Customer Reviews for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater

Wall Mountable or Free Standing
Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 of 17(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Review 1 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:January 3, 2011

Love this heater

"I use this heater in the bedroom to warm up the room and with the timer on the remote, can set it to turn off in an hour up to 12 hours later. The cat loves laying on the bed, right where the heat hits. Yes, the fan is 'always on', but it's not loud or intrusive and is easy to fall asleep with it running. Everyone that sees it falls in love with it. I have it mounted on the wall and it works perfect. Temp settings are great, with a range of 68 to 86 degrees, adjustable via the remote. 70 degress warms up a bedroom just fine and the temp stays consistent while running. If you wake up cold in the middle of the night, turn it back on w/ the remote for an hour or so and you're back in la-la land. You have the option of sound (pretty lame cracking fire sound), or no sound, which is what I use since I'm using it in the bedroom to fall asleep with. The ambiance of the fireplace is totally cool while the practicality of the heater function and slim design brings it over the top. I highly recommend this heater for anyone who is on the fence about buying it. I've had it for over a year and have not had any issues whatsoever."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Trinidad, Ca.
Date:December 19, 2010

Good, but not perfect.

Pros: warms up a room quickly
Cons: no 'flame only' setting., noisy fan.
Model Number: BFH5000
"This a great thermostatically controlled heater. It heats up a small room quickly, but it's fan is not silent and makes quite a noise. It does not have a 'flame only' feature. So the fan always runs with or without heat. I've noticed other brands (Dimplex) on the internet that offer this 'flame only' feature for the same price. It would be nice to have the quiet ambiance. Still, it does warm well even without all the features it should have."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2010

LOVE THIS!

"I have owned this for 2 years and it works great. It heats up a large area of the house and it is quiet. The themostat goes up to 86 degrees, but the unit can be used without heat as a fan. It looks great too. Everyone that comes over & sees it on wants one.."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Milford, Michigan
Date:January 20, 2011

pretty good fake fireplace

Pros: quick easy setup
Cons: poor tech support bad remote
"This heater is very much as described. It puts out good supplementary heat, and provides 2-4 degrees of additional 'psychological' warmth with the 'flames' turned on. Tech support was of no help when I called to get the dimensions of the unit without the base; they didn't know. For me the height was critical and as it turned out, it was just the right height (22.0"). Depth is actually 5", not 4".
Remote is on second set of batteries and has stopped working, but I doubt that tech support could help. Nevertheless, I like the unit and it operates as advertised."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Jenison, MI
Date:January 31, 2011
"I've owned this heater for a few weeks now and, overall, I'm pleased with the purchase. Bionaire was a name I was familiar with, and the size of the unit worked perfectly with my intended space. It arrived in perfect shape and had no missing parts. I needed to attach the optional stand and the holes for the screws were too small and had to be drilled out. Once assembled, the unit worked as intended. The "flames" are NOT the greatest...I've seen better on other electric fireplaces, but they'll do. Then there's the "authentic sound", supposed to be like logs crackling on a hearth, but sounds more like stones got caught in the motor housing. Luckily, you can turn the sound off. The Bionaire puts out a modest amount of heat...not great, but again, adequate. I think the Bionaire is about average for the $200 price range."
Review 6 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:March 16, 2011

Carry your fireplace with you

Pros: easy to move about, quiet operation
"A step up from a portable electric heater, this electric fireplace is easy to carry from room to room and features relatively quiet operation. The "crackling fire" sound is not very believable and I keep mine turned off. Altogether a very satisfying purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Date:March 2, 2011

Worst Purchase Ever

"Had this for two months and it stopped working. It's too loud! And the warmth at 80 was blowing cold air."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:December 16, 2010

Very good fireplace heater

Pros: it arrived in 4 days
Cons: if shorter it would fit under windows.
Model Number: BFH5000
"We just opened the box and quickly assembled the heater. It looks great and gives us plenty of heat in our 3-season porch. I really like the remote control which works for all the features. 68 degrees is all we need to turn the temperature to in order to keep the whole room very cozy. We find it heats very quickly and then keeps a steady temp. We keep it on the pedestal. There are no free walls because of the many windows in the roon."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 19, 2011

Somewhat disappointed!

Pros: slim profile, contemporary styling, ease of use/assembly, quality fixture
Cons: short cord, insufficient heat
Model Number: Model: BFH5000-UM
"I received the aesthetically pleasing Bionaire Electric Heater and loved the contemporary styling and the slim, flat screen-like profile; however my unit does not heat very well. The fan seems to blow slightly cool air and it is not heating the entire room very well. My thoughts are, perhaps I have a defective heater as the heater casing is not at all warm, not to mention hot to the touch! My next step is to contact Customer Service for a replacement unit! Wish me luck, because the styling is innovative, aesthetically appealing and fits my decor!"
Review 10 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:los angeles, Ca
Date:January 21, 2011

Dual purpose appliance

"I have a general rule when purchasing any new items for my home or outdoors- it must provide 2 purposes. I purchased the heater for my living room. When I received it last week, I almost ordered another one, because I couldn't decide where it would look best. I mounted it in my wall unit ( it was super easy to install with the pallette / direction sheet) at eye level. It looks fantastic, works great, it is thin, I love the remote."
Review 11 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:January 13, 2011

Great choice

Pros: attractive looks, effective and uniform heat, good fit and finish
Cons: some fan noise
"I had checked out other brands and heaters and this one fit the bill for me. It comes both in wall mountable and table top format (with a stand) and therefore it is pretty portable. Took 30 minutes to install and the heat is excellent. The fan spread the heat uniformly in the room and it is pretty safe for our kids to be near the unit. I am not sure how it stacks up in power consumption but it is certainly effective."
Review 12 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:February 3, 2011

The heat is very good.

Pros: it heats well and far.
Cons: fake ember burning noise
"I only wish it looked more like a fireplace and less like a flat screen television. I already have 7 of those. I wanted to set this up under my 60" TV, but it just looked like a lesser TV. Also, the noise that the fireplace makes to memic burning embers is quite annoying. However, besides all of this, it emits very good far-reaching heat."
Review 13 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Myrtle Beach, SC
Date:January 24, 2011

GREAT!

Pros: puts out alot of heat
Cons: wish flame was a little more realistic
"Ordered for a beach cottage and it is perfect.
When received, two of the nobs holding glass on were broken in shipping, but called manufactor and they sent a new one asap. Puts out alot of heat. Remote is very convenient. Great product, Great company!
"
Review 14 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Quinta, Calif. just E. of Palm Springs
Date:January 23, 2011

Great

"Much better than our old one (not the same brand). The temp. control works very nice and has a quiet fan motor. We live in the desert south west but it still gets cold and we did not have to use our heat-pump at all."
Review 15 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:nj
Date:March 5, 2011

very little heat

"I returned this to the local store. It just didn't heat, the fan worked fine but it never put out much heat. The sound effects of a crackling fire did not sound realistic. No problem returning."
Review 16 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:March 21, 2011

Quality product, good deal

Pros: heats up room fast. good price.
"It's not like the gas furnace we have in the living room but it does a good job for a small room. I checked the prices around and this is the best price."
Review 17 for Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cupertino, CA
Date:January 20, 2011

Love this heater!

Pros: noise is not bad. remote is good!
Cons: wish it was bigger to hide entire fireplace.
Model Number: Bionaire® Electric Fireplace Heater
"It's pretty, works really well, heats up fast, light-weight. Love it."