Customer Reviews for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit

The safe, natural and gentle way to care for your baby. Cloth Diaper Kit includes:   3 GroVia™ Cosmos Shells   3 GroVia™ Blackberry Shells   6 GroVia™ Organic Cotton Soaker Pads   1-50ct Pack of BioSoaker® Pads   1 GroVia™ Magic Stick Diaper™ Diaper Balm   PLUS 2 samples Tiny Bubbles Laundry Detergent    GroVia™ Shell Hook and Loop: A super trim one-size waterproof* diaper cover with cotton mesh on the inside to use with your GroVia™ BioSoaker® Pads. Fits MOST babies 8-35 pounds. *GroVia uses Thermal Polyether-Urethane (TPU) as a waterproofing method that is applied where excellent hydrolysis and microbial resistance is required. GroVia™ Organic Cotton Soaker Pads: A great product just got a little bit better!  Now made with IMO Certified Organic Cotton jersey.  Our certified organic cotton stays soft wash after wash! GroVia™ Organic Cotton Soaker Pads are designed to be super absorbent yet trim. Your GroVia™ Soaker Pads will mean smaller loads of laundry that use less water and detergent. With a layer of waterproof backing, true leg gussets and 6 layers of organic cotton, they wash well, dry quickly and keep your shells clean.   Less waste in our landfills   Save hundreds of dollars each year   Healthier for baby   Less diaper rash   No Dioxins   To Use: Simply snap your GroVia™ Soaker Pad into your GroVia™ Shell. When wet unsnap and replace with a fresh GroVia™ Soaker Pad. If soiled, place both Soaker Pad and Shell into diaper pail and start with a new set! GroVia™ Organic Cotton Soaker Pads are made with 80% Organic Cotton According to OE Blended Standard Certified to IMO Switzerland Certificate #100005. GroVia™ BioSoaker® 50 Count: The GroVia™ BioSoaker® is a perfect solution for cloth diapering on the go. Use when on vacation, at day care, or running errands.   Made with Biodegradable & Compostable Materials*   Fragrance & Dye Free   Plastic & Chlorine Free   Ultra thin construction   Oeko-Tex 100 Certified   Exceptional comfort and fit   G.E. Free   Use: Simply lay/spread your BioSoaker® in your GroVia™ Shell or favorite diaper cover and fasten on baby. Remove soiled soaker pad and replace with a fresh one as needed   Use the sticky tab to adhere to cotton underwear as trainers! *The elastic in the manufacturing of this diaper has not been tested for biodegradability & compostability. Please remove tabs before composting **U.S. Patent Pending GroVia™ Magic Stick Diaper Balm: Now keep your hands clean when applying diaper balm. Easy to use GroVia™ Magic Stick goes on smooth and keeps baby’s delicate area protected and comfortable.   Safe to use with both cloth and disposable diapers   Use a light layer to protect baby’s skin from wetness   Made with natural and organic ingredients   USE: 1 stick per baby   Ingredients: Vitis vinifera (Grapeseed) Oil, Apis mellifera (Beeswax), Limmnanthes alba (Meadowfoam) Oil, Simmondsia chinensis (Organic Jojoba) Oil, Butyrospermun parkii (Shea) Oil, Rosa mosqueta (Organic Rosehip) and a proprietary blend of essential oils. Tiny Bubbles Biodegradable HE Laundry Detergent: The detergent of choice for cloth diapers and baby apparel. Safe to use with GroVia™ and all other cloth diapers brands. Dye & fragrance free, completely biodegradable and phosphate-free, no optical brighteners or fillers, gentle for sensitive skin, low residue formula, ultra-concentrated and recyclable.   Dye & Fragrance Free   Completely Biodegradable   Completely Phosphate-Free   No Optical Brighteners or Fillers   Gentle for Sensitive Skin   Low Residue Formula   Ultra-Concentrated   Low Cost-Per-Wash   Use: Front Load Machines: 1 scoop; Top Load Machines: 2 scoops; Hand Laundry: 1 to 2 teaspoons/basin   Ingredients: Iodium carbonate, Sodium sulfate, Sodium percarbonate, Sodium alkyl aryl sulfonate, Linear alcohol ethoxylate
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 14(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Review 1 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Auburn,WA
Date:May 10, 2012

Great Cloth Diaper system!

