sure how important the ratio is, but I have read enough material that suggests that the 3 to 2 ratio found in nature is optimal. Many of the supplements I've looked at provide this ratio, so I'm not sure why Nature's Bounty does not. If it had the 3 to 2 ratio combined with its near 1,000 mg EPA + DHA content, it would seem perfect."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Bounty® Fish Oil 1400 mg., 130 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Weatherford, Texas
Date:August 30, 2011

Good Choice for 1 A Day

"The ratios that medical people look for are minimums and this product meets or exceeds those numbers.
I have an illness requiring a lot of medications and supplements, so any time I can find one that requires or suggests fewer doses and meets the minimums I give it a try.
Have been using this for several months with no negative change in blood work results. A winner in my book
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Bounty® Fish Oil 1400 mg., 130 Softgels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Valley Stream, NY
Date:November 9, 2011

Nature's Bounty 1400mg Fish Oil

Pros: a feeling of well-being
Cons: the pill is rather large
"I purchased the product about two months ago. I have not checked triglycerides and cholestorol (blood tests) since taking this product. However, the aforementioned not withstanding, I have experienced maximum joint relief throughout my body. This is important as I am an avid physical fitness person at age 66. If blood tests validate my feeling of well-being by indicating low numbers, then this product can be considered near perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Bounty® Fish Oil 1400 mg., 130 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2012

Great Supplement

"Been using this product for about a month and like it more than any other fish oil I have previously taken. The amounts of EPA and DHA per capsule are much higher than other brands so it is very easy to reach therapeutic levels without taking many capsules which is a big plus. My body has reacted very positively and it has helped my chronic condition."
Review 6 for Nature's Bounty® Fish Oil 1400 mg., 130 Softgels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 24, 2012

not happy for the product

"1. The soft gel has unpleasant bitter taste. Something wrong with the coat manufacturing processes.
2. the size of the gel is too big, makes it difficult to swallow, especially for eldly people.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.