Customer Reviews for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter

Seals Out Leaves While Allowing Large Volumes Of Water To Flow 32 Linear Feet
Average Customer Rating:
3.644 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
9
33 of 45(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Review 1 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:November 8, 2009

The Jury Is Still Out...

Pros: easy to install
Cons: leaves tend to sit on top of the foam
"I installed about 132 feet of GutterStuff about a month ago. Since then, I have been paying very close attention to my gutters. One of the unfortunate things about GutterStuff is that (on my gutters at least) when you install it underneath the support brackets the overall level of the foam is about 1/2" below the lip of the gutter, leaving a ledge for leaves and "helicopters" to accumulate in. I know a good stiff breeze is supposed to push all that out, but it hasn't in my situation. Also, at the edges of the gutter run (away from the downspout) my gutters tilt into the building an appreciable amount, making leaf retention all that much easier.
However...
...instead of all this leaf matter dropping into the gutter, clogging it up and decomposing into sludge, the leaves et.al. sit up perkily on top of the GutterStuff, making blowing them off an easy job for a leaf blower. (I hope you are comfortable on the roof when you do this...I am.) We have had a few decent rains since I installed the GutterSuff, and all seems to be running clear.
So far, I'm happy. Let's see what the winter and spring bring."
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Date:November 17, 2009

Some concerns

Pros: generally works as claimed
Cons: will not last forever, does not perform well in valleys, does not perform well at inside corners
"I have had this product on my house for several years now and while I am not aware of a better product and this product does generally prevent gutter clogs and is low maintenance ,,, purchasers should be aware of two concerns over the long run; 1. at valleys and inside corners, dirt will eventually build up and prevent water from moving through the filter fast enough during hard rains and 2.) sunlight will cause this material to decay over time which will reduce the thickness and can lead to places for dirt and leaves to accumulate."
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasant HIll, California
Date:September 26, 2009

Great for keeping out leaves

Pros: works pefectly no maintainence!, fits niclely and protects the drains, easy to install.
Cons: none.
"We had this gutter protector installed on our roof for thousands of dollars and now Costco has it for a much cheaper price! This protector works fantastically. It does not require any maintenance although we occasioally get a wisk broom and sweep out any accumulated leaves that get on it. Usually most of them just blow away but some small ones stick. Also, as it mentions it totally gets rid of mosquitoes! We use to ahve constant mosquitoes around our property and now they are gone! Great product! Highly recommend it!"
67 of 74 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Acton MA
Date:October 8, 2009

They work as expected

Pros: easy to install and they work
Cons: occassionally small leaves and pine needles stick
"We have had these gutter guards in place for about 2 years and they work as advertised. Occassionally we have to blow the tops clean with our shop vac (in blower mode) because small leaves (like maple tree "helicopters") and pine needles get stuck in the foam."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wilkes-Barre, PA
Date:June 9, 2010

Seemed to Work

Pros: worked reasonably well and was easy to install.
Cons: holds many of the "helicopters" from the maples.
"I installed GutterStuff early last Fall. It did a pretty good job of keeping the leaves out, though a number of leaves did get stuck in the "Stuff" by their stems. They did eventually dry up and were blown away. The pine needles from a nearby pine tree were another story. They got stuck in the "stuff" and did not blow away. If you have a number of pine trees nearby, you may want to try a small, isolated area of raingutter to see if it is a real problem befor installing on the whole house. While the "stuff" worked reasonably well for leaves, it did not work as well for the helicopters from the nearby silver maple trees. Most of the helicopters did blow off the roof, but a significant number got stuck in the "stuff". I had to clean out the helicopters this past Spring since I was afraid that they would sprout when we received some rain. While a pain to clean out, I have to say that it was still better than having them fill up the raingutter. Also, the GutterStuff worked considerably better than the plastic raingutter cover I had on my last house. That allowed a lot of material to pass through the slits that were there for the water to pass through and eventually the debris built up and clogged the slits. That was a real pain to clean out. GutterStuff is much, much better."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Summit, NJ
Date:May 11, 2010

Works Great in the right application

Pros: never had to clean gutters again
"This stuff is awesome I bought it and did the back of my large house about 3 years ago to test it, now I am doing the frount. Also being a contractor I recomeded to many people and they bought it never any complaints. Works as advertised.
Now the bad there are some minor issues to be aware of if these bother you:
1. if your gutters are close to over flowing in high rain this could limit the amount of water they can handle. I would say it dropps efficiency by about 5% if this is a issue your gutters are probably not adiquite anyhow and adding an additional downspot cures the issue.
2. over time 5 years the materal gets a bit harder but does not effect performance.
3. Stuff will stick in, small twigs, oak tree thingies, hillicopters get stuck on top of it but it does not seem to effect performance. Just looks bad if you look down on it. With that being said they get stuck on the covers also but not as bad.
On the positive side I have 5 large oak trees over my house and woudl have to clean the gutter every 2 weeks, gutter covers worked ok but over time would break and during the winter ice and sliding snow off the roof would wreck them, I would have to repair in spring since using the gutter stuff for 3 yr I have never had to do anything."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Murphy, NC foothills of the Smokies
Date:September 17, 2010

Not Worth It

Pros: easy to install
Cons: creates a mess
Model Number: GutterStuff
"I was initially impressed with the concept of this foam. HOWEVER, after being in the gutters for eight months my home has never looked so dirty and unattractive. Debris accumulates on top of the foam and does not wash away. Instead, it hangs over the edge of the gutter and is an ugly mess. The current Consumer Reports magazine rated this "Gutter Stuff" as the poorest of all products tested, and commented on its excessive price. Don't bother. I'm going to get my money back!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whidbey Island, WA
Date:December 1, 2009

Seems to Work!