Pros: easy, one size, reuse shell 2-4 times, easy to wash & dry
Cons: can get bogged down with too much detergent
"When I was pregnant with my first child (currently 20mo) I knew I wanted to cloth diaper but 'I wanted to do it right.' that meaning as easy and least expensive as I could. I did 'A LOT' of research and decided to go with GroVia. I am so glad I did! I am now using the same shells and soakers with my second child (7 wks old) and they are working great! I love that they are one size and I can reuse the shell as long as they aren't soiled or stinky. Tip for drying soakers- put a clean dry bath towel with your soakers; they dry in 1/2 the time and in the summer; hang them outside for one sunny day! I got enough soakers and shells so I could use half while the other half is washing and drying. The only issue I have had has been a stinky smell; the diaper can get bogged with detergent and soiled; all you have to do is do major soaking in a top loader machine to rinse out whatever has bogged them.
I now have 3 friends who are using them and they love them too!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 6, 2012

So glad we decided to cloth diaper with these!

"I was new to cloth diapers and honestly was a little scared, but really wanted to do it. I went with this brand mainly because Costco had a great package price. (I did a lot of comparison shopping and also cloth diaper research in general. This is in fact, a good deal.) Simple- you reuse the covers unless they get wet or soiled. The inserts you take out after each use. You can put both the inserts and covers into a wet bag (basically just a bag that is waterproof and keeps smells in), then you can toss them all together into the wash. Wash warm, dry warm. (Or hang dry... though my ONLY complaint about these is that they take a really long time to dry even in the dryer. Dryer balls have helped though.) The TIny Bubbles samples are nice because, if you are new to cloth diapers, it might take you to find a detergent you like best that are safe for cloth diapers. Also, the Magic Stick is really, truly great at preventing diaper rash and it smells good too. I really like it for daycare since you don't have to use hands. Anyway, long review, but I wanted to give good feedback as I found other reviews helpful in making my decision. Good luck and hope this review helps!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Date:September 2, 2011
Pros: great fit, no leaks
Cons: long drying time
"We were intrigued by the GroVia Hybrid diaper, but a little worried based on some of the reviews regarding drying time and fit. Having now had a chance to road test them, I can report we love them! We haven't had a leak yet. The diapers fit our 12 lb, 6 week old great (yes, they are bulky as are most cloth diapers). As other people reported, the snap in liners do take a long time to dry, but that is the only downside we have encountered. They do line dry in our hot temperatures just as quickly (or slowly ;-0) as our other aios. Even if the shell gets a little damp, it air dries very quickly and is perfectly fine for another use. My favorite things about these diapers are the fact that even though we have hard water, we are less likely to need to strip the diapers because they are organic cotton, not microfiber; and even if they become less absorbent, replacing the inserts is far less expensive than replacing diapers and way less of a hassle than stripping your diapers."
Review 4 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Truckee,Ca
Date:July 2, 2011

Even my husband loves them

Pros: fast on and off, less laundry, daycare friendly, disposable option, trim fit, husband approved
Cons: laundry tabs can be tricky to tuck in
"I have GroVia's AIO's that are my go to diaper around the house, I was so happy with them and the fit I decides to invest in some off the AI2's. My daycare provider uses the without any complications, and my husband loves how fast and easy the diaper changes can be. These AI2's have been very nice to have the option of disposable or cloth and have cut down on the laundry load. The cloth inserts are wonderful too, I have also had great success with a unbleached Indian cotton prefold in the liner, a nice cost effective alternative."
Review 5 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura, CA
Date:June 13, 2011

Love this system

"We tried out a couple different diaper styles and GroVia was the favorite. Covers are easy to use, cute and reasonably trim. I like the cotton soaker but you do have to stay on top of changes because it doesn't have the stayday feel of synthetics. I think that is healthier anyway.
The cloth soakers work great and we only change the cover every two or three changes. Which brings me to the only downside of this package, which is to use cloth full time you need more soakers than shells. If you use the disposable soakers regularly, that might not matter. We just have the disposable inserts as backup for travel or laundry day.
For full time cloth we have two of these packages plus four more soakers. We wash every other day and it is really easy.
Oh and the Magis Stick is great. Easy, works well and lasts forever. Makes this package an especially good deal.
"
Review 6 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bozeman, MT
Date:June 9, 2011

AWESOME

Pros: stylish, highly affordable even in comparison to cloth, environmentally friendly, convenient, amazing customer service!, crazy absorbant, did i mention stylish yet?!
Cons: i have to go w/ grovia aios 4 nighttime diapering, bulky on brand new babies but trim later on
"I wasn't sure I could get used to the idea of cloth diapering my child, that is, until GroVia entered my life. I am so enamoured with their products and customer service. The diapering system makes thing incredibly easy and to be honest, I feel it's become even easier than disposable diaper. No need to run to the store in the middle of the night when you've realized that you're out of diapers; no stinky diapers piling up in your garbage (throw them in the washer and they come out smelling great again!), and it's so stylish and modern too. Great designs, awesome diapers that work well even on my heavy-wetter, and wonderful customer service if you do happen to run into a problem. You will not regret this purchase!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:June 9, 2011

Great investment!

Pros: good fit, flexible you choose cloth or disposable insert, adjustable sizing, 1 purchase years of use, better for baby and environment
"We love our GroVia! I have 9mo old twins and these are frequently grabbed in our stash. I love the flexibility of these diapers and am very excited to try the bio soakers on our next camping trip, (we currentlly have the AIO version). I full time cloth at home and was not sure what to do for out of town trips like camping where we would have no washer. For those that say they are having to wash the shell after every wear, you do not!! Change the shell, let the wet one air dry and next change you can use it agian. Yes, you do have to assemble every use, but you do for most cloth diapers anyway. We have more leaks and blowouts in disposables. I am thankful Costoc is giving hybrid cloth a try!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2011

LOVE Grovia diapers!

Pros: never had a blowout!, inexpensive, eco-friendly, cute!
"We have been using Grovia diapers for 6mos now, since our baby was 2 1/2 wks old and LOVE them! They are easy to use and easy to clean. Our babysitters and grandmas are on board with the cloth diapers as well! If you will be cloth diapering full time I recommend purchasing 2 set, adding more inserts, 2 cloth diaper pail liners, and a few "stay-dry" boosters for night time. There are also videos that show you how to use them properly!"
Review 9 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, Wa
Date:May 2, 2011

Not so great

Cons: leaks, have to "assemble" diapers
"I decided to give GroVia diapers a try but unfortunately was disappointed. I found the liners would bunch when my baby wore them and the diapers would leak. I would have to change the covers with every diaper change. I also thought it was a bit of a pain to have to "assemble" the diapers for each diaper change. I never tried the disposable liners, maybe they'd work better. I ended up switching to Bumgenius and LOVE them.
I am glad to see Costco selling cloth diapers though. Maybe they could start selling Bumgenius?? And the diaper detergent too!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

Finally a system that works!