Pros: easy to install and they work
"I purchased 4 boxes about 6 weeks ago to filter out needles and debris from Fir trees. I was cleaning these gutters every three weeks and it wasn't fun. These gutter filters are catching all the debris so I ordered another 4 boxes to complete the house. It is a lot of money but not as much as falling off the ladder cleaning out gutters. I recommend them highly. I'm short one piece to complete the job if anyone has an extra one available."
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:October 24, 2009

excellent value

Pros: keeps pine needles out of the down spouts.
Cons: not quite wide enough for some newer style gutters
"I had bought some Gutter Stuff 3 years ago after seeing it at a home show. It was very expensive (in the range of $5 per foot) so I couldn't afford enough for all my gutters. This product from Costco is really made for smaller sized gutters than the ones on MY house so it does not span the whole width of the gutter. I think it will still be better than nothing because it is especially effective for pine needles which other gutter covers don't handle very well."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:May 21, 2010

Terrible Product

"I live in the northeast, and had this installed a couple of years ago. leaves, maple keys and misc. twigs stick to it and get wedged on the edges. The wind did note blow off much at all. In the winter, it caused ice back up and I had all of it removed. Waste of money."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:July 26, 2010

Bottom Line: GutterStuff Works...BUT...

Pros: no clogged gutters anymore!
Cons: pinwheels get stuck.
"I bought GutterStuff back in the Fall 2009. I have huge trees over one side of my house so I started with that area first. After Fall and Spring, I have to say that I have yet to have any issues with drainage as the water flows freely. The main problem I have is that my trees drop very small "pinwheels" that literally stick in every single pore along the top of the GutterStuff. Eventually most blow away but a lot of them stay behind. I went up there with a shop vac and vacuumed the remainder but some of the GutterStuff was actually decaying and being vacuumed away so I finished up very gently. Overall - this product works and I just ordered enough to finish the rest of my gutters."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waldport, Oregon
Date:October 3, 2009

Excellent Solution

Pros: for a simple solution you cannot go wrong
Cons: have to remove from gutters to clean once a year
Model Number: GutterStuff
"We had this product installed 2 years ago at our vacation beach home & have been amazed at how effective it has worked out. It has done exactly as they said it would...keeping leaves and debris out & allowing good water flow through the gutters and downspouts."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:May 21, 2010

Not worth time or money

Pros: super easy to install
Cons: simply doesnt work!
"These are easy to install but don't count on the dream of "never having to clean your gutters again". This will not keep the pine needles or oak tassles from getting into the filter. Like any other natural thing, the leaves and tree droppings degenerate and biodegrade down to a fine dirty muck. In the winter, the water froze in the gutter filter and then I had ice damming - this was a terrible mistake!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Meriden, CT
Date:May 3, 2010

Horrible Product

"This product will block out leaves and that's about it. Anything that can stick to it will and the wind will not blow it off. Dirt and small particles will go through but not all the way. I've had small trees growing in the gutter. I have a great amount of water overflow and the gutters are stained with dirt. As soon as I can I'm going to throw these filters out and try a dependable product"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redding, Ca.
Date:January 13, 2010

Bad investment for heavy rain

"Does not work when rain is heavy.
Rain overflows the gutters because it cannot handle the volume of rain. Not designed for heavy downpours. I would not recommend it.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2010

Works great easy installation

"maybe I was just lucky but the gutter nails were exactly 4 feet apart. No need to cut the gutterstuff except at end of run. Buy a couple of pair of cheap gloves becuase this stuff is tough. I put in 160 feet in a few hours. Most of that climbing up and down the ladder. Just went through the falling leaf season here and I pulled it up in spots to check and nothing in the gutter."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:wheaton, il
Date:May 21, 2010

it clogs too

Pros: it doesn't make it worse
Cons: it doesn't make it better
"this is not a solution. it clogs too. only i'm poorer than before. why do they only show the leaves clogging the unprotected gutter? because the leaves also clog this, along with all the maple seeds and other debris. i say save your money and hire someone to clean your gutter."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:June 10, 2010

Gotta Get This Stuff~

"Prior to getting this stuff, i had to clean gutters/downspouts 3+ times a year. Hating the gutter cleaning ritual, i considered either installing new "no clog" gutters, retrofitting current gutters with screens and 'stuffing' this stuff in my gutters. So i took the plunge, bought this stuff, cleaned my gutters and installed the stuff. Living in Seattle, it didn't take too long (1 day) for it to rain and even had a few respectable periods of downpours. So far so good and have recommended to friends."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem Oregon
Date:November 7, 2009

Great Product

Pros: so simple...almost too simple!
Cons: cannot think of any
"We installed 2 boxes of Gutter Stuff about 3 weeks ago and it is working beautifully! In fact it is working so well, we ordered 4 additional boxes so we can do the entire house. It is extremely easy to install because it is flexible and it is easy to trim with scissors to shape for corners. We have had very hard rain twice since we installed this in problem areas and we have had no gutter overflows!"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for $59.99 after $10 OFF GutterStuff® Self-installed Gutter Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:May 18, 2010

It Works!

"Tried this "stuff" several years ago after having so many gutter backups -- and it really works! It's not completely maintenance-free (you still have to blow debris from top on occasion), but it has prevented serious clogging of gutters and downspouts which were a serious problem for us in the past (and caused considerable damage to our home). I've added it to other sides of our house over time. Costco's sale price is roughly 1/2 to 2/3 the price of buying it elsewhere."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>