"I've tried almost every diaper (cloth and disposable) available. I used fuzzibunz for a while but got burnt out on washing cloth. After a few months of disposables I was feeling guilty about the waste so I started researching hybrid systems. It came down to GorVia and Gdiaper. This is far superior and much easier to use.
I will say that I think Hybrid systems are ideal for babies when they start to eat more solid food and #2s become "thicker". Otherwise I can see how blowouts could happen and you would end up washing the shells so frequently that you might as well do 100% cloth. I started this system with my 9 month old and I think this is all we will use until she is potty trained. The GroVia inserts can even be put in undies for training.
Here are some of the things I think differentiate GroVia:
+Outside shell is waterproof
+Shells are super cute
+Velcro is strong and easy to use
+The disposable inserts have stickies (like on a maxi pad) on the back that make them easy to place in the shell.
+These diapers are not too bulky and clothes still fit normally
+The inserts are very thin, soft and absorbent
+NO leaks - even overnight
+The Gdiaper system is actually 3 pieces; shell, liner and insert. This system is only 2;shell and insert
+The Gdiaper has multiple sizes so you have to buy more shells. GroVia has adjustable shells so you only have to invest once
+great for traveling
+the inserts are small, perfect for a purse
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:J, Alaska
Date:January 17, 2011

Wonderful product- with a slight learning curve

Pros: velcro closure, excellent waterproof shells, super cute designs, shell can be used more than once, soaker can be changed and washed without the shell, soaker is cotton and can be boiled if necessary, it's a cloth diaper- from costco!!!
Cons: set only contains a 1:1 shell to soaker ratio, costco doesn't carry tiny bubbles in warehouse
"I'm a new mom AND a new cloth diaper fan!
These are the 2nd set of diapers I decided to try and already I'm liking them better.
Originally I chose Charlie Banana- which I like, but there are some features of Grovia that I appreciate far more.
The shells seem more substantial with Grovia and the design to use them more than once while replacing the soaker is a far better idea. CB has designed theirs in a way that the shell needs to be washed after each change.
Grovia also has wonderful velcro closures that are quite strong and allow for a more customized fit- but it's good to close these before washing to keep them from sticking to everything since it is a STRONG velcro.
I have had some leaks, but that's where the learning curve comes in- you have to figure out how to make the fit right for your baby. I have also learned that after getting the diaper on, it's a good idea to slip a finger in the side of the diaper to pull the soaker edge as far out across the baby's bum since some of the leaks have occured when the soaker has bunched a little in the crotch area and given some slack to the leg openings.
I really do appreciate the soakers, haven't used the biosoakers, yet, but am sure they'll do fine.
Baby's diaper rash has almost completely cleared up since using these and I'm very happy about that!!
THANK YOU, COSTCO AND GROVIA, FOR PROVIDING A CLOTH DIAPER OPTION- NOW IF ONLY THE TINY BUBBLES WOULD BE AVAILABLE IN STORE!!!"
Review 12 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2011

great idea, not the right product

Pros: the shells
"I was very excited to see cloth diapers available at Costco. What a wonderful way to have the cloth diapering concept go mainstream! but i didn't like the gro-via system. The shells are adorable - very vibrant and fit well. The cotton soakers though are too bulky and did not keep my baby's bottom dry. The soakers also shift around and often leak through to the shell so that i ended up changing the shell almost every time. I did not like the disposable soakers either.Returned this kit and decided to go with Fuzzibunz and Bumgenius for my baby."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marshall, MN
Date:November 8, 2010

Easy, Earth-friendly, and good for baby!

Pros: organic, easy to use, eco-friendly, inexpensive, cute
Cons: laundry every 2 days
"Cloth diapers are not like they used to be! This system by GroVia is easy to use, environmentally friendly, relatively inexpensive and really cute. The waterproof shells have snaps that allow only the inside soaker pad to be changed - that means fewer washes for the diaper shell (longer life and less laundry!) The shells are one size so you don't have to buy 3 or 4 sizes over the diaper-life of your baby. And, the best part, they are eco-friendly. The cotton soakers are organic and the disposable soakers are bio-degradable. All this at a great Costco price!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GroVia™ Girl Variety Cloth Diapering System Starter Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2010

Thank you Costco!

"Thank you, Costco, for offering this diapering system! What a great way to save money and help the planet at the same time. I have used these extensively with my two children, and they are terrific. Yes, it's a bit more work with cloth diapers, but let's start our kids off right!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